Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vic Bailey Honda

Phone: (864) 585-5344 Fax: (864) 594-6830 500 East Daniel Morgan Avenue, Spartanburg, SC 29302 http://www.vicbaileyauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vic Bailey Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vic Bailey Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vic Bailey Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 15, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1973
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Business Management
Mr. Howell Foster Jr., Owner Mr. Vic Bailey III, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howell Foster Jr., Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 500 East Daniel Morgan Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29302 (864) 585-5344

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2011 I purchased a 2006 Nissan Murano from Vic Bailey Honda. At the time of purchase I requested a car facts sheet and was given one that stated no structural damage or accidents had occurred. Vic Bailey then faxed this sheet to my financial institution. After driving the car for 2 months I had some issues in the front end. The car was taken back and was fixed even though it was out of warranty. Since 2011 there have been 6 issues with the front end. I decided to trade the car and imagine my surprise when a car facts sheet was printed and I found out that the car did indeed have structural damage and was wrecked in 2008. Therefore, I was unable to get what the value of the car should have been and the difference was $4500. The very next day I called and asked to speak to the General Manager and was told he was unavailable but would call me back. No call was received. I called again the next day and spoke to the person that was supposedly the General Manager. His response was "thank you for letting me know". When I told him that was unacceptable he offered to set me up with a new car. I then told him I would never buy anything from them again. It seems that not only did they defraud me as a customer, Vic Bailey also sent a fraudulent car facts to my financial institution.To me, it seems that they should at least be prepared to offer some compensation because their fraudulent act cost me a lot of money. For 2 years I believed I had purchased a safe, reliable car and the whole time I was driving an accident looking for a place to happen. Not to mention all the money spent fixing front end issues due to the structural damage.

Desired Settlement: I do not expect to receive full compensation, however, I feel some sort of monetary compensation should be received. I have since traded the car but got nowhere near what I had in it. I feel that Vic Bailey Honda new what they were selling me and changed the car facts in order to make a quick sale. My financial institution would never have lent me the amount of money they did on a car with structural damage and questionable issues. I feel as a consumer I did everything I was supposed too.

Business Response:

** **** purchased the 2006 Nissan Murano on April 7, 2011 for $13998. At the time of purchase, the vehicle had approximately 70683 miles on the odometer.  The Carfax report given to*** ****** lending institution is the only one that existed when she purchased the car. The structural damage that is now listed on the report was not listed until July of 2011, 3 months after she had purchased the vehicle. While I certainly understand ** ****** concern, there is no evidence of any mechanical failure that could be attributed to anything other than normal wear and tear.  Vic Bailey Honda does not feel **. **** is entitled to any compensation. 

Sincerely, 

****** ** ****** ***

General Manager

Consumer Response: Better  Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

 
I have attached the Carfax and Sales Sticker as requested for other paperwork.  I don't have a signed Contract with Vic Bailey Honda as I financed the car through my local creditu union.
Regards,

**** ****


12/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues