Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota of Easley

Phone: (864) 855-2233 Fax: (864) 855-1373 5643 Calhoun Memorial Highway, Easley, SC 29640 http://www.toyotaofeasley.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota of Easley meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota of Easley include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Easley
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 07/01/1981
Business Management
Mr. Ryan Norris, Co-Owner Mr. Tommy Norris, Co-Owner Mr. John Richardson, Sales Manager Mr. Larry Shaw, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ryan Norris, Co-Owner
Principal: Mr. Tommy Norris, Co-Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Larry Shaw, Comptroller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 5643 Calhoun Memorial Highway

    Easley, SC 29640 (864) 855-2233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 3 weeks for a timing issue, They wanted to do head. They ripped threads form block, Want me to pay for stripped block w/ "their" machine shop. 2 weeks "Easley Toyota "needs to re-send the block back to their machine- shop for reasons of "over looked by their 3rd party". Mean time Easley Toyota demanded %25 of bill after they pulled the head. Paying for a hotel in the meantime, when I could have gone with a three year motor for less money and 2 weeks less of hotel..

Desired Settlement: %50 off..

Business Response:

Customer was made aware upfront of possible additional repairs due to the age of the vehicle.  Service Department kept customer informed on progress and delays.  Toyota of Easley will be happy to consider assisting customer with additional expenses upon the completion of the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently had the opportunity to purchase a used 2006 Toyota Tacoma from a private seller. Prior to the purchase I visited the service department at Toyota of Easley to see if there were any outstanding recalls. I also have a Corolla and it has had several. The agent said there were 4 outstanding of which 3 Toyota had solutions for. The one that didn't have a solution yet has to do with the suspension in the rear of the truck. He expected a solution to that in the near future. I also asked if all recalls were covered by Toyota and he stated yes. I purchased the vehicle and brought it in for the recalls to be complied with. I left the vehicle on Friday expecting the vehicle to be completed by Monday or Tuesday. On Wednesday morning my wife received a call from the dealership stating that Toyota would not honor the recall addressing frame corrosion. The reason given was the vehicle was now registered in South Carolina, before the purchase it was registered in *****. The dealership acknowledges there is frame corrosion. Toyota acknowledges there was a know defect in craftsmanship of the vehicle but is trying to escape responsibility for its repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like Toyota of Easley to honor the recall of my vehicle and complete the repair as promised.

Business Response:

*** ****

I apologize for not being able to perform the frame campaign for you. Unfortunately this campaign has not been released for vehicles that are not currently registered in cold climate states. I have contacted Toyota on your behalf to ask if I could perform the campaign to your vehicle even though it is registered in South Carolina, but at this time I am not able to perform the campaign.  I would be happy to help you with any other concerns or repairs that you need on your vehicles. Please let me know if I can help in any way. Thank you as always for allowing us to service your Toyota. Below is a copy of the actual campaign document for your reference. I hope this helps.

 

Thank you

******* *******

Service Manager

Toyota of Easley

************ *** ****

 

 

Limited Service Campaign (LSC) E0D

2005 through 2008 Model Year Tacoma Vehicles

Corrosion-Resistant Compound (CRC) Application

Toyota will initiate a Limited Service Campaign (LSC E0D) to inspect and, based upon Toyota’s inspection

criteria, apply Corrosion-Resistant Compounds (CRC) to key areas of the frame assembly of certain 2005-2008

model year Tacoma vehicles without significant rust perforation until March 31, 2016. This campaign covers

vehiclescurrently registered in the following cold climate states and the District of Columbia (D.C.) (together,

“Cold Climate States”): CT, DE, IL, IN, KY, MA, MD, ME, MI, MN, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VA, VT, WI & WV.

E0D will be rolled out on a state-by-state basis, with the first states beginning in early May, 2014.

Consumer Response:

I am working directly with Toyota at this time. When I asked your service department there was no mention of it having to be accomplished in a northern state. The vehicle was registered in ***** prior to my purchase, I would have reevaluated my buying the vehicle if I knew about this now being an issue.  
Sincerely
***** ****

Business Response:

*** ****

 

I apologize for any miscommunication that has taken place. My hope is that Toyota will release the warranty extension for ALL states in the future and we will be able to perform a repair for you.  Please contact me directly if I can help you with anything moving forward.

 

******* *******

Service manager

Toyota of Easley

************** **** ****  

12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a new 2015 Toyota Highlander on 10/20/14 . A couple weeks later we noticed wind noise on the driver,s side and carried it in for warranty repair . I expressed my concerns two different times that I did not want any drilling or service that would cause any damage to my car . We also agreed that my car would be taken to **** ******** Body Shop since I have done business with them in the past . When I picked my car up the next day I noticed the inside of the car door was damaged and the wind noise had not been corrected . I then found out that my car had been taken to ******* *** *********** instead of **** ******** Body Shop as agreed upon . After meeting with Toyota officials and ***** ****** , owner of Toyota of Easley on two separate occasions I expressed my desire for a new car since it was damaged due to poor judgement on the part of Toyota of Easley . *** ****** stated that this was a minor incident and that I was being senseless . Two weeks ago *** ****** advised me that he was working on something and would keep me informed . To date I have heard nothing back from him. He also stated that he could get us a new car but that it would cost us an additional $3184.00 . We purchased this brand new Highlander at a cost of over $32,000 , it is now damaged at no fault of ours , and we feel that Toyota of Easley should step up to the plate and do the right thing .

Desired Settlement: We feel that since our car was brand new , had only 152 miles on it when it was taken in for repair and then was returned to us damaged because of Toyota of Easley they owe us a new car .

Consumer Response:

Mr. ***** ****** contacted me on 12/11/14 and offered me a settlement that consisted of me paying him $1300 .00 and me giving him back my damaged car in return to get a new car . I still think that this is unreasonable since they are responsible for the damaged vehicle . **** *********
 

Business Response: This customer has traded the vehicle and the issue is resolved.

Consumer Response: ***** , thanks for getting back to me . I have accepted an offer from Toyota of Easley , they have come down from over $3000.00 to $300.00 . Thank you so very, very much for all your help . Merry Christmas , **** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *********


12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sir---with the very professional help of ****** **********, one of your operators, I am writing with the hopes of resolving a dispute I currently have with ********* Toyota who has retained your company for the purposes of collecting the monies in question. This dispute arose after I thought I had entered into a deal with a local dealer, Toyota of Easley, for the purchase of a new car. As part of the deal, the dealership agreed to take my 2011 Sienna van which had four payments left on a lease. The van was brought to the dealer and they inspected the vehicle. We shook hands all around and the dealership told my wife and I that they would 'take care of the rest'. I subsequently received a bill for excessive wear on the vehicle. You can imagine my shock at receiving this bill out of thin air. The dealership made no mention EVER that this might occur. There then ensued a battle royal that exists to this day over who said what, when , where and to whom. The bottom line is this dealer used deceptive business practices by leading me to believe we had a deal that involved their assuming the van in TOTALITY, no strings attached. This clearly was NOT their intention and they have lied and stone walled me in every attempt I have made to rectify this situation up to and including being hung up on by the owner of the dealership ***** ******. ********* Toyota has been of no help in any of this procedure distancing themselves in a shameful matter all the while claiming that they are 'not responsible' for the dealing of their dealerships. That sir is impossible, as long as the name Toyota appears on the vehicle they are one in the same. They certainly had no problem taking my monthly payments on the vehicle that a dealership they were 'not responsible' for leased to me. If this is not corporate double talk then I don't know what is. I find it reprehensible by both parties for their below the belt actions and tactics toward the consumer in this matter. The dealership in question has at least four previous complaints on file with the Greenville (SC) Better Business Bureau. I believe this speaks volumes and is really all you need to know about their track record as an unfair player in our local business scene. I am seeking a resolution that absolves me of the amount of debt these two 'separate' corporations say that I owe. I would be willing to provide and produce whatever I can to help with the resolution of this predicament in a timely matter. Yours sincerely, *** ****** Sent from my iPad

Desired Settlement: See my desired outcome contained within the previous section. The info in the previous section is the correspondence requested by and sent to the collection agency hired by ********* Toyota

Business Response:

*** ****** came in to purchase vehicle and owed four lease payments on the vehicle he was currently driving. Toyota of Easley agreed to pay the balance of the four scheduled payments on this lease which we did.  He left the previously  leased vehicle at Toyota of Easley for pick up by the lease company. The balance  due is an issue regarding excess wear and tear on vehicle turned in and is between *** ******, ********* Toyota and Toyota of **********. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ******

I have documentation from ** Toyota that says ** Toyota in fact WAIVED three of the remaining payments totaling $1229.40 as part of their 'payment savings program'. As part of the deal we gave Toyota of Easley a $500 loyalty coupon that we had received from ** Toyota. Toyota of Easley can claim whatever fantasies they desire, the bottom line is they told my wife and I they would handle evrything as I have previously stated. Nothing was ever said to us by the dealership AT ANY TIME DURING THE DEAL NEGOTIATION that we would be responsible for anything residual or going forward with the 2011 Sienna van, end of story. They are making the rest of this non sense up. They mailed us a check dated 9/11/14 for the final van payment which also included the details of the excessive wear on the van THREEMONTHS AFTER THE REPORT WAS GENERATED. I maintain we would have never seen the report had we not been asked by Toyota of ********** to obtain a bill of sale from Easley in order to receive a refund due us for a maintenance plan we had purchased on the van. Along with the report we received the final van payment so their insistence that they paid the van off in its entirety is just not true given the documentation I have from ** Toyota and the $500 loyalty coupon that I gave to them at the time of the trade. Looking at it that way, no actual monies came out of their pocket at all in this deal

Business Response:

Toyota Of Easley is aware of *** ******’s concerns regarding the excessive wear and tear residual due for the 2011 Sienna van.

 

Toyota Of Easley has no control over ********* Toyota in determining excessive wear and tear therefore we have no control over the charges they may access for wear and tear. For this reason the balance due from *** ****** is between him, ********* Toyota and Toyota Of **********.

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Toyota Tacoma double cab from Toyota of Easley I was told it was a one owner certified Toyota. Was not shown the Carfax by the sales Representative found it in the glove box that night. And it said two previous owners basically Toyota of Easley had sold the truck and someone brought it back. When I asked the salesman about it he said oh somebody probably just had their finance denide. That's why it say two owners. I have had all kinds of electrical problems out of this truck the radio cuts on and off by its self the lighting behind the AC and heating controls does not work the other day the clock went out for a little while then came back on. Then when the time changed I pushed the button to change the time and the radio cut off did that twice.Took it to the dealer and they said it won't do it with us you will have to bring it back and leave it we don't have time to check it today. I won't even park this truck in my garage anymore because I am afraid it will short out and catct on fire and burn my house down. I have contacted the dealer and ask them to take this truck back and put me in another one and they are trying to give me 5000.00 less than I paid them for the truck. This is an act of fraud they sold me this car as a one owner but it was not and then tried to cover it up with the story about somebody not getting financeing. I even told the salesman that according to the car fax the previous owner had the radio replaced once. I just fell as if I am being ripted off and scammed. They say that the value there customers but they are just like everybody else all the care about is how much money they can put in there pocket. I am screwed and they don't give a crap. Thanks for nothing Toyota of Easley.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to give me at least all but 500.00 dollars of what I paid for the truck toward a new one or do an even swap out for one they have on there used lot that is the same in price and equipment. Right know I am sick about this whole thing I am 53 years old and have bought a lot of cars and have never felt so ripped off in my life.I am about to tell the bank to just come and get this LEMON!!!!!!!!!!!!

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB I would like to with draw my complaint against Toyota of Easley. I meet with the sales manager today and we reached a resolution they gave me a fare price for the 2011 Tacoma I had purchased from them that I was having the problems with. And they worked with me and help put me in a brand new 2015 Tacoma. There had been some missed communication between the salesman and the sales manager. Every thing has worked out better than I thought it would. The people at Toyota of Easley did right by me I have no complaint or problems with them. If you need me to do anything else please let me know. I would recommend Toyota of Easley to anybody looking to be treated fairly and honestly.

Thanks for all the BBB does for the people of South Carolina.

Thanks ****** * ***** **

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car it has 19000 mils and the tires are already are gone.Toyota will not honor the warranty.One tire is bad from manufacture.They should replace the tires but they want.They say that it's not under warranty.

Desired Settlement: They should honor the warranty.

Business Response: Service Manager spoke to *** ****** on 11/29/13 and advised him on his tire wear. *** ****** was told Toyota does not warranty the tires, the tire manufacturer warranty's the tires, but Toyota Of Easley would try to get some help from Toyota on replacing the tires. The Service Manager called *** ****** on 12/2/13 and informed him Toyota would pay for two Michelin Defender tires and he would be responsible for two tires and labor and sales tax for all four tires. *** ****** declined this offer. We would still honor the offer to pay for two of the tires.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toyota ****** door not opening or closing and was part of a customer recall by Toyota. Brought it in September of 2012 and was told that the parts were on national back order. Called several times and was told the same issue "national backorder" Finally a response to an on line request had them take the car in October of 2013 at this time informed me that another part that was not covered also needed to be replaced. That part would be 400 dollars. This part was not an issue when the recall took place and we have been without a working door for over a year. It's still not working.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the door to be operational, however I would not want to use Toyota of Easley service center.

Business Response:

Complaint # ******* 

The issue with sliding doors on the ****** Van was not a recall. It was a “Customer Support Program” by Toyota in which the warranty was extended, on the latch and door cable assemblies on certain vehicles, to 9 years from the date of first use or 120,000 miles whichever comes first. Parts to make the repairs were on National back order for some time but have come in and repairs to the door have been made and the door is operational manually. The problem *** ******** is having now was not part of the customer support program from Toyota. The problem is with the actuator which allows him to open and close the door from the driver’s seat. This part is not covered by the “Customer Support Program” mentioned above however we did offer to install the part labor free if he would pay for the part. This offer still stands.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota of Easley
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)