Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Graydon Tire & Automotive

Phone: (864) 877-7793 Fax: (864) 877-0826 1522 S Highway 14, Greer, SC 29650 http://graydonautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Graydon Tire & Automotive include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Graydon Tire & Automotive
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 2002 Business started: 06/01/2001 in SC Business incorporated 03/08/2001 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Revenue
300 A Outlet Point Blvd, Columbia SC 29210
https://www.sctax.org
Phone Number: 803-898-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leon Graydon, Owner Mrs. Vicky Graydon, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leon Graydon, Owner
Customer Contact: Mrs. Vicky Graydon, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1522 S Highway 14

    Greer, SC 29650 (864) 877-7793

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/05/2013 My 04 chysler pacifica shut off while driving. A wrecker truck was called and im new here and didn't know and auto shops so he referred me to *** **** *******. the car was towed there I asked ** ******* as he found out what was wrong with the car would he also look it over to see if the car was is worth putting more money in it he agreed with no problem,i never told ** ******* to fix anything first I assumed him being the expert he would call to let me know the prices and to get the go ahead. But he didn't ** ******* fixed the car and then called and said I could come pick it up but it was a temp fix and if I wanted it long term I would have to pay more, he said " but the temp fix can last 6month or a year he didn't know so with that being said I trusted that he knew what he was talking about later on that day I payed for the car but waited til night to pick it up because o had no one to help me drive til then as I pulled out of the auto shop drive way I felt a shift difference I live right around the corner of the shop so I went on home not knowing there was cut wires just laying around the motor unsecure. when I got home I spoke with my husband and he said we need to take the car back to the shop and just call about it tomorrow. I started the car to take it back, but the car shut off and caught on fire, the fire department was called a report was made, ** ******* was notified. ** ******* had the car towed back and went on to fix the problem, he said the fire wasn't a big issue so stop complaining and that I just needed a new motor rack, so he told me to either pay him 125 to fix the car or come get because the fire didn't cause must damage and it was not his fault...

Desired Settlement: I feel that was very careless, I have three children that could have been in the car at the time of that fire and that fire could have turned in to our death or injury, he is the expert he should have given only the safe option I want a refund, an apology and him to pay for the mess he made because now my children wont get a good Christmas because he's left me with a non working car which I am scared to drive, ** ***** ** ** ** ** ** *** ********** ** ** * ***** *****.

Business Response:

December 30, 2013

Dear *** ******:

This letter is in response to a complaint we received from your office dated 12/20/2013. The customer is ***** ******. ,

*** ******* 04 Pacifica was towed to Graydon tire on 12/5/2013. Our tech found that the motor mount bracket had broken causing the motor to fall down onto the starter which also caused a shortage to the battery. I talked to her husband and asked him to come by and let us show him the problem but he declined.

We informed *** ****** that to repair this problem correctly, we needed to replace the motor mount. Her response was that she did not have the money. She was told we could temporarily fix by replacing a broken motor mount bolt, we did not know how long this would last. We also told *** ****** that the car was not worth investing a lot of money in. Her car had many more

issues.

See Invoice ***** dated 12/6/2013 which was a Friday.

*** ****** was charged for a battery, a tow, no start wiring issue, rear brake

lights and turn signal. Total of $360.00  . On Monday, December 9, 2013 we received a call from *** ****** stating her

car had caught on fire. A tow truck was sent to get her car. When the car was brought back, we found no evidence of a fire. No residue of any kind was found. The motor mount bracket bolt had broken. *** ****** was called and given the

diagnosis. She refused to repair saying we should repair for free. We pushed the car outside so she could have it towed away. At 10:40 am she called back and agreed to $125.00 which was only for the part and gave us permission to repair. When our techs took out the motor mount bracket they also found that the motor mount was broken. We replaced the motor mount plus 4 hrs labor that *** ****** did not pay for ($500.90), so therefore we will not give a refund. 
Graydon Tire has been in business for 12 years and we pride ourselves in taking care of our customers. *** ***** was treated fairly and taken care of as a customer.


Sincerely
**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Graydon Tire & Automotive
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart