Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hyundai of Greer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hyundai of Greer include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hyundai of Greer
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 06, 2009 Business started: 12/01/2008 in SC Business incorporated 07/17/2006 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Escude, President Mr. Robert Hogan, Vice President Mr. Jim Hutchinson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Escude, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Hogan, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 14435 East Wade Hampton Blvd.

    Greer, SC 29651

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told payments would start a month later after sale . Then i started to make payment caught all payments up but 250.00 dollars which is about half a payment. i receiving harassing phone calls even after a 1200.00 dollar payment . then threats to pick up car and my husband as well. i spoke with them several occasions explained lost job will be starting anew one pay check will be a few weeks out. calls got worse . now the collector is stating i am speaking to them and telling my husband he spoke with me and i was belligerent and such which i never spoke to them in recent days trying to cause discord in my home for lack of payment, i filed a complaint and never got a response . i have never bought a car with them and will never again do to their financial department practices. I requested for that payment to be put on back of the loan since i was mislead no response. i now receiving threatening letters and my husband nasty calls.the loan was also suppose to be in my name not husbands and some how the dealer changed it with out our knowledge.

Desired Settlement: i feel due to the nasty calls and mistakes on the account in the very beginning , i want a billing adjustment and calls and letters to stop and a call from the company to resolve the problem. try to rectify the issue and change my name back on the loan not my husbands.i also want all fees removed.

Business Response: Hyundai of Greer is not a lender. I am not sure at this moment the lender that financed their loan, however, regardless of that matter, Hyundai of Greer has no involvement in the collection practices of any third party lender. The customer must make the payments on time and according to the terms and conditions set forth in the agreement signed with the lender.


Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. Regrettably, we will be unable to assist.

*** *****

2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hyundai of Greer sold me a GAP insurance when I bought my car from them in June 2015. A couple months later I called the dealership to cancel the insurance. I was told by ***** that I have to come and cancel the insurance personally. I explained them that I was from Maryland and I don't live in South Carolina. I bought the car from South Carolina as I was working temporarily in an IT project and was there related to my work. I called multiple times to cancel it by phone but every time they denied me and asked me to come over. Finally, I drove from Maryland to South Carolina to cancel the Insurance. When I reached there it happened to be a Colombus day and they said that the GAP cancellation department was closed that day. I spoke to ***** one day before and I was told that it is ok to come and cancel on Colombus day which was October 12,2015. It has been almost 4 months and I have not received my GAP insurance refund till date. Every time I am told to contact Hyundai or Toyota of Greer to get my refund. When I contact either of them, I get the answer to contact Hyundai of Greer. I have done numerous emails but getting no results. About 2 weeks ago I was told by ***** @ Hyundai of Greer that the matter was being handled by **** ***** who is the co-owner of the dealership. I spoke to him this morning i.e. 2/5/2016 and got the same reply to contact Hyundai Motor Finance. And I am back in the loop again without the refund . I can't sell my car till I get the refund. Please help me with this matter. Thank you. ****

Desired Settlement: Refund my money from the day of cancellation of the GAP Insurance. Which is October 12, 2015. And compensate me fairly for the aggravation and loss for not being able to sell the car.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. This is the first I have heard of this matter and see no record of previous attempts. I will forward this matter to accounting for processing. There is a possibility that refund may have been issued and the lender has not processed on their end. All cancellations are sent directly to the lender, not to the consumer. Furthermore, a cancellation is never required in order to sell a car. It does not delay anything. 





Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. Per requirement please see attached contract for GAP Agreement which was canceled in October 2015 and I am still waiting for the payment refund.

Regards,

**** ******

Consumer Response:


Thanks for your help with this matter. As per discussion, please find attached the statement showing that they have finally issued me a credit after 5 months. 

I also wanted to bring to your attention that the refund is not reflecting the interest I have paid on this amount for the last 5 months with my monthly payments. 

If this payment was applied in the month of October then there would have been reduction in principal in October, rather it happened in February. 

Thanks and Regards,
**** ****** ************

Business Response:

When a product is paid off at lender, then it is credited to the principal and reduces the payoff.

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I work at **** in *****, SC. On Friday, October 16, 2015, I went to Hyundai of ***** to inquire about leasing a brand new Hyundai Elantra. The sales rep, **** ********, is also a **** client of mine so I felt it would be nice for me to pay the dealership/him a visit. We discussed leasing the car, not paying anything today, and went through with the purchase. I had given him a rough estimate of my payoff of $******* on my Honda Accord, which I was trading in. Later on, in the midst of all the paperwork, he called ******* Financial, who I have my Honda financed through, and obtained an EXACT payoff amount. So he should have entered this payoff into the system; instead, it turned out that he entered the rough $**** that I had originally quoted! By the end of the transaction, he tried to tell me I had to pay $** out of pocket by check or debit. I quickly disagreed and said that they needed to redo that paperwork. That was not what we agreed on. He fixed it, and in the middle of all the entering numbers and such, he couldn't figure out why some figures weren't going through, got frustrated, threw his glasses down, and walked away. The internet sales manager, whom is a very nice and respectable guy, came to my partner and I and apologized for the employee's actions, and said he tends to do that a lot. **** also VERY clearly stated that I will NOT have a car payment for Hyundai until the end of November, and they will send a payoff to Honda and get the car paid off, since they obtained the payoff amount that night. The entire visit lasted from 6pm-10pm, a very long time due to discrepancies and miscommunication between the employees. It was very tacky and backwards. On the survey I received the following week, despite all of that, I still gave a good score since the employee is a client of mine, also. I am very laid back usually, and very forgiving but too far is simply too far. On October 28, 2015 I was called back in because, SUDDENLY, my payment amount dropped a couple of dollars. As to how or why, that is left in the dark because every employee there is evasive and simply answers with, "It's fine. Just sign it" kind of attitude. When my partner and I arrived that day and met with the finance manager, ******** we asked what we were signing exactly and how it happened (wouldn't any normal person do so?). He, verbatim, responded with, "Paperwork." Baffled, we were like, "...What KIND of paperwork?" Then he mentioned that our payment went down a couple of bucks and we have to resign the lease agreement, that it should not take long. A week/week and a half or so had passed, and I began getting calls from my Honda finance center requesting payment for October. Confused, I called Honda the next day on 11/12/15, and said that Hyundai should have sent them a payoff, that I got the car almost a MONTH ago. They said nothing has been received as yet, so I hung up and called Hyundai. I spoke with ******* and he said that "I'm pretty sure we sent it out. Let me check and call you back." He called me back and confirmed that they will be sending it out the following day and it will be OVERNIGHTED. This, again, was on 11/12/15, and I have a recording on my phone and my work voicemail. About a week later, I was still getting calls from Honda saying they need payment and my boyfriend, as frustrated as he SHOULD be, called up there to speak to the manager. The manager's name is ******, and he is a male, and he asked if I purchased the vehicle on October 28th. My boyfriend corrected him and said it was on the 16th. ****** then was like, "OHHHH, I see now! Yes, yes, yes it has been sent out. It was sent out yesterday." My boyfriend then told ****** to call my office to confirm with me, which he never did (since I was at work that day). The lack of follow-up with that company is absurd. I've never dealt with a dealership that operated that way...I was told it imitated a business model of a 70s dealership. Very unprofessional, unapproachable, and unfriendly. To get back on track with my payoff, I did not receive a phone call or email from Honda for a little while until this week, the first week of December. On 12/2/15, I got more e-mails and more phone calls, stating AS OF 12/2/15, I AM BEHIND TWO PAYMENTS AND NOW OWE $609. This has been over 30 days with Honda now not receiving any kind of payment, and now, it has affected my credit. I am 18 weeks pregnant, I work a fulltime job, and I have enough on my plate. And now I have this, a very serious situation, added on to my already full plate. I called Honda again this week, they confirmed they have received nothing; however, Hyundai of ***** called them LAST WEEK on 11/23/15 to obtain ANOTHER PAYOFF AMOUNT!! Why would anyone call to get a payoff on my Honda if they check was "supposedly overnighted"?!? I cannot believe this. My boyfriend and I both have tried calling Hyundai and no one in management can come to the phone. I spoke with a fellow **** employee, and her husband works for **** dealer finance as a head person. He looked up the information and F&I Manager for Hyundai of ***** and she gave me the name, **** *****. Her husband ALSO confirmed that this VERY same situation happened to another customer just recently. That is a truly unsettling thing to hear, considering I have a big purchase with this particular company. I absolutely have no idea how a company like that gets audited with no errors, and whoever is doing paperwork in their back office gets away with this kind of unfair treatment. I had to INNOCENTLY take a hit to my credit for doing absolutely nothing wrong, simply because no one stuck to their word, I was getting the run around, and I was 100% LIED to. If I could go back and retract everything, and spread the word to the community, I would. I still plan on it. This is my first step.

Desired Settlement: Adjusted credit report due to non-consumer error.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. I have investigated this complaint and we are in the process of personally following up with this customer.


While we truly value this customer's business and deeply regret any inconvenience this customer has experienced, we must take exception with several of the key points in her outline. 

We did in fact make an error in the paperwork regarding the payoff - the salesperson simply forgot to update the correct payoff amount on the worksheet. This was corrected the same day before the customer left. 

In addition, there was an error in the residual calculation - Hyundai Motor Finance, after receipt of the contract, asked us to have it corrected. We reached out the the customer, explained the situation and asked for her to come in to get corrected. She was going to be out of town and it took some eight or nine days before she could come in and correct. Once corrected we sent contract back for funding. We inform all customers in writing at time of delivery that the delivery of the vehicle is conditional; conditional based upon us being successful in assigning the retail installment contract/lease contract to a third party lender. It clearly states that if we need additional information or assistance to satisfy the third party then the customer will fully cooperate. We are not able to make payoffs or finalize title work until all conditions are met and the contract is funded. Such is the case here. It also appears that the customer was already either past due or near being past the due date on her payment at the time of delivery the new vehicle - this certainly exasperated the situation.

However, in stating all this, we still were able to process and make the payoff in a timely fashion. After investigation it appears the her lender ******** Financial failed to process the payoff in a timely fashion, they somehow managed to return the payoff check twice and made several clerical errors. This is the chief cause of any payoff delays.

Hopefully , we can find some way to assist. *** **** *****, General Manager has reached out to her today.

Sincerely, 

*** ***** 

Consumer Response: "Hyundai Motor Finance, after receipt of the contract, asked us to have it corrected. We reached out the the customer, explained the situation and asked for her to come in to get corrected. She was going to be out of town and it took some eight or nine days before she could come in and correct. Once corrected we sent contract back for funding." Response: I never said I was going to be out of town, I said I was on vacation the week you guys called (the week of October 26th) and I came to the dealership on October 28th to resign everything. "It also appears that the customer was already either past due or near being past the due date on her payment at the time of delivery the new vehicle - this certainly exasperated the situation." Response: Yes, I had a payment due on October 28th, but it was stressed that I did NOT HAVE TO MAKE A PAYMENT to satisfy the month o October OR November. I made my first payment to Hyundai Motor Finance the end of November, as was needed. There was not a moment from the time of purchase to now where I have not complied/complied in a timely fashion. With all of that said, I would appreciate acknowledgement of the lack of follow-up AND my compliance. This is the real issue here. Months later, on this date of 12/7/15, **** *****, GM of Hyundai of ***** and ******* ******, HR department followed up with me after my phone call this morning. They apologized professionally and explained the EXACT situation of what was going on. Prior to that, I was left in the dark as to what internal error was going on at the time. The customer had no knowledge of this, thus things would not have gotten this far. I am content with *** ******* feedback/follow-up and I will go from there; however, it would be wise for the staff to improve with providing customer with proper details so they do not have to undergo any kind of unsettling feeling. That should be the business' ultimate concern and priority. Satisfying the customer whether or not they purchase a vehicle.

5/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being harassed by Hyundai Motor Finance with phone calls repeated throughout the day for payment for a leased vehicle which was returned to Hyundai of Greer on February 23, 2015. The most recent calls were May 18, 8:11 p.m., and today, May 19, 2015 at 10:16 a.m. I have sent numerous communications to Hyundai of Greer, spoken to the General Manager by phone and letter to have the records completed. Additionally, I bought (instead of leased) another car on the same day, but was not informed that Hyundai did not have the title. Consequently, the tag on my vehicle was revoked, because they did not provide documentation to the ** DMV. This I discovered upon visiting the local tag office to request correction of a bill I received for another vehicle I returned o February 18.

Desired Settlement: Phone calls from Hyundai Finance regarding past due balance must stop. Any entries against my credit regarding this issue need to be removed. Consideration for the time and effort I have put into resolving these issues, following up with the insurance company - ******** - regarding the missing title. Time spent at the DMV trying to correct the issue. Time spent contacting Hyundai of Greer and Hyundai Motor Finance trying to correct the errors, requesting their records be updated, waiting for responses and correction, explaining the situation repeatedly to their collections agents who called sometimes 5 times a day with no solution.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to our attention. I will ask our GM *** **** ***** to reach out to the customer and see if he can better assess the concern.

***

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 4th Hyundai vehicle on July 6th, a certified pre-owned Elantra (My first three cars where brand new). During my test drive I noticed that the car exhaust sounded a little louder than normal, as my other Hyundai vehicles were so quiet you wouldnt know that they were running. I spoke with my sales agent that day DURING the test drive and he noticed it as well. It wasnt super loud, just seemed louder than what one would expect with a Hyundai car. I thought perhaps it was that way because the car was a little sportier (tinted windows, super stereo system, etc.) After being sold on the concept that purchasing a Certified Pre-Owned car is a sound purchase because it is fully inspected, I took my new ride home. I drove the car in my allotment and again noticed that when pressing the gas pedal it seemed to get louder. Well the next day my Hyundai sales rep called me to thank me for stopping in and making a purchase, and I reiterated that the car seemed to be loud while pressing on the gas. He said he would connect me to the repair department to set up an appointment to get it looked at. I was connected and realized due to my work schedule and my wifes, it conflicted with me being able to get it in there right away. Two weeks later I made the appointment for Monday July 28, the first available time I would be able to bring the vehicle in. I was going to take a look underneath the car myself, however Hyundai sold the vehicle without a jack and without a spare tire. So I could not jack it up to look for myself. Upon service department inspection they noticed that there was a gash in the catalytic converter. I have plenty of pictures that I took when they had it up on the lift. I was told that it would cost me $1100 plus $80 labor to repair it. Of course I refused because the vehicle was sold to me that way. No way am I paying for a defect when the car was sold to me that way. The repair rep claimed that he would talk to the head sales manager and see what he could do. I had to go due to family engagements but I came back the next day to find out what was going to be done. I was told again by the repair rep that I would be responsible for the repair. I informed the repair rep that I wanted to speak to the sales manager right away. He said wait in the lobby and I will get him. We were being stalled so we went up to the front to speak with the manager. He had no idea of what we were talking about. So then we had a pow wow with the sales manager, the repair rep, and the sales boss who sold us the car in the first place. We were told to relax and the managers were going to see what they could do. They offered us an opportunity to purchase an Accent Sedan from the lot, but they did not have any in stock on the lot. So that wasnt going to work. Then they offered us the opportunity to purchase a 2015 Elantra (base model), and they would have to look at the numbers and get back to me. In other words they were trying to have me buy into another vehicle so they would not have to fix my car I already bought. So I was patient and waited for a call the next day which I never got, so I had informed the store I would return the next day after I got off of work. When I arrived I was made to wait for about a half an hour before the sales manager came to speak with me. He then proceeded to offer me a car at a price that would make my monthly payments much more than what I can afford. I informed him again that I could only afford the rate and monthly payment that I had on the prior purchase, and I really wasnt looking to buy a car for more than I could afford. I just wanted my vehicle fixed OR a replacement that was comparable to my monthly payments. I was then told that he couldnt offer me an Accent because there isnt enough rebates to make the price range to the $15,125.00 price I paid for the Pre-owned Elantra. Then he proceeded to offer me a 2015 Elantra on the Lease program for $279.00 a month, and asked if I was going to put any money down. For like the tenth time I stated I am here to remedy the situation with my car that was sold to me that had a defect. I can only afford a payment of no more than $235 a month, and I have no interest in anything that will cost me more. I was open to the idea if he could get me either a new or used vehicle within the price range of the car I already purchased. The sales manager said he would go back to the table to see what he could figure out. He left and I was waiting for almost 50 minutes, so myself and a car rep went looking for him nowhere to be found! Obviously I left the store and was NOT a happy camper. I received a call the next day from my sales rep of the vehicle and he stated that his boss would call mewhen he put an arrangement together, however the call never came. I was informed during the sale of the car that I could enjoy the security of buying a Certified Pre-Owned car as if it were new because it would have been inspected, have low miles, and get it at a reasonable price. The car was NOT sold As Is, it came with the transferable full warranty. I pointed out the defect DURING the test drive, not knowing that there was really something wrong with it. I assumed that since I was told it was checked out and certified I could trust the fact it was a sound vehicle. The only way I knew it was a little louder than normal is because since I have owned three other Hyundai cars I knew how quiet they are. I even discussed the matter the very next day, and made an attempt to get the car looked at. Obviously it was an oversight with the mechanics inspection, and I was sold that car in that condition. I am very unhappy right now with the results of the handling of my situation with the store, and I would like to get this resolved immediately.As a longtime loyal buyer of Hyundai cars I am also appalled at the type of customer respect and service I have been afforded by this location. Disgraceful.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle fixed by the dealership. It should be taken care of.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.

 
I will have **** ***** or manager reach out to customer and see if we can assist.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: temporary tag has expired 2/12/14 and have not got sc tag, now car cannot be drove

Desired Settlement: I just want to get south Carolina tag so I can start back driving car

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. A representative from our titling department has spoken with the customer and resolved this issue.

 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****
 
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hyundai of Greer
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)