Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carlton Motorcars, Inc

Phone: (864) 213-8000 View Additional Phone Numbers 2446 Laurens Road, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.carltonmotorcars.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vehicle sales, parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carlton Motorcars, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Carlton Motorcars, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carlton Motorcars, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 1998 Business started: 03/11/1996 in SC Business started locally: 03/11/1996 Business incorporated 03/11/1996 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC DMV
10311 Wilson Boulevard - Building C, Blythewood SC 29016
http://www.scdmvonline.com
Fax Number: 803-896-5000
help@scdmvonline.com

SC Dept. of Consumer Affairs
2221 Devine St. Ste 200, Columbia SC 29205-2418
http://www.consumer.sc.gov
Phone Number: 800-922-1594 (toll free in SC) 803-734-4200 outside SC

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Philip J. Carlton, President Ms. Heather Carlton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Philip J. Carlton, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 2446 Laurens Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 213-8000 (800) 801-3131 (888) 433-1872

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to dealership with deposit check to buy a new car. They waited 2 weeks to email me back and said they could not sell me a car even though I was going to pay cash for car. They gave no reason or explanation as to why I was not allowed to purchase a car. Thus is discriminatory on their behalf.

Desired Settlement: I would like to purchase the vehicle I ordered and an apology from dealership.

Business Response: *** ********

When *** ******* arrived at our dealership expressing interest in purchasing a new GL450 he was immediately informed that as ******** **** USA has a very strict policy concerning
the exportation of several of its vehicles, there would be a lengthy due diligence process. The illegal export of these vehicles is something ******** **** USA and the US Secret Service take very seriously.
This research process takes some time. *** ******* was unwilling and or unable to provide certain documentation that would have expedited this process.  Our salesman informed *** ******* via email
on March 23rd that based on our investigation we would not be able to sell him the vehicle.  I would be happy to email you under separate confidential cover both the email correspondence and the 
******** **** Export policy.  
Please let me know if you have any additional questions.
Thank you for your time,
********* ****
Controller
Carlton Motorcars Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******* *******

12/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 15, 2014, I called and spoke with a Part Representative about ordering a transmission hose for my 2000, C240 Mercedes **** ********** and was told that the dealership did not have the specific part in stock but could order it and it would be delivered on Friday, October 17, 2014. I went to Carlton Mercedes Benz dealership in effort ordering the part (hose) for my Mercedes. In the process of ordering the part, the mechanic accidentally ordered the wrong part, due to entering the incorrect VIN number into his system. After a viewing a diagram of my car with the Parts Rep, he realized that he ordered the wrong part. The Parts Rep then tried to alter the part (hose) delivery request by voiding the incorrect part number and adding the correct part for shipping. The first ordered part totaled $53.35 without sales tax and the correct part totaled $66.00. The Part Rep then stated that he would remove the remaining difference in the balance of $12.65 due to him ordering the incorrect part initially. On Friday, October 17th I went back to the dealership in effort of retrieving my part, but was told it did not arrive as scheduled, but it will be there on Monday October 20th. On the 20th and 21st, I went to the dealership again in effort picking up my part and the Part rep informed me of the part still had not arrived as scheduled. At that point I then asked for a refund and was informed that the dealership does not issue same day refunds, but would mail me a check once I have completed a form and "Check Request" form and a member of management has approved the request. I completed the form and was told that his manager was required to sign the form but had left for the day. After finding speaking with a different member of management, it was discovered that the part rep's manager was onsite. After talking with him, he indicated that he could not help me with my refund due to him not being able to approve refunds.

Desired Settlement: Regardless of the part being delivered, I will only consider this complaint settled once I have received a prompt and full refund of $56.55, which I have paid the dealership.

Business Response: *** ******* picked up his refund check in the amount of $56.55 on October 22, 2014, one day after his refund request. The part that he ordered had also come in and was given to *** ******* free of charge.

We apologize for the initial error in the order and the way the refund request was addressed. The approval process needed for the refund should have been better explained. All refund checks are done out of the Accounting 
office once the initial form of payment has been verified. At the time of day that *** ******* was here, the Accounting office had closed and the owners were not in to sign the check. The refund check was issued promptly the next morning 
and signed by noon. *** ******* was informed by telephone that his check was ready. 
Again, we apologize for the confusion.
Thank you,
********* ****
Controller
Carlton Motorcars, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and I have received my check in the amount of $56.55.

I did not receive the part(s) I ordered as paid for or as free. The part representative stated that part still did not arrive.

Regards,

******* *******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carlton Motorcars, Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)