This Business is not BBB accredited

Dave Edwards Hyundai

Phone: (864) 541-0029 Fax: (864) 541-0030 View Additional Phone Numbers 2550 Reidville Road, Spartanburg, SC 29301 http://www.DaveEdwardsHyundai.com ! BBB Business Review on Dave Edwards Hyundai is being Updated by BBB!


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2550 Reidville Road

    Spartanburg, SC 29301 (864) 541-0029

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I recently purchased a Hyundai ***** ** on April 16. We have yet to receive our tag for our new vehicle due to us not being given the title work to fill out when we purchased the car. After several phone calls and talking with the manager, *** ****, nothing has been resolved. I have a detailed list of everything that has been said and when each has occurred. *** also promised that he would overnight a package including all paper work and a new temporary tag for our car, and I would receive it Saturday, May 11, 2013. To no surprise we did not receive any package. We very much need this taken care of since our tag expires in 4 days. My husband is also leaving for training for the *** ***** and as the car is solely in his name, and I do not have power of attorney yet, this has to be taken care of no later than May 20, 2013. Our Sales experience was nothing short of amazing, however, dealing with this has completely changed my outlook of Dave Edwards Hyundai. Seeing as how customer service skills are necessary in this line of work, I am appalled at how I was spoken to on the phone on numerous occasions by the manager, ***. When asking to speak to his boss, he said that he is as high as it gets. I informed him I was taking my complaint to the BBB, and he asked me not to. I agreed as long as I received my new tag and title work in the mail by Saturday, May 11, 2013. I also plan on contacting the ***** and South Carolina DMV (** is where I live and SC is where the dealership is) to ask them what I can do seeing as how in 4 days my car will not have a legal tag. I have a more detailed list of events that I plan on sending to the company.

Desired Settlement: This situation will be resolved in my opinion when the following occur:1. I receive my tag by by May 20, 20132. I receive written apology from the manager,*** ****.3. I am contacted by either the the General manager **** ******* or owner Dave Edwards saying that they are aware of the situation and have dealt with it how they see fit.

Business Response:

*** ********
 
This is to notify you that I did receive this email.  I apologize for the confusion and the time it has taken to get back to you.  **** ******* has not been employed here for awhile, since early 2012 I think. I’m not sure how that information got relayed to **** **********.  I had one conversation and one conversation only with **** ********** to the best of my knowledge.  After doing my own investigation, I have learned that she had several conversations with our title clerk and her sales consultant. When she purchased her vehicle, I was in my first two weeks of employment here at the store.  That has nothing to do with the situation except for the fact that I was getting used to the dealership’s procedures and process's.  During our conversation, she was very upset and her tone toward me was somewhat hostile.  I have the recording (we record all incoming and outgoing calls) to verify this.  I remember the conversation because she stated her husband was in the *** ***** and I served in the ****** *****.  I heard her complaint in which she had reason to be frustrated with the handling of her title work and the timeliness of it.  I explained that the paperwork had already  been filed away and that it being a Friday evening (5/10/2013) our office staff wouldn’t be back until Monday morning and I would try my best to have all new paperwork along with a new temporary tag overnighted and I hoped it would be there on Saturday but couldn’t promise being so late in the day.  After further investigation we had found out that the title work had been misplaced into a different customers paperwork. Due to time, **** ********** ended up receiving the Fed Ex package on Monday.  In it was everything she needed to complete the transaction. Attached is the *** ** travel history document that shows when the package was sent and received in a timely manner.  Every now and then we make a mistake.  It was our fault that the title work was not completed in a timely manner and I apologized for any inconvenience.  I tried my best to complete it as fast as possible for the **********'s’ convenience.  Please let me know if I may assist you in any other way.
 
*** ****
General Sales Manager
Dave Edwards Hyundai
************ **** ***
****************************
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I do not feel that *** ****** response is acceptable. I found that **** ******* was GM from the BBB website. If this information is incorrect that needs to be updated. If *** **** has the recordings of our phone calls then you should be able to hear the following: 1. Him assuring me that on May 8 that he would call me May 10 with a solution to our tag problem. He told me he would work on it the next day. In reality he had May 9 off. He also claimed that he was just made aware of our situation on May 10, which was also false because I talked to him personally on May 8. I also called ****** in the dealership on May 8 twice. Once she assured me she would call me back, she then gave my number to *** and he never returned my call. The second when I called back she then said that *** "lost" my number and he would call me in 10 minutes. After over an hour of waiting I called back and *** very rudely said he was with a customer and would have to call back. He called back and said he would have to look into the situation tomorrow (may 9) and get back to me on friday (may 10). 2. Our phone call on May 10 was around 3 in the after noon. While on the phone with him, I referenced the time as 4pm which was incorrect. He said that he was the only manager there, due to the other manager being fired. When i asked to speak to his boss he said he was as high as it gets. He said that he had the responsibilities of two, but he wasn't making excuses. My tone was incredibly hostile. I even told him that I am not concerned with there being a human error. People are human. They make mistakes. I am reasonable enough to understand this. My issue was with how he as a manager was treating me as a customer. His customer service skills are sorely lacking, and I do not think that anyone especially a manager should speak to any customer the way he was speaking to me. He then went to tell me that he had the previous day off because he was babysitting, and then 5 minutes later he said that he was working all the day before. I asked him about it and he said oh you're right i wasn't here yesterday. I mentioned my husband was in the *** *****, and then he mentioned that he was in the ****. Again i don't know what that has to do with anything. I am tired of *** ****** excuses. I do not need to know that a manager was fired and he has the responsibilities of two, he should delegate if he is overwhelmed. I do not know what him being in the******* has to do with my situation. I mentioned my husband was in the *** ***** strictly because he was leaving for training and we needed to get this resolved before he left in May. I did not have power of attorney then, so i would not be able to sign any paperwork needed to get my permanent tag. I also do not see why in his response to my complaint that he stated he had only worked there for 2 weeks. He may not have been familiar with procedures and protocol, but basic customer service skills are inherent to any job. As stated before my complaint will not be resolved until 1. I received my permanent ** tag which I have, 2. I receive an apology from *** **** for his lack of customer service skills, 3. when the owner or general manager has contacted either the BBB or myself saying they are aware of the situation and dealt with it how they see fit. I do not want anyone to lose their job. I simply do not want any other customer to have to deal with the horrible customer service I had to deal with. Also since all phone calls are recorded please send those also the ones where i spoke to ***** ******* on monday may 13, and****** on may 13 and may 20th. I did not receive my my permanent tag until May 22. ****** was more than helpful and extremely courteous. It was a pleasure speaking with her even if the situation was less than desirable. I do not want this "swept under the rug" where other customers will have to deal with the same headache that my husband and I have.

I also reject this response because it has been well over a month since the business was contacted. In the response I only saw*** **** blaming me and saying that I am the issue. I am also concerned that my paperwork was misplaced in another customers files? Is my information secure? Has any information been compromised? I assume since it was stated on the website that now my complaint will go on their file as unresolved. The business' customer service skills are sorely lacking, and all i want out of this situation is no more excuses and just results. Treat your customers the way you want to be treated, because the customers will treat you how they are treated.  

 

Sincerely,

******** **********

 

 

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues