BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Greenville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Greenville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Greenville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 21, 2010 Business started: 03/13/1995 in PA Business started locally: 12/01/2010 Business incorporated: 10/12/2010 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Ossi, General Manager Mr. Ron Hodges, Director of Asbury Automotive Group in Atlanta Mr. Charles Oglesby, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Ossi, General Manager
Related Businesses
Volvo of Greenville Jaguar of Greenville Lexus of Greenville
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • 2686 Laurens Rd

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 288-3535

  • PO Box 6265

    Greenville, SC 29606

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 609-9819(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had ongoing issues with my 2001 Toyota Camry engine cooling system for almost four years. I have called Toyota Corporation twice and I have gotten no results. They said that the franchisers were not owned by Toyota and they can not tell dealerships how to do business. As far as Toyota Corp. is concerned, the case is closed. No one from Greenville Toyota or Corporate has called me regarding this matter. I have copies of paperwork but see no way to attach them. In 2011, the car was overheating on the way to ********* I took it to the Toyota dealership in ********* ** where they diagnosed it as a bad catalytic converter and EGR-VSU. I had those replaced there. While returning home New Year’s Day 2012, I was still having overheating issues and coolant in the engine compartment. I took car to Toyota of Greenville and they said it was a bad radiator. I had it replaced. Still having coolant smells and wetness under the hood in 2012, I paid for a new radiator because it was out of warranty. I took the car back later that year for same issue. They stated it was another bad radiator-replaced under warranty. Toyota of Greenville repaired cylinder head gasket on 9/24/1012. In 2013, I had to stop coming back from ********* again, to add coolant. The engine was overheating-not up to “red line”. I still smelled coolant and had to add coolant from time to time on trip. I took to another repairman for radiator. I took car back to Toyota of Greenville on 6/2014 after the engine was running hot and having to add coolant on trip back from ********* I replaced another radiator. After this repair, I still smelt coolant and had to add coolant from time to time. The engine never showed it was running hot. I took the car in for service on 11/2014 before ******** trip to make sure I was not going to have the same issues. Replaced radiator again! I also inquired about a possible head gasket issue. They said no. I drove home and out to eat and had to return car the following day for the same coolant smells and wetness. Toyota of Greenville kept the car for a week this time. I inquired again about head gasket. No, again. I asked them to drive the car to put it under actual road conditions. They had it hooked to a pressure gauge with car running. They advised me it was the water pump. They saw “wetness” around the water pump. (yes, the engine compartment was wet). Greenville replaced the water pump. When I picked the car up, they assured me the car was road worthy and I would not have any problems. My wife and I started to ******** on 11/28/14 and I had to stop to add coolant in ********** **. I spoke with ****** in the Greenville repair shop and he said to bring it back. I told him where I was and he advised to “watch it”. After getting to ********* I took the car to Toyota in ********* **. I also had conversations with ** (head repairman) and **** (customer service) in Greenville. They thought it was the thermostat. ******** looked the car and said it was not the thermostat- it was the head gasket. After a weekend of talking to ******** and Greenville, they felt that we could make it home but “keep an eye on it”. We left on Sunday (11/30) and had not gone more than 5 miles and the temp gauge shot all the way up. I immediately turned around and went straight to ******** Toyota. It took all Monday morning for ******** and Greenville to figure something out. ******** called about 12:00 and said repairs would cost about $1,700 and would take 3-5 days. This was unacceptable. My wife had to get back to teach school and piano lessons and I had band rehearsals. I was still in touch with ******** and Greenville. ** ** Greenville told me that Greenville would “pick up the cost for repairs”. ******** called back at 4:30 saying they would get me a car to get home. There was no way I could get to rental place before 5:00. I got the car Tuesday morning and we got home. The wife missed 2 days work and I missed 3 rehearsals. The Camry is still in ********* ** - taken apart - waiting on what to do. I was advised this morning (12/15), from ********, that the head was too warped to “machine” and the total repairs would now cost $3,000. There are only 6 new heads in the US and ******** could get one in 2 days. From looking over the repair notes, a head gasket had been replaced by Greenville on 9/24/12. It seems that there was a badly missed diagnosis or repair (9/24/12). And since I have been having these issues, I have found that there are 3 bolts on the back of the engine that attach the head gasket that are faulty. I’m not sure if this is the case for me or not. But since the gasket had been replaced once, it seems logical that the bolts had stripped the aluminum head gasket/engine block. My wife and I could have injured by the car running hot. Since they had to replace the gasket once, they should have looked there first. In “good faith”, Greenville said they would refund me the cost of the water pump. The water pump and radiator were not causing coolant to blow out the reservoir into the engine compartment.

Desired Settlement: I expect Toyota of Greenville to step up and say they missed something in diagnosis. I also expect them to pay/arrange to get my car to me from *********

Business Response: We sent him a goodwill check for $1400 almost 10 days ago and had him sign off that would be the end of our good faith offer and he accepted -

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership represents themselves as a**** Rover dealer/repair. I made an appointment to take my LR2 in to their body shop on November 3rd to have my bumper replaced after it was damaged in a wreck. My car is a 2013 so the bumper has backup sensors and there is also a camera mounted on the tailgate. I was told 3 days max. to repair. Now it is 5 full days later and when I go to pick up my car, they have it outside cleaning and washing it. This is at 5:00 pm. So when I finally am able to get into my car - after they make me pay for it and the 5 days has wound up costing me an additional 2 days of rental which they did not offer to compensate me for. But the real issue is that NOW my camera on the tailgate does NOT work, nor do the backup sensors!! After 5 full days in this shop that apparently has no idea of how to work on **** Rovers all I got was lame excuses!! No offer of solution or resolution. The manager I left a message for is so inept she left a message for me at a wrong number!! Very bad business. They should be put out of business. No accountability, just excuses that didn't get my car fixed.

Desired Settlement: They should reimburse me for the labor of the bumper. I will pay for the bumper, but should NOT for the labor that apparently didn't get done properly. They should reimburse me for the extra 2 days of rental that I had to pay while my car just sat at the body shop. It is almost like they waited until day 5 to begin work and then rushed through it. The car is NOT repaired to safety standards!!! They have made it worse by now making the camera inoperable. Poor customer service and repair work!

Business Response:

Hi*****

Below is response from ****** *********, our Body Shop Manager, who has been with me about three years and who is well respected in the collision industry.   

Although we had the wrong phone number to inform the Client of the tardiness which we accept responsibility. Due to this mistake, and the rush to get completed as the Client arrived, a final inspection was hurried and there was no time to make it right. The Client wanted her vehicle then and there. 

We admit human error in not confirming the phone number or getting other phone numbers or an e mail to be able to communicate that the vehicle would not be ready due to a discovery in the installation process that a template was required as well. It is not so cut and dry when repairing a vehicle. 

We were professional as usual and I would really like to assist if my folks were not so disrespected. I am in a bit of a quandary as I like to help those that do not use profanity with my Staff.  

There is never any situation that requires any profanity only civility towards one another and we can usually find a solution 100% of the time. 

As a goodwill gesture, I will make A ONE TIME offer of $350.  

Let me know -     

 Thanks  - *****_________________________________

 

***** **** ******* ******* ************ **** **** ******************************

 

TOYOTA OF GREENVILLE

2686 Laurens Road – Greenville, SC  29607

www.toyotaofgreenville.com <

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I do regret using profanity, but was pushed beyond my normal limits by the abusive attitude of the manager, who also cussed at me.

Regards,

****** ********

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 days after purchasing my vehicle. I requested in writing that I wanted 2 of the warranties I agreed to cancelled. I was given a form to sign, which I did and returned it the same day. I thought it was done. A month later the 2 policies were still active and I was charged for them. I sent in a second request to cancel the 2 policies again to the same rep. He said it would be taken off that day. Yesterday I received my second bill and the policies are still there. I called the finance company and they said no request has been made by the dealer to cancel the policies. So again I had to pay for these unwanted policies.

Desired Settlement: I want all policies removed ASAP.

Business Response:

From:******** ****** (SC)
Sent: Monday, October 27, 2014 1:54 PM
To: ***** ***** **** ** ****** ***** ******* *********
Subject: RE: **** ******** ** ********

 

Below is the response I sent from the last BBB request on 10.13.14. His refunds were sent to his lienholder for his service and road hazard.

It will not lower his payments in any way, if that is in question.  

I received a request to cancel ** ********** Service and Road hazard on August 5 2014. He wanted them cancelled as of 07.14.14 and they were. I forwarded 100% of each of these contracts purchased price via check ****** totaling $3881.00 on 09.11.14. The fed ex tracking number is ************. He did not request to cancel anything other than the service contract and road hazard contract.  

Thanks 

********

______________________________________________

 ******** ******

Accounting Office

Greenville Automotive Group

Office: ************

Fax:   ************

****************************

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service