Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kia of Greer

Phone: (864) 879-3800 Fax: (864) 877-5757 14345 E Wade Hampton Blvd, Greer, SC 29651 http://www.kiaofgreer.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The nature of business is a new car franchise and offers new vehicles, used vehicles, service repairs and part sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia of Greer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kia of Greer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of Greer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 2003 Business started: 02/01/2003 in SC Business incorporated 05/22/2002 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Hogan, Co-Owner Mr. Kurt Obermeyer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Hogan, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 14345 E Wade Hampton Blvd

    Greer, SC 29651 (864) 879-3800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my Kia 3 years ago this month. They consistently call me asking how my Kia is doing. I receive, at a minimum, 2 calls per month. Sometimes multiple calls in one week. They have even called my work phone number, which is completely inappropriate! Never did I give permission for them to contact me at work. I have also asked that my number be removed from their call list and specifically placed on the do not call list twice. Sales calls to ensure quality are acceptable but this is harassment.

Desired Settlement: No further contact on any phone number or email given at purchase. A look at better practices in order not to harass customers, or former customers.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. We have no record that this customer has ever asked to be removed from our database. We will be glad to place on  do not call in our system. Does the customer wish to be removed from our mail list as well?

Also, please inform customer that while we will be glad to remove from our list, we have no control over any other Kia dealership or Kia Motors database. Therefore, they may continue to get contacts from others.
Also, to express our apologies and to maintain some relationship with this customer, We would like to send them a $50.00 voucher to be used at Kia of Greer for parts or service.
Sincerely, 
*** *****

6/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I experienced shaking/skipping in my 2007 Kia Rio on Thursday, May 14. I brought my car into the Kia service department for determination of the problem and potential service. First, the engine scan was labelled as a "free code scan," but then labor of the scan was $110. I have since learned that a diagnostic scan of the engine is free at any car maintenance retailer or oil change provider (e.g. ******** or *********). I do not believe that the $110 is fair. Second, the scan revealed that there was an engine misfire. Kia's recommendations were to replace the timing belt and cylinder four fuel injector. The timing belt had already been replaced about a year ago from an outside mechanic, so I told them that was unnecessary but to go ahead and replace the fuel injector. The cost was $361.76 for both parts and labor. However, the problem was not solved. The "check engine" light was still on. Kia then recommended that the spark plugs be changed and to replace the fourth coil above the spark plug, which I did not allow them to do. They said the cost would be another $234. I asked for my car to be returned to me. The problem with Kia's recommendations is that they were logically inverse from what any normal mechanic would do. Kia started by recommending the most expensive "fix" to the problem (i.e. the timing belt, which according to national averages run from $300 - $400, and which very rarely cause an engine misfire). Then they recommended the fuel injector, which cost $157.37. However, Kia never offered to run a maintenance service on the old injector; rather, they simply jumped straight to the decision to replace it. I did not question that until I saw a service on their board stating that fuel injector maintenance was only $129. Again, the fuel injector is not the most common cause of an engine misfire. What the service department mechanics should have done was started with a recommendation that was the simplest and most common cause to an engine misfire. They should have informed me that engine misfires are usually the result of bad spark plugs and perhaps a bad coil that needs to be replaced. Had they told me that, I could have easily done the repairs myself, and I would have walked out without wasting $360 for a service that was not needed and ineffective. They did not. Instead, they used an appeal to fear both times by stating that the car would be "unsafe to drive." I bought into it the first time but realized it for the chicanery that it was the second time. After doing additional research, I bought a set of spark plugs and one replacement coil, all of which ended up costing me less than $25; the car began driving perfectly fine after my repairs. ******** **** *** *** ******* ********** ****** ****** ** ** ** ***** ** ** *** ********** ** *** ** **** ** *** ******* ***** ******** ********** *********** ** **** *** **** * *** **** **** ***** ** ******** ******* *******

Desired Settlement: I would like a total refund because Kia's recommendations were illogical and ineffective* ************* ***** ******** ******* *** ********** ******** ******** ***** ******** *** ******* ******** ****** **** *********

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. As of now, we stand behind our original diagnosis and no refunds will be forthcoming.

Sincerely, 
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

*** ***** provides no defense for the actions taken by his company’s service department either because those actions are indefensible and/or, and this should be most troubling to the Better Business Bureau, because he does not take seriously the efficacy of the complaint process via a third party. To dismiss a customer’s grievances with a one-sentence non-explanation only solidifies in my mind the disregard Kia has to customer satisfaction. 

Kia’s service department ignored a time-honored heuristic known as Occam’s Razor, which essentially states that the best explanation for a phenomenon is usually the simplest. Instead of initially checking the spark plugs (the simplest explanation), Kia’s mechanics recommended the least likely, most costly solution in an attempt to swindle the unsuspecting client. By assuming that I had little to no knowledge of fuel injectors and timing belts and by having the service representatives recommend those particular fixes in conjunction with appeals to fear about lack of vehicle safety, the company ensured that I accepted the proposed, yet dubious, course of action.  Kia’s so-called fix was completely ineffective, and the company should not be compensated for egregious decisions that were not in the best interest of the customer. 

I am so confident that Kia was negligent in its service of my vehicle that I am willing to have the new fuel injector replaced with the old fuel injector in order to determine if the car performs equally as well with both, thereby proving that the cause of the initial problem was never the fuel injector but rather the spark plugs and a malfunctioning coil. However, this avenue cannot be pursued because I have no faith that Kia’s mechanics will carry out, with integrity and not vengeance, the demands of this experiment. 

I am shocked that *** ***** did not respond to my grievance about the service department employee texting while driving during the client pick-up. Even if this is not cause for remuneration, I can only hope that the issue is being addressed in-house, and other clients will not be put at risk because of this reckless behavior. To be clear, I do not seek the termination of the employee; rather, I seek change and ask *** ***** to assure me that this will be accomplished under his watch. 

To summarize, Kia took advantage of my inexperience (i.e. assuming that I did not know that a free diagnostic scan can be attained at any automotive retail store); the service department mechanics pursued a course of action that bypassed less expensive, more plausible recommendations (i.e. fuel injector maintenance and spark plug replacement) for the company’s own financial gain; and the service representatives used scare tactics that exaggerated the dangers of alternative actions (i.e. claiming that the vehicle was unsafe to drive, which was patently untrue). 

I was, at best, a victim of poor judgement and illogical conclusions on the part of the mechanics, who, I should not have to remind you, are presented as experts in their field of work, and at worst, willful deception and fraudulent policies on the part of management, which should have as its objectives: customer satisfaction and trust between the client and the company. Kia failed on both accounts. 

Therefore, a full refund is the only fair course of action. 

Regards,

******** ****

Business Response: We must respectfully decline *** ****** request for renumeration and stand by our initial diagnostic and procedures. 

Thank you, 
** ***** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Although I realize the futility with which I write, I can only hope that my experience at Kia of Greer will serve as a cautionary tale to other customers who can prevent becoming victims of fear tactics, unsound diagnoses, and exploitative recommendations. To spare a reiteration of my grievances, I would simply like to say that the decisions made by Kia's mechanics and customer service representatives were both practically and morally untenable. 

As such, I will have no further interaction with Kia. I will never purchase another car from them, and I will never again allow their mechanics to service my car.  I will caution all friends, family, and acquaintances to beware of the injustices I experienced with this company. 

Regards,
******** ****

11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kia of Greer had a vehicle (2010 Kia Soul- White- Manual Trans-stock#******)advertised and pictured in a publication called ******** ************** issue043. The price was listed in the magazine as $8488.The same vehicle was shown on their website Stock#****** with a price of $9988.On Sunday 11/2/14, my husband called Kia of Greer to see if the vehicle in the ad was still available and was told it was: and we were given a "VIP appointment" to see this vehicle.When we got to Kia of Greer, we rode around the lot and found the vehicle parked around back it, had a sticker in the window with the stock #******. So we knew that was the one we had seen in the ad. We went inside and were assigned to a salesperson called **.First** said he wasn't sure if the vehicle was there. We said we were given an appointment to see it, and we knew it was in back of the building. He walked us around and said the price was $19995. We showed him the magazine advertisement at $8488, and made an offer to buy the car. He said it must not have been serviced which was why it was parked behind the building. Then he took the ad we had brought to "the Manager", kept us waiting around for about 30minutes and came back to tell us that the vehicle had been pulled from the lot because of safety issues and could not be sold. We were not even given a chance to drive it to see for ourselves if it appeared to have some problem.My question is, if the vehicle was not saleable, why was it photographed and placed in a magazine ad? Secondly, today is 11/5/14 and the same vehicle is still showing on the Kia of Greer website price at $9988. If it was unsalable on Sunday 11/2/14, why hasn't it been pulled off the website? Having worked in retail; I know a company has to honor an advertised price on an item. I feel like these people were lying about pulling the vehicle for safety issues because they did not want to honor the advertised sale price.

Desired Settlement: I would like proof that this vehicle had safety issues and a detailed description of the problem. I also would like an explanation of their obviously false and deceptive advertising. And I would like an apology for wasting my time when they could have said on the phone that vehicle was no longer available.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I have investigated the concerns expressed in this complaint. 

 
First of all, Kia of Greer has not and does not engage in false or deceptive advertising. We operate in a fair and ethical manner. The vehicle in question was advertised on our web site and in **********. 
 
 A vehicle is automatically uploaded to our website upon trade in, our server does that. Periodic updates must be done manually and the vehicle comes off only after it has been sold (retail or wholesaled) and billed out in accounting. As for the magazine it is a bi-weekly publication, thus deleting and adding vehicles must coincide with the timing of the publication. We cannot pull a vehicle out at will.
 
The vehicle in question was traded in to us. We had it inspected and serviced and decided to offer it at retail.  Sometime after it was on our display lot it developed an issue. The computer code caused the check engine light to activate. The code indicates an internal engine problem and makes the vehicle ineligible for retail. The vehicle is to be sent to wholesale auction.
 
The salesperson the met at dealership conveyed accurate information to this customer. The $19,995 is the price for a NEW unit; not the price on this unit. Had the vehicle not had an issue we would have been glad to offer it at the advertised price. The person they spoke with on the phone was either not aware or did not properly check to see if the vehicle was still available for RETAIL. They simply looked in system and saw that the stock number still showed "in stock". For that we apologize. 
 
We would be glad to assist this customer in finding something similar and as a gesture of goodwill, we would be glad to give them a tank of gas for their time. Should they desire to accept please ask them to reach out to *** **** *******. **** can be reached at************. This is ****'s personal cell number. He will be glad to assist.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****
 

7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased vehicle in Jan of 2014. Was told that we get a free oil change with the purchase. Have since purchased some items the dealership did not include with purchase and have been trying to get a hold of the finance guy (******* *****) thru email about setting us up for our free oil change and to have the additional things done, (spare key, remote pairing, new wipers and air filter), and have not heard anything back. Have kept all emails and have resent at various times in the hopes of getting a response. Have heard nothing from him or them since. Feel like once they sold the vehicle, they washed their hands of the vehicle AND us!!Wondering if we still get the free oil change as well?

Desired Settlement: Due to feeling of abandonment from dealership, feel they could/should make spare key and pair remote for free!Will acquire air filter and wipers elsewhere now, as feel we are not important customers to them!

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this mater to my attention.

We have assigned this matter to our fixed operations director to investigate and reach out to the customer and try to assist. We will certainly fulfill any and all items promised, however, since the customer indicates they will no longer do business with us and be going elsewhere from now on it leaves us with little incentive to give away any items for free. If we felt we could restore a relationship we would have gladly done some things for free. Seems that ship has sailed.
Thank you, 
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******** ****

WHY then ***, does it take making a complaint to the BBB to get ANY kind of response from you people???  Can you tell me that??  I WILL come down to get my free oil change and IF you seem it possible, would like to get my remote paired and a new key made and then maybe we will see about you doing my air filter and wiper blades. I am just SO sick & tired of having to go this route each and every time to get a business to respond to me!!  WHY does it take this route?

I am a former employee of several dealership ***, and I have NEVER seen anyone have to go thru this to get what they were promised. Now I have to wonder what kind of condition I'll get the car back in? Will it still be road worthy or will you people be vindictive and do things to it so that I will have trouble with it after you do the oil change? I've seen and heard of that and have had this car looked over by a local tech.........some things he found that might be considered a risk to have released vehicle to us in that way, but told him you people told us you didn't have to do anything to vehicle to bring it to specs in your state.......hard to believe, but...........
So, now YOU tell me what you would like to do for me to rebuild this relationship!


Business Response: Kia of Greer has fulfilled any and all promises that were made to this customer. Furthermore, I have looked into the email paper trail and with one exception, all were responded to. Customer was given the contact for service person, as the work requested was outside the scope of his knowledge.

As for the comments that it take "going to BBB to get any response" - that is inaccurate as well. I have spoken with all Managers, including the General Manager. No one has had any phone calls from this customer. I have never received any call or correspondence from this customer. The first any manager has heard of this issue is when we received the BBB complaint.
We regret we are unable to assist further and make customer happy. We have responded as best we know how. We do not feel the situation warrants us performing services or giving items for free. Furthermore, I do not see anything being accomplished with emails back and forth. If the customer would like to come in and sit down with *** *******, our General Manager, face to face and try to resolve the conflict, we would be glad to accommodate. If not, perhaps it is best for customer to seek service elsewhere in the future.
If they would like to meet with ***, he can be reached at *************
Thank you, 
*** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******** **** 

We have NOT received all items promised!  We have not recieved our free oil change, so how is that that we got ALL that was promised us??  I was even interested in providing extra work as we needed some things done to vehicle that SHOULD have been done before we took possession! 

You better check the "email trail" again, you need glasses! I have copies of all emails sent to ******* ***** that were unanswered. Asking him to set us up with an appt to get things done on vehicle above and beyond the free oil change!  I would like to see copies of each and every one of them! And I think, so would the BBB!
Will be taking complaint one step farther with the Automotive Repair Board.


Business Response:

***** – KIA MOTORS PROVIDES FIRST FREE OIL CHANGE ON ALL CARS – KIA, NOT NECESSARILY US. THAT IS GOOD TO USE AT ANY STORE. TO HAVE OIL CHANGE MADE AT OUR STORE, IT TAKES ABOUT 45-50 MINUTES AND NO APPOINTMENT IS REQUIRED. JUST COME IT AND GET OIL CHANGE. FURTHERMORE, THE FINANCE GUY HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH SERVICE. OUR SERVICE *** ***** **** HAS CALLED HER AND LEFT MESSAGES – NO ANSWER OR RETURN CALL.
 
AS FOR HER OTHER ITEMS, SHE WOULD NEED TO CALL PARTS OR SERVICE AND ORDER THE PARTS SHE WANTS – THE FINANCE MANAGER DOES NOT NOR CANNOT ORDER PARTS. ORDERED PARTS MUST BE PAID FOR AT TIME OF ORDER. AGAIN, OUR PARTS AND OR SERVICE FOLKS HAVE NEVER HEARD FROM HER.
 
IF THERE IS ANY PUSHBACK FROM THE OTHER DEALER – ALL SHE MUST DO IS PAY, CONTACT YOU, AND I WILL SEND A CHECK. SHE CAN COME HERE AND GET FREE OIL CHANGE. - BUT FOR ALL THE OTHER, AND AFTER THAT, I THINK IT BEST SHE CHOOSE ANOTHER DEALER.

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my car towed in due to the emergency brake malfunctioning, making my car undriveable. It was towed in a first told me the lines simply needed to be warmed and lubricated, which was weird, but paid my $186 anyway. 1 week later I had the vechicle towed again for the same issue, this time there was a card stuck in there. Less than a week later, the same issue happened so I had them pay to have it towed and this time the brake lines needed to be replaced (which I told him all along). They wanted to charge me full price and I refused after already having paid $186, so he dropped it a few dollars. Needing my car, I reluctantly paid and my brake lines were finally fixed. In March, my car was not cranking like normal, after a few weeks of this, I brought it into my own mechanic and it started up great for him, so he could not diagnose. I took it home and it immediately would not start. The next day while driving to work, my car completely shut off and would not restart. I took it up to Kia, they tell me it is the starter that is damaged and since Kia redesigned the flywheel would have to be replaced, which would be $1300, while also trying to sell me a new clutch (which they said I do not need) or a "good price on a trade in." While looking over my warranty, I see the flywheel is covered in the powertrain, which my car is still under. Myself, my boyfriend, and my parents all called several times and were lied to about the flywheel being covered. I understood paying only for the starter. We resolved for me to pay labor ($442). I went to pick up my car a week later and it would not go into first or second gear. I got told 3 different things by 3 different people. The service manager, tony, was extremely rude when I asked for a rental and said he would split it. I found this outrageous seeing as their part was not going to be ready for another week when it had already been in the shop 1 week. Also, the shifter broke while in their shop, he admitted it wasnt something I could have done. HORRIBLE

Desired Settlement: I would like this complaint officially logged against Kia of Greer's service department, especially their ************* ********* ******** ****** *** ***** *****. There is much more to this story, but not enough characters. I would love a refund on services, simply based on the fact that I was out of my car for an extra week and a half due to Kia's service department. Also, they tried to "haggle" with me and lie to me about the warrranty in the first place.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. We have spoken to the customer and this matter is resolved.

 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would like to withdraw my complaint. I have spoken with *** at length and am happy with his resolution.

Regards,

**** ****

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kia of Greer has refused to send me the necessary form to cancel the extended warranty I mistakenly purchased. ******** ***** said it's against the law for him to send me it via email or regular mail. He insist on me going to their dealership and I am determined to NEVER EVER go to Kia of Greer in this life time. In my opinion, Kia of Greer has several white collar criminals working there who make up the laws as it fits their sales needs1.08/31/13 I bought a car from Kia of Greer2.A week after I sent them a bad review3.09/26/13 *** ***** called me to find out when I will go get my tag that was returned by *****.4.09/26/13 During that conservation, I requested the cancellation of the extended warranty5.09/30/13 ****, sales rep, called me at work and asked me the same question.6.09/30/13 **** called me at work again and said he will bring the tag to my job.7.09/30/13 *** called me at work and said she will bring the tag.8.09/30/13 *** brought the tag but refused to give it to me without me signing the new contract she had because the original finance rep had given me the outdated contract.9.I signed it, she gave me my tag then she told me we fired him for giving you the outdated contract, then she stole the original contract from my car. Then asked her for the extended warranty form back, she refused.10.I realized she had stolen the original contract I signed after she left, I called her she said she had already given it to them. 11.Since then, *** ***** said it is against state law to email or regular mail me the cancellation form or a copies of both contracts I signed. 12.*** ***** refused to give me any info about who eventually finance the loan. He gave me a toll free # to call. The rep on the other end told me it was**** ****. I asked him questions, he referred me to my contract, I told him that I had no contract and I would not make a payment until he told me. I paid extra interest from 09/15/13 to 09/25/13 when I made my first payment because I had no contract or payment info

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a full refund of the extended warranty, the extra interest I paid unnecessarily, and to take me off their email and regular mail lists after they have processed my refund.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this complaint to my attention.

 
After reviewing the complaint it appears that the folks at Kia of Greer have in fact attempted to get this cancellation processed. We do need to ensure that the person who owns such a extended warranty, is in fact, the person who desires to cancel the extended.It appears *** ***** offered the fastest and simplest solution and that is for the customer to come in and sign the form and present a proper ID. It is simply a security precaution and does not make us "while collar criminals" any more than the cable company, phone company, or electric company who verifies that someone adding or canceling service is in fact the actual consumer who owns the account.
 
I will have **. **** *********, General Manager reach out to the customer to assist with this matter. It can be quickly resolved.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

9/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from Kia of Greer about 2 months ago. Less than 24 hours I bought the car, it began making an awful noise. I took the car to the business that Friday (2 hours drive one way), after 5 hours of setting there, they said they had fixed it. On the way home I started having the same issue. The following Friday, I did the same thing... 5 hours at the business, all that except on the way home, the power steering went out completely (on****). The next day Kia of Greer sent a roll back to get it on Saturday. They put me in a rental for 2-3 weeks no one called to update me, nothing. I finally got in touch with someone, *****. He said they had fixed the car. Well I got there to pick the car up (2 hours drive one way), when I crunk the car- same problem. After some discussion and the business trying to finance a more expensive car than the Honda Pilot I had purchased but not driven maybe 2 or 3 days, they gave me my key to the trade in I used to purchase the Pilot and told me they would un-do the deal and get my title back to me asap. I received the title in the mail a few weeks later. Now the finance company is calling me saying I am late on a payment for a vehicle I don't have and only drove maybe 2 days when I did have the car. I have called the business and they told me to speak with *** in the finance department but, he never returns my phone calls. I don't want my credit ruined because they botched their end of the deal. My next resort is to file suit.

Desired Settlement: I want the ******* account off of my credit. I don't have the car and I should not owe anyone for it.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.


I have looked into the matter and determined the following;

  • Customers bought a used Honda Pilot. They were financed through ******* ********* and the contract was funded.
  • They were unhappy with the Honda and we, in the spirit of customer satisfaction, agreed to take the vehicle back and pay off the loan
  • We purchased back and paid off the loan to *******. There will show there was a loan, then the loan paid off
As for "removal from credit file" - Kia of Greer does not report to any credit agency. We are simply a user of information provided by credit reporting agencies. Kia of Greer is not a lender and therefore, we do not have access or authorization to have items added or removed. The lender, in this case, *******, would have such access perhaps. However, since a loan was applied for, contract signed by consumer and funded, it is doubtful that any lender would or could have such information removed. However, unless the consumer was delinquent in some fashion there really should be nothing on the file that would harm the consumer.

Please keep in mind, the Honda Pilot was sold "as-is" - Kia of Greer had no legal obligation whatsoever to re-purchase that vehicle at all. We did so to make our customer happy. We operate an ethical, honest business and we want customers happy. Most any other place would have done nothing at all and the customer would have to fin for themselves. We hope this customer would recognize our willingness to go above and beyond what was required.

I hope this clears up any concern.

Sincerely, 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I understand that Kia of Greer had no legal obligation to purchase the vehicle back.However, Kia of Greer assumed that obligation when they returned my trade in and told me the deal would be undone. The business has responded to me and taken care of the problem.  They were very friendly during the process.  The only problem I have is the number of calls I had to make and the length of time I had to wait to receive any response from Kia of Greer.   I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

Regards,

****** ******


8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/16/2013 we purchased a 2013 Dodge Caravan from Kia of Greer. Our salesman told us that it had rear AC ,which was a must for our family because we have 5 children ,we asked him a couple of times to ensure the fact ,being told repeatedly that he could feel the AC blowing in the back and it definitely did have it. Due to not driving it much between the purchase date and 7/19/2013,we didnt realize it definitely did not have rear AC until those few days later and upon realizing it,we returned to the dealership on 7/20/2013 ,with the hope they could help us in solving this issue ,we were told the salesman that had given us the false information about the rear AC ,was no longer employed by them ,and for us to return the following day 7/21/2013 so they could help us better.We returned again on 7/21/2013 and they assured us they could help us in correcting the problem and get us into another van that would fit our needs,we found another van similar to what we had purchased but that had the rear AC that we needed,we were told it was not a problem they would fix it and get us into that van.Then again we were told we would need to come back the following day and were given the run around for a week,on 7/26/13 we returned wanting answers and for the issue to be solved instead we were treated rudely and ask to leave and now they are refusing to fix the problem as was promised.

Desired Settlement: We would like for the dealership to do as promised and fix the issue which was caused by their salesman and get us into another vehicle that has rear AC ,which will fit our families needs .

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.


**** *********, General Manager has spoken to the customer and they have meeting scheduled to resolve any concerns.

Thank you, 

8/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Wednesday July 24, 2013 while searching the website cars.com I saw a 1999 blue Nissan Maxima for $1995 for sale at Kia of Greer. I completed the inquiry form online and was promptly replied to confirming that the car was still available and also wanting me to schedule a time to come and test drive the vehicle. I replied back to the email asking for a salesman to contact as I had questions on additional information for the vehicle. No one returned my call so I called the office directly and gave my information again, whoever answered the phone assured me that someone would follow back up with me. However no one ever did. On Thursday July 25, 2013 I called *********** and was greeted by ******* who I had to explain to again how the previous day no one had responded back to me. She proceeded to listen to me and inquire that the vehicle was still there for sale. She made a "VIP" appointment for me Saturday July 27, 2013 at 5pm, #******* stating the car would be up front awaiting our arrival for a test drive. I drove from**** ****, SC and arrived around 5:07pm. The receptionist was busy knitting at the welcome desk and had no clue of which salesman was assigned to me. When someone did help us he could not find the keys for the vehicle and stated that he did not know anything about the cars parked on the side. He repeated twice that it still needed to be serviced and could not find any keys. He brought my husband and I in the lobby and sat us down at the desk where he supposedly got the floor manager, Ed (whose business card states salesman) over trying to persuade us to put the $2500 down we had onto a new purchase. No one from upper management came over to apologize or offer any explanation for our waste of drive of over 75 miles. I work for ***** *****, and this is by far a poor excuse of a business. How can you have a vehicle on your lot with the price on the windshield and no one have a clue about it? I was simply trying to purchase a starter car for my 17 year old son. So disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I expect a call from someone in corporate. When I asked for a contact person or address I was presented with a business card with the Kia of Greer's address and told that there is no corporate office. This is not acceptable and not a way of doing business. I expect some form of compensation for my drive to your facility for wasting my time. Stop listing an automobile on a reputable website. Not only are you damaging your reputation but also ******** Is this your definition of VIP?

Consumer Response: From: ****** ***** *Sent: Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:59 PM
To: ***********************
Subject: RE:*****, Your Requested Information

Thanks for the prompt response. We are in the market for a car for our son who is a senior. Cannot afford another car payment we already have a Honda and***** financed currently. Is there a 30 day warranty or anything offered with this car? We would be able to come tomorrow for a test drive.

Business Response: THANK YOU FOR FORWARDING THIS MATTER TO MY ATTENTION.


**. **** ********* WILL REACH OUT TO THIS CUSTOMER TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE.

SINCERELY,

7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kia of Greer continues to send junk mail to my deceased mother in-law, even after repeated calls to their advertisement department. They were told she passed away in Feb. 2009 & we no longer own her Kia, nor are we interested in owning another.

Desired Settlement: Due to waste & paper reduction, we demand Kia of Greer, Hyundai of Greer, Toyota of Greer or any of their affiliates to remove; all or in part, my mother in-laws name of ***** ****** ***** along with our mailing address from all of their solicitations, weather by telephone, mail or any form of electronic advertising.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this concern to my attention. I am sorry that it took a BBB coorespondance for us to be made aware, as our records do not indicate any previous contacts.


We have removed the customer from our file at Kia of Greer; as for the other stores mentioned, they are separate entities and as far as we can tell have not mailed any information.

I might also suggest that *** ***** have the name placed on national "do not mail" list. That is the only way that I am aware to prevent mailers in the future. We like many other companies purchase names from third party vendors who provide names; we have no control over the names provided. We can only assure that we will not mail from our internal database.

Sincerely, 

*** *****


5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wnet to Kia of Greer on 02/25/2013 to get a car. After they tried with two banks I decided that i did not want to try with them becasue of their attitude. I have been getting letters in th email from credit companies stating that I was not approve for loan. I have received 15 letters & i did not authorized them to do continue to do this. Now my credit score has drop becasuse of what they did. When i called them to explain to them what they did The man was very nasty on the phone. His name is ***** *******. Eventhough after several emails, phones call & texts messages from I still told thme that I do not want to get a car from them. What can I do now.

Desired Settlement: I want my those other credits companies that they sent after I explain to them before I left that night to come off my credit report. I am sending them a certified letter today asking them to please stop sending in my information to credit companies. I also did a credit freeze with ******* today. Please help me.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention and allowing me the opportunity to respond.


After researching the complaint I have found that the customer completed a credit application. The credit application authorizes us to 1) obtain a credit report, and 2) allows for us to submit the application to various third party lenders in order to obtain credit for the customer and seek the most favorable terms. The credit application is compliant with the "Fair Credit Reporting Act" and clearly states that we will in fact send to various lenders. It even has a list of all the lenders and a statement adjacent to the signature line.The customer filled out the application and signed.

In addition, Federal Law requires any such lender to send out what is called an "Adverse Action Notice". This notice is required under federal law. Anytime credit is either denied or the terms of an approval are conditional and different than the amount or terms initially requested. Kia of Greer has no ability to stop the sending of the letters nor does KIA of Greer report activity to any credit bureau and thus does not have the ability to change information within a consumer's file.

I regret that the customer is no happy. We try very hard to assist each and every customer and make sure they have a pleasant experience. We would be glad to meet or talk further with this customer. **** ********* is the contact at KIA of Greer and he can be reached anytime at 864-*********

Thank you, 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I just do not want them to keep contiuning to send my credit to different compaines for approval  since I am no longer instrest in getting a car with thme as I stated on 02/25/2013 to them.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Husband and I went to Kia Of Greer on Saturday April 14th 2013. We stayed at the dealership for 4 hours loooking,test driving and working out the details of what the price would be for the trade in of our truck a 2010 150 platium edition with 30,100 miles which they said they would give us $35,000 for. The price of the *** **** we were buying which they said they would sell to us for 17,700, so a man by the name of ****** who said he was the owner of Kia sat down with us wrote it all out on paper $35,000 for our truck trade in & the New *** ****+ model for 17,000. We told ****** we bank with**** and they aren't open on the weekend but financing wasn't an issue and we would be at our bank when they opened Monday morning 4/15/13. My husband took of work that Mnday so he could get things taken care of so my husband sat at our bank for an hour waiting on them to fax the contract when the kia did fax over their buyer contract our loan officer looked over the contract a long with the branch manager told us the the way they wrote up the contract My husband would need to go down there drop off our truck, get the new car & get a check from Kia for the difference once my husband drove back down to greer sc they realized they had giving us to good of a deal the Gernal Sales Manager *** started changing everything saying they just couldn't do that. They weren't going to do that even after the Man by the name of ****** who said he owned Kia of Greer was the one who sat down with us and was the person who wrote down 35,000 for our truck & 17,000 for the new car. *** the Sales Manager refused to honor the deal, rolled his eyes at my husband & thought he could intimidate him which didnt work my husband said this was the deal we worked out on Saturday And you should honor it you wrote it down & if not I dont want the car. The Manager said im not doing that so my husband left. I called ask to *** the sales manager he was rude, abrupt, and very unprofessional I ask to speak to ****** they refused

Desired Settlement: I dont want any money, What I want is to speak to who ever OWNS KIA OF GREER to call me & to honor the deal that was written out to us on Sat. It is only right that they do that. I want to speak with the OWNER about the way his company is ran & the type of unprofessional people he has working in his store.Thanks You,********* ***** *******-****

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I am not up to speed on the details of their negotiations but will forward this concern to **** *********. **** is a a partner and General Manager of this dealership.**** will reach out to them and attempt to resolve the issue.


Thank you, 

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 I purchased an automobile from Kia of Greer. This was a mistake on my part. But, that was then. The company keeps calling me back and I have requested Kia of Greer to delete my name and phone number from their data base. They refuse to take me off their list and continue to call- I received 2 calls from Kia of Greer on Friday, March 1, 2013. These calls from this company must stop. I will never purchase anything again from Kia of Greer. I am a retired teacher and I don't understand why these calls must continue and disturb me. I am wondering if I have to take them to court. It appears that the company thinks these calls are a joke or a training exercise for new sales personnel.

Desired Settlement: Kia of Greer needs to be informed by the BBB that they are bothering people with their solicitation calls. I assume that the BBB has standards that prohibit businesses from unwanted calls after so many requests.If the BBB can't or will not resolve this problem, I would appreciate notification. Thereby, I can hire an attorney to file action against this unwanted and persistent harassment.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.


This is the first I or any of my staff has received anything to indicate this customer no longer wishes to be contacted by us. Kia of Greer routinely makes follow up contact with customers that have service work completed to ensure that the service was completed satisfactorily. We also follow up and remind customers of the upcoming scheduled visits; outside of that, KIA of Greer is not making solicitation calls of any type that I am aware of.

I will look into the matter and make every effort to honor the request.

Sincerely, 

****** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

 

****** **********

RE Complaint ID *******I don't know who the person is that BBB contacted nor, do I know how he is affiliated with KIA of GREER,, that was not explained. Either way, his not knowing of what the sales staff and/or office staff would be typical of an organization such as KIA of GREER. If Kia of GREER can offer me proof that my personal information such as home telephone number, address, and other personal information has been deleted, I will drop any complaints. However, if I ever receive 1(ONE) call from KIA of GREER again in the near or distant future, I will have my attorney to file complaints against KIA of GREER in court for harassment. KIA of GREER personnel have made calls to my cell phone every few months  for years and each time I have told the person calling that I will never buy another thing from KIA of GREER and to remove me from their data base. And, this has gone on for years. Each call costs me money and I will not take it any more.

 

I have had to use my attorney against KIA of GREER in the past and I will use him again. No, KIA of GREER, I am not bluffing this time either!

 

 

**** ** **********

 

Business Response:  We responded politely, professionally and accurately. This gentleman wishes to be confrontational. We will not particpate in such a conversation. The customer provides no evidence that 1) a call was in fact made by us, or 2) any evidence that he ever informed us in writing to be placed on do not call list. However, as I indicated in my initial response, we would look into the matter and remove him from the call list. This is in process and does take some time, not too much, but some time to go through the system.


We are not affiliated with any other KIA dealership in Greenville or Spartanburg, nor do we have any control over KIA Motors USA. He may be receiving calls from them. If so, he must deal direct with them.


1/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service