Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Uncle Joe's of SC, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 574-6994 Fax: (864) 595-1269 View Additional Phone Numbers 1022 E Blackstock Road, Moore, SC 29369 http://www.unclejoescars.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Uncle Joe's of SC, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Uncle Joe's of SC, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Uncle Joe's of SC, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 2003 Business started: 01/02/2002 in SC Business incorporated 01/02/2002 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joe Hudson, Member/Partner Mr. Roger Ezell, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Hudson, Member/Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 1022 E Blackstock Road

    Moore, SC 29369 (864) 574-6994

  • 3060 Reidville Road

    Spartanburg, SC 29301 (864) 699-9785

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I purchased a vehicle at Uncle Joes Cars & Trucks with $***** dollars down on December 9th. The vehicle broke down on the 14th and had to be towed. Joe the lot owner said it needed to much work to repair. We ask for our money back and he said the best he could do would be to put us in another vehicle. He placed us in another vehicle on December 16th. On December 24th the motor in that vehicle blew. Uncle Joes towed the vehicle on December 28th and on the 29th told us we would not be getting our money back and that he would be placing a debt on our credit in the amount of $1***** dollars. Something really needs to be done about this car lot. My wife and I both have jobs and two children ages 1 and 4 and now have no money or transportation.

Desired Settlement: We want the car lot to return all of our money, cancel the contact and remove any record of the transaction from our credit report

Business Response: On December 9, 2015 ******* ****** purchased a Chevy Trail Blazer from us with $**** down. On December 14th, he called and stated that the car was overheating. We had the car towed to **** Automotive to get checked out, but he stated he wanted a refund. I offered to put him in another vehicle, but at no time stated that the Trailblazer "needed to much work." I offered him a 2007 Chevy Equinox in place of the trail blazer. He and the salesperson did a thorough test drive to make sure the customer was satisfied with this car. They resigned paper work on the 07 Equinox. We got a call on Monday, December the 28th that the Equinox was not running right and was overheating. They requested a rental car, but we stated that the car needed to be towed and get a diagnostic 1st. On Tuesday December 29th, **** Automotive checked the car and stated it had a blown head gasket due to overheating. It would need to have the motor replaced. I called ** ****** stating that the car would be repaired with a replacement motor, and also offered a car rental. He refused stating he wanted the contract cancelled and a refund of his $**** down payment. Since the purchase of the car, they had put 1128 miles on the Equinox. The car is being repaired with a replacement motor at no cost to them. and will be ready the 1st of next week. Our vehicles are inspected and serviced before being sold, however  these are used cars and it's impossible to predict future mechanical problems. We work to find solutions when there is a mechanical issue.


Sincerely

***
Note: The Trailblazer only need a thermostat and was repaired

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a car from uncle Joe's cars&trucks on 2/20/2015. It has been less than 30 days and I'm already have problems with the car cutting completely off in the middle of the road.This incident is hindering me from working and putting my safety at risk. When I spoke to maria from uncle joes she was very uncooperative and ampathic. She was more focus on me making the next payment instead of helping me get fix the car issue and inside my safety

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to completely fix the problem or exchange cars. Also I need transportation to my job today. If they don't want to cooperate I just want them to refund my down payment

Business Response: *** ***** called Monday, March 23rd, at 5:15 pm stating her car would not start. The call was answered by ********* and she immediately called to have the

towed to a repair shop. The car was repaired and returned to the customer Wednesday March 25th. The repair item was covered under the 2 year, 36000 mile 
service contract with a $100 deductible.
Sincerely,
*** ******

3/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently my husband and I purchased a 1999 **** Ranger pick-up truck from Uncle Joes used car lot in Spartanburg SC in the beginning of November of last year. From the day we got the stupid thing we have had nothing but problems. First the passenger door wouldnt open and when they got it to open they messed up the switch that caused the power window to quit working. There was a vibration on the front driver side. Next the heat wasnt blowing and the radio kept going in and out. Paint was chipping and the 6th cylinder started misfiring. One Sunday about a month ago my husband was running up the road to a friends house and the tire fell off. It caused damage and the owner*** personally stated that he would fix everything that was wrong with the truck when we bought it at the beginning and now they are trying to act like they want to charge us for the tire when it was like that when we got the truck. Also my husband works in **** and due to the recent storms he was out of work for two weeks. We had to miss last weeks payment because of this and agreed to pay a payment and a half this week and the same next week. His payments are due on Saturday due to the fact that sometimes they work Friday and he doesnt get back from **** until after they close on Friday. Now they said that the payment had to be today even though his payments are due Saturdays. When the lady called me she was extremely rude and I really hope that you can help me with this. If the weather wasnt so bad he would have been there today. Not only did they swindle my husband I am positive with their attitudes others have had the same problems with them. They even have a sign on their payment window stating that if problems occur like the ones that occurred with my family they would do all they could to accommodate the situation and help. This is false and misleading and I feel that something has to be done about these swindlers!

Desired Settlement: We asked them to give us another vehicle and we would make the payments on it like we have this one. We are paying seventeen thousand dollars altogether and we should be satisfied.

Business Response:

******* ****** purchased a 1999 **** Ranger from Uncle Joe's Car and Trucks on October 29, 2013. On December 17, 2013 they took their car to a repair shop complaining off a skip. It had a bad spark plug wire and a window switch part had to be order. There was no charge to the customer even though they had already put 6373 miles on the truck. On January 21, 2014 their car was towed to a repair shop due to the fact they stated that the "wheel had come off. "  In discussing this problem with the repair shop, it needed a left front spindle and wheel bearing. Also there was no wheel or tire when the car was towed in. The repair technition stated that an impact such as running off the road or running into something could have caused this problem. The miles since purchased was 6769. There is an extended service contract that covered this repair also. with no charge to the customer. However, tires are not covered under the service contract. We have honored  what was expected in repair items. The loan status of their account is covered under the privacy act. However, arrangements were made on a promise to pay for a certain date. 

 

Uncle Joe's of SC

************

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Uncle Joe's of SC, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart