Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Breakaway Honda

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 234-6632 Fax: (864) 234-6438 View Additional Phone Numbers 330 Woodruff Road, Greenville, SC 29607 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bradshawauto.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Breakaway Honda Greenville, SC offers New Honda, Used Honda And Certified Pre-Owned Honda Sales As Well As Honda Authorized Parts,  Honda Service And Breakaway Collision Center.  We Service All Makes And Models For Maintenance, Repair And Body Repair


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Breakaway Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Breakaway Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Breakaway Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 1992 Business started: 01/06/1992 in 0
Business Management
Mr. William H Bradshaw, Owner Mr. Richie Christopher, Print Advertising Mr. Bill Donovan, General Manager Mr. Larry Frank, Fixed Operations Director Mr. John C Miller, Internet Director Mr. Chan Robertson, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William H Bradshaw, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Donovan, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

Breakaway Honda sells the following brand(s): Honda Certified Pre-Owned, Honda New, Honda Used, Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 330 Woodruff Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 234-6632

  • P O Box 17829

    Greenville, SC 29606 (864) 234-6632

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had inquired about a 2007 Honda accord on 2/25/14. I was scheduled to come in to view the car on 2/26/14. I called the sales rep. His name was ****. I told him I would be in on 2/26/14 @ 415 to get the car. And he said its still available at this moment. But we are not able to hold the vehicle. Due to company policies. I said that's fine. I will call throughout the day to check to see if its still available. I received a call at 330pm on 2/26 for ****. He was saying that a lady was on her way. She was driving 1hr45min to breakaway Honda. He said it was company policy. He had to hold it for her. I responded by saying, **** you told me that you couldn't hold the vehicle. He said he was sorry for the misunderstanding and that he will give me a call back if the lady doesn't get it. I told him that was unacceptable. If I get there to purchase the car first I am getting the car. Because he told me by mouth. That there was no holding. Due to the policy. I travel 20 mins away so what's the difference. I feel that he should have not lied to me. And I felt singled out. And that's bad business.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology that's all. Being lied to just to make a sell is the worst. I have talked to him for two days about this car. He was well aware that I Was coming to try an purchase.

Business Response:

First, I would like to offer an apology to **. ******** regarding her interaction with our pre-owned sales department.  It was an unfortunate situation and I can certainly understand her frustration.  We certainly do not want her to feel as though she was singled out so that we could sell the car she was interested in to another customer that we preferred.  Please allow me to explain how the situation developed.

Yes, we do have a “No Hold Cars” policy.  If we didn’t, most of our inventory would be on hold at any given time, causing much frustration for our customers and our salespeople.  The problem with the rule is when someone is coming from a distance (general rule, 1 hour).  If someone calls from a distance to buy a vehicle, we will in fact “hold” that vehicle for the approximate time that we feel it will take for them to get here.  The reason for this exception is for  a customer who drove for an hour and when they arrived the car was sold.  Of course, this customer would be extremely upset as they have now invested a considerable amount of time for nothing.

No, it’s not a policy that works for everyone, every time, and unfortunately it affected **. ******** and her desire to purchase the car this time.

I sincerely hope that we have a chance in the future to earn **. ********’s business.  Again, I apologize for her frustration.  If in the future there is a car that she is interested in buying, please have her call me at************ extension****.  I will personally hold a car for her until she arrives.

 

**** *******

General Manager

Breakaway Honda

Consumer Response: The Company Policies are " No Holding" I had an appointment at 4:15 with you all to view the car. And was told I had to all throughout the day to see if the car was still available. Since you had a " No hold Policy" I was traveling from 30 minutes away. And no one seemed to care. Just want you all to know your policies. That is all

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable