Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Century BMW

Phone: (864) 234-6437 Fax: (864) 234-3373 2934 Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.century-bmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This dealership offers sales, parts and service for new and used BMW's.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Century BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 26, 1982 Business started: 08/01/1982 in SC Business under new ownership as of: 03/23/1998 Business incorporated 03/23/1998 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tommy Kuranoff, General Manager Mr. Evan Baker, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tommy Kuranoff, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Su: Closed

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2934 Laurens Rd

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 234-6437

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase agreement on vehicle was made with dealership and finance was settled at the bank after hours. dealership sold car before I returned to pickup vehicle! Spoke with used car management said they had over 150 dealerships and would correct the issue and would find me another vehicle to resolve issue.three days have past and no further contact has been made with dealership. I feel strongly that this issue will not be resolved simply because I was only interested in a 10,000 dollar car instead of a 60,000 dollar car and was treated to seem like a second class citizen because of such!

Desired Settlement: Legal action will be taken if there is no response from dealership and I wish to speak with the highest rank official with this dealership and will not tolerate anything less!

Business Response: Per our pre-owned sales manager, Mr. ***** was looking at a particular vehicle on the last day of the month but did not sign any purchase agreement when he was here.    We of course would have loved to sell him the vehicle and offered many options to assist him with buying when he was here.    When he left we made sure he knew that there was no way we could hold a vehicle without a signed agreement to purchase.   By the time he returned, another customer had come in and purchased the car.    At our last contact with Mr. ***** we explained that we were searching for another vehicle of the type he was interested in, but unfortunately that car hasn't turned up yet.    We are very sorry Mr. ***** was disspointed and hope that we can find another vehicle that will allow us to earn his business back.

3/2/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I flew down from*** **** to South Carolina on January 17,2014 to purchase a used vehicle from this dealership. I sat down to do the finance paperwork with *** * and was sold a BMW road hazard tire & wheel protection warranty for $1289/5 Year/Unlimited mileage which is listed on my bill of sale which I am currently paying for. I was driving to work on the morning of October 6th 2014 and my tire light comes on and I pull over and notice I got a flat tire due to a nail. I called a tow truck and got the vehicle towed to my local BMW ($185 out of pocket charge). I get inside the dealership and the service rep asked how I would like to pay. I tell him I have a BMW road hazard tire & wheel protection warranty. The tech checks his system and says he doesnt see anything on file and I should contact the dealership I bought the car from. I called and talked to ****** and explained my situation and he told me to to pay for the tire and the service and the dealership would reinburse me ($573.91 out of pocket charge). I dont know why my warranty that I paid for is not active. ****** then ***** me a different warranty that he wanted me to sign that was not unlimited mileage no towing coverage, non bmw warranty basically not what I paid for. I contacted ***** motor group to see if they can do anything about the situation and ***** contact the manager who called me the same day I contacted *****. He appologized for the mixup and promised to call me the next day. Its been two weeks and I havnt heard anything from the manager who promised to call me back. I lost a day of work and weeks of frustration trying to get my money for the towing and the tire/replacement costs. Emails/phone calls and nobody can help me. Whats going to happen if got forbid I get another flat tire? What happened to the $1289 that I paid for the warranty? I am still waiting for my reinbursement that I was promised.

Desired Settlement: All the money I paid out of pocket that should have been covered under the warranty I bought I want back.I want the warranty that I purchased active.

Business Response: This customer is 100% happy now. Thank you for the follow up

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I contacted my local bmw and asked them to check to see if the bmw tire and wheel protection is active in their system and they said they do not see any warranty for my car in their system. I have recieved my reinbursemnt for my tire but need proof that my warranty is active.

Regards,

**** ******




Business Response:

 
 
 
 

From: ******* ******* **************************** Sent: Tuesday, December 02, 2014 2:55 PM
To: ******* ***** *.
Subject: **** ** ******

 

******,  

I am able to confirm the contract #********** for**** * ****** is showing an ACTIVE status.  

Thanks

 

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 5/3/14 I requested warranty to be cancelled in person with Finance Mgr at BMW, who promtly said I didn't need to sign anything. On 5/6/14 when I followed up I was told to fill out form. I printed the form and physically went into BMW dealership to drop this off. I was told it would take 4-6 weeks. On 6/6/14 I checked with BMW credit for refund and was told there wasn't one pending or credited. I went back into BMW on 6/6/14 to see Finance Mgr to find out why this was taking so long. Finance Mfg emailed me back late on 6/6/14 and said he had no record of form being filled out. I Re-submitted form directly to warranty cancellation (to avoid any more delays)and copied Finance Mgr. Going to the online warranty web-site, I saw the cancellation had been completed by BMW dealership on 6/27/14. I followed up with Finance Mfg for status of credit and was responded via email that warranty had been cancelled. I again emailed Finance Mgr for credit status of refund credit on 7/2/2014. I never got a reponse so I headed into the BMW dealership on 7/09/14 and spoke with Sales Mgr. He got fnance to check credit and I was told paperwork was sent to ***** and credit should be available by end of week and would email me. On 7/16/14 I again emailed Sales Mgr to find out my credit status. The response I got back was he would check and call back. I have still not heard, nor have I received my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want my refund. When the cancellation notification was completed with the warranty company back on 6/27/2014 - BMW should have immediately issued the credit. I have had to follow up on this issue for 11 weeks with still no resolution. This is unacceptable!

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

The issue with the complaint has been handled and the customer is satisfied. thanks

6/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was selling my car to Century and told that my 2006 BMW 760LI with 76k miles on it was only worth $15,500 to them. The GM, ****** ******** told me that was all they could do although looking up the value of my trade in was clearly stating $19,000 for the condition that mine was in. ****** came to me with a phony report claiming that my car leaked oil 6 months ago or so his system at Century told him so. This was untrue because if I was leaking oil, I would have had a report of this and had it repaired. He then told me the car would go to straight to auction as they will be lucky to get $15,500 for it. Well, he knew I had bought a new car and had to sell this so I trusted his car knowledge and sold it to him. The next day ****** and his company had the vehicle on their lot for $25,000. I called to tell him this was highly unethical and he said he would pay me $3,500 if he sold it within the first 90 days... well he sold it within 2 weeks and when I emailed him to find out where my money was, he said he was not going to pay me because I basically complained too much and called him unethical. He told me he was a man of his word. I have the emails saved.

Desired Settlement: I want the $3,500 that ****** promised me if the car sold in the first 90 days..I at least want $2,500... do what you say you are going to do. Don't lie to the public.

Business Response: WE have settled and we are good. thanks

12/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Certified Pre-owned (CPO) 2011 BMW 335I on 10/25/13 from Century BMW in Greenville, SC. We had the car for under 24 hours and had driven it approximately 150 miles when the right front tire pressure low light came on. We pulled over to check the tire and noted a crack in the outside sidewall. At that point we assumed we must have hit a road hazard that caused the tire to go flat. At that point we called *** and had the car towed to the nearest BMW dealership. ***** *** ** *********** ** happened to be the closest dealer. The car arrived at the dealership Saturday night after closing (10/26/13). On Monday once ***** *** inspected the tire they determined that a road hazard had not caused the tire to go flat but that the tire had actually worn through on the very inside edge of the tire. The tire also showed signs of dry rotting. Furthermore ***** BMW discovered that the left front tire had the exact same wear pattern and dry rotting on the very inside and would likely go flat in the very near future if not replaced. The cause of the wear pattern was determined to be that the car was significantly out of alignment. Upon receipt of this information I contacted Century BMW to inquire how this passed the requirements of the BMW Certified Pre-owned check list which requires a thorough visual inspection of all the tires including tread and sidewall. If this inspection would have actually been performed correctly there is no way the tire condition would have met the CPO requirements. The failure mechanism would have been visually evident at time of inspection as I only put ~150 miles on the car and this wear pattern could not possibly occur in that time frame. Personnel at ***** BMW support this stance. Century BMW maintains the stance that they the inspection was done correctly when it obviously was not. Based on this the car was purchased on false pretenses.

Desired Settlement: Century BMW should have to replace both tires that should have failed the CPO inspection as I bought the car on the expectation that the CPO inspection was correctly performed.

Business Response:

*** *** **** ****** ,

I want to appologize for your bad experience  with your new BMW . We have agreed to pay for one tire on the side that was not damaged and have tried to contact Crown several times to let them know. If we can help any further please let us know.

Sincerely ,

***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

By paying for one tire it shows that they recognize that they did not correctly perform the certification inspection.  However both tires had to be replaced do to incorrectly performed certification inspection.  The dealer should have to pay for both tires that did not meet BMW certification requirements as the vehicle was sold to me as a BMW certified pre-owned. 

Regards,

******* ******




Consumer Response: ****** 
 
This is the information we received regarding our BMW from the dealership that fixed the tires. I have attached the inspection for the CPO and pictures of the left and right front tires. The right tire is the one that went flat on us within 24 hours of purchasing the car. We were also told that the left tire had the same wear pattern and would only last a few weeks. We do not know how this car passed the inspection for CPO and how in just 150 miles we could wear these tires this badly that they both needed replacement.  It is obvious that the inspection was not performed correctly and the Century BMW should be responsible for both tires. ***** BMW did let us know the that the GM of Century BMW agreed to pay for one tire and installation but Century never called to inform us even though they told us they would call us back.  
 
Thank you.
******* *** ***** ******

On Tuesday, October 29, 2013 3:28 PM, *********** ****** *************************> wrote:



---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: "******* ***** ***** *********************>
Date: Oct 29, 2013 3:17 PM
Subject: RE: FW: Tire issue
To: ************ ******* **************************
Cc: "***** ***** *******************


******
 
Here are the pics of your  Right front tire with the severe edge wear and the split into the inner tire.   Left front tire also with inner tire wear starting into the secondary rubber but still holding air.  You will also see severe dryrot splitting on both tires. 
 
Thanks
 
**** ***** ******* ******* ***** *** ************ 
From: *********** ****** ********************************* Sent: Tuesday, October 29, 2013 2:05 PM
To: ******* ***** ****
Subject: Fwd: FW: Tire issue


Here is the CPO sheet century wanted me to send. Some of the verbiage in his email is not correct as he heard the story thrid hand.  If you could get some pics that would be great.  
 

***** ****** ************
 Subject: RE: Tire issue



 

Business Response:

****** I want to stand behind our original decison due to the fact *** ****** called the same day he bought the car and told us he wanted to purchase tire and wheel protection because he hit something in a construction zone on the way home and had to call a wrecker to get him to a BMW dealership. The car is equipped with runflat tires that do not require a wrecker you can drive on them unless you run over something and damage the tire and wheel which did happen. We have agreed to pay for one tire because I do not have proof that he hit something with both tires only one. *** *** **** ****** are not telling the truth about this situation they have damaged the tire and wheel and do not want to take responsibility . Thanks in advance

***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


******


 *** ******** is correct that I did call and ask to purchase the wheel and tire package after I got the flat tire.  I had just driven through a work zone when I got the low tire pressure warning. Upon pulling over to verify the tire was flat I noticed a crack in the outside sidewall which I thought was where the tire had lost pressure.  At this point I assumed I must have hit something to cause the crack in the sidewall.  Based on this, I called Century and told them I must have hit a road hazard and had a flat tire and asked if I could add the road hazard protection package which Century graciously agreed to add.  Note this road hazard package cost me 989 dollars. Being nowhere near the closest BMW dealership (over 50 miles) I did not want to drive a long distance and risk causing wheel damage.  In fact the owner’s manual says not to drive over 50 miles on the run flat tires (Maybe *** ******** should familiarize himself with the product he is selling).  Unfortunately once ***** BMW received the car and inspected the flat tire they determined that a road hazard did not cause the tire to go flat and that the tire was not actually leaking from the crack I observed on the outer side wall. Thus the issue would not be covered under the protection package.  As I stated in the initial response it turned out that the leak was coming on the very inside of the tire due to the tire wearing through.  A tire that was certified should not have worn through in approximately 150 miles.  Both front tires had this wear pattern along with dry rotting which can clearly be seen in the previously supplied photos. Thus both tires had to be replaced.  Clearly, I would not have called and added the road hazard package to the tune of 989 dollars if I knew it wasn’t going to cover the blown tire.  As a customer that just bought a CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED car less than 24 hours ago there is no reason to think anything other than a road hazard could have caused the flat tire.


*** ******** stated that wheel damage did happen in his response.  This is simply not true.  There was no damage to the wheel.  ***** BMW (dealership who replaced the tires) and the service receipt for the replacement tires can back this up.  If wheel damage would have occurred I would definitely be asking for Century BMW to cover that cost as well. So I am not sure why *** ******** thinks there was wheel damage and why I would leave that out as it would have cost me even more money (I guess it’s my turn to say someone is not telling the truth?). 


I am not sure what proof *** ******** has that I hit something and caused damage to the tire.  Heck If I had this proof Century’s actions to date would have been sufficient to prevent this complaint as the blown tire would have been replaced under the protection package and Century paid for “other” tire already (Still not sure why they paid for one tire that didn’t go flat if they truly believe the certification inspection was done correctly).  The big hole in *** ********** argument is all the evidence shows that a road hazard did not cause the flat tire.   So as expected I reject *** ********** inaccurate response.   The only acceptable resolution if for them to cover the cost of the other tire.  Unfortunately this is the type of situation that give the car business a bad name, I just didn’t expect to come across this type of situation with a BMW dealership.


Thanks,


*********** *** ******* ******










Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

We have received the $149.95 check from Century BMW for reimbursement of the wheel alignment.  We are accepting this as a response and do not wish to pursue this issue any further.  Thanks for the help.

 

Regard, 

******* ******

11/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service