Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ralph Hayes Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 226-1571 Fax: (864) 224-1174 3525 Clemson Boulevard, Anderson, SC 29621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ralph Hayes Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ralph Hayes Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1951 in SC Business incorporated 05/08/1951 in SC
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Randolph Hayes, President Mr. Debbie Cochran, Office Manager Mr. Randy Filice, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randolph Hayes, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Ralph Hayes Toyota

Additional Locations

  • 3525 Clemson Boulevard

    Anderson, SC 29621 (864) 226-1571

  • P O Box 5058

    Anderson, SC 29621


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I got new tires 04-04-16 with 900000 miles warranty on 04-04-16. With new tires, I got wheel alignment. On my next visit, on 09-16-15., I was advised to have another wheel alignment as well as tire balancing. I got that done too. I got routine maintain emcee every 5000 miles to the dealer ship. Dated 11-23-15: routine maintainence done and no suggestion. 02-12-16: maintainence done, no suggestion. 05-26-16: routine maintainence and no suggestion. My visit on 09-22-16, I was told that the tire tread is 3 and I need new tires. Since tire tread wear is uneven, I need new tires and warranty does not cover it. The reason for quick tread loss is " wheels not aligned." My complaint is " I brought my car every 5000 miles and I followed the recommended services, then how come my tire tread is gone." It is negligence by Ralph Hayes Toyota service department." 2. On my service dated 06-15-15, the service member told me that " steering rack is leaking." It needs to be repaired but I can wait since it is a whole day repair. They also need to order the part. I told her that I can get it done in August since is is 1000 dollars repair. In July 2015, my check engine light turned on, I had to take my car to " ****** ** ******". The car needed another electronic module. My car was at that location for 5 days for repair. When I got my car back, ****** ** ****** said that " they if not see anything for steering rack ." For my next schedule service, I took my 2007 Toyota Sienna to Ralph Hayes Toyota on 09-16-15. They did not recommend that there is a leak. I asked the associate and he said nothing. I had another service on 11-23-15, everything was reported to be fine. Another service on 02-12-2006, everything was fine. Only routine maintainence recommended by Toyota were done. 05-26-15, no issues again. When I vidited Ralph Hayes Toyota 09-22-16, **** ( the same sales associate who mentioned the steering rack leak in the past) said that there is steering rack leak. My complaint" why does only one person sees it?" Either she is wrong or all my other repairs were done by incompetent people. Is it fraud? If not, why am I suffering with the stress of a leak shock can damage my car. The price of the same part in one year has increased tremendously. I know that I was not negligent. I had factory recommended 110,000 miles service when my cars true mileage is @105625." Ralph Hayes Toyota should be held accountable for bad service.

Desired Settlement: Repair the car and tell me the truth. I don't want to pay for someone else's mistakes. Accept responsibility of the mistakes

Consumer Response:

1. I have 2007 Toyota Sienna. I always go to Toyota dealership. Since june2014, I have gone to Ralph Hayes Toyota for routine maintenance. As advised by Toyota dealer( Ralph Hayes), I got new tires on 04-04-15. I got new ******** tires with 90000 miles warranty as advised by Toyota representative. I went for routine maintenance every 5000 miles to the same dealership.  I followed the instructions.  I got each and every service recommended by them. On my schedule service appt, I was informed that my tire tread is at 3. I need new tires.  Also, the tires have uneven tread.  So, I cannot get any warranty on it. My complaint is " when I am following instructions and doing all recommended services, how can my tires wear off in 17 months."  Also, I took my car today at " ****** ** ******."  They say " the tire tread is at 4 -5. Also, wear pattern is even. They should be covered under warranty."


2. Again, routine maintainence every 5000 miles with Ralph Hayes Toyota and I followed all the instructions.  In June 2015, I was told that there is a leak in the steering rack. I can wait to get it fixed.  It will take a whole day. I can address it with my next  service too.  With my subsequent services appointments, no body said " there is a steering rack leak."  I asked about it on my next service appointment.  the answer was " no leak."  I thought they there might be a mistake.  I have a lot of services after that, no comment about the leak.  On my service appointment dated 09-22-16, I was informed that the steering has a leak.  My complaint is about negligence in the services.  I took my car to " ****** ** ******" on 09-2616, they confirmed that there is a leak.

Business Response:

My name is **** ******* and I am the service manager at Ralph Hayes Toyota. ***** sent me this so that I may address it. I have attempt to contact the customer on 3 different occasions but unfortunately have not been able to reach them. I was able to leave a voice mail yesterday for a return call but have not received one. Today I keep getting a busy signal. I would like to have the customer come in so that we can recheck the tread depths on the tires and see if there is any way we may be able to assist the customer with there concerns.


If I am able to make contact with the customer I will update you


Thank you,

**** ******

Service Manager

Ralph Hayes Toyota

Business Response: I spoke to the customer this morning. I offered to take a look at the tires and see if we could offer some type of resolution to her concern. Customer stated she would call me back at a later time when she was going to be in the area to have us look at her vehicle.

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2007 ****** ***** excessive oil consumption. Got a letter from ****** to perform a test for this problem, test was done by this dealership but was told it did not qualify for covered repair. Did the test myself and found the oil consumption to be within the limit they suggest (low one quart or more in 1300 miles). The car puts out a large cloud of oil smoke on morning starts. Having previously been a full time mechanic myself for 18 years, I know the engine is not right.

Desired Settlement: Just want the problem fixed as suggested by ****** in their letter to me.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******** ****

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ralph Hayes toyota took my 2002 toyota tacoma in September of 2014 to handle a recall ivolving replacing my frame they told me it would take 75 days due to national back order I fannaly received my truck back March of 2015 that's 6 months and every time I called to inquire about it they gave a different date that's not the problem though I signed a paper saying I wanted a **** dollar cap on other parts they told me I needed before I could have my truck back I did add tires to it which were a little over *** dollars I talked to them on the phone they told me around **** dollars well when I arrived to get my truck it was **** dollars and some change after me signing my signature to go no more than ****

Desired Settlement: I'd just like to have my money besides the extra for the tires back these people kept me with out a vehicle for 6 months then charged double what the cap was that's sorry business practices if you ask me

Business Response: Have attempted to contact customer at ************* The voice mail box is full and cannot accept messages.

Business Response: Have attempted to contact customer at ************* The voice mail box is full and cannot accept messages.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ralph Hayes Toyota Service Department in Anderson, SC recommended and performed machine of rear rotors on my vehicle after the same service work had been done by ****** ** *****,*****, SC Service Department only 2 months (2068 miles) previously. At the time of Ralph Hayes Toyota's recommendation that I allow them to machine the rear rotors, I was not aware that the work had already been done by ****** ** ***** at a cost of $130.00. Ralph Hayes Toyota charged me another $130.00 to machine the rear rotors on my vehicle when the work was not needed, since it had apparently already been done by ****** ** *****.

Desired Settlement: I feel Ralph Hayes Toyota should refund me the $130.00 cost for the duplicated work done on my vehicle. Both ****** ** ***** and Ralph Hayes Toyota insist that they did the work on my vehicle and neither are willing to do anything about the duplication of costs to me for this duplicated work.

Business Response: Customer brought vehicle to Ralph Hayes Toyota with a complaint of a vibration when applying the brakes. The vehicle was diagnosed as needing the front and rear brake rotors machined due to them being out of round. An estimate was given to the customer prior to the work being done with an explanation as to why the front and rear needed to be done. The customer approved the repairs and the work was done. After performing the repairs the vehicle was driven and we verified that the vehicle was repaired. The customer took delivery of the vehicle and then called back the next day requesting we refund his money due to the fact that the vehicle had been repaired before at another dealer. I spoke with the customer and explained to him that we can not warranty work that has been done at another shop. I advised the customer to call the other dealer to request a refund. The customer was not happy with this and requested that I call the other dealer and (work it out). As a courtesy I contacted the shop manager at the other facility and spoke with him about the customer's request. He advised me to have the customer call him and he would work something out with him. I called the customer back and relayed the information from the other shop manager.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


****** ******

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2006 **** Commander from Ralph Hayes Motors on 04/28/2012. Included in the purchase was the ******** ******** for service and maintenance which included a drive train warranty. My transmission was replaced in the **** last year. Now, my front differential has gone bad and has been in the shop at Ralph Hayes for a month. I have called, again and again. They tell me that the part was ordered from ******. This part never could be tracked and never showed up. Friday February 14th, I called the dealership and asked to speak to the service manager. They told me they would get an urgent message to him and he would call me back. That call never occurred. It has now been a month since I took my car to the dealership to have the front differential replaced. It is still not done. My husband has called and asked to speak to the service manager and got the same message. They never called. I have had to borrow a car to travel back and forth from work for 4 weeks. The service is horrible. The least they could have done is to have a rental car for me to use.

Desired Settlement: If they are unable to get my car fixed within the next couple of days, without a charge to me because of the distress of not have a car that I am paying for, then I would like another car to replace this one of equal value. I think that people should be aware of the run around that their future holds when dealing with this dealership. The service department is a joke. No one knows what is going on and NO curtiously call is ever placed.

Business Response:

Customer had a transmission issue with the vehicle and it was brought to our store for repair. The repairs are covered by the customers extended warranty. The parts that were required for the repairs have been discontinued by the manufacture. We had to try and locate the parts from an outside source and this process took a while in order for us to secure the parts that were needed. The vehicle was repaired on 2/25/2014 and returned to the customer with our sincere apology for the delay. Ralph Hayes Toyota prides itself on customer satisfaction and quick turn around on repairs.

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a 2012 Limited Toyota 4runner I wanted to have a remote start installed in my vehicle. I called and spoke with scott about getting one installed. He told me is would be 720.00 it would use my same remote and wouldn't mess up my keyless entry and that it would work just like any other remote start. I took my car in got it installed paid for it, went to my car to start it and get in and when you open the door to get in it turns off. ***** couldn't figure out what we were doing wrong and why the car was turning off. He called over the guy that installed it and he explained that Toyota is different than the other car manufactures and that it turns off and you have to start it again. No one ever told us that before we wasted the whole day and paid 720.00 for it. I called the 800 number for Toyota and filed a complaint to get it uninstalled. **** ****** from the dealership is supposed to handle all cust issues. He is rude, said he is going to make us pay for the labor of it going in and the labor to take it out and will refund the part. He was loud on the phone and talked over me. His company didn't practice full disclosure and he isn't willing to accept this and fix his company's mistake. He even admits that they were in the wrong but the tech has to get paid for the work. I was mislead and I want a full refund for the parts and the service.

Desired Settlement: I want the remote start taken out of my vehicle and I want a full refund. They can pay the tech for installing it and removing it because they mislead me and didn't tell me.

Business Response: Ralph Hayes Toyota has always tried to accommodate customers when possible. While Ralph Hayes Toyota feels we did exactly what the customer asked us to do (install the remote start system) we have agreed to remove the system and refund the customer as a customer goodwill gesture. We take great pride in our track record for continuous improvement and customer satisfaction.    

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ralph Hayes Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)