Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

World Auto offers a wide range of  pre-owned vehicles.  All vehicles are sold on an "as is" basis and warranties are available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that World Auto meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for World Auto include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on World Auto
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2011 Business started: 11/01/2010 in SC Business incorporated 09/30/2010 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Patrick Wyer, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick Wyer, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

World Auto sells the following brand(s): Chevy, Ford, Dodge, Chrysler, GMC, Honda, Toyota, Nissan, Acura, Lexus, BMW, Mercedes, Volvo, VW, Jeep, Audi, Cadillac, Mercury, Pontiac, Hummer

World Auto offers the following product(s): Cars, SUV's, Vans & Trucks

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 1450 W Wade Hampton Blvd

    Greer, SC 29650 (864) 469-7979

  • 513 N Main Street

    Mauldin, SC 29622 (864) 627-9000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This vehicle was purchased along with another on the same day. As a brief in store look over, we we're asked to look over what we saw visually that needed to be fixed. My girlfriend with her's and me with mine. The check engine light was on, so they said they would call to schedule an appointment to go see about it at the Wade Hampton Location. The cars were purchased on Friday, April 10. They did not get back with me until Tuesday May 20 to repair. It broke down again and I took it back May 28th. Both times having my car for a period of around 5 or more days. As time goes on they will reset the engine light but it comes on and stays on but now other lights on my dash is also on and won't come off. But the emergency brake light will come on while I'm driving where as I have to stop and reset it.

Desired Settlement: At this point and after all this time, I have lost time off from work, I have made my payments and my vehicle is not fixed to my satisfaction. My car has shut off on me on the freeway twice and I don't feel safe. I am afraid that I may be held liable if some type of accident were to happen in this car. The safety of my family, myself and others on the road is very important. I don't believe that World Auto shares my same view points. I purchased (2) vehicles the same day and neither has been considered road worthy. I would like my downpayment back, plus the monthly car notes I have paid. I will go somewhere else which I feel has a better quality vehicle!

Business Response:

Date: 8/12/15

 

Better Business Bureau of Upstate SC

408 North Church Street, Suite C Greenville, SC 29601-2164

Phone: (864)242-5052 Fax: (864)271-9802 Email: info@upstatesc.bbb.org

 

RE: ***** ******, Complaint ID: ********

 

Please find below the response to the complaint.

 

World Auto’s mission is to become a model enterprise in customer satisfaction, regulatory compliance, and shareholder value.  As part of our effort to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction, we apply a consistent methodology to evaluate each customer complaint.  As part of this review we consider all major areas of the sales and financing process.

 

Analysis: We reviewed the sales needs assessment to determine if the sales person understood the customer’s requirements and expectations.  We reviewed the sales person process for the vehicle presentation and demonstration to determine if the proper expectations were set for the vehicles features, benefits, and advantages.  We reviewed the sales manager’s deal setup and customer expectation settings.  We reviewed the Finance Manager lending activities, customer credit analysis, lenders selected, and expectations communicated to the customer for how the lending process would be performed.  We reviewed how well the customer expectations were set and their understanding of the activities that would or could occur during the financing process.   We reviewed the WE OWE, Buyers Guide, and customer acceptance process for the vehicle.  Finally, we reviewed the service orders and work performed on the vehicle based upon this complaint.

 

Root Cause of Complaint:   Customer is experiencing a service issue with his vehicle, and fails to accept responsibility for his vehicle.  Please note the following contracts, activities, costs and service orders that are related to this complaint.

 

Buyers Guide signed at vehicle acceptance: Customer agrees and accepts all responsibilities for repair of the vehicle.

 

WE OWE Agreement signed at vehicle acceptance:  Customer identifies a rear view mirror and check engine light problem on the vehicle.  The customer agrees based upon the selling price of the vehicle to a maximum out of pocket spend by World Auto to be $120.00 for the WE OWE Agreement and understands the customer is responsible for ANY costs above this amount.

 

Service Order April 10th:  World Auto repairs rear view mirror at cost of $85.00

 

Service Order April 30th:  World Auto diagnoses Check engine light at $45.00 cost.

 

Service Order May 15th:  World Auto replaces battery, and alternator on vehicle due to engine light.  Engine light issue repaired.  World Auto cost $153.00.

 

Total spend by World Auto as of 5/22/15 $283.    $163 more than required by contract.  $163 allocated to One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement.

 

World Auto would be glad to direct the customer to a third party service facility to have further work performed on his vehicle.  However, any further service costs incurred by this customer is the responsibility of the customer.

 

Results: Service incident resulted in request for funds from World Auto. 

 

Next Steps: World Auto is continuing to improve our Manager training for presenting warranty options and communicating to clients their responsibility for budgeting for repair and maintenance of their vehicle.

 

Final Status:  Open.

 

Submitted By:   ******* ** ****, President  

           

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** ******

In regards to all that which was sent in reply to me, this none of these things were fixed upon. Not only that but as of today, Wednesday, 8/12/15 my front end bumper has all but fell off the car.I will not spend a dime on this vehicle that was sold as a sham and is not fit to drive. I would like to know what are my options at this point. If nothing can be done, this vehicle can be picked up or it will go into reposition. Rearview mirror was not fixed. I can send pictures of this. The man who actually worked on my car (Wade Hampton Location), said he did not know what the check engine light was on for and all he did was reset the fuse but the lights would still come on unless fixed.No and I really don't believe that a new battery or alternator was put on my car. 

     Personally, I've been screwed and I need transportation to work to provide for my family! I NEED my vehicle in standard running condition!


Business Response:

It is *** ******' responsibility to maintain his vehicle in proper running order.  Any activities with the vehicle are between *** ****** and his lender.   World Auto is not the lienholder for this vehicle.  I suggest *** ****** consider seriously his personal responsibility for the vehicle and the impact to his credit for not maintaining his relationship with the lender.  His suggested response may adversely affect his credit.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased the car on 7/30/2015. the check engine light was on so I informed salesman {******}. He promised to come and get the car the next Friday. Two days later the car sounds like its going to BLOW UP so I have been calling trying to get someone to come get it or take it back. So after a week of no response and nothing to drive I had it towed to World Auto and they { ***** } refused to let the tow driver drop it off. So the tow driver brought the car back to me charging double tow fee. Now they want me to have it towed to a repair shop. They have not lived up to their word. Sold me a car that they knew was messed up. Every time I have called them they say its the first they were aware of anything wrong. I even had to get the Bank involved.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to buy back the car and refund my money so I can buy a car. I have no trust in World Auto and don't want anymore dealings with them.

Business Response:

Date: 8/12/15

 

Better Business Bureau of Upstate SC

408 North Church Street, Suite C Greenville, SC 29601-2164

Phone: (864)242-5052 Fax: ************* Email: info@upstatesc.bbb.org

 

RE: ****** *****, Complaint ID: *********

 

Please find below the response to the complaint.

 

World Auto’s mission is to become a model enterprise in customer satisfaction, regulatory compliance, and shareholder value.  As part of our effort to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction, we apply a consistent methodology to evaluate each customer complaint.  As part of this review we consider all major areas of the sales and financing process.

 

Analysis: We reviewed the sales needs assessment to determine if the sales person understood the customer’s requirements and expectations.  We reviewed the sales person process for the vehicle presentation and demonstration to determine if the proper expectations were set for the vehicles features, benefits, and advantages.  We reviewed the sales manager’s deal setup and customer expectation settings.  We reviewed the Finance Manager lending activities, customer credit analysis, lenders selected, and expectations communicated to the customer for how the lending process would be performed.  We reviewed how well the customer expectations were set and their understanding of the activities that would or could occur during the financing process.   We reviewed the WE OWE, Buyers Guide, and customer acceptance process for the vehicle. 

 

Root Cause of Complaint:   Customer is experiencing a service issue with her vehicle, and rather than get the vehicle diagnosed and determine the cause so we can develop a resolution, she has attacked World Auto and made unreasonable demands regarding buying the vehicle back.  If a car breaks down, the next step is NOT to buy the vehicle back and give the customer a mulligan on the contract she signed. 

 

The next step is for the customer to tow their vehicle to a repair shop that we recommend or they prefer, and then we find out what is wrong with the vehicle.  This customer tried to abandon her contract responsibilities by towing the vehicle to our location with no notice, and claiming we must buy her vehicle back.  Unfortunately, she incurred duplicate towing costs due to her inappropriate decision to tow to World Auto, and try to abandon her contract responsibilities.

 

As of this writing, the customer has the vehicle towed to a World Auto preferred facility for diagnosis.  Preliminary information indicates the vehicle may have had a drive belt break, but this is not confirmed.  This is a very low cost repair.  However, we are waiting the written estimate for a complete diagnosis,

 

 

Results: In the case of unforeseen post-sale repair issues with Customer vehicles, World Auto has a Customer Advocacy process for reviewing the repair, and cost surrounding the incident.  We then determine if a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT is appropriate to help the customer get the issue resolved.  We  take careful consideration to determine how it is applied to benefit our customers, and we do not apply it in every case of a post-sale repair. 

 

Next Steps: World Auto management is waiting the diagnosis for this customer and will determine the next steps based upon the customer actions and the results from the diagnosis.

 

Final Status:  Open.

 

Submitted By:   ******* ** ****, President  

           

Business Response:

******

Please update the BBB complaint for World Auto and ****** *****.  Below is the offer for the Goodwill Acknowledgement to the Lender and customer.

Regards,

*******


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: ****** *****
Date: 14.08.2015 14:17
From: *********************
To: ***** ******** **************************
Cc: *********************** *********************

******

Yes, I did receive the quote from the service location.  *** ******* vehicle has had the AC Compressor fail on the vehicle.  This caused the drive belt to come off and disable the vehicle.  The cost estimate from the service location is between $1400 and $1500.

As you know, the customer purchased the vehicle AS IS withoout a warranty from World Auto.  She also signed a WE OWE Agreement that showed World Auto did not owe her anything relative to the AC compressor.  World Auto is not responsible in any way for the repair of the AC Compressor on her vehicle.  Based upon the information I have with me, I do believe *** ***** refused to purchase a Service Contract and initialled our Purchase Confirmation form that she declined all additional service options.

However, this unfortunate event has caused a hardship for her, and we understand the difficulty this causes.  As part of our customer advocacy program, we do as much as we can for customers, when it is financially possible for us.  Sometimes, we do this by authorizing a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT for the customer.  In this particular case, we would authorize a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of $700 towards the service repair, but only if the customer or *** covers the remaining balance.

We would only authorize the repair with prior payment of the balance to us, then we would authorize the service center to repair the vehicle.  If you can work with the customer to provide the balance, and give the check or cash to the Mauldin location, I will authorize the work to start.

*** ***** or *** is fully capable of authorizing the work to start today, and assume full liability of the repair.  World Auto is not slowing you down or stopping *** ***** from authorizing repair work to be performed on her vehicle.  If you would like World Auto help in this matter, then please provide the balance of the payment for the repair to our Mauldin location, and we will authorize the work.

Should ** ***** refuse our One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement of $700, or commence legal action, World Auto will withdraw the offer immediately.  To prevent fraud, World Auto will only provide the Goodwill Acknowledgement payment directly to the service center.

This is an unfortunate occurrence, and we regret it has occurred. However, we are willing to help *** ***** with her vehicle, but we are not willing to take repair responsibility for the vehicle she owns.

Regards,

*******


Linda,

Please update the BBB complaint for World Auto and Sherry Young.  Below is the offer for the Goodwill Acknowledgement to the Lender and customer.

Regards,

Patrick


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: Sherry Young
Date: 14.08.2015 14:17
From: pwyer@worldautosc.com
To: Chuck Enfinger <CEnfinger@mtcfederal.com>
Cc: jwhite@worldautosc.comcwood@worldautosc.com

Chuck,

Yes, I did receive the quote from the service location.  *** ******* vehicle has had the AC Compressor fail on the vehicle.  This caused the drive belt to come off and disable the vehicle.  The cost estimate from the service location is between $1400 and $1500.

As you know, the customer purchased the vehicle AS IS withoout a warranty from World Auto.  She also signed a WE OWE Agreement that showed World Auto did not owe her anything relative to the AC compressor.  World Auto is not responsible in any way for the repair of the AC Compressor on her vehicle.  Based upon the information I have with me, I do believe *** ***** refused to purchase a Service Contract and initialled our Purchase Confirmation form that she declined all additional service options.

However, this unfortunate event has caused a hardship for her, and we understand the difficulty this causes.  As part of our customer advocacy program, we do as much as we can for customers, when it is financially possible for us.  Sometimes, we do this by authorizing a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT for the customer.  In this particular case, we would authorize a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of $700 towards the service repair, but only if the customer or *** covers the remaining balance.

We would only authorize the repair with prior payment of the balance to us, then we would authorize the service center to repair the vehicle.  If you can work with the customer to provide the balance, and give the check or cash to the Mauldin location, I will authorize the work to start.

*** ***** or *** is fully capable of authorizing the work to start today, and assume full liability of the repair.  World Auto is not slowing you down or stopping *** ***** from authorizing repair work to be performed on her vehicle.  If you would like World Auto help in this matter, then please provide the balance of the payment for the repair to our Mauldin location, and we will authorize the work.

Should ** ***** refuse our One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement of $700, or commence legal action, World Auto will withdraw the offer immediately.  To prevent fraud, World Auto will only provide the Goodwill Acknowledgement payment directly to the service center.

This is an unfortunate occurrence, and we regret it has occurred. However, we are willing to help *** ***** with her vehicle, but we are not willing to take repair responsibility for the vehicle she owns.

Regards,

Patrick
Linda,

Please update the BBB complaint for World Auto and Sherry Young.  Below is the offer for the Goodwill Acknowledgement to the Lender and customer.

Regards,

Patrick


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: Sherry Young
Date: 14.08.2015 14:17
From: pwyer@worldautosc.com
To: Chuck Enfinger <CEnfinger@mtcfederal.com>
Cc: jwhite@worldautosc.comcwood@worldautosc.com

Chuck,

Yes, I did receive the quote from the service location.  *** ******* vehicle has had the AC Compressor fail on the vehicle.  This caused the drive belt to come off and disable the vehicle.  The cost estimate from the service location is between $1400 and $1500.

As you know, the customer purchased the vehicle AS IS withoout a warranty from World Auto.  She also signed a WE OWE Agreement that showed World Auto did not owe her anything relative to the AC compressor.  World Auto is not responsible in any way for the repair of the AC Compressor on her vehicle.  Based upon the information I have with me, I do believe *** ***** refused to purchase a Service Contract and initialled our Purchase Confirmation form that she declined all additional service options.

However, this unfortunate event has caused a hardship for her, and we understand the difficulty this causes.  As part of our customer advocacy program, we do as much as we can for customers, when it is financially possible for us.  Sometimes, we do this by authorizing a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT for the customer.  In this particular case, we would authorize a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of $700 towards the service repair, but only if the customer or *** covers the remaining balance.

We would only authorize the repair with prior payment of the balance to us, then we would authorize the service center to repair the vehicle.  If you can work with the customer to provide the balance, and give the check or cash to the Mauldin location, I will authorize the work to start.

*** ***** or *** is fully capable of authorizing the work to start today, and assume full liability of the repair.  World Auto is not slowing you down or stopping *** ***** from authorizing repair work to be performed on her vehicle.  If you would like World Auto help in this matter, then please provide the balance of the payment for the repair to our Mauldin location, and we will authorize the work.

Should ** ***** refuse our One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement of $700, or commence legal action, World Auto will withdraw the offer immediately.  To prevent fraud, World Auto will only provide the Goodwill Acknowledgement payment directly to the service center.

This is an unfortunate occurrence, and we regret it has occurred. However, we are willing to help *** ***** with her vehicle, but we are not willing to take repair responsibility for the vehicle she owns.

Regards,

Patrick
Linda,

Please update the BBB complaint for World Auto and Sherry Young.  Below is the offer for the Goodwill Acknowledgement to the Lender and customer.

Regards,

Patrick


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: Sherry Young
Date: 14.08.2015 14:17
From: pwyer@worldautosc.com
To: Chuck Enfinger <CEnfinger@mtcfederal.com>
Cc: jwhite@worldautosc.comcwood@worldautosc.com

Chuck,

Yes, I did receive the quote from the service location.  *** ******* vehicle has had the AC Compressor fail on the vehicle.  This caused the drive belt to come off and disable the vehicle.  The cost estimate from the service location is between $1400 and $1500.

As you know, the customer purchased the vehicle AS IS withoout a warranty from World Auto.  She also signed a WE OWE Agreement that showed World Auto did not owe her anything relative to the AC compressor.  World Auto is not responsible in any way for the repair of the AC Compressor on her vehicle.  Based upon the information I have with me, I do believe *** ***** refused to purchase a Service Contract and initialled our Purchase Confirmation form that she declined all additional service options.

However, this unfortunate event has caused a hardship for her, and we understand the difficulty this causes.  As part of our customer advocacy program, we do as much as we can for customers, when it is financially possible for us.  Sometimes, we do this by authorizing a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT for the customer.  In this particular case, we would authorize a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT of $700 towards the service repair, but only if the customer or *** covers the remaining balance.

We would only authorize the repair with prior payment of the balance to us, then we would authorize the service center to repair the vehicle.  If you can work with the customer to provide the balance, and give the check or cash to the Mauldin location, I will authorize the work to start.

*** ***** or *** is fully capable of authorizing the work to start today, and assume full liability of the repair.  World Auto is not slowing you down or stopping *** ***** from authorizing repair work to be performed on her vehicle.  If you would like World Auto help in this matter, then please provide the balance of the payment for the repair to our Mauldin location, and we will authorize the work.

Should ** ***** refuse our One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement of $700, or commence legal action, World Auto will withdraw the offer immediately.  To prevent fraud, World Auto will only provide the Goodwill Acknowledgement payment directly to the service center.

This is an unfortunate occurrence, and we regret it has occurred. However, we are willing to help *** ***** with her vehicle, but we are not willing to take repair responsibility for the vehicle she owns.

Regards,

Patrick

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 31, 2015 I purchased a vehicle (2005 ******** Deville) from world Auto located in Mauldin S.C. at approximately 8 pm. Before signing all the papers my wife asked employee ****** about a warranty and he stated the finance company was giving me one. While at the finance company ****** **** employee ****** stated that we had to discuss that with World Auto. ****** then stated that would have to be with World Auto employee *****. On Monday august 3, 2015 at approximately 1:30pm the car overheated and antifreeze was leaking from underneath the car. I immediately called world Auto and spoke with employee ****** ****. The car was towed by World Auto at their expense to ****** on ******* Rd. On august 5, 2015 I still hadnt heard from anyone at World Auto about the status of the vehicle. I called ****** myself and was told that it had a blown head gasket. On August 7, 2015, I spoke with World Auto sales Manager ***** ***** in person located in the Mauldin office, at that time ***** went over with me the repairs that needed to be done and the estimated cost of repairs that needed to be done. The total that we discussed was approximately 1188.00 which included the labor at 36.00 per hour. ***** stated that he had spoken with the owner and they discussed paying for the repairs because I had only had the car for two days. ***** also stated that the owner just wanted him to get the numbers (cost) down a little. ***** assured me that this issue would be resolved and that it would take approximately 2 or 3 days, we shook hands. On August 11, 2015 ***** stated that the estimate for the same repairs and labor cost 1800.00 and that I would have to come out of pocket to help with repairs. That was never discussed before. I gave World auto all the money I had saved in the amount of 1200.00 for a down payment.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this matter, I would like the refund of my down payment in the amount of 1200.00 and a check to be cut to the finance company ****** **** financial in the amount of 4900.00 by World Auto. World Auto keeps possession of the 2005 ******** Deville and all parties walk away having lost nothing.

Business Response:

Date: 8/12/15

 

Better Business Bureau of Upstate SC

408 North Church Street, Suite C Greenville, SC 29601-2164

Phone: (864)******** Fax: (************ ****** **********************

 

RE: ******** *********, Complaint ID: ********.

 

Please find below the response to the complaint.

 

World Auto’s mission is to become a model enterprise in customer satisfaction, regulatory compliance, and shareholder value.  As part of our effort to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction, we apply a consistent methodology to evaluate each customer complaint.  As part of this review we consider all major areas of the sales and financing process.

 

Analysis: We reviewed the sales needs assessment to determine if the sales person understood the customer’s requirements and expectations.  We reviewed the sales person process for the vehicle presentation and demonstration to determine if the proper expectations were set for the vehicles features, benefits, and advantages.  We reviewed the sales manager’s deal setup and customer expectation settings.  We reviewed the Finance Manager lending activities, customer credit analysis, lenders selected, and expectations communicated to the customer for how the lending process would be performed.  We reviewed how well the customer expectations were set and their understanding of the activities that would or could occur during the financing process.   We reviewed the WE OWE, Buyers Guide, and customer acceptance process for the vehicle. 

 

Root Cause of Complaint:   Customer is experiencing a service issue with the vehicle.  The vehicle was purchased in running order, operating at a normal temperature, and performing normally.  In the course of operating the vehicle, the customer blew the engine head gaskets. 

 

Please note the following contracts that are related to this complaint.

 

Buyers Guide signed at vehicle acceptance: Customer agrees and accepts all responsibilities for repair of the vehicle.

 

WE OWE Agreement signed at vehicle acceptance:  Customer identifies tires to be replaced at the value of $60.00.  The customer agrees based upon the selling price of the vehicle to a maximum out of pocket spend by World Auto to be $60.00 for the WE OWE Agreement and understands the customer is responsible for ANY costs above this amount.

 

Service Orders:  World Auto has no service orders referencing any issues with vehicle temperature, head gaskets, or performance.

 

Based upon the contractual obligations between World Auto and ******** *********, World Auto has no responsibility for the repair of the vehicle. 

 

However, in the case of unforeseen post-sale repair issues with Customer vehicles, and to do our best to maintain good will with a customer in this situation, World Auto has a Customer Advocacy process for reviewing the repair, and costs surrounding the incident. 

 

We then determine if a ONE TIME GOODWILL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT is appropriate to help the customer get the issue resolved.  We take careful consideration to determine how it is applied to benefit our customers, and we do not apply it in every case of a post-sale repair. 

 

Results:   Attached is the Service Repair Estimate of $1820.64.  Also attached is a One Time Goodwill Repair Acknowledgement for $900 from World Auto.  World Auto is only doing this to promote goodwill with the customer.  We are not responsible in any way for this customer's repair.

 

We will also ask the ********** Financial lender if they can help the customer finance the balance of the $920.64, if the customer and the lender are interested.

 

Next Steps: If the customer accepts, and World Auto has received the balance of $920.64, World Auto will give the Third party repair shop authorization for payment of the repair.   Should *** ********* proceed with legal action, World Auto will withdraw the Goodwill Repair Acknowledgement due to Legal costs and no further offers will be made. 

 

Final Status:  Open.

 

Submitted By:   ******* ** ****, President  

           

6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold me a 2006 Ford Super Duty truck without a spare tire that was on the vehicle when I test drove it. They also were supposed to fix a check engine light problem, and removed the bulb in stead of correcting the problem. They are a very deceitful company.

Desired Settlement: Want my spare tire returned to me.

Business Response: We have opened an internal investigation on both the spare tire and the bulb issue.  Neither activity is acceptable to World Auto management.  We are sorry for the trouble this has caused *** ****** and will resolve the financial loss once the investigation is complete. 

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2013 **** Fusion from World Auto in January. There was an issue with the back bumper on the drivers side. **** our salesman stated that he believed it was a clip and that it would not be an issue to get it repaired. He gave me the number to make an appointment at the Greer location. The appointment was at 2:00pm I waited for the guy to show up and he didn't get there until 2:30pm That being said he stated that it was a body shop issue. I called and spoke to ***** and he made an appointment with the body shop. I brought the car and a gentleman named ***** drove it over there. What the body shop guy did I have no idea because it is not fixed. I have been calling up there to get this resolved only to be apologized to and to hear how they have been so busy. This issue needs to be resolved to my satisfaction as quickly as possible. Honestly I believe this car has been hit and instead of repairing the car before it was sold someone pocketed the money. I am paying 20,000 for a messed up car that they keep giving me the run around to fix. The trunk also leaks which I am almost certain has to do with the bumper issue.

Desired Settlement: They need to have the bumper repaired correctly. They keep stating it is a clip. I do not believe it is a clip and I do not want a "quick fix" I want it fixed. Stop with the sorry excuses and fix the bumper on the drivers side, and the leaky trunk

Business Response: Please find attached response and WE OWE agreement. 

Business Response:

Date: 3/31/15

 

Better Business Bureau of Upstate SC

408 North Church Street, Suite C Greenville, SC 29601-2164

Phone: (864)242-5052 Fax: (864)271-9802 Email: info@upstatesc.bbb.org

 

RE: ****** ****, Complaint ID: ********

 

Please find below the response to the ****** **** complaint.

 

World Auto’s mission is to become a model enterprise in customer satisfaction, regulatory compliance, and shareholder value.  As part of our effort to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction, we apply a consistent methodology to evaluate each customer complaint.  As part of this review we consider all major areas of the sales and financing process.

 

Analysis: We reviewed the sales needs assessment to determine if the sales person understood the customer’s requirements and expectations.  We reviewed the sales person process for the vehicle presentation and demonstration to determine if the proper expectations were set for the vehicles features, benefits, and advantages.  We reviewed the sales manager’s deal setup and customer expectation settings.  We reviewed the Finance Manager lending activities, customer credit analysis, lenders selected, and expectations communicated to the customer for how the lending process would be performed.  We reviewed how well the customer expectations were set and their understanding of the activities that would or could occur during the financing process.  Finally, we reviewed what other outcomes had occurred after the complaint was filed and prior to our receipt and analysis of the complaint.

 

Root Cause of Complaint:   Please find below the response to the complaint:

 

Complaint: Salesperson committed to repair work on vehicle, but World Auto has not done the work.

 

Response:  The sales person committed to repair the bumper on the vehicle but did not put any service work on WE OWE agreement to finalize deal properly.   Attached is the WE OWE agreement that is supposed to show any work or service that is still remaining to be delivered to the customer after the sale.  As you see, on the WE OWE agreement only a referral fee is documented to be paid.

 

We have escalated to our service manager, and he has contacted the customer to schedule a repair of the vehicle.  We recommend to follow our One Time Goodwill Acknowledgement process to perform the repair activity and resolve the issue

 

Results: Following-up with client to address open service issue. 

 

Next Steps: World Auto is continuing to improve our Sales training for using the WE OWE process to finalize the deal and assure the customer's expectations are properly documented. 

 

Final Status:  Open.

 

Submitted By:   ******* ** ****, President   *********************

            

3/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a vehicle from World Auto as of Aug. 2014. I recently tried to complete a trade-in at another dealership on 3/6/2015 and was advised via a ****** that the vehicle has no value because it was totaled by the previous owner. World Auto did not disclose this information and omitted this from the car tittle that was sent to the finance company (******** *******). When I came to the dealership I spoke with ****** (Greer) and he advised me they use ********* and not ******. He did not try to assist me and really could care less about the auto fraud that his company committed. I have been driving this car since I was 4 months pregnant along with my daughter and other members of my family. This company has put me, my children , and my family in danger because I don't know if this car is safe to drive.

Desired Settlement: I did a trade-in with World Auto in which they gave me $4000.00 for my vehicle and I would like that money back since they no longer have my car there. Also I had to pay for a repair on the current vehicle in the amount of $370.00 to correct an engine issue that prevented the car from moving forward while in drive. I want the cost for the repair back as well. I also paid $365.00 in cash for taxes and tags. I would like that back as well.

Business Response: Date: 3/11/15 

Better Business Bureau of Upstate SC 
408 North Church Street, Suite C Greenville, SC 29601-2164 
****** ************* **** ************* ****** ********************** 

RE: ******* ********, Complaint ID: ******** 

Please find below the response to the ******* ******** complaint. 

World Auto’s mission is to become a model enterprise in customer satisfaction, 
regulatory compliance, and shareholder value. As part of our effort to achieve a high 
level of customer satisfaction, we apply a consistent methodology to evaluate each 
customer complaint. As part of this review we consider all major areas of the sales and 
financing process. 

Analysis: We reviewed the sales needs assessment to determine if the sales person 
understood the customer’s requirements and expectations. We reviewed the sales 
person process for the vehicle presentation and demonstration to determine if the proper 
expectations were set for the vehicles features, benefits, and advantages. We reviewed 
the sales manager’s deal setup and customer expectation settings. We reviewed the 
Finance Manager lending activities, customer credit analysis, lenders selected, and 
expectations communicated to the customer for how the lending process would be 
performed. We reviewed how well the customer expectations were set and their 
understanding of the activities that would or could occur during the financing process. 
Finally, we reviewed what other outcomes had occurred after the complaint was filed 
and prior to our receipt and analysis of the complaint. 

Root Cause of Complaint: Please find below responses to each of the complaints: 

Complaint #1: "I had purchased a vehicle from World Auto as of Aug. 2014. I recently 
tried to complete a trade-in at another dealership on 3/6/2015 and was advised via a 
****** that the vehicle has no value because it was totaled by the previous owner. 
World Auto did not disclose this information and omitted this from the car tittle that was 
sent to the finance company (******** *******)." 

Response: World Auto believes complaint #1 is false information. World Auto pulled the 
most current ********* report and no total loss is reported. Purchase of vehicle does 
not show any evidence of this claim. World Auto does not purchase cars that have been 
declared total losses, and ******** ******* would not finance this car. Most likely the 
client did not have enough equity in the vehicle to trade it in, and the individual providing 
the information to the customer provided misleading information. 

Complaint #2: Customer wants $370 for service bill. 
Response: Customer has pedal sensor that failed after being in vehicle 6 months. Total 
cost for repair by customer was $370 plus towing bill. Customer documentation clearly 
shows the vehicle was bought AS-IS and the customer is responsible for repairs. No 
warranty for the vehicle was purchased. 

********* ********** ****** **** dba World Auto 1450 W. Wade Hampton Blvd, Greer, SC 29650 
p:(**** ******** ** ***** ******** www.worldautosc.com 

The customer owns the vehicle and is responsible for repairs of their vehicle. All 
vehicles require repair and maintenance from time to time. World Auto is unable to 
provide service coverage at no cost to all customers due to the overwhelming cost 
involved. 

Results: Service incident resulted in request for funds from World Auto. 

Next Steps: World Auto is continuing to improve our Manager training for presenting 
warranty options and communicating to clients their responsibility for budgeting for repair 
and maintenance of their vehicle. 

Final Status : Open. 

Submitted By: ******* ** ****, President ********************* 

Integrity Investment Group, Inc. dba World Auto 1450 W. Wade Hampton Blvd, Greer, SC 29650 
p:(**** ******** ** ***** ******** ******************* 

Business Response:

The Total Loss was not listed on the vehicle title when World Auto purchased the vehicle on 7/31/14.  Nor was the Total Loss listed on the ********* report from ******** on 7/31/14 or on 3/16/15 when I ran it again.  Nor was the Total Loss listed on the Auction bill of sale for **** ****** Auto Sales who purchased the vehicle from ******** Auto Auction on 7/10/2013.

Please find attached the ********* report we used from ******** and the Bill of Sale listing the vehicle as "Green Light" with minor unibody damage.  At no time did World Auto have any information from our suppliers that this vehicle was anything other than a Green light vehicle.

btw: ******** ********* is a highly reliable information reporting service and is widely used by Dealers and Auctions nationwide.  It is uncommon that ****** and ********* do not agree, but it is possible since they receive their information independently.

We are very upset about this situation.  World Auto strives to purchase only high quality, green light vehicles, at fair market prices.  This is a terrible situation and we are continuing to follow-up with our legal team and the finance company to determine what other steps are required to resolve this problem. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I asked for this company to refund the amount in which they gave me for my trade-in vehicle and the owner refuse to do so. World Auto has sold my vehicle so they cannot return my trade-in to me. The finance company has already returned the total amount of my payments back and voided my loan. If World Auto wants to resolve this issue than they can simply give me back the amount for my trade-in vehicle and no further actions will need take place.


Regards,

******* ********

Consumer Response: Hello ******

World Auto has agreed to provide my money back for the trade-in vehicle.
Thank you,
******* ********

Business Response:

World Auto is not a litigious company, and desires to maintain a high customer satisfaction rating.  World Auto did not omit or deceive the customer in any way.  However, in order to resolve this dispute without further legal costs, World Auto is willing to pay the customer back for the balance of her down payment minus the payoff costs of the trade in.  Based upon the contract with *** ********, this total value is $1835.06.   This payment would be contingent upon a release from any liability, a resolved better business bureau complaint, and an agreement not to report negative information about World Auto by *** ******** to any sources.

8/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from World Auto in Greer in September 5th, 2013 and as of December 5th, 2013 I am still unable to register the vehicle. The car lot says they are unable to obtain the title to the vehicle. After speaking to the owner, he assured me that he had the title to the car, but he still does not.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my money back for the entire purchase (payments, down payment, financing charges).

Business Response: ****** The Title, Registration and Tag have all been processed today 12/18/13 and I will drop them off at our Greer location first thing tomorrow morning for the customer to pick up. The lender ****** **** ********* will get the Title. Everything has been taken care of. Regards, **** ********

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service