BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hyundai of Greer meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hyundai of Greer include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 06, 2009 Business started: 12/01/2008 in SC Business incorporated: 07/17/2006 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Escude, President Mr. Robert Hogan, Vice President Mr. Jim Hutchinson, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Escude, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Hogan, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 14435 East Wade Hampton Blvd.

    Greer, SC 29601

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 662-4867 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my 4th Hyundai vehicle on July 6th, a certified pre-owned Elantra (My first three cars where brand new). During my test drive I noticed that the car exhaust sounded a little louder than normal, as my other Hyundai vehicles were so quiet you wouldnt know that they were running. I spoke with my sales agent that day DURING the test drive and he noticed it as well. It wasnt super loud, just seemed louder than what one would expect with a Hyundai car. I thought perhaps it was that way because the car was a little sportier (tinted windows, super stereo system, etc.) After being sold on the concept that purchasing a Certified Pre-Owned car is a sound purchase because it is fully inspected, I took my new ride home. I drove the car in my allotment and again noticed that when pressing the gas pedal it seemed to get louder. Well the next day my Hyundai sales rep called me to thank me for stopping in and making a purchase, and I reiterated that the car seemed to be loud while pressing on the gas. He said he would connect me to the repair department to set up an appointment to get it looked at. I was connected and realized due to my work schedule and my wifes, it conflicted with me being able to get it in there right away. Two weeks later I made the appointment for Monday July 28, the first available time I would be able to bring the vehicle in. I was going to take a look underneath the car myself, however Hyundai sold the vehicle without a jack and without a spare tire. So I could not jack it up to look for myself. Upon service department inspection they noticed that there was a gash in the catalytic converter. I have plenty of pictures that I took when they had it up on the lift. I was told that it would cost me $1100 plus $80 labor to repair it. Of course I refused because the vehicle was sold to me that way. No way am I paying for a defect when the car was sold to me that way. The repair rep claimed that he would talk to the head sales manager and see what he could do. I had to go due to family engagements but I came back the next day to find out what was going to be done. I was told again by the repair rep that I would be responsible for the repair. I informed the repair rep that I wanted to speak to the sales manager right away. He said wait in the lobby and I will get him. We were being stalled so we went up to the front to speak with the manager. He had no idea of what we were talking about. So then we had a pow wow with the sales manager, the repair rep, and the sales boss who sold us the car in the first place. We were told to relax and the managers were going to see what they could do. They offered us an opportunity to purchase an Accent Sedan from the lot, but they did not have any in stock on the lot. So that wasnt going to work. Then they offered us the opportunity to purchase a 2015 Elantra (base model), and they would have to look at the numbers and get back to me. In other words they were trying to have me buy into another vehicle so they would not have to fix my car I already bought. So I was patient and waited for a call the next day which I never got, so I had informed the store I would return the next day after I got off of work. When I arrived I was made to wait for about a half an hour before the sales manager came to speak with me. He then proceeded to offer me a car at a price that would make my monthly payments much more than what I can afford. I informed him again that I could only afford the rate and monthly payment that I had on the prior purchase, and I really wasnt looking to buy a car for more than I could afford. I just wanted my vehicle fixed OR a replacement that was comparable to my monthly payments. I was then told that he couldnt offer me an Accent because there isnt enough rebates to make the price range to the $15,125.00 price I paid for the Pre-owned Elantra. Then he proceeded to offer me a 2015 Elantra on the Lease program for $279.00 a month, and asked if I was going to put any money down. For like the tenth time I stated I am here to remedy the situation with my car that was sold to me that had a defect. I can only afford a payment of no more than $235 a month, and I have no interest in anything that will cost me more. I was open to the idea if he could get me either a new or used vehicle within the price range of the car I already purchased. The sales manager said he would go back to the table to see what he could figure out. He left and I was waiting for almost 50 minutes, so myself and a car rep went looking for him nowhere to be found! Obviously I left the store and was NOT a happy camper. I received a call the next day from my sales rep of the vehicle and he stated that his boss would call mewhen he put an arrangement together, however the call never came. I was informed during the sale of the car that I could enjoy the security of buying a Certified Pre-Owned car as if it were new because it would have been inspected, have low miles, and get it at a reasonable price. The car was NOT sold As Is, it came with the transferable full warranty. I pointed out the defect DURING the test drive, not knowing that there was really something wrong with it. I assumed that since I was told it was checked out and certified I could trust the fact it was a sound vehicle. The only way I knew it was a little louder than normal is because since I have owned three other Hyundai cars I knew how quiet they are. I even discussed the matter the very next day, and made an attempt to get the car looked at. Obviously it was an oversight with the mechanics inspection, and I was sold that car in that condition. I am very unhappy right now with the results of the handling of my situation with the store, and I would like to get this resolved immediately.As a longtime loyal buyer of Hyundai cars I am also appalled at the type of customer respect and service I have been afforded by this location. Disgraceful.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle fixed by the dealership. It should be taken care of.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.

 
I will have **** ***** or manager reach out to customer and see if we can assist.
 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****

6/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: temporary tag has expired 2/12/14 and have not got sc tag, now car cannot be drove

Desired Settlement: I just want to get south Carolina tag so I can start back driving car

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention. A representative from our titling department has spoken with the customer and resolved this issue.

 
Sincerely, 
 
*** *****
 
 

8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2013 Hyundai Veloster from Hyundai of Greer on 05/31/2013. I was mislead into thinking the car had been discounted from the sticker price but it turns out that it was not. I actually paid more then the sticker price. I had returned to the dealership and spoke with **** ***** who tried to convince me that the car had been discounted, that they price their cars lower than any other dealer in the area. I went to another dealer and showed them the contract. What ***** told me was not true.I returned to the dealership again and asked for a refund of all the service contracts they had sold me. *****, the finance manager did not appear too happy about this. But, I felt like they cheated me on the car and I was not going to spend anymore than I had to with them.I had also filled out a coupon for the $500 military member discount that Hyundai was offering at the time. I brought in the necessary paperwork and gave it to ***** personally. Now, I find out after contacting Hyundai, that he never sent in the paperwork. They called and asked him! I want the $500 I was promised!

Desired Settlement: I would like the $500 military member rebate that I was supposed to get when I first purchased the vehicle. The required paperwork, that I submitted, was never turned in by the dealership.

Consumer Response: ---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: **** ****** *****************Date: Sat, Aug 10, 2013 at 2:04 PM
Subject: Complaint
To: "info@upstatesc.bbb.org" info@upstatesc.bbb.org

Hello,

I recently lodged a complaint against Hyundai of Greer. I wanted to inform you that they have contacted me and offered to correct some of this. But I won't know for sure until I am sent the rebate check I was promised. Thanks.


******* ******
Taylors

Business Response: Thank you for the update.


The rebates are handled by Hyundai Motor Corporation. There is no paperwork to file, it is done electronically.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******* ******


There was no offer made via the BBB. This is just a reply to their reply. I was asked to provide documentation proving my service time and it had to be sent to Hyundai with a coupon for the rebate. The initial documentation was hand carried by myself to *****, shortly after the purchase, who had the Hyundai coupon and would submit it in my behalf. It was not until I recently contacted Hyundai myself that I learned this had never been turned in. ***** contacted me and I e-mailed him the documentation. He said he would hand carry the documentation to where it was supposed to go.

12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues