Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Family Auto of Easley, LLC

Phone: (864) 644-2886 Fax: (864) 644-2277 7111 Calhoun Memorial Hwy, Easley, SC 29640 http://www.familyautoofeasley.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pre-owned vehicles and warranties on all vehicles sold. They offer buy here-pay here contracts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Family Auto of Easley, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Family Auto of Easley, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Family Auto of Easley, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 2008 Business started: 07/14/2008 in SC Business incorporated 06/05/2008 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

SC Dept. of Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine St. Ste 200, Columbia SC 29205-2418
http://www.consumer.sc.gov
Phone Number: 800-922-1594 (toll free in SC) 803-734-4200 outside SC

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Ezell, Partner Mr. Adam Ezell, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Ezell, Partner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Used Cars/Appliances

Additional Locations

  • 7111 Calhoun Memorial Hwy

    Easley, SC 29640 (864) 644-2886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The offer a refer a friend program. The program states If If you send a friend or family member to them they will pay you $100 and if you send them 12 people they will give you the title to your car free and clear. No other details are available. So I sent a friend up there which did purchase a car from them. I called and asked about the bonus money they said it would be the following week. I said ok. Now here it is a month later and i still have not received this bonus money from them. They need to have better details on the refer program. That states when the money will be received. The car salesman had a post by him on a Facebook page stating that you send someone up there and you will receive. The check the next week. If that's the case he is lying to people. Because its been over 30 days for me.

Desired Settlement: For my bonus money that is due to me. Be given.

Business Response: This customer was issued a check on the regular schedule that referral checks are written.  Customer has endorsed check and has been paid on schedule.

 
 

9/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car payment is not due until Saturday. I pay my payment on thursday. 2day ahead of time. The ladynamed ******* that runs the billing department has a major additude. Every time the payment is made. My account is in great standing. Repeated attempts to resolve the issue and still nothing. Its come to my attention that location has no real manger. I hope I can resolve this issue going through here I might get this fixed. Because they not going to threaten me. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: For this lady crystal. To stop threaten to repo my car and to lose her major additude.

Business Response: Aug.28. 2013 4:28PM  *******

Complaint ID: *******

In regards to the complaint made on 8/22/ 13. On 12/29/2012 customers purchased a 2001 Nissan Quest. We value them as customers. Customer is a weekly account with the amount of $80.00 due on Saturdays; however since the beginning of the lean customer has been scheduled to make 36 weekly payments. Out of these payments 23 has been paid on time and the other 13 were late.

Management spoke with *** ***** on 8/26/ 13 and *** ***** stated that Family Auto has worked with them since the beginning of the loan and eustorner has no issues to discuss, to the best of my knowledge both parties agreed the matter was resolved.

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Family Auto in Easley to purchase a car. I needed a car that day so I made the mistake of not having my own mechanic check the car before I left the lot. The sales person assured me the car had just had a used car inspection and was in perfect working order. I bought the car and before I had gone more than ten miles the check engine light came on. I had my own mechanic then do an actual used car inspection on the vehicle. My mechanic said the check engine light can be manually cut off but will reappear within a few miles of driving the car. So for the light not to have been on during my test drive someone would have had to manually cut it off just before. The inspection also came up with a full list of problems. There were multiple leaks, engine valves that were bad, and the seat belt censors weren't working properly. The seat belts would not have locked up had I been in an accident. I went back to the dealership with the used car inspection paper showing the problems. I wanted to return the car and get my down payment back since the dealership failed to tell me of the safety issues with the car. They had signed a form saying to be open and honest in all transactions and were not. They took the car back but refused to admit wrong doing and refused to give me back my money. As a single mother the down payment was a lot of money to me. I would recommend that no one do business with Family Auto. They also put the car I returned back on the lot within an hour of me returning it. I think this company has a complete disregard for their customers' safety and are only worried about making the sale.

Desired Settlement: I would like my down payment amount of $675 to be returned to me because I feel the company was fraudulent when selling me the car.

Business Response: June 17, 2013
Family Auto of Easley has their vehicles inspected and serviced before they are put on the lot for sale. The check engine light was on for issues that were not related to safety, nor the good running order of the vehicle, therefore, those repairs were not deemed a necessity. *** ****** signed a receipt that stated “NON REFUNDABLE OPTION TO PURCHASE”. Family Auto of Easley had the vehicle inspected again before it was put back on the lot for sale. Vehicle has since been sold and current customer has had no issues. *** ****** had a legally binding contract with Family Auto of Easley that was not satisfied. Family Auto of Easley did not report this as repossession to her credit. Family Auto of Easley will honor $675 the customer paid towards the purchase of a comparable priced vehicle at our dealership.

6/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a 2002 Jeep Liberty at the pushing of **** ***** who promised us that this was a solid trustworthy vehicle. we asked for a car fax report and was told that he could not get one. we drove it to the beach 2 months after we got it and discovered that it was having engine problems. we were directed to take it to ******** Auto, they repaired some things but we were told that the company would not allow him to work on the evap system, nor could he actually work on the oil problem and had me change the oil myself.We were also told by 2 mechanics this was not the original engine as family auto had told us and that this engine would not last much longer. We went to family auto and explained to her (*****, the manager over our account) that the engine was not fixed and they told us to just keep driving the vehicle,so we did and 1 week later it dropped a cylinder and the vehicle completely lost power while it was being driven and made a very dangerous situation for my family. we told them it was a lemon, we asked to get out of the contract and to have our down payment added to our other loan, and was very rudely told they could not nor would they help us and **** ***** purposely hung up on me.before hanging up He said he did not care about rectifying this situation and made insinuating remarks about our other loan.

Desired Settlement: we want our down payment added to the payoff on our other loan or refund of $1500

Business Response: On February 6, 2013, ******** ****** called Family Auto of Easley and inquired about purchasing a mid-size SUV. Being that **** ****** is a current customer and has paid off another vehicle with our company, her credit was immediately approved. When **** ****** arrived at the dealership on February 6, 2013, a Family Auto employee accompanied the customer on two test drives of two different vehicles. BOTH test drives were complete, *** ****** chose to purchase 2002 Jeep Liberty. At time of purchase the vehicle odometer reading was 132673. *** ****** purchased a 2 year 36,000 mile AVP service contract with a $100 deductible. On April 24, 2013 customer called and stated that there was a service issue with the vehicle. The odometer reading at the time of service call was 136766. Customer was referred to an AVP approved repair facility. 0n May 3, 2013 customer called Family Auto and stated that the vehicle was not running and was on the side of I85 at exit 100. At my direction, I had vehicle towed to ****** SC at NO CHARGE to customer. ***.****** called the dealership on May 4, 2013, and stated that she did NOT want the vehicle back. When vehicle was towed to Easley the odometer was 133157. I decided to take vehicle to an independent 3rd party Certified Jeep Dealership which was ******** *****. The repair was a cylinder 6 compression issue. The cost of this repair was $388.34 at NO CHARGE to customer. The vehicle is repaired and in perfect running condition. Customer signed a receipt for the down payment of $1500 which states “non refundable option to purchase.” The vehicle was driven 4,484 miles from the time of purchase. Family Auto of Easley has over 790 satisfied customers and all of our employees go the extra mile to make customer service a priority. The customer has posted several negative remarks on social network sites and Family Auto of Easley website. It is our position that NO refund is due to customer and our company considers this matter closed. This breach of contract will be reported to Equifax as an Involuntary Repossession on the customer’s credit report. Included is the proper paperwork to verify all of the above information.
Sincerely,
**** *****

4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service