Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bradshaw Acura?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bradshaw Acura

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 297-4529 Fax: (864) 297-6581 2450 Laurens Road, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.bradshawacura.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Auto sales/new and used.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bradshaw Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bradshaw Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bradshaw Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 1992 Business started: 08/01/1991 in 0
Business Management
Mr. William Bradshaw, President Mr. Bill Donovan, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Bradshaw, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Donovan, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 2450 Laurens Road

    Greenville, SC 29607

  • P O Box 17829

    Greenville, SC 29606

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a "Certified" Used Acura in Jan 2011. I negotiated over the internet with Bradshaw Acura. They sent me the certification checklist for the car and pictures of it plus ****** report, which said the car didn't have any reported accidents. We talked purchase price and I drove to Greenville to buy the car. When I arrived, one of the headlights was out, which made me feel uneasy but they said they would replace the bulb and I could be on my way. I asked about the front bumper which stuck out at an odd angle under one headlight, and they said that it looked a little loose and they would make sure it was secure before I took it away. I did buy the car but first asked the sales and finance team if they knew if this car had been in an accident and they said no.I turned on the headlights that evening and they were two different colors and misaligned, so I brought the car into service at my local Acura dealer and they said the entire headlight assembly needed replacement- should have been flagged during certification. Then the car brakes were squealing just weeks after buying it, and it turned out the brakes had to be replaced- also not permissible for certification. I opened a case with Acura Client Relations and Bradshaw Acura agreed to pay the local dealers for the repair costs, although they severely delayed payment to my local dealer. 2 yrs later at 71,000 mi my steering rack leaked and it was recommended by my Acura dealership that the rack be replaced or taken to a specialist repair facility. I paid for the repair. Now paint is peeling off fender by replaced headlight.Gathering paperwork to sell the car I noticed big discrepancies between the Certification Checklist Acura Client Relations had sent me from during the repairs and the original Certification Checklist from purchase (pink carbon copy). Although signed by the same tech the dates are 1 day apart and the handwriting is different, plus measurements recorded don't match! The one Bradshaw sent Acura Care is different than original.

Desired Settlement: I want Bradshaw Acura to pay for the total cost of repairs plus extra money I paid for a certified car. Went to trade in the car at local Acura dealer and the sales associates devalued the car because they said they can tell it has been in an accident! It fails the Acura Certification Program standards! I lost thousands of dollars in repair costs and value at trade-in because of the deceptive sales practices of Bradshaw Acura.

Business Response: I spoke with Customer regarding complaints about certified pre-owned Acura.  I feel as though the customer and I came to a mutual agreement and settlement.

 
In the future, please send all complaints for Bradshaw Acura, Bradshaw Infiniti and Breakaway Honda to:
 
 
**** *******
 
******************
 
 
******* ** *** ***** ******* ********* *** **** *** ** *** ******* ****** *** *** **** 
Thanks so much for your assistance,
 
**** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

 
Additionally, I would like to add that the response from the General Manager of Bradshaw Acura exceeded my expectations. He took my complaint seriously and was very willing to work patiently with me to investigate the issues I had and to find where things had gone wrong. Once he gathered all of the information necessary to assess the situation to the best of his ability (given the amount of time that had passed since the initial issues) he was apologetic about the service and experiences I had received from Bradshaw Acura from the time of purchase all the way through the warranty issues I had experienced. I feel he went the extra mile by personally following up with the warranty company to make sure I would be reimbursed for the covered expenses his staff had told me I was originally ineligible to receive, and he expedited my payment, which I've already received. Additionally, he walked me through the process of how my car was certified in detail including how the process has changed since I purchased the car to prevent similar issues with the brakes. He apologized for the delay of payment to the dealerships I had worked with to repair the car, and said the person in charge of that at the time is no longer with the company. He also wanted to reimburse me the added expenses I incurred to fix problems we agreed should have been better addressed by the previous service manager or through the warranty process. He met me half way on the monetary amount I requested to compensate me for the loss of value to the car, and expressed that he felt it was fair given all of the frustrations I had endured with the car and consistently being unable to reach anyone at Bradshaw Acura who could properly help or advise me. His full attention to my complaint and sincere expressions of regret for the experience I had let me know that this was indeed something he felt should have been handled differently at various junctures along the way, and I believe he took this case as a learning experience for the company. Finally, he extended a hand in friendship and has offered to help me with advice on any future used car purchases whether at his dealership or elsewhere. Once I receive the check in the mail for the amount we just negotiated, I will consider this claim satisfactorily resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


7/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re: ******* ****** 2009 ********** ****** On June 28th, 2013 I purchased a 2009 ********** ****** (*** *****************) at Bradshaw Acura, **** Laurens Rd, Greenville, SC 29607.Unfortunately, the van was sold to me deceptively. The sales man hid existing problems with the vans doors and electrical system. I am disappointed because I was told the van was in good working order and worth more than you were asking for it. I purchased the car on a Tuesday, the very next day we returned home and tried to open the passenger side sliding door via the button on the ceiling of the van. It started to open, stopped and closed again. This happened three times so we shut it off and manually opened the door. We were irritated and hoped it was a glitch. The following day, my wife was driving on Wade Hampton Blvd when the car began to smell like something was burning and the temperature gauge jumped from 195 to 220 degrees. She pulled over, I met her there and called a ********** dealer who told me it should be looked at because anything over 200 is too hot. I let the van cool down and drove it home. Friday morning, June 31, 2013, my wife brought the van to *** ****** ********** in Spartanburg to be diagnosed for $95.00. She mentioned the sliding door and the burning smell. The technicians concluded that the passenger side door needs a new lower track and the burning smell seems to have been engine cleaner burning off. Irritated that we immediately have a $600.00 repair to be made, we held off on the door and continued driving the van but not using the passenger side sliding door while we discussed what the best course of action would be. The problems kept showing up over the course of this last week we have discovered that the driver side automatic door also malfunctions, though not as obviously. This door will open and close but not actually latch. Unless we manually push on the door to force it to latch completely, we come out later to find the door is open. The navigation and DVD system is also presenting problems. The rear screens do not always function and often one functions and the other does not but both have to be open for either one to work. The navigation system randomly makes touch buttons available and unavailable for no apparent reason. We sat and watched the screen as the enter Street Address button lit up and dimmed out 5 times. One second we could select that option and the next we couldnt. There is clearly an issue with the electrical system in this van and considering the immediacy, frequency and blatancy of the occurrences, as well as the amount of time this vehicle was in your inventory, it is not possible that the dealership was unaware of this issues at the time of the sale.I know this issue with the doors and electrical system were intentionally and deceptively hidden from me during the buying process because the salesman suggested that I buy a warranty by stating at least 8 times that If the navigation system or an automatic door needs to be fixed it can cost you several thousand dollars. No other potential repairs were mentioned during the sale process only the two issues I am currently having.A few other things worth noting: 1. I was not given a copy of the Buyers Guide or the As Is paper I signed (or a lot of other things I signed and it is now my understanding that I should have received a copy of everything I signed) SC law states that I have a right to have my money refunded based solely on the fact that I was not provided a Buyers Guide. There wasnt even one posted in the vehicle.2. The salesman told me the ****** has a Volkswagen engine in it. That it is bigger than the ******** **** and ******** engine but does not sacrifice fuel economy. ****** engineering, he said. I later found out that the entire drive train is ********. 3. My wife was asked to leave the room while the financing contract was being drawn up because our son was making too much noise. I was beyond irritated by that and wanted to bring it to your attention. My wife was not on the application but we do these things together and not having her in the room was a hindrance to me.To resolve the problem, I want Bradshaw Acura to refund all monies paid for the sale of this vehicle and I will return it. I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until 12:00 PM July, 9, 2013 before seeking help from the Attorney General and Better Business Bureau. I am offering you this opportunity to make this right before I pursue a UDaP case where you will be responsible for refunding the monies for the car as well as damages and attorney fees. Please contact me or my wife, ******** ****** by phone at************.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. I would like the dealership to purchase this defective vehicle back from me and wholesale it like it should have been in the first place, as stated by ****, the director of used cars. Even if the dealership did not know there were issues with the vehicle, I am entitled to a refund of my purchase based solely on the fact that I was not provided with a copy of the Buyer's Guide which is a violate of Federal Law

Business Response:

From: ****** ******
Sent: Tuesday, July 09, 2013 11:58 AM
To: ************************
Subject: BBB Complaint ID 9612759

 

******

 

In response to the above-referenced complaint, please be advised that all paperwork prepared by the purchaser of the vehicle is only in the name of Mr. ******* *****.  *** ******** ***** is not the purchaser.  We provide this information to you for privacy notification requirements. 

Please see the following information as it relates to the allegations contained in the complaint: 

On June 25, 2013,*** and **** ***** came to our dealership and expressed interest a 2009 Volkswagen ******.  They were test driving a van from another dealership and drove that dealership’s van to our dealership.  Mr. ***** states he purchased the vehicle on June 28, 2013; however, our records show a purchase date of June 25.  Mr. ***** also states in the complaint that he purchased the vehicle on a Tuesday.  June 28 was Thursday.   

When our Sales Consultant, **** *****, spoke with the *****’s, he reviewed the ****** in detail with them showing them all features.  As part of the vehicle review, Mr. ***** opened and closed all doors including the hatch.  *** ***** went in/out of all passenger doors numerous times with her child’s car seat and moved in/out of the vehicle repeatedly while determining her interest in the vehicle.  Everything was in working order.  Afterwards, the *****’s test drove the vehicle.  After returning to the dealership, they asked for a few minutes alone to talk and consider the purchase of the vehicle.  Following this, the *****’s stated they wanted to proceed with the purchase of the ****** as the other dealer’s van was not as powerful as the ******, and they felt the other dealer’s van had a transmission issue.   

When the sales process began, Mr. ***** discussed that we offer an extended service agreement with the *****’s.  It is a requirement of all Sales Consultants to promote extended service agreements with customers and to advise them that the Finance and Insurance Manager will review extended service agreement options with them in detail.  The Finance and Insurance Manager provides thorough details regarding extended service agreements on every preowned vehicle purchase.  In the case of the *****’s purchase, Mr. ***** promoted the extended service agreement as required by the Company to do so.  He emphasized that with preowned vehicles, repairs to navigation systems and doors can be very expensive.  This was a vehicle with over 80,000 miles and Mr. *****’s comments were based only on service repair experience with vehicles such as this one and not on alleged existing issues with the vehicle.   

On the day Mr. ***** purchased the vehicle, *** ***** looked up the vehicle on line using KBB and she stated the sales price was good as it was below market value.  Mr. ***** called a friend and asked if it was a good deal and the friend indicated it was.  He also asked the friend about warranties and the friend stated he had never bought an   extended service agreement and would not recommend one.  Mr. ***** told the *****’s that they could discuss extended service agreement options further with the Finance and Insurance Manager that would be overseeing the paperwork involved in purchasing the vehicle. 

During the meeting with the Finance and Insurance Manager, Mr. ***** declined purchasing an extended service agreement.  He stated he and his wife were following the **** ****** Program and could not justify spending money on an extended service agreement.   

The 2009 Volkswagen ****** was acquired by our dealership when a customer purchased a vehicle from us and traded it in on the purchase.  With all trade-in’s, we follow a 120-point inspection process.  At the time of this inspection, the following items were identified as needing service:  front and rear brakes, air filter, wiper blades, and a transmission drain/fill.  These items were fully addressed.   

In reference to other allegations contained in the complaint, please see the following: 

·        Buyer’s Guide – The Buyer’s Guide is posted in every vehicle’s window.  It is removed from the window at the time of sale.  A copy is provided to every purchaser at the time of sale.  This is FTC law and our policy regarding this is followed without exception.  Our file on this vehicle currently contains only the original copy taken from the vehicle window.  This is accurate as the copy was provided to Mr. ***** at the time of sale.  Further, I am attaching a copy of the Buyer’s Guide endorsed by Mr. ***** acknowledging he was purchasing the vehicle as is with no extended service agreement and all costs for any repairs would be paid by him and the dealer assumes no responsibility for any repairs regardless of oral statements about the vehicle.  During a call *** ***** made to our Preowned Sales Director, **** *******, on Monday, Mr. ******* offered to provide an additional copy to *** *****.  However, she stated she does not want it.   It is our full belief that Mr. ***** received a copy of the Buyer’s Guide. 

·        Engine specifics - Mr. ***** accessed information on the Internet and showed the *****’s only the liter difference between the **** *** ******* and the ******. 

·        Application to Purchase Vehicle – Our Finance and Insurance Manager is on vacation this week and we have been unable to discuss why **** ***** and her son were not in the room during the entire financing process.  We would never dismiss an adult and/or a child from a room.  If we thought we could offer something more comfortable for the child during this long process, we might offer a soft drink, water, snack, access to a television, or related if the parent wanted.

Please also refer to the attached Bradshaw Acura Used Budget Cars Agreement in which Mr. ***** further acknowledged his understanding and verification that in purchasing a used budget vehicle from Bradshaw Acura Used Cars, he accepts the vehicle in “AS IS” condition and holds neither the dealership nor any salesman or manager liable for any repairs or damages and that it is solely his responsibility to perform any necessary repairs to said vehicle.   

Based on the complaint, Mr. ***** states he experienced issues with the vehicle the day after he purchased it.  However, we were not made aware of any issues with the vehicle until 13 days following the alleged issues.  *** ***** called our Preowned Sales Director late morning on July 8, the same day we received the BBB complaint.  Further, and oddly, the *****’s chose to take the vehicle to another dealership rather than the selling dealership for diagnosis.   

It is unfortunate that a customer would take this position in order to try to address what appears to be a “change of mind.”  We operate our business with the highest level of ethical standards and customer satisfaction.  We would never sell a vehicle with known issues.  We have no way of knowing when issues will occur with a vehicle which is the reason we stressed the importance of an extended service agreement purchase.  We followed the same informative process with the *****’s that we do with all customers as it relates to being advised of extended service agreement options.  The *****’s declined the purchase of an extended service agreement.   

Typically, we would have asked the *****’s to bring the vehicle back to us and we would have reviewed the alleged navigation and sliding door issues.  However, in this case, we will not do so.  Mr. ******* spent a considerable amount of time trying to assist *** ***** on Monday and she has made untrue, extremely derogatory, and slanderous statements regarding our business and those involved in the transaction with her husband.  We have documented *** *****’s slanderous allegations and have provided them to our legal counsel.  *** ***** has stated repeatedly that she only wants a check written to her in the amount of the purchase.  We will not provide a check to the *****’s.   

If we can provide additional information, or if you have questions regarding the information provided above, please let us know.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.   

Thank you,

 

****** ******, SPHR

Director, Human Resources

Bradshaw Automotive Companies

(**** ******** ******** ***** ******** ***** ***** ******** ********