Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fairway Ford Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 242-5060 Fax: (864) 242-2322 View Additional Phone Numbers 2323 Laurens Road, Greenville, SC 29607 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fairwayford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fairway Ford Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fairway Ford Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairway Ford Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 19, 1983 Business started: 05/15/1961 Business incorporated 01/15/1966 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Revenue
300 A Outlet Point Blvd, Columbia SC 29210
https://www.sctax.org
Phone Number: 803-898-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. A F McKissick III, President Mr. Gary McAlister, General Manager Mr. Frederick Sizemore, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. A F McKissick III, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Fairway Ford Inc sells the following brand(s): Ford, Lincoln, Subaru

Fairway Ford Inc offers the following product(s): Ford, Lincoln, Subaru

Alternate Business Names
Fairway Auto Body Repair Fairway Subaru

Additional Locations

  • 2323 Laurens Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 242-5060

  • 723 Keith Dr

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 242-2887

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the ford co to trade my 2013 **** ****** for a vehicle that would pull a 3500lb camper. We spoke to salesman **** ***** and he showed us a Ford ******** I kept telling him all day that the vehicle would be to high as we are on a fixed income he kept saying no don't worry about it will the payment came to $750. a month which no I could not do. so he showed us a 2015 Ford ****** with eco boost. He told us it will pull a 3500lb camper and we even talked to him about putting a trailer hitch on my payments went up to $588. I bought the car in June of 2015 in February of 2016 we went to *** ******* RV sales and found out the car will not pull a 3500lb camper only under 2000lb. I went to back to talk to **** ***** about this he had I don't care attiude about it. I was furious. He decided to show us a truck which I knew I could not afford. But he said he would look to see what he could come up with. I did call the manager on that Monday and talk to him about the matter. He said he would talk to ***** **** called next day and was still offering truck. I said I would go up in my payment to $650. but no more. I didn't really hear from him for a week and I called him on Saturday and asked what was going on he said he would call me later. Well he did and said to come in on Tuesday at 9am and there would be meeting with **** and the manager. We got there and he showed me the truck again. I took it for a test drive. He said they would doing anything to get me in a vehicle. The result of this was truck was brought down to $39,000 They only gave me book price for my car which was $17,000 (so I lost around $8,000) my pay off was $33,000 so by the time they got done with rebates the truck was over $52,000. What kind of deal was that. I feel they did nothing for me It was there mistake and we feel they did not care what they did to us. Now I am stuck with this car which actually was the same car I had only difference was 2 Years I am not happy about it this at all. And I feel they took advantage of me.

Desired Settlement: All I wanted was vehicle that would pull camper. I feel they owe me that and I should not have to take the hit for having a vehicle that cant do that. They would only give me $17,000 for my car plus payments that I have made which comes to about $11,000 that I would lose. Why should I lose.

Business Response: In reference to ******** ********** concern with towing capacity. **** ***** states that Mrs. ********** discussed

with him about a small utility trailer that would tow around 500lbs ,a 3500 lb camper was never discussed with *****
She came back in Febuary and early March to discuss trading for **** and we could not get the numbers to fit her budget.
 
We would be happy to trade with her at this time if she could afford the monthly payment.
We feel that there no mistake made on our part.

Sincerly

**** *********
G. Mgr.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 



Regards,

**** ********** that was the first thing I talked to **** about and that was my reason for trading my 2013 Ford ****** because it could pull a camper.  I hate to say this but he told a lie and my husband was also standing there when he said the new car would pull 3500lb and we talk to him about putting a hitch on the vehicle  thank you **** **********

2/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a outback from them December 15, 2015. They have failed to pay off the loan on my trade in full, and neither the salesperson whom I sent 2 emails asking for a resolution and text message alerting him of the issue, and the sales manager has responded to me. Further they are now charging a $299 fee for etching that gives me no benefit other than reducing their insurance costs. I have bought a car from them the year before and this was not the case. I feel this should be an internal issue and they should pay it. The salesman also promised me that since I am a Florida resident (I have a home I live in part of the year in southern NC), that I would not have to pay sales tax when I register the car in Florida, which turned out to be a huge issue, since Florida made me pay tax and now I am charged with trying the get my money back of almost $2000! Next- there was a scratch on the door when they delivered the car to me, and they did agree to fix it, but now with all these issues with this dealer I don't want to have anything to do with them, so they should reimburse me for the reasonable cost to have this done at another dealer.

Desired Settlement: I ask they pay off my trade in full ASAP so my credit isn't damaged by this negligence, refund the $299 etching fee, and provide me with a reasonable amount to repair the scratch so I may have this fixed at another dealer. I am dealing with the tax refund, which isn't really fair to me, but oh well.

Business Response:

*****:

In response to **** ** ********* complaint regarding the secure etch, the scratch on the door handle and the balance of the pay-off.

1)   Secure Etch:   Mr. ********* agreed upon the final out the door price of his vehicle in which the secure etch was included.  No refund will be reimbursed due to his final price agreement.

2)   Scratch on door handle:   We have agreed to repair the door handle upon his next service visit here at our facility (Fairway Suburu).   We will not pay for outside repair at another vendor

due to warranty quality issues.

3)   Pay-Off:   Sent the next day (16th) to ** **** and due to their waiting to post the pay-off we had to send an additional $62.83 to make up the difference due to ** **** not being posted on time.

In summary, we have fulfilled our original agreement with Mr. *********, they are no other refunds due. Scratch on door will be repaired at his earliest convenience.

If additional information is needed, please contact us @********.

**** *********

General Manager, Fairway Ford Subaru, Greenville, S. C.

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *********

12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fairway ford repaired my Mustang but when I picked it up they handed me my keys and I went to drive away and discovered some damage to the inside of my car. The entire side seat panel where my ekectronic controls are connected was separated or torn off the seat. My brand new mats had two large grease or tar like stains on them.Although they did have a sheet of paper it had been scrunched up and was pushed to the side. There is a sharp metal piece of metal on the front bumper by the headlight. They damaged my gear shifter,there's a piece of the shifter torn off. They replaced my headlight and turn signal lights,brand new fixtures,but put the bad bulbs back in.They were damaged and clicking really fast after accident,they still are. I am only reporting this because I've been treated as if none of this matters,it's been a month.They told me they had to locate the part,I finally wrote them after three weeks they said they found it.I asked them to call me as I don't check email often,even contacted the uppers management.Theyvare obviously ignoring me as its been a week and no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like to take the car to Fairway on Lauren's road if possible for repair.I feel disrespected and no longer wish to go to the collision center on ***** *** I would simply like the issues to be resolved with no smart responses about how they "focus on items on work order" Or acting like I'm lying when I sent photos and brought someone out from the shop before I left yo see the damage

Business Response: Customer concern was resolved by Fairway Ford Body Shop Friday 8-7-2015

6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: April 14 2014 We bought our 2004 Ford Expedition new from a local Ford Dealership. We have always had our vehicle serviced by a Ford Dealership because we expect them to have the most knowledge mechanics and to be the experts on Ford products. I took my 04 Ford Expedition to Fairway Ford in Greenville SC, to get scheduled routine service (Oil change and tire rotate) and I asked the service advisor (**** ******)to check the brakes while they had it. My wife had noticed a little bit of vibration when putting on the brakes hard but she still had plenty of brake and no problems what so ever when driving normally. It was about time to have routine brake pad replacement. They changed the oil and filters, changed the transmission fluid and rotated the tires. They also replaced pads and resurfaced the rotors. They kept the vehicle all day. I got a call the same day and informed me my car was ready. I paid the invoice of $******. My wife picked it up around 5:45. The brakes appeared fine in the parking lot but when she got to the main road and applied brakes at a normal speed, she noticed that they were not right and called me immediately. There was a lot of vibration when applying the brakes and the pedal made a noise like it was releasing air or hissing. When she was at a stop at a traffic light, the brakes went all the way to the floor which was very frightening. I was able to get in touch with **** and told him that I was bringing the vehicle back in the morning. He called my wife at 6:05 on the drive home to get details. She explained what was happening and was told that one of his mechanics had driven it on the long test track and did not see it. He continued to assure me that his mechanic team had checked it thoroughly. He alluded to the fact that it must be an intermittent problem. He never once cautioned her to be careful that the vehicle might not have adequate brakes. Before my wife was able to get home, the brakes went completely to the floor again when at a stop and vibrated strongly each time the brakes were applied. This problem did not exist before we took the vehicle in to be serviced. After we picked it up, this problem occurred each time the brakes were applied.April 15, 2014 I arrived at Fairway Ford before 9:00am. I explained to the service advisor the brakes were not right, the brake pedal is now going to the floor (this was a new problem) and it now felt like the rotors were warped (this was a new problem). I told them I would wait... The service advisor told me it was going to take a while, so they loaned me a car and I left.April 16, 2014 Fairway Ford called and said vehicle was ready. They have changed the front and rear rotors. This invoice was an additional $******* There was a note on the Invoice that they could not duplicate the hissing noise. No Problem Found. There was another note on the Invoice that stated they could not duplicate the pedal going to the floor. No Problem Found. **** ****** assured me that my Expedition was right. When we arrived, my wife got into the vehicle, that she has been driving almost 10 years, and could immediately tell that it was not right. When she applied the brakes at a standstill, she could hear the hissing noise. When she held down the brake pedal at a stop in the parking space, it went down to the floor. The issues that could not be duplicated were very apparent only 3 minutes after getting into the vehicle and never leaving the parking space. What a disappointment! What does this say about the credibility of this service department?I went inside to seek assistance. The service manager came out and went to where the vehicle was parked. He was able to hear the hissing noise. He was also able to recreate the pedal going to the floor. We left the vehicle there for them to investigate and determine the problem. I would again like to state that neither issue was apparent before I took my vehicle in for routing maintenance.I received a call late Thursday afternoon stating that they had found the problem. It was determined that our vehicle needed a new brake booster and hydraulic control unit and replaced the HCM. This would be an additional $********* They did not have parts and it would be Monday before the parts could come in. Again, how could all of this go wrong with no symptoms prior to a mechanic changing the pads and resurfacing the rotors? I cannot help but think that while the first mechanic was working on the vehicle, he did something to mess up all these other systems. The service manager came out to the vehicle and saw the problem. We left the vehicle there again... They kept the Expedition for another four 4 or five days and they called me to let me know the vehicle was ready and the invoice was $*******... Now the brakes are better but they still have two much play in the peddle... this is a new problem...Fairway was kind enough to get me a rental car while they were repairing my Expedition, but then they charged it to my credit card. This is just not good business.I have spent $******** on this vehicle and it still is not right, on top of that the third time I took my vehicle back and told them how unsafe it my family could have been severely injured or killed.Customer #******.04/14/14 Invoice# ****** Amount: $****** 2.04/16/14 Invoice # ****** Amount $ *******.04/22/14 Invoice # ****** Amount $********Respectfully,**** * ********* ******* ******** ** *****

Desired Settlement: My car should of been fixed the first time, this cost me a lot of extra money and time away from my job and unnecessary repairs and also car rental fee.

Business Response:

When *** ****** first brought in his vehicle he ask Fairway Ford  to inspect the brakes when rotating his tires .When inspecting the brakes it was determined the  front brakes  needed replaced.( routine maintenance)customer authorized  repairs. Vehicle was road tested and no other problems were evident. Customer returned the next day and stated the brake pedal was hissing and had gone to the floor and also brakes were pulsating when applied. Customer’s vehicle was rechecked and customers concern for brakes going to floor and hissing noise could not be duplicated. The brakes pulsation was duplicated and customer authorized rear brake rotor replacement. Fairway replaced the customer’s front rotors at no charge due to front brakes just being replaced. Customer returned two days later and stated the brake pedal had gone to the floor again and they could still hear the hissing noise. (This was an intermitted problem) the vehicle was tested and on this visit the concern was present and could be duplicated. The customer was given an estimate to replace hydraulic control unit and brake booster and the customer authorized the repair. The repairs were all needed and the customer authorized all repairs. It is unfortunate that we may face these expenses as a vehicle ages but not uncommon, if the vehicle still has a brake concern Fairway Ford will be glad to review and determine if the repairs are covered under any warranty. The brake repairs were completed in April of 2014 and may still have coverage. The request for a refund is not justified. Fairway values all if its customers and strives to deliver the best customer service, Fairway Ford will be glad to speak with the customer in person to resolve any other issues if the customer wishes. Please contact **** ******** @ ************ *** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I disagree with your reply, however I do expect you to look at my  Ford Expedition and make the proper repairs with your best qualified mechanic.
I should also be reinbursed for the loaner car that was billed to my credit card that I did not ask for.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Fairway Ford will be glad to review the customers vehicle to determine if the current concern is related. Fairway Ford again states all repairs performed were evident needed repairs that the customer authorized, we do not understand why the customers is asking for a refund.

5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I RECENTLY HAD MY CAR IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR A KNOWN ISSUE THAT MY EXTENDED WARRANTY COVERED(throttle body needed replaced due to my car suddenly losing acceleration). AFTER A FULL DAY OF THEM KEEPING MY CAR, THEY CALLED AND SAID THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE MY ISSUE BUT CHARGED ME TO FIX ANOTHER ISSUE FOR $***. I SUCKED IT UP AND PAID THE $*** TO PREVENT ANY FUTURE ISSUES, THEN WITHIN 3 DAYS MY CAR STALLED ON ME 5 TIMES DUE TO THE ISSUE I ORIGINALLY CAME IN FOR (KEEP IN MIND, I HAD 2 SMALL CHILDREN IN MY CAR AND LOST COMPLETE ACCELERATION ON BOTH I-85 AND I-385). I MADE A SECOND APPOINTMENT ON 5/15 TO HAVE THE ORIGINAL ISSUE, THAT I TOLD THEM ABOUT THE FIRST TIME, FIXED. THEY TOLD ME THEY DIDN'T THINK THEY COULD GET TO MY CAR THAT DAY AND I SAID THAT WAS UNACCEPTABLE SINCE I SCHEDULED MY APPOINTMENT 2 DAYS PRIOR AND WAS TOLD IT'D ONLY TAKE 1/2 DAY. RIGHT BEFORE CLOSING THAT EVENING, I GOT MY CAR BACK AND THE INTERIOR HANDLE ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE WAS BROKE. IT WAS A FRIDAY EVENING AND BY THE TIME I NOTICED THE PROBLEM WHEN I GOT OUT OF MY CAR, THEY HAD ALREADY CLOSED. I CALLED FIRST THING ON 5/18 AND THEY SAID THE SALES PERSON, ****, WOULD HAVE TO CALL ME BACK AFTER LOOKING INTO THE ISSUE. WITH THE SERVICE PERSON(****), SERVICE MANAGER(**** *********), AND GENERAL MANAGER(**** **********, AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX MY DOOR. SO NOW MY CAR IS UNABLE TO LOCK UNTIL THIS IS FIXED. AFTER A FULL DAY OF PUSHING THIS, THE GENERAL MANAGER OFFERED TO COVER LABOR ($140) AS LONG AS I PAID FOR THE PART ($60). I REFUSE TO PAY ANOTHER DIME OUT OF MY POCKET FOR ISSUES THAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR WHILE UNDER THEIR SUPERVISION. I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO FURIOUS, DISGUSTED, AND DISAPPOINTED IN A COMPANY IN MY LIFE.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting my door be fixed with NO CHARGE. I would also desire to be reimbursed for the $*** for the original issue that was never the problem to begin with. I'd also like an apology letter sent on behalf of the employees and management for this entire ordeal.

Business Response:

On the first service appointment the customer concern was not present for a throttle body concern. Ford procedure per Ford Service action. Dealers are to perform a Key On, Engine off Self-Test. If a Throttle Body DTC is present, dealers are authorized to replace the Throttle Body under this program. NO DTC present at the time on first service. The customer’s vehicle did show a code to replace a vapor management vale for a check engine light on and vehicle losing power, customer authorized repairs on 4.21.15 @ mileage 100899. Customer returned on 5.15.15 @ 102747 and the concern was present for DTC and the throttle body replacement was completed. This replacement is a Ford Service Action and Ford will only allow dealers to replace when DTC are present. The customers inside door handle were operating when she pick up the vehicle, we could have not opened the door if it was broken. The customer called back after arriving at her destination to say her inside door handle was broken and her door would not open from the inside. If Fairway had broken the door handle Fairway would replace it at no charge. Fairway Ford will always work with its customer to provide the best service possible and the customer was offered a goodwill adjustment but did not accept it. A refund for the first service repair, replacement of the door handle and a apology letter is not justified. The customer would not be reasonable with anyone she spoke with and just keep stating Fairway was responsible.

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my vehicle to be repaired in early October. The requested repair was completed. However, during that repair, the electrical system was damaged such that the right half of the speedometer was no longer illuminated and the gear shift lit up intermittently. When I called and scheduled the repair, the service personnel refused to take responsibility for the damage their technician caused. I was forced to pay an extra $148.51 for the repair which should have been at no cost. In a voicemail message, one of the service personnel spoke of how "odd" it was that the bulbs burned out just after the repair was made. If the bulbs were burned out, the gear shift would not have lit up intermittently. When I spoke with the service person, he refused to acknowledge the error on the service person's part. I made the second appointment two and one-half business days prior to the appointment and requested a rental car as is provided with the extended warranty that I purchased. I was told that a rental car would be available. It was not and no apologies were made. After having driven 15 miles out of the way to return so that the error the dealership had made could be repaired, I had to call family members to drive about 15 miles out of the way to come and get me. Unprofessionalism was abundant at this dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would be thrilled with a refund. The discontinuance of this type of business would be truly beneficial to those who must use this dealership (or other Ford dealership) in order to keep a warranty in force.

Business Response:

Fairway Ford made a repair to *** ******* vehicle on 10/04/14 for air condition concerns. *** ******* called back a month later in November and reported to the dealer her display lights on the dash panel and shifter was inoperative. *** ******* stated Fairway caused the lights to go out when the air condition work was completed. Upon inspection Fairway find burned out bulbs, nothing related to the air condition repair. *** ******* was informed and authorized the bulb repair. If there were any justification that the air condition repair caused the bulb concern, Fairway would have repaired the vehicle at no charge. There is no relation to the repairs.

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my car off to be fixed at 8am September 2, 2014. The estimated repair time was 6 days. I was told it was ready for pick up at 2:30 pm on September 17, 2014. After I signed the paperwork, I was handed my key which was tore apart and no longer worked with my car. I inquired about it and was never given an explanation other than "sorry". I then made the comment that I wanted it fixed at their expense. In reply the manager snapped and said "well if you would let me finish". I continued outside and had to inspect the car by myself. After 15 days, my bumper is still not even and according to that same manager, "cannot be fixed any further". I left upset and wanted nothing more to do with them. A couple miles down the road I attempt to turn my radio on but was prompted to "enter code". Again I called and inquired about it. The answer, "look in the owner's manual, there should be a code in there". Between my insurance company and I, they received over $3,500. I should not need to finish their job or work. Throughout the process, I also felt like possible insurance fraud was being committed. The only thing they did right was to offer a shuttle service from my home to the shop.

Desired Settlement: The work they did to my car is not worth the $250 I had to pay nor my insurance's $3,200. A complete refund should be given. At the very least, it should be made right with a rental car paid for by the shop.

Business Response:

9/29/2014

In response to the customer complaint filed with your office, Fairway Ford Autobody is committed to resolving this issue in a fair and timely manner. 

Our customer did in fact advise our service advisor, after receiving her car key, there was damage to the unit.  While our facility has measures in place to avoid the loss, and or damage of a customer’s key/fob, we realize this type of situation could occur.  Our assigned service advisor did advise facility management this damage was being claimed by the vehicle owner and, a replacement key/fob was immediately ordered through the local dealer.  We would request the owner return to the shop where we will have the vehicle’s new key/fob as well as existing keys reprogrammed by the ***** Dealership. 

The rear bumper cover misalignment will also be addressed.  This concern was part of the repair process and will be corrected.

We also apologize for the radio code not being reset to normal operating functions.  During our repair process, we follow the manufacturer’s recommended guidelines when making structural repair to an automobile.  This sometimes involves the disconnecting of the vehicle’s main power source which causes the radio to lose a theft protected, stored code.  This code is found in the owner’s manual and is usually a five to seven digit number to be entered into the radio preset buttons which unlocks the radio and allows normal operation.  Again, this issue was an oversight that should have been corrected prior to the vehicle leaving the premises.  Asking the vehicle owner to reset the radio operation is not commonplace-we would only ask the owner to reprogram their radio presets.

Finally, our Repair agreement with the vehicle owner’s insurance company, promotes the exchange of electronic estimate communication and digital images.  These exchanges occur during our normal business hours every day.  We insist on having accurate estimates which thoroughly document the process prior to repair start and during the ongoing repair procedures.  We happily invite the vehicle owner and her insurance company to an open audit of our file to insure the alleged fraud does not exist.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience to our customer.  We most certainly wish to address any concern our customer has relevant to this complaint.  It is our intention to make these corrections with as little disruption of our customer’s schedule as possible.  A loaner car will be made available during the time we need to address the above concerns.  We will also detail the vehicle prior to delivery and reimburse the owner for fuel expenses in returning to our Facility.

Please advise on future handling and we will make the necessary arrangements to correct these concerns. 


Thank you,

**** *****

9/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 6, 2014, I purchased a 2014 Ford Edge from Fairway Ford in Greenville. I was satisfied with ***** ******** handling of the sale. I told ***** up front that I was not interested in any of the "extras" - extended warranty, Zylon coating, etc. as I had budgeted a certain amount for the vehicle. When I met with the Finance Manager, he presented the "extras" to me as I expected but did not pressure me into purchasing any of them which I appreciate. However, there was a charge on my invoice that I questioned for "****** ****". I expressed to the Finance Manager that I was not interested in this but he told me that it was already on the car and did not offer to remove the charge but in fact, made me feel that it was a required purchase. I have no use for ****** **** which basically sounds to me like an additional insurance policy. I have car insurance - I don't care about an extra $5000 in the very remote chance it is stolen and it certainly is not worth the extra $299 that I was charged.I sent emails to the managers of Fairway Ford asking for resolution of this issue in the form of a refund or a service credit and received no response. I don't appreciate feeling made to purchase something that I don't want. If Fairway Ford chooses to put this on the vehicles brought onto their lot then they should choose to absorb the charge if the customer does not want it. And customers should be told up front that it will be on the invoice and not just try to slip in an extra charge.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $299 or credit at their service department.

Business Response:

 

******Sorry for  your  involvement in having to help resolve this issue.

We will reimburse **** ****** refund of $299.00.  Will mail

check today.

Thanks for all that you and your team do!

 

Sincerely,

 

**** ** *********G.Mgr.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from this dealer on 03/22/2013. A few weeks after having the car it started to have issues and I had to take it back to the dealership. Since they did not service the car they had to send the car to ***** ******** *********. The first time the vehicle went for repair they claimed it was fixed and I picked the car up and it still persisted to give me the same issues. So I contacted the owner of the dealership the car was purchased from.And they sent it back over and found out they never fixed the issue and the 2nd time they took the motor out of the vehicle etc. and fixed the issue. Well fast forward to this past Monday I took the car back to Fairway to have it looked at again and had an appointment @ 8am. I never heard anything from them about what was wrong with the car, the agent ** did not even look up to see if the car was under any extended warranty and requested I get him that information. I spoke to the warranty company and was told by them what he claimed was wrong with the car was covered. Then the next day I am called by a **** ******** who tells me they contacted the warranty and the issue was not covered because it was warped and not cracked as ** informed me. This infuriated me more and I again sent a email to the owner who had **. ******** tell me there was nothing that they could do because it was not covered and they would not do anything but offer me 25% off repair, they would not swap me out like I had been promised by the general manager months prior if I had any other issues. Then I called **.******** out on the fact that they had filed two claims with the warranty one that they were told was covered the crack, and then someone else called in and stated it was warped and not cracked and that was not covered. And after a day it shows that someone there did not even know what they were talking about because as the warranty people stated how is it possible to be filed as a crack and the next day them come back and state that it was warped.

Desired Settlement: I would like this problem fixed and/or ability to swap out like I was promised by the general manager **** before. And I would also like to speak to*** ********* because I was told basically by *** ******** that the complaint would go no further and *** ********* did not get involved in any of the day to day issues such as this with the store he was just the owner of the company.

Business Response:

Customers desired settlement

 

*** ****** purchased a used car that was sold in good faith; *** ****** was offered and purchased a used car component coverage that carries a $100.00 deductable. *** ****** signed a contract stating his coverage showing that he is responsible for any components not covered and a $100.00 deductable for covered components . Fairway Ford would be happy to trade *** ****** out of his vehicle with the understanding that any fees would be at his expense. ************ has spoken to *** ****** per his request and agrees Fairway is justified in there decision.

 

**** ********

Fairway Ford Lincoln

Consumer Response: *** *****,
 
    I do not know if you are in your office or not and hope so because I know I have 10 days to respond to the business response to my complaint, but was wandering as the resolution director could you reach back to them before I accept or reject this compromise to clarify some information with them because the answer they provided was too vague and left to many places for them to wiggle out of their response.  I know this sounds odd of the complainant to ask this but with the way this company has already done by denying they would offer this option to me when I went to them before filing the complaint to now stating that they would but that any “additional expenses” would be at my cost.  “Additional expenses” is too vague of a definition and could be used to say taxes, registration, additional expenses to swapping out the car, them only giving me what they feel the car is worth instead of what it was financed for less than 8 months ago and expecting me to pay more. So I hope you can get them to respond to this because I want something more defined as to what they mean by “additional expenses” as well as what they are going to let me swap the vehicle out for (the cost I paid for the vehicle) or what they consider it to be worth now, with all the issues they had to be aware was wrong with the car before selling it.  Once I have this information and have a chance to see what my options are giving a more defined definition of what I mentioned above, then I would feel better accepting or rejecting a compromise, because as stated and anyone can see the option they offered with their “additional expenses” and not disclosing what value I would be allowed to swap the car out for would yet again let them work the system to their advantage.
 
 
Sincerely
 
 
****** * ******

Business Response:

Fairway will be glad to sit down with *** ******, appraise his vehicle, and determine the trade valve based on what he would like to trade for. Fairway is will to work with *** ****** on the bases of the last statement to the BBB. Fairway request *** ****** contact **** ********* to sit up an appointment are if *** ****** prefers we will contact him.  Please let us know what would be best.

 

Thanks

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fairway Ford Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)