Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Stan Egan's Auto World, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 877-0909 Fax: (864) 848-9205 View Additional Phone Numbers 900 W Wade Hampton Blvd, Greer, SC 29650 http://staneganautoworld.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

This company is not an accredited business of the Better Business Bureau. 


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stan Egan's Auto World, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stan Egan's Auto World, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 10, 1997 Business started: 05/07/1996 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Stan Egan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Egan, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    900 W Wade Hampton Blvd

    Greer, SC 29650 (864) 877-0909

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 493

    Greer, SC 29652

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my car in June of this year. Mr.Egan helped get us financed through Credit Acceptance. In November, I was due to have surgery and needed another car. My husband and I made the decision to borrow against his 401k to pay off the existing loan, buy another car and pay for my surgery. We gave Mr.Egan the payoff amount because he said that he could expedite it and we wouldn't have to make any more steps. In the 6 months that he has had the money, Credit Acceptance has called me multiple times threatening to repossess the car. I would call Mr. Egan, and he would make a payment to them. He has yet to pay off the car. He has made numerous promises of when it will be paid for and he has yet to live up to any of them. My credit score is getting worse and at this point, I just need my money back for the car and my name off of the loan. He isn't paying the car off and I don't believe that he intends to either.

Desired Settlement: I want the $11,000 that I paid and my name off of the loan.

Business Response: In the process of resolving the complaint with *** ****** - spoke to her as early as today.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The car has not been paid off therefore, until it is paid in full or a full refund and loan transference has been made, this complaint will remain unresolved.
Regards,

******** ******




Consumer Response: CONFERENCE CALL SCHEDULED FOR TUESDAY, JUNE 10 @ 10:00 AM

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Saab 9-3 from Stan Egan in June of this year. We made the mistake of going by his reputation for being fair and a fair Christian man. He had sold me a Jaguar previously and it ran great so we had no reason to think that the Saab we purchased was bad. He even told us that it came from a mechanic that only worked on Saabs. On August 29 of this year within 2 months, we were stranded. I had noticed that it was acting a little funny by the a/c going off and the car acting sluggish. it also had a loud hum after it reached over 70mph. When we talked to Stan, he had no idea. Then, when we were stranded, he told us to take it to the same place that he purchased the car. There we found out that crankshaft was destroyed. We went back to **** after hearing that there was no way that the car's crankshaft could have gone out in the time period. **** acted angry and said that he was going to make this right. He said that he was going to get to the bottom of it. he gave us a loaner car and for 2 months after we kept calling, he kept stalling. My husband got money out of his 401k to save money and pay it off. When we asked**** about the car, he said that he would have an answer the next morning. I called again and he stalled again by saying that it may have more wrong with it. Then he asked what we were planning on doing with the car. I told him that we could not afford to have it fixed and he said that he would pay to have the car fixed and then resale it for us so that we could purchase another car from him. The mechanic said that **** had only called twice and came down once and that was the week before we came in to pay it off. **** insists that if he pays to fix it, then he will resale the car and give us the money after he gets his money back for the repairs. I think that this is unfair. We trusted him and he won't keep his word about making this right.

Desired Settlement: When we purchased the car, **** kept saying that the car had been inspected and serviced. He said that he would make it right when he kept lying and lying over and over. I cannot trust this man anymore and I just want my 10,000 dollars back. I am through.

Business Response: On June 15th, 2013 ***** *** ******* ****** purchased a 2002 Jaguar from Stan Egan's Auto World and as I understand are enjoying it with no complaints. It was purchased without a warranty. On June 29th, 2013 ***** and ******* ****** purchased a 2003 Saab from Stan Egan's Auto World and although it had low miles on it (approximately 79k) it developed some mechanical issues. It was purchased without a warranty also. On October 12th,2013 ***** and ******* ****** purchased a 2007 Chrysler PT Cruiser from Stan Egan's Auto World again without a warranty.  Since the mechanic was trying to help the customer get used parts for their Saab to reduce their costs he has taken a little extra time in repairing it; plus, the customer has gone back and forth about whether they wanted to keep their Saab. After I talked with ***** ****** the other day I asked him if he wanted me to help them by paying to have it fixed and then selling the car for them or them keeping it. I agreed to him that I would get the car fixed at my cost and returning it to them.  Hopefully, this should resolve the problem however, I will get a release signed by the ******s accepting this as satisfactory to them and not  holding  Stan Egan's Auto World liable for any future repairs or problems that may occur.    **** ****.

11/7/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put a $3500 dollar cash downpayment on the car and instead of deducting it from the price, he added it to the price and then telling me that thats how much interest hes charging. The day after I bought the car, Ive been having nothin but problems with it. It has been seven months and the car has been to at least 5 or 6 different mechanics and no one can figure out what is wrong with the car. I wanted to take the car back from the start and all I asked was for my downpayment back and still he refused to co-operate. 

Desired Settlement: I want to get rid of the car and get my downpayment back. I worked real hard for that money.

Business Response:

*** ****** purchased VW “as is, no warranty”, Customer paid down payment of $3,500, and vehicle was financed @ 29.5% interest which totaled #3,041.90. Work was done on vehicle to assist customer out of goodwill. Repairs were performed by ********’s and F-1 Auto at Stan Egan’s cost of $550.00 – no charge to customer.

 

Customer’s parents recently came in to discuss issues.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

  I didnt realize that the $3040.00 was the interest. But the main thing is I purchased the car on a Saturday which the car at the time was already driven and was running smooth but then the next day

when the car was cold, it was running terrible. I went back either on that Monday or Tuesday and complained about the car and asked for my down payment back. I was told that the car would be fixed

and since no one could find out what the problem of the car is, I asked for my down payment back again, and still was not granted. Apparantly the car had problems way before I even bought it but I didnt

know about the problems because the car has been driven before I took it for a test drive.

   

Regards,

 

****** ******