Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 585-3600 Fax: (864) 594-6801 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 East Daniel Morgan Avenue, Spartanburg, SC 29302 http://www.vicbaileyford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

SC Dept. of Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine St. Ste 200, Columbia SC 29205-2418
http://www.consumer.sc.gov
Phone Number: 800-922-1594 (toll free in SC) 803-734-4200 outside SC

SC Secretary of State
1205 Pendleton St. Ste 525, Columbia SC 29201
http://www.sos.sc.gov
Phone Number: 803-734-2170

Business Management
Mr. Vic Bailey III, President Mr. Jim Sackett , General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vic Bailey III, President
Related Businesses
Vic Bailey Subaru Mazda Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln Vic Bailey Honda Vic Bailey Volkswagon
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Vic Bailey Auto Center

Additional Locations

  • 501 East Daniel Morgan Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29302 (864) 585-3600

  • 703 West Main Street

    Spartanburg, SC 29301

  • P O Box 3568

    Spartanburg, SC 29304

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing a complaint about the Ford dealership in Spartanburg where we purchased a truck on November the 16th. I went with my father to the dealership and there met a sales associate and we discussed exactly the type of truck my father wished to purchased. He led us outside and let us test drive the v6 and v8 2015 Ford F-150 King Ranch top-of-the-line. Inside the truck, the salesman clearly pointed out all the options on this specific King Ranch. One option that really stood out for my father was the 360 degree camera view, and another was the very large sun roof.He drives with a trailer for work and backs up on tight driveways and always uses an assistant to help him back up. He was very excited about this option because it will be a tremendous help to back-up and drive with the trailer. After the test drive, my father decided to get this special top-of-the-line trim and the salesperson reassured us that all the options will be included in the truck that he will find us. So my father gave him the color of the vehicle he wished to have, the engine size, and double checking to have all of the desired options for his truck. We waited a couple days until he called us after searching for a truck, saying that he found exactly what we were looking for. Over the phone, my father asked again if it included the 360-view, and he told him that it does and has all the options he showed us during the test drive. So my father took his word and trusted him into buy the truck. We did not notice that the 360 view was not there until a couple days after the purchase when my father was driving with a trailer and he was looking everywhere for that camera button. (We bought the truck with more than 700 miles on it- and my father did not put more than 200 miles on it when he found out.) My father called up the salesperson and asked him where the button was because he could not find it at all. He told my father to FaceTime him, so the salesperson can show him exactly where that button is, and he called right away. He showed him the inside of his truck, and the salesperson notified him that the option was not there and told him to come to the dealership to get this settled. When my father got there, the manager of the dealership was sitting, rocking in his chair, with a blank look in his face,and my father saw how much he did not really care about the problem. He talked with the salesperson and the manager, and after going back and forth- instead of fixing the problem, they did their best to walk away from it. My father kept pressuring them into fixing the problem and was getting more and more angry with them. He does not speak English very well and I feel like they were trying to take advantage of that when my father was trying to get this fixed. After arguing with them, he stood up said he is going to file a complaint on them and started to leave, and they right away said, " We are going to see what we can do." Several days after that, they called him and told him they found a place that can have it installed, at his own expense! I have a feeling they were trying to stretch out the time and keep putting it off. He bought this truck, for a large sum of money, and the dealership stated several times that they will not be able to do anything else because they were not making any money off the truck. They wanted him to pay an additional $***** on top of the large amount he already is paying them, to have other people install something that should have been included in the first place. My father does not want people taking apart his brand new truck, scratching the plastic and drilling holes in the dash board and on the outside of his brand new truck.

Desired Settlement: I just need this problem to be resolved the way it is supposed to be. He needs to have the truck that he initially paid for and what the salesperson told my father. He's not looking for money back, just to fix the problem. The salesperson made us pay extra to have this special package and that's exactly what we did.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

In reference to the complaint about the 360-view camera on the King Ranch F-150 account#*****, We do not feel that we have done wrong by this customer in any way whatsoever.

We worked with this customer over the span of a week or two trying to find a truck in the right color and equipment combinations. We went back and forth multiple times over pricing and options, etc. Finally, the customer brought us information for the exact truck he wanted to purchase. We had not been able to find him EXACTLY what he wanted, because the combination of equipment and color he was looking for was not available at any dealership in our region. We were surprised when the customer stated that he had found exactly what he was looking for, but when he showed up with the VIN and information on that specific truck, we went into action, quoted him a price which beat the dealer who had that particular truck in their inventory, and upon agreeing on a price we sent drivers to get the vehicle.

We never reviewed the specifications of the truck that the customer finally bought because we assumed (obviously incorrectly) that if the customer was bringing the information directly to us, rather than us finding it for him, that it was equipped in a manor he would be satisfied with. We always give customers the opportunity to look over their vehicles prior to signing any paperwork and never finalize anything until the customer has taken delivery of the vehicle and they are satisfied. It would not be sound business practice to give every customer multiple days to change their mind about whether or not they purchased the right vehicle.

We regret that this situation occurred as we would never want to have an unhappy customer, but we cannot pay for a mistake that we did not make.

We are attaching a photo from the salesman’s phone where he took a picture of the customer’s phone when he brought in the information for the truck he wanted to purchase.

Consumer Response:

I have read their statement in which they say they did not do any wrong with him, but that is a total lie.I want to point directly to their lies and it can easily be proven. When we were finished test driving the truck, my father told the salesperson everything that he wanted for his truck- the equipment and colors. He did not go back and forth on anything, he told him there right away. Before we left from the dealership, the salesperson told him to wait a little bit while he finds one online, but he told my dad to let him know if he finds anything on his own. Then he received a call from the salesman, stated that he found exactly what my dad was looking for, and gave him the price. Before going to the dealership, he did his own research, and found that kind of truck for a cheaper price. When he called that place, they told him that it was already SOLD and because of that he was not able to look at any of the options on the truck. So then he went to the dealership that same day, he told them he found a truck for a lower price. So the salesman asks my father to show him the vin number, and he was able to pull it up on the website he found- and that is how he took that picture of the vin number off my father’s phone. A couple minutes later he comes back with a smile, telling my father that that is the same truck which they reserved for my father. And that can be easily proved because it was on a Saturday on November 14th, but if you look at the dealership's information in *********, you will see that the dealership sold the truck BEFORE the salesman even called my dad. (********* was where the truck was picked up for my father.) So since they are the ones that got it reserved for him, my father knew that it was everything he wanted because that is exactly what they said, and they found it for him. If it was not sold, he could have went to that dealership in *********, look at it on his own, pick it up by himself- instead of hiring drivers- and get it for a cheaper cost. But since it was sold, he could not go up there to look at anything. That truck was new and so many buttons and options on it, he could not go over everything right away. He was not concerned about something being missing, because the salesperson told him since he is paying for this King Ranch, it will have all the options, including the 360-view. I was there with my father and I even remember my father asking the salesman and he reassured him that all the options my father want will be included. A couple days after purchasing, when he could not find the button, he called salesman. I am sorry for repeating this but the salesperson was so sure the button was there, and kept explaining where exactly it is located. After searching and not finding it, asked my father to FaceTime, showing him the interior of the truck to help him locate that button. Showing him the place where it should be, the sale man was very shocked that it was not present, he even said that it should be included on the top-of-the-line King Ranch my father purchased, specifically for all the useful extras that were included in the package. 
They wrote to you saying that they could not find the right combinations for what my father wanted and that he was the one that found this truck on his own. That is a complete lie. They reserved before my father was able to find it on his own, which is already under the assumption they found him exactly what he was searching for. If he was able to beat the dealership in finding the truck, there is no point in him spending much more money with this dealership if he could take a small drive and save much more. You can contact the ********* dealership and found out the date when it was purchased by the dealership here. If needed, I can make a request from my phone company to show you when was the first time I called the ********* dealership. Then you will see clearly that they are lying to you and not wishing to resolve this issue. Thank you very much, I really hope you will be able to help us with this problem. Before buying the truck and then coming back with this problem they acted so much different. They were kind and eager to listen in the beginning, but after coming back with the 360-view problem, they were not helpful at all and did not even seem to strive to fix anything.

Business Response:

In response to the customer’s statement on 12/28/2015:

Unfortunately, it appears this has developed into a he said/we said situation. We did not deceive this customer in any way. The truck that we originally located with all of the specifications he asked for was in, ** and the client told us that he did not wish to pay the premium to have the vehicle transported from that far away. That is the point at which the customer brought in the VIN to the truck that he found for a “cheaper price” in *********. It makes sense now that the vehicle was a cheaper price because of the missing equipment. We will accept fault and blame for not more thoroughly going over the window sticker with the customer before going to get the vehicle from the other dealer, but again, when a customer brings us the information of the vehicle from another dealership that they would wish to purchase, we take for granted the fact that they are aware of what exactly that vehicle is equipped with. As to the customer’s assertion that we had purchased the vehicle from the other dealership prior to his finding and calling about the vehicle on November 14th, I am attaching a copy of our wholesale transfer agreement with Town & Country Ford in *********, clearly dated for Monday November 16, 2015. When we called Saturday the 14th to inquire about the availability of the truck (after the customer brought in the VIN on his own) we were told that they were working a deal on it, but if their customer didn't show up Monday to pick up the truck, then it was ours. We then worked out the deal with the customer and beat the price that he had negotiated with the dealership in ********* and that was all there was to it.

Our dealership made a profit of $1.56 off of the sale of this truck. The customer keeps mentioning getting a better price, we sold the vehicle to him at a price that was more than fair. A $1.56 profit off of a $54,161 investment. I do not think that we took advantage of this gentleman by any means. We did offer to install the 360* camera at our cost, and the customer declined this offer. We also offered to trade the vehicle in for the customer and try again to find him exactly what he was looking for.

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to this establishment to have recall work completed. The vehicle was in perfect running condition before the torque converter failed which was the recall part to be replaced. They completed the recall work and I picked the vehicle up. One week later I broke down in route to taking it back to them because it was having the same issues. Had to be towed a second time. They told me it was a different problem. Reluctantly paid $*** for the repair that I was told would fix my vehicle. Once again one week later I broke down and had to be towed for a third time while on a business trip. Received a phone call yesterday informing me that I had 2 more problems and the cost would be $**** When I asked if that would fix it I was told that it may or may not fix the problem. It was then suggested that I replace transmission to be sure of no further problems. I researched issues involving having the recall work completed. What I found was that if my fluid was not changed when that part was replaced it could cause the transmission to fail because of trash being in the fluid from the torque converter failing. I was told by the service manager that the fluid was not part of the recall work and that it had NOT been changed. And they didn't even suggest I have it changed when it was in for that work to be completed. When I picked it up the transmission fluid was low,(caused from new torque converter filling with fluid when replaced) they didn't even check it. I should not have to go behind and check everything a supposedly certified technician should have taken care of. I spoke with the owner and received a call back from service manager who in my opinion was very rude. He proceeded to tell me that he wouldn't dare be the one that said there was nothing wrong with my vehicle before the initial break down due to a recalled part. In other words calling me a liar. And told me that there was no technician in the world that could tell me whether I needed the two sensors replaced or the entire transmission. I will not pay $*** for this work to be done on a guess. This establishment is out for money and not truly taking care of their customers needs and I will not be dealing with them again. This is my only vehicle, with two children it is not an option of being without a vehicle. Towing the vehicle home will be the fourth tow in one month plus being out of $*** that I was told would fix my vehicle and it didn't. And last but definitely not least I can not work because I have no transportation now. And the only thing they seem to be interested in is taking my money for a repair that they have openly admitted may not fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: Vehicle repaired at business's expense to working order. Which was the condition of vehicle before the recalled part failed. And reimbursement of $****** that was paid for repairs I was told would fix the vehicle and it didn't. I feel this is very generous because I am also without a job or transportation to find a new one because of this.

Business Response:

First, I do understand *** *********'s concern and situation. *** ********* did bring her car in for us to perform the torque converter safety recall ***** on 10/8/2015. She did also state the vehicle stopped while driving 5-10 mph. This is a Ford Motor Company recall campaign and not a Vic Bailey recall campaign. All Ford dealers are required to perform these recalls at customers request. However we are to perform them strictly as stated in the recall bulletin. This bulletin, ***** states 'Dealers are to replace the torque converter on affected vehicles at no charge to the vehicle owner'. Parts required to perform this are ************* torque converter, ************* torque converter hub seal, and up to 5 qts ******* transmission fluid as needed.  This was performed as specified, vehicle was road tested and passed. Vehicle would get up to speed with no loss of power. This is concern is what this recall is to address. Just as a note, this vehicle is eleven years and had ****** miles at the time. Without knowing if the transmission had ever been serviced(fluid changed or flushed) there is no way we would recommend changing the fluid. Most often when an automatic transmission is serviced (fluid changed or flushed) with this many miles it creates more problems than it corrects.

When *** ********* brought her vehicle in the second time on 10/26/2015 her complaint was vehicle will not go over 25 to 30 mph and RPM's are high, 5-6k and also hears a loud ticking noise, vehicle had been driven 193 miles. We determined this was caused by a failed throttle position sensor. The ticking noise was caused by a corroded EGR tube. It had been patched with ** **** or something similar and two hose clamps. We replaced the TPS sensor and the EGR tube, again road tested vehicle and it passed road test functioning properly. Her concern on the second visit was similar but really not the same as the first time. This vehicle was towed in again to us on 11/6/2015, 245 miles after the second visit with the concerns of check engine light on and will not shift out of first gear. We determined by our diagnosis that it has a failed turbine shaft sensor and a failed camshaft position sensor. These failures can lead to a no shift condition. My advisor, ****** ****** advised *** ********* that these two sensors could very likely cause the no shift concern but we could not guarantee this and if this did not correct the concern it would most likely be internal transmission failure and at that time we would recommend replacing the transmission. I did speak with *** ********* by phone and explained this to her. At that time she questioned our ability and ask if we had an ASE certified technician that could tell her if it was the sensors or the transmission. I explained that we do have Master Certified technicians and that along with my 25 plus years in this business that I didn't think there was a technician that could determine if the transmission was bad without first correcting the issues with the sensors and disassembling the transmission for inspection. I then made her aware that I would be fine if she felt she needed a second opinion and advised her to do so as we had nothing to hide. Based on the mileage and us having no knowledge of preventative maintenance that may have or have not been performed on this vehicle there are several issues that may arise and there is no way we can tell this or be responsible for this. I do believe we acted properly In these transactions and have no liability to do any repairs at our expense. To help *** ********* in her situation I would be willing to make these repairs at a discounted price.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  

The service manager at this establishment is the individual who provided this response and whom was very rude when I spoke with him on the phone prior to my initial complaint. When I expressed my concerns about them leaving the old fluid in the transmission when the recall work was completed he never once suggested that they would never recommend that due to the amount of miles on the vehicle. His response to my concern was that it was not a part of the recall bulletin and that Ford Motor Company did not require it to be done so they did not do it. I actually had to add fluid upon getting my vehicle back because their "ASE certified technicians" did not bother to check it when the torque converter was replaced. When I had my vehicle towed the second time I was having similar issues and was charged $***.xx for repairs that I was told would fix the problem. My third time being towed to Vic Bailey Ford my concerns were not "check engine light on and will not shift out of first gear" as he stated in his response which if I may add is a blatant lie. When I contacted Vic Bailey to inform them of the symptoms my vehicle was experiencing (less than a week after being charged ***.xx) I explained that it was doing the same thing as when the recalled part failed, (jerking in and out of gear at about 30 mph, "check transaxle" light was flashing) Only difference was that it did not halt me to almost a complete stop this time but everything else was exactly the same. When I received a call from ****** ****** he said that they pulled 2 codes from my vehicle and told me to replace the 2 sensors would be $*** but could not tell me that would fix the problem. He then said that he would quote me a remanufactured transmission ($****) and that may be the way I needed to go if the sensors did not resolve the problem. So they want to charge me $*** on top of the $***.xx that was already paid to "fix" the vehicle and all on guesses. As to his response about me talking with ****** ****** about this,  ****** ****** did NOT say the sensors would very likely be the cause. There was more interest in getting the quote for the transmission to be replaced. When I then spoke with the service manager he did not "explain" that to me. He told me that ****** DID NOT suggest a transmission and that there was a 90% chance that the sensors would fix the problem (which at my cost are less than $** and would take me personally replacing less than an hour) but I was going to be charged $******. When I asked if they had a certified technician that could tell me the problem that would without a doubt fix the vehicle he said "there is no technician in the world that could tell you that". At this time I had no confidence in his "technicians" any longer and informed him that I would be having my vehicle towed back to my home. He very rudely told me "ok" and I told him I would have someone look at it that could determine the problem (without guessing). The entire conversation that was had with the service manager was very rude and poorly handled on top of me feeling like he was trying to intimidate me the entire conversation and speaking to me as if I knew absolutely nothing on the matter and would just do whatever they said. I am not the type to make official complaints like this or publicly let it be known that an establishment has operated in this manner but in this case I thought that it should be known exactly how they have handled this situation. As far as his response stating that he believes they acted properly in these transactions.....****** ****** WAS courteous but in my opinion very unknowledgeable, Vic Bailey III WAS very courteous and let me explain the situation but instead of him contacting me back he had the service manager do so, I believe the service managers name that he had contact me is Brad. In m opinion and many others that know this situation he should not be the one to deal with these matters as he was very rude and that could cause a big loss of business or could have already affected it because other Ford dealers could not  complete the recall work for at least a month from the time I called but Vic Bailey had me have it towed the next day. I am still requesting that I be refunded the $***.xx that was paid for repairs which I have since found out was WAY overcharged for the work that was done and it did not fix the problems I am having with the vehicle. As far as me using their establishment at a "discounted price" for the 2 sensors.....ABSOLUTELY NEVER WILL I BE BACK BECAUSE OF THE WAY I WAS TREATED BY SERVICE MANAGER.  I truly hope this helps the next person to consider this establishment to do their research before having any work done here. Last but not least....the only reason I have a "situation" as he called it, is because ever since they worked on my vehicle is has been problem after problem and it was perfectly fine before a recalled part that failed had to be replaced. I look forward to receiving the next response and I very politely ask that it is not from the service manager at this establishment as I do not wish to be contacted by him personally. Thank you and I hope you will reconsider refunding the hard earned money that was overcharged by your establishment and did not fix the vehicle so that this dispute can be resolved.


Regards,

******* *********

Business Response: The Dealer Principle and I have reviewed the original complaint, our response, the rejection document, the Customer Repair Request and the repairs that we made. I am attaching the Customer Repair Request that the customer signed showing my statements were accurate. The only difference is the complaint of the noise was added on after the repair order was created. We did address the complaints as stated and stand by our original response and offer.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vic Bailey charged me $104.86 for a diagnostic fee for a leaking slave cylinder on my truck (the diagnostic fee is $98). They reported that the cost to fix this problem was going to be $1875.75 because they "need to remove the transmission". I declined service, asked them to top off fluids. After 4 consultations with other diesel mechanics (and having it repaired elsewhere), it is apparent the transmission did not need to be removed for repairs. Also, when I arrived home after picking up my vehicle from Vic Bailey, I checked the fluids I asked them to top off. They had poured the fluid in the resevoir incorrectly, which led to corrosive fluids spilling all over my engine which I then had to clean and then I had to top off the fluids myself. Finally, the service was horrible- They did not answer the phone, did not call to update me on my vehicle (I had to call 3 times to get an answer),all the personnel were rude, did not provide me with answers to questions I asked, did not provide me with a print out of services they recommended that resulted in a bill of $1875.75 even after I asked several times, and while promising to have a manager call, did not follow through. They were not knowledgeable about vehicles, blatantly lied about services and absolutely took advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: I request a refund in the amount of $104.86 from Vic Bailey. They wasted my time, money, and treated me horribly.

Business Response:

Sorry for the misunderstanding a check was mailed to  ******* ******* today for $104.86.

Thanks!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vic Bailey Ford Lincoln
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)