Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vic Bailey Subaru Mazda

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 582-1200 Fax: (864) 573-5161 400 East Daniel Morgan Avenue, Spartanburg, SC 29302 http://www.vicbaileyauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vic Bailey Subaru Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vic Bailey Subaru Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vic Bailey Subaru Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1981
Business Management
Mr. Vic Bailey III, President Mr. Jim Sackett, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vic Bailey III, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jim Sackett, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 400 East Daniel Morgan Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29302 (864) 582-1200

  • P O Box 5087

    Spartanburg, SC 29304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Vic Bailey Mazda Subaru on April 29th, 2014. As we were about to take it to an independent mechanic for an analysis, I noticed some marks on the front bumper. The salesman said they were bug splatter and would come off with some soap and water. I was mostly concerned with the mechanical condition of the vehicle, and didn't closely inspect the bumper at that time to verify what the salesman said. After the purchase I realized that the marks were all marred clear coat and paint, damage which would cost over a thousand dollars to repair. I tried contacting the dealership about this misleading sales practice but never received a response in regard to the marred paint.

Desired Settlement: $2000 refund to cover any repair costs. There isn't a body shop available at my overseas location with the military to do the work, so I will be saving the money until we get back to the continental United States to fix it.

Business Response:

I have a copy of two additional papers that were involved in the transaction but am unable to attach them to this email for some reason.  I will send them under separate cover. 

This deal was done primarily over the phone but the customer came to the dealership to take delivery of the vehicle.  He looked at the vehicle, test drove it, signed the paperwork and left happy.  .  The documents I am sending are the signed buyers guide showing the warranty and a signed we owe.  Please review and let me know if you need any additional information.  We do our best to accommodate our customers, but in this case we delivered everything that was promised.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

I will discuss the business' response sentence by sentence.

"This deal was done primarily over the phone but the customer came to the dealership to take delivery of the vehicle."
This is true.

"He looked at the vehicle, test drove it, signed the paperwork and left happy."
I did look at the vehicle, and at that time was told by the salesman, **** *****, that the messy look of the paint on the front bumper was due to insect splatter, which would come off easily with some light scrubbing. Given that it was near the end of the day, and I wanted to get the car inspected and back before the dealership closed (because I lived 3 hours away), I did not take the time to wash the car.

I did test drive it to a mechanic who checked major vehicle functions, but nothing pertaining to the exterior finish.

I was asked to sign a contract stating I owed sales tax on the vehicle. I told them that was false because I already purchased a motorcycle in SC, on which I paid zero taxes because I am a military member stationed in SC (at the time of both purchases) on active duty orders. At first they said I was absolutely wrong and they have charged every military member to walk through their doors sales tax. To prove me wrong, they had a printed piece of paper with handwritten notes explaining that I needed to pay sales tax, without any reference to a law or statute. I then spent a few minutes searching the South Carolina Code of Laws, and found "SECTION 12-36-2120", paragraph (25), which says I am exempt if I provide within ten days a Leave and Earnings statement (LES) or signed statement from a higher ranking officer. After proving their mistake, they required that I immediately furnish one of the two forms of proof, rather than allow me even a single day of the ten to provide them the information. I was able to reset my password for our online pay system and login to provide them the LES. They also wanted me to sign a blank Title Application, and trust them to fill it in completely and accurately later. I refused and said I would write in the information, and they said no state would accept a handwritten title application, again without any reference to Law, Statute, or Agency rule of any kind. They also said there was no one left at the dealership that day who could type it in. They eventually decided they would mail it to me when it was filled out, and I could sign and mail it back. They also wanted me to sign the warranty they attached, where it originally said in case of a warranty claim that they would be liable for 0% of the parts and labor costs. I told them that if they wouldn't pay anything or provide any parts or labor, then it really wasn't a warranty and they needed to correct the % amount before I would sign it.

I left with a car, but I did not leave happy with the way we were treated, and I did not sign all the paperwork they asked me to.

"The documents I am sending are the signed buyers guide showing the warranty and a signed we owe."  
I did sign these documents, and did not put damaged paint on the "we owe" because the salesman told me (lied) that the bumper was merely dirty. If I was told the truth, I would have put that discrepancy on the "we owe".

"Please review and let me know if you need any additional information.  We do our best to accommodate our customers, but in this case we delivered everything that was promised."
What was promised was a car whose bumper was merely dirty, not covered with marred divots from rocks/other impacts.

In regards to the Title Application, it was faxed a few days later, with signatures that resembled ours, but were not ours, to our bank, from Vic Bailey Mazda/Subaru. This happened before I even received the form in the mail, much less sign the improperly filled form and mail it back to them. Because BBB does not handle complaints of a criminal nature, that fact is not intended in any way to form the basis for this complaint, but only as a response to the claims of the business that I "signed the paperwork" and "We do our best to accommodate our customers", which are far from the truth. Upon being informed of the signature issue, I was first offered a free hitch and installation (after I already had bought and installed one myself), then a free extended warranty plan (last pages of attachment 2), and then the warranty offer was revoked and the owner claimed that they did not believe the document was signed at the dealership, even though it came from a fax machine in the finance manager(**** ****)'s office.

I've attached documents to support much of what I said. If you would like a record of something else, please let me know and I may be able to provide it.

Regards,


****** *****

Business Response: We have researched this various times for this customer and made the decision that nothing is owed. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

The business said, "We have researched this various times for this customer and made the decision that nothing is owed.", yet they never responded to my email about the paint damage, and this interaction through the BBB is the only other contact I have tried, and the only response I have received from them regarding the paint damage. They have not "researched this [the paint damage] various times".

If they are referring to the Title Application forgery, that is not the subject of this complaint, but a fact I presented to the BBB in response to the business' partially false claim that I "signed the paperwork".

The business has yet to take responsibility for the misrepresentation by their salesman concerning the condition of the vehicle. That is the issue I am seeking resolution for.
.
Regards,

***** ******

10/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service