Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Best Chevrolet

Phone: (864) 385-7000 View Additional Phone Numbers 5010 Old Easley Bridge Road, Easley, SC 29642 http://www.bestchevyupstate.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new chevrolet vehicles and used vehicles, automotive parts and repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Best Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Best Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Best Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 08, 2010 Business started: 06/01/2010 in SC Business incorporated 06/01/2010 in SC
Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Robert E Hogan, Vice President Mr. Jimmy Hutchinson, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert E Hogan, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • 5010 Old Easley Bridge Road

    Easley, SC 29642 (864) 385-7000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday March 8th, 2015 I turned my car about 7 pm in the evening to realize that the engine light was on, Service ESC was populating on the dash and traction control had been lost in the car. I was having difficulty breaking as if the ABS break system was not working in the car. I drove it immediately home from work and parked it at my home address. On Monday morning at 7:30 am I called the Chevrolet customer support to discuss the current recall which appeared to be the issue. I was instructed that I could drop my car off at Best Chevrolet and they were aware of the recall and would assist me. I dropped my car off, explained the situation, I also asked them to quote a price on a leak and left. I received a call on Monday March 9th at 4:19 pm from ****** (sp?) the service adviser, who told me that the leak would cost 556.46 which was the water pump and they could not find an issue with the service lights as of yet. In the meantime I reached out to GM corporate customer service and explained the problem, I spoke to Senior Service Manager *******, at phone number ************ ext *****. He stated that ********* ******* would call me with in 24-48 hours. On Tuesday March 10th morning I missed a call from the dealership at 9:50am. I returned their call at 9:52 to which I was asked to hold and then they stated that ****** would call me back. He called me back at 10:19 and we spoke for 11 minutes. ****** explained that the issue was in the 50 reference and it was the fuel tank pressure, manifold pressure and air conditioning pressure and they thought there was a short in the wiring causing an electrical issue. He explained that this could take a few days to fix and could range from 300-600 dollars. I approved the diagnostic and asked questioned that if they had completed the recall. He stated that he did but the recall was not the issue. There was no attempt to follow up by end of day regarding this call. I call** them back at 5:09 pm. Where they told me that ****** had gone home for the day and was not available to take my call, the call lasted 4 minutes. I called again on March 11th at 1:23 pm and was on the phone for six minutes when I requested a call back. I didn't receive one. I called them back again at 4:27 pm and was told that they would call be back because they were unavailable. At this point I called Chevy customer service again and spoke to ****** again, and explained that the manager he said would call me never called, and he never called me back to confirm that I had gotten in touch with someone. ****** call** ** ****** the manager that was supposed to get in touch with me on a three way phone call. ** said that he need**** to get in touch with his team and would call me back in about thirty minutes. He returned said phone call at 6:27pm and explained that it was an electrical issue and that they were still working on it, and fixing the recall wouldn't resolve my problem. At the end of the call he said that he would call me back around 8 or 9 am in the morning. I spoke to ****** at 7:55am where he asked me if my car was sitting out in the rain. He explained that they located water on my floor board and that may have caused the electrical short. I called them back at 11:09am when I spoke to ****** and he inform** me that the check engine light is no longer on in my car and they can't find anything wrong with it, so I could come pick it up. I asked him when the check engine light went off and he stated he need** to put me on hold while he checked. he came back on the phone a moment later and stated it went off this morning. I asked to speak to **, because I did not completely understand the situation. ** got on the phone and explain** that my service engine light had been off for two days and that they have to hold the car and do some tests to make sure it doesn't come back on. I ask** him why, if my engine light had been off for two days no one told me that when I call**. I explain** that in the last few days I had to call at the end of the day to get an update and no one called me and then ** was supposed to call me back this morning and never did. He stated that he didn't think it was neccesary to call me back and that ****** should've already told me that they weren't going to charge me for the diagnostic testing I approved, except ****** didn't tell me that. They did not have an answer on why they never told me my car was displaying the signs, but kept assuring me that it wasn't the recall that was causing the issue. I ask** to speak to their general manager, and he was in a meeting. They informed me that he was going to call me back. I called again at 12:04 and asked to speak to the general manager, whom they transferred me to, but he answered the phone and stated that he was in a meeting and would call me back in five minutes. He called me back at 12:12pm, where I explained the issues I have been having with his employees and how it was like I couldn't receive a call back. He told me that he was looking at the call log and his employees have made a valid attempt to contact me. I asked him that if they made a valid attempt to contact me why I had only one missed call and one voicemail (from this missedcall) in four days. He explained that his employees have made a valid effort and that I called them before they had the opportunity to call me back even though I only called them 30 minutes before they were set to leave for the day. I asked him if he was calling me a liar? and he stated that he was not, but his employees did call. I then asked him why my car was left in his shop for two days when the check engine light came off two days ago. He said that they were still working on the issue. I explained that the recall document explained every issue that I had and when they fixed the recall it fixed the error lights that were going on, so why did they keep the car? He stated that cars can be unpredictable and told me to settle the case he would pay for half of the rental car fee, he told me that my car was not up to GM standards so I should not be surprised that it wasn't working. I explained that I wasn't content with his solution and he stated that I was just trying to get one over on them so now they aren't doing anything. "I had a witness to this phone call, while the phone was on speaker.) I told him I just didn't think the way they were treating me was fair and at this point I was getting irate. Through out the conversation I had been called a liar and told that I didn't know what I was talking about and I was just trying to take advantage of the company indeed it is the company that was trying to take advantage of me. They held my car two days after it was finished and they wouldn't return my phone calls. When I went around 12:30pm to pick up my car, I walked in the service department and ask** them for my keys, they said you'll have to wait a moment. Someone else asked how they could help me and I informed them I wanted my key. ** ****** overheard and said are you *** ******? I said yes, I would just like my key. He handed me my key and the invoice and he said I just ran a carfax on your car, do you know it has had the airbag deployed? I said why is that any matter to you, he continued to follow me out of the garage telling me that my car was not up to GM standards and was out of gas. I got in my car and left. At this point I am baffled at the way I have been treated and I have even tried reaching out to GM corporate customer service and have not gotten anyone to return phone calls they keep saying they will return.

Desired Settlement: I am purely requesting that Chevy issue an apology for the behavior of their general manager, because customers shouldn't be treated like their integrity is being questioned when they have a complaint. I have a serious concern of why I was told my car wasn't fixed for two additional days when in reality it was fixed. I also think that it would be fair for Best Chevrolet or GM Corporate to issue a refund for my rental car I purchased through enterprise, the total cost being $142.08. I would hope that Chevy would like to retain me as a customer as I have been nothing but satisfied with my car until this point. I am not even currently unsatisfied with my car, I just think customers should be treated with dignity and respect and that is not how this case with Best Chevrolet or GM has been handled. Customer service rules are basic and they involve listening to the customer and doing what you say you are going to do.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this information to my attention. 

I have looked at the complaint and quite honestly, it is a bit confusing to follow. We would like to make **** ****** satisfied, but I think it would be best for a person to person conversation to properly sort out the details and erase any confusion. Please bear in mind we can only address and resolve any issues from our end and have no control or authority over GM or Chevrolet Motor Division. Therefore, I have asked *** *** ******* the Executive Manager at Best Chevrolet to reach out personally and speak with **** ******.
Sincerely, 
****** *****

9/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/03/2013 I took my gmc truck to best chevtolet for a simple oil change. They placed the truck in the last stall in the shop out of view and an hour latter in comes the service guy to show me a big problem.A big leak in transmission line,fluid all over the floor.My truck is parked inside at home ,no such fluid on floor.They either did this on purpose or while working on truck.I was charged 357.10.I was ripped off,maybe because of my age or this is a common business practice for them.The manager and the Tech. acted very suspicious about the wholt thing.

Desired Settlement: A refund would nice.

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this matter to my attention.

I have reviewed this matter and spoken with those involved. The assertions by this customer are inaccurate.

The customer came in for an oil change. During the oil change the mechanic noticed a leak on transmission line. They pointed out to customer and actually took him and showed him the hose in question. The customer agreed and approved the replacement of the hose. As for "fluid on the ground" - yes, there may have been oil on ground, this is common during oil change as oil from filter often spills on ground. No one said it was fluid from transmission.


I have attached photos of the hose in question for review. We save old parts from vehicle.

Bottom line, no one forced the customer to have hose replaced, it was his decision to authorize such repairs. Therefore, reimbursement for such services is an unreasonable request. As a gesture of goodwill, we would be glad to extend to him a free oil and filter change at his next required interval.

Thank you, 

*** *****