Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Steve White Volkswagen Audi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Steve White Volkswagen Audi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Steve White Volkswagen Audi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 22, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated 03/01/1999 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc White, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc White, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 100 Duvall Drive

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 288-8300

  • PO Box 16119

    Greenville, SC 29606 (864) 288-8300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We drove from North Carolina to South Carolina , to buy a car we seen on the internet , The salesman was great no issues he did his job and did it well we bought the vehicle for my 18 yr old son figured he should learn how to buy a car since he will be paying for it , He is a full time college student and works full time to pay for this , Any way we asked the salesman when the deal was done if the total price includes tax , title , inspection , and new tags , He said yes everything is there , we owe nothing and plates and title should be to us in a month , Well here is where the problem start , after 6 weeks still no title and plates . So I call the dealership and get the run around from ***** who says there is a lien on the vehicle and she cant get the title and it might take a long time , After getting a little fed up with her lies I called back and talked with **** ***** and he said that does not sound right so he looked into it and low and behold he said we should have the title soon and the plates soon , Well a week after that call my 18 year old son received the plates in the mail with a bill for 74 dollars . The tags are only good for about 6 weeks / they expire in July,, So my son calls me and asks why he owes 74 dollars and explains what he received , So I call the dealer and speak to **** ***** he is rude and nasty at this point and said that no dealership pays for tags and that I should call all the dealerships in South Carolina . Point is the salesman knows what he said and assured a 18 year old boy all is paid for , Also its been 7 weeks and still no title . So my son has paid 5500 dollars for a vehicle and another 74 dollars and still does not really own the vehicle with no title in hand . As I said if you want to be treated badly and rudely and stolen from Talk with **** he will gladly do this for you , Hard lesson to learn , Also I have a receipt in witch it shows tax title and all else , But now they are trying to say that is South Carolina tax , Oh well 74 dollars isnt much for most of us but for full time college student its a weeks worth of food and gas . Mr ***** just didnt seam to care about that and had the nerve to say we should have been smarter and known how the car buying process works ,

Desired Settlement: The dealership should do the honorable thing and refund the 74 dollars to my son who they have taken total advantage of , or buy the vehicle back at the same price and fees we paid out ,

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

Thank you for forwarding the complaint from Mr. ***** concerning the property taxes due on his son's vehicle -- as well as concerns about obtaining the title and registration.

Mr. ***** and I worked together last week to resolve the delay he experienced in receiving his tag and  registration/title. There was an issue with a $0 balance lien that was still showing on the vehicle from the previous owner. We needed to obtain a lien release from the bank that originally financed the vehicle and it took a good bit of leg work on the part of our title clerk to obtain the lien release. This was because the account had apparently been paid off some time ago, but it wasn't closed and the lien release reported. Certainly the delay Mr. ***** experienced went on much too long and I was very apologetic for this issue. Fortunately, with the full efforts of our staff, we were able to get it resolved within a day or two of his initial call to me. At this point, the vehicle has been registered with North Carolina, the temporary tag received and Mr. ***** can expect the title to be mailed directly to him by the state within 2-3 weeks.

A second issue arose yesterday when Mr. ***** called me very upset about the property tax bill due on the vehicle of roughly $74. I explained to Mr. ***** that dealerships do not collect property tax and that is always the responsibility of the owner of the vehicle. The state of North Carolina issues a tag that expires in 60 days and requires that the property tax due for the upcoming year be paid before a tag that is good for the next year is issued.

In this case, we did collect sales tax and registration fees on the vehicle, which allowed us to register the car in North Carolina. However, the property tax is always the responsibility of the owner of the vehicle. I believe I was very cordial with Mr. ***** in spite of the fact that on several occasions, he called me and the dealership employees thieves that stole from his son. He also threatened to come onto the dealership and "tell everyone that you stole from an eighteen year old kid."

We believe we worked with Mr. ***** to resolve the issue with the tag and title and take full responsibility for the concerns brought on that matter. However, because dealerships are not responsible for collecting property tax on a vehicle and this is part of the cost of ownership just like fuel, maintenance and repairs, I did not see any fault of our dealership or staff.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

**** *****

General Manager

Steve White Volkswagen

Business Response:

I certainly appreciate Mr. ******* concerns over the property taxes on his son's vehicle. As a dealership, we are not able to or responsible for collecting property taxes on vehicles. We do collect the Sales Tax and Registration Fees and those have been applied to the North Carolina DMV as agreed. Certainly we did not steal, lie or "misplace" any funds, as Mr. ***** claims.

Unfortunately I do not see an outcome in this matter that will satisfy both sides.

Regards,

**** *****

General Manager & Owner

Steve White Volkswagen

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

**** ***** , As said before the salesman told us all fees were paid and my son will have new plates , and tags and a title , Also as said we still will now have to pay again for tags that the dealership said we already paid for , and we still do not have the title in witch we paid for . I also have the receipt from the dealership showing we paid for these things . So Mr ***** is a liar and his dealership does indeed steal . So we have a vehicle in witch we paid for cash , and do not have a title , 

5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased 2017 Audi A4 vehicle on 1 April 2016 from Steve White Volkswagen Audi. This dealership is located in ********** ,SC. My complaint is the MMI display screen goes blank ( loss of display ) at anytime while driving the vehicle. This has happened so many times I have lost count. I connect ***** iPhone 6 when using the CarPlay feature the screen goes blank at anytime while driving. The same thing has happened after putting the car in Reverse and backing up a short distance and putting the car back in Drive the MMI display screen goes blank. I have been in a particular situation where the MMI screen went blank after a Reverse to Drive condition as mentioned above. In this particular situation while driving I had to pull the car over turn the vehicle completely off open the drivers door close the drivers door then restart the vehicle in order to restore the display of the MMI screen. This has been going on for over a month. I have been told that if I plug in the USB cable for the phone after the car is started as recommended I should not experience this problem. This has not been a fix for my vehicle. I have been also told that this is an ***** problem not an Audi problem and Audi is waiting for ***** to release an update to fix it. I have also been told that this problem is occurring with all of the 2017 Audi A4 with ***** CarPlay. I have also been told this is just a feature of the vehicle and my car is the only one that is experiencing this problem and there will not be an update from ***** to fix this problem and there will be no further recourse from Audi regarding my situation. Again per Audi this is not an Audi car problem the vehicle performs as expected, CarPlay is a feature of the vehicle it does prevent the vehicle from performing as expected. I was also asked if I had contacted ***** regarding this issue. I purchased an Audi vehicle where CarPlay is heavily advertised on the 2017 Audi A4 commercials. This feature is not functioning properly on my vehicle because the MMI screen goes blank. What causes the MMI screen to go blank as a customer is not for me to determine and fix. It is the responsibility of Audi the manufacturer to determine the cause and fix. I have a 2017 Audi A4 with MMI CarPlay that is not functioning as expected when I purchased the whole vehicle which includes CarPlay. Audi does not have a fix for this issue and does not know when a fix will become available. That makes sense if you do not know the cause then you certainly can't determine the fix. If any one else is experiencing this problem good luck maybe your car will fix it self. That's the best hope I have at this time. Audi has refused to buy back my vehicle and refund my money. Audi also refused to replace my vehicle with another 2017 Audi A4 vehicle that may not have this problem. In the mean time I am screwed with a new vehicle without a fix at this time. If this is the Audi Experience they can keep it.

Desired Settlement: Refund my money and buy back the defective car. My car has been defective for more than thirty days since purchased on 1 April 2016. With no known fix available at this time.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:
Thank you for forwarding the complaint from Mr. ***** **** regarding an issue with the ***** CarPlay software on his newly purchased 2017 Audi A4. Several of my staff members and myself have been working closely with Mr. **** to understand this issue and provide a resolution as quickly as possible. The issue Mr. **** is experiencing is related to a particular feature on the vehicle called ***** CarPlay. Audi is aware of this issue and is working with ***** to provide an update to fix the issue. As with many software issues, code must be written and tested to be able to deploy a fix and this of course takes some time. Mr. **** has not complained of any drivetrain or safety related issues. This is a software feature that is not functioning as designed and we have asked for Mr. ****'s patience as Audi and ***** work to address it.

It is my understanding that Audi has declined to repurchase the vehicle because it still drives and operates as designed in other respects. We will continue to communicate with both Audi and Mr. **** on this issue as we eagerly await an update to address the concern.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Best,

**** *****

Dealer Principal 
Audi Greenville

864-********

Business Response:

I appreciate the concerns that Mr. **** has and empathize with the fact that this particular feature of the vehicle is not functioning as designed. All parties involved recognize that this is a legitimate issue that needs to be fixed as quickly as possible. Audi has stated that they are working with ***** on a repair. At this time, we are not able to offer any further information, but we will continue to stay updated on this issue with Audi and keep Mr. **** informed. 

Thank you again.

**** *****

Dealer Principal 
Audi Greenville 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

***** ****

 

Mr. *****,

I have been told Audi is working with ***** on this situation along with other responses since I bought this vehicle the first week of April 2016. I have continued to pay on a defective product that has provided no customer satisfaction. In less than a week it will be the 3rd month of payment for the same defective vehicle. I have not been presented with any options other than all parties are working on this issue. The money I have paid will not be refunded and Audi at this time is not willing to buy back a known defective vehicle. At what point in time is we are working on it has played out. SurelyI would think a rational business and a rational customer would think 2 months headed into the 3rd month has been long enough. I am being held hostage by the lack of professionalism from Audi and all parties involved to accept a defective vehicle. This can only be resolved by buying this defective vehicle back and refunding my money. I have been more than patient and the continued statement from Audi and other parties we are working with ***** can go on forever. You cannot turn a lemon into an ***** all parties need to accept that and do the right thing.

Enough is Enough,

***** ****

864-********

 

 

 

 

 enough is enough.  

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2014 Volkswagen CC R-Line in July 2014 from Steve White Volkswagen in Greenville SC, I discovered on October 1, 2014 after having the car appraised at ****** I was told the passenger front door had been repaired/replaced, I was shown the inconsistency in the paint and blemishes in the paint. You can also see that the bolts on the hinges of the door were tampered with indicating that the door was removed, The door sags, and does not close with out a little force plus there is tape marks visible where the car was painted. Also the weatherstripping around the door is coming off. I lodged a complaint with ********** *** **** ** ******* and after two days a was told that I needed to try and resolve the issue with the dealer. On October 4, 2014 I drove to the dealership to discuss the matter with the general manager, after explaining my findings to him he ask why did I wait two months before reporting this to the dealership, and that it was my responsibility during the delivery process to check the car out. I'm just the average consumer not a certified appraiser that can see things such as damages and blemishes and that there was rework done on the door. The manager did not offer any apologies did not offer any solution basically it was my problem.

Desired Settlement: The car has less then a Thousand miles on it and I'm not in the business of buying damaged goods, and to find out later that I would take a hit on wanting to sell the car because the car is damaged. There are disclosure laws pertaining to such things as selling a damaged vehicle and that was not disclosed to me.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

 
I am in receipt of the complaint filed by *** ******** relating to poor paintwork done on his CC. Since receiving this complaint, I have spoken at length on the phone and in person today at the dealership with *** ********. Here is documentation of what our meeting and our position on the matter.
 
*** ******** asked for time to review the options we offered. After reviewing on your end, please let me know if you have further questions or concerns.
 
**** ***** 
*** ********,
I wanted to circle back on our meeting to document what took place.
 
I brought in my Service Manager, ***** **********, and the owner of ***** *********, **** ******** to look at the vehicle with me. Everyone on site agreed that the vehicle's door had been painted at some point. *** ******** said based on the way the door looked that it was likely a scratch that was repainted somewhere along the way.
 
You and I both agreed that the dealership, in all likelihood, did not purposely deceive you on purchasing a car with undisclosed paint work. We did not have the vehicle in our possession for very long. It's also very hard to see the paint work, as evidenced by the fact that you had not noticed it in over two months of ownership.  The presumption is that it was painted before we dealer traded the vehicle in.
 
On the flip side, there is a level of trust required on our end that the vehicle didn't have paint work done to it since you have purchased.
 
My two offers stand, and let me state them in writing for you:
 
1) We will purchase the car for $24,000, which is the amount we believe that the vehicle is worth without consideration for the paint work. This is $3,000 more than the amount ****** said they would give you for it. Based on your wife's desire to look at a different vehicle for your growing family, this would be an outcome that would negate any effects the past paint work had on the vehicle.
 
This offer is good for the next 30 days. You would be responsible for any negative difference between our purchase price and the actual payoff on the vehicle. We also will purchase the vehicle for the same amount from another dealership for that same time period. As you mentioned, you may go to****** *****, so you can share our "buy figure" of $24,000 that they can use to work their deal.
 
2) We will work with our** Certified Body Shop partner, ***** *********, to correct the poor paint work that was previously done on the vehicle at our expense.
 
I also mentioned that we will sell you a new or pre-owned vehicle from our lot at minimal profit as a further gesture of goodwill. 
 
Please let me know how I can be of further assistance. 
 
**** *****Steve White Volkswagen Audi 
*** ****** ****** *********** ** *****

*************************** ******* ***** ******** ************ ***** ********
Steve White Volkswagen Audi

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After hearing nothing but good things from the community about Steve White and their service, I felt confident when purchasing my certified pre-owned VW GTI in June 2013. I had a good experience with the sales department during my purchase. I was assured that I was buying a great vehicle with no issues and the car fax that was shown to me had no negative reports. This week on Wednesday I went to trade the car because I need a larger vehicle. Things were going well with the trade until they told me my car was in an accident and the value has greatly depreciated. Now I am not able to trade in my car without taking a huge financial loss. If I had been told the vehicle was in an accident I would have never purchased it, let alone the premium price I paid. I immediately called the salesman who I dealt with to inform him of my issue. He said I would have to talk to his manager and he could do nothing. I asked him to have his manager call me right away. After waiting 20 min I called and left him a voicemail. Later that day the used car manager called and after telling him about my problem he didnt seem concerned as if there was nothing they did wrong. He said he would look into it and we would talk again. I called the next day to the sales manager leaving another voicemail and again today on Friday multiple times. I called back to ask the receptionist if the manager was at work yesterday and today, she said yes and he was either with a customer or in a meeting. NO ONE has returned my calls to resolve my issue. I feel I have been lied to and not taken seriously.

Desired Settlement: I would like the issue resolved one of two ways. Either they buy the car back from me or compensate me for the depreciated value so that I may trade in on a larger car without taking a very large financial loss.

Business Response:

**** *** ********

*** ******* **** purchased a pre-owned 2012 Volkswagen Volkswagen GTI on June 14, 2013 from our dealership. The sales consultant went over the CPO (Certified Pre-owned) paperwork and the customer was given a Carfax report on the history of the vehicle, which all parties agree at that time of sale there was no Accident Report present. 

*** **** called from on 11/20 and stated he tried to trade car in for a bigger car and was told the car was in an accident and the dealership stated he would receive more for his car in it was not in an accident.

Unfortunately we have found in some cases that there can be a delay in information such as an Accident Report to post to Carfax, so both the dealership and the buyer can sell/purchase a vehicle that has a "clean Carfax," only to find out later that the vehicle was involved in an accident that Carfax had not posted to the vehicle at the time of sale. It appears that is exactly what happened in this case.

In spite of the fact that we were not aware of this Carfax accident report at the time of sale, we understand that *** **** has a vehicle with a depreciated value and would like to work with him.

We offered *** **** an option to trade out of his vehicle into a larger vehicle from our dealership. This transaction would be at minimal profit to the dealership. He stated he was in **** for work and did not know when he would be back.  

Our offer still stands and we could even arrange to transport a new vehicle to *** **** in ****. Please let me know how we can be of further assistance.

Regards,

****** *****

Pre-Owned Sales Manager

Steve White Volkswagen

************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Steve White Volkswagen Audi
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)