Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crown Nissan

Phone: (864) 254-7700 Fax: (864) 254-7703 2712 Laurens Road, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.crownauto.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crown Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crown Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crown Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2003 Business started: 06/01/1972
Business Management
Mr. Michael Kearney, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Justin Clark, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 2712 Laurens Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 254-7700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I would like to thank the service manager for taking the time and understanding and acknowledging the on-going problem I had before I purchased the ***** ***** on February 27, 2016 and bringing the vehicle back several times acknowledging the on-going issue. When I purchased the vehicle on February 27, 2016 I could smell the oil and the sales representative took the car back to the service center and stated that the technician said that during the service it was overfilled with oil and that the service center provides an inspection on the car front to back and there wasn’t anything and wrong with the car. The service representative explains it was the burning off of the engine and I will smell it for a little while. As I drove the car, the car continue to have this smell and I saw a drip from under the car on the outside of the garage and I took it back to Crown Service Center and they stated that they understand the ongoing problem from when I first acknowledge the problem and the car was taken into center and stated it was the valve cover gasket. The service center replaced the valve cover gasket. I thought the problem was repaired. I recently had my garage floor re-done with epoxy and when I pulled the ***** into the garage I notice that the car still had the same leak. I do a lot of traveling for the organization that I’m employed with and I’m gone from home about 40% of the time. When I saw the leak under the car again, I took the car back to Crown ****** Service Center and explained the problem to service manager that it was the same leak I seen when I first purchase the car and the technician stated this time that it was the valve cover gasket. The Service Manager remembered the remembered the car when I brought it back with the problem from first purchasing the car. He took the car inside the service center again and said it was the rear main seal and I explain the ongoing problem I have had with this car and he understood my frustration and thank me for my patience and he was going to speak with the Used Sales manager **** ***** **** **** didn’t want to acknowledge first the customer concerns that it was an ongoing issue from when I purchase the car and don’t want to fix it the issue. I explain to him that I have worked on different types of types of equipment from aerospace to ground support equipment. I understand mechanical issues etc. but this was an ongoing concern upon purchasing the vehicle. He stated that there is nothing that he could do. I told him that I was in the process of purchasing a car and someone from Crown organization just contacted me earlier that day and I told him I’m going to hold off because I wanted to see what Crown will do about fixing the ***** that I currently have there today about the ongoing issue. The individual stated that Crown has top mechanic and they back there service etc. I called the individual back and stated I want be purchase the vehicle that I was interested in for my son because how the Used Car Manager handled an ongoing problem from a previous car that I purchase this year. **** **** said that shouldn’t stop me from purchasing a car from Crown again because of this issue and he is going by what the computer stated. I stated it does plays a part because it involves customer service and satisfaction and that I deal with a whole lot of organization and integrity and customer service is a major player in my book and how I interact with different contractors and customers that qualitative and not quantitative is the best form of service. I stated to **** that I sent numerous individuals to purchase vehicles to Crown Nissan and how many individuals asked for my advice when purchasing a vehicle. As a customer and looking at what Crown stands for which is “Of course, we pay just as special attention to used-car consumers, who flock to Crown Nissan of ********** from ************ ***** and ********, for our convenient location and stellar used car for sale selection that's really more "like- new" than it is "used” and the “I Promise” was not one of those moment. I believe in resolving concern at the lowest level but this concern was resolved or address properly from a customer standpoint. You can email me or give me a call at the number below. I hope this repair can be fixed by Crown Nissan in a timely manner. Please feel free to contact me at the number below. I also contacted **** **** and stated there is nothing he could do and I called and left messages numerous of times for ****** ***** ******** ******** on his voicemail and with the operator assistant and until this day July 19, 2016 I still haven't heard from him.

Desired Settlement: I'm taking the car to another shop now after I had it to Crown Nissan for them to repair and they refused to fix the car so I will like Crown to refund me for the cost of repair I have to do.

Business Response:

****** ******* ******** purchased the **** *****, vin number ****************** on 02/27/16. He signed a Vehicle Buyers Guide stating that the vehicle was As Is-No Warranty.

The service manager as a goodwill gesture replaced the rear main seal at no charge to customer.  At this time the dealership has gone beyond the As-Is warranty doing more that is required.

*** ******** had the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract however, he declined.

Consumer Response:

Good Afternoon,

This issue was not resolved by the dealer and never gave me a gesture of repairing the problem and that statement is absolutely untrue. I had to take the car to ***** ***** **** dealer in *********** South Carolina for the repair of the  rear main crankshaft seal. The response is very much untrue and here is the attach bill to prove that I paid for the services and not  ***** ******* I brought this complaint up and even the service manager understood and remember me bringing the car back multiple times etc. within 72 of purchasing the car and the statement that was made was they overfill it with oil and other excuses etc.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complain* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 



Regards,

****** ********

12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had major service issues since I purchased my vehicle. When I purchased the vehicle the dealer said it was required to purchased a wash/ wax package with the vehicle. The package was $*** and I had to use them is a given time frame. Everytime i go in the department they refuse to do it. I have been up there 5 times and in the last couple months and each time they refuse. Also, on 9/21/15 I went in for a tire rotation and oil change because the usual place I go was busy. When i arrived a told them what i wanted but when I got home the rotation was never done.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate my money back for the package due their refusal of service. Also, there service department needs to do the service a customer asks for.

Business Response:

*****

In response to the complaint from ***** ***** ID# ********. We did her first service on 8-30-2014. Her second service was on 9-23-14. On this service we did the paint sealant renewal for her, this would be the wash  and wax she was asking for. On 6-25-2015 we serviced her vehicle again. We did the paint sealant on this date as well. The last time she was in was on 9-21-15. On this date we were unable to do the paint sealant for her due to an employee out that day due to medical reasons. We did however service her vehicle and we did not rotate the tires for her due to the fact it dint need them rotated and it did however need new tires that the service advisor made her aware of. She was never charged for the rotate on that day either. We have been able to provide the service in which she purchased every time but the one on 9-21-15.

As far as her being required to buy the wash and wax I am not able to answer that. It is not a required purchase on a new vehicle.

I feel we have been able to adequately perform every service she has asked for and that we have not charged her for anything that has not been performed for her. Other than the one visit on 9-21-15 due to having an employee out that day due to medical reasons. I have tried to contact her on numerous occasions and have been unsuccessful in getting a response from her.  

Regards

** *****

Service Director

***** ******

Greenville SC 29607.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I have went to ***** ****** over 10 times going to receive my wash/wax. They agreed to do it twice. Does two out of 10 times sound like good customer service to you? I was TOLD by management the package was required. This complaint needs to be sent to management and not someone who is not in a position to fix the matter. Until I receive my money back I will remain dissatisfied.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: ****** ******** called about *** *****. He said the CPP is Consumer Protection Plan that covers 6 wash/waxes, wheel protection and nitro in tires. He said for her to call and ask for ** ****** to set up the wax.

Consumer Response:

**** *******
That is the same thing they keep telling me but when I go into the service department they always give me an excuse and do not provide the service. I do not want to use this service department any longer. The refusal of service has happened on at least five occasions. If they can not refund the money can they apply it to my car payment? If so, the problem can be resolved. Thank you for your time.
*****"

Business Response:

Just wanted to let you know I’ve tried calling a few times and sent *** ***** an email.  No response yet.

Thank you,

***** *****

General Manager

***** ****** of Greenville

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I replied to the email. I have explained multiple times I can't can't take calls due to my job and work schedule. The email I sent explained fully the situation I have been having at *****. Last time I checked the customer is always right and the manager needs to give the refund due to the refusal of service. I don't how to tell the problem any clearer.
Regards,

***** *****

11/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from Crown Nissan in April 2013. When I went to the finance office, I had decided that I was not going to purchase the extended warranty. But while I was in there, the finance officer put an extremely hard sell on me to buy it. On several occasions she said to me, "Anything that can possibly go wrong with the car in the next 7 years or 100,000 miles will be covered." I ended up relenting and purchased the warranty based on this. I have not used the warranty up to this point. A week and a half ago, my convertible top would not close. When I called the warranty company, they told me that the convertible top was not covered. They showed me where in the contract it stated this. My problem is not with the warranty company. It is with the dealership as they sold me a warranty under the pretense that anything that could happen would be covered. Perhaps I was naïve because I do not know much about extended automobile warranties. Now that I have learned more about these things, I realize that not everything is covered. But they knew they were selling me a convertible and should have stated that convertible tops are not covered. My local dealership quoted my $***** to fix my problem, but told me I would be better off going to a different place that specializes in convertible tops that would be much less costly to fix my problem. I need an internal tensioning strap and a headliner. The other shop told me it was going to cost $***** for the repair. I believe Crown Nissan should pay for this fix. When I spoke to the General Manager of Crown, he told me they were not going to. I am very disappointed about this.

Desired Settlement: I feel like Crown Nissan of Greenville should pay for this fix at the cost of $*****.

Business Response:

I do not believe *** ****** was told the extended  warranty would cover everything. The finance manager in question has been in that position for over 30 years and has worked for me for over 7 years. 58% of all her customers buy a warranty from her and this is the first time I have had this complaint.  ***  ****** signed the extended warranty contract that clearly states that the  convertible  top is not a covered component.  Last but not least *** ****** had stated to me that part of the problem with the roof is that the headliner fell down which is a cosmetic issue not a mechanical issue.  Cosmetic,  wear and tear items are not covered.

****** ********

General Manager

Business Response: I am done with this complaint. I consider it resolved on my end. Let me know if there is anything I can do

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  The finance manager's exact words were, "Anything that could possibly go wrong with the car is covered for 7 years or 100,000 miles." These words stay with me because she said this several times and that is what ultimately led me to buy the warranty. And yes, you are correct that I signed the warranty that stated the convertible top is not covered. But I was going by the words that were spoken to me. Perhaps she didn't realize that I was purchasing a convertible, but it seems like she should have known that. That you are not standing by what was told to me I suppose is your decision. Also, I do not think the fact that my convertible top will not close has anything to do with cosmetic. I never said my headliner fell down. I don't even know what a headliner is. That is one of the two parts that I was told I needed. All I know is my convertible top will not close. Very upsetting.

Consumer Response:

Thanks ****** I do understand that it is not covered.  When I was denied coverage, the warranty people told me call the dealership I bought it from.  My problem is with the finance manager telling me that anything that could possibly go wrong with the car would be covered. The increased frustration is that I went into that office when I purchased the car telling myself I was not going to buy that warranty. A very hard sell was put on me, and one of the tactics used was repeatedly telling me that anything that could possibly go wrong will be covered.  So I spent all this $ on a warranty I really didn't want, relented in part because of what I was told, then ultimately when something went wrong it was not covered. Perhaps part of the problem was me being naive to this, but I just wish they would honor their words.
Thanks for what you do, and let me know if there is anything else you need from me, or if there is any other advice you can give me in this manner. 
Thanks again,
**** ****** 

7/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer closing cost of $ 399.00 that was added to the price that was advertised as being included in price of car included. $ 698.00 charge for wheel lock nuts which are advertised for $65.00 installed by dealer Nissan price.

Desired Settlement: send me a check $399.00 (dealer closing fee) And a check $ 634.00 the over charge for wheel lock nuts

Business Response:

*** ***** is incorrect. Crown Nissan discounted the car an additional 399 from the internet price and then added back in because it has to show on all crontracts. he was explained this and even signed a buyers order showing the addtional 399 discount for the internet price. As far as the $698 charge. It is not just for wheel locks it also includes nitrogen in the tires, 1 free oil change,lifetime tire rotations and tinted windows. If he would like to come by the dealership we can look through the paperwork together. Crown Nissan owes nothing in this matter.

 

Thanks,

****** ********

Crown Nissan of greenville

Business Response:

*** ***** is incorrect. Crown Nissan discounted the car an additional 399 from the internet price and then added back in because it has to show on all crontracts. he was explained this and even signed a buyers order showing the addtional 399 discount for the internet price. As far as the $698 charge. It is not just for wheel locks it also includes nitrogen in the tires, 1 free oil change,lifetime tire rotations and tinted windows. If he would like to come by the dealership we can look through the paperwork together. Crown Nissan owes nothing in this matter.

 

Thanks,

****** ********

Crown Nissan of greenville

4/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The closing fee of $****** was added in addition to the price even though the ad says it was already added to the listed price and even though I told them that the max I would pay on any car was $*****..when I noticed this after signing the papers the dealers says too late I already signed and there was nothing I could do about it. Also when the van was taken to clean up , they took out the floor mats and did not put them back..i tried calling several times and got the run around and no one would return my calls...

Desired Settlement: I want my $****** closing fee refunded and my floor mats..

Business Response: **** is correct on the closing fee. We will mail a check for $*** to him within the next 72 hours. As far as the mats go we would not take or steal  mats from a 2004 freestar. We would have no use for them. Why did it take so long to notice there were no mats in the car? I will not replace the mats but **** will recieve a check for $***. Sorry for the mistake.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

3/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Crown Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)