BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Anderson Ford Mazda

Phone: (864) 225-4157 Fax: (864) 225-7799   http://www.andersonfordmazda.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anderson Ford Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anderson Ford Mazda include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 30, 2009 Business started: 09/23/2009 in SC Business incorporated: 07/15/2009 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Parks, Owner Mr. Bill Hall, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Hall, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dan Parks, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your complaint is:I test drove a 2012 ford fusion from this dealership. The salesman "*** " said this particular vehicle was the only one at the dealership he could get a loan approved for me. Not just the year, make & model. I'm saying THIS EXACT car was the only one he could finance for me. The salesman brought the car up to the showroom and my wife test drive it. I looked all over the car inside and out. Very nice car, and I needed a vehicle fast for my wife " whose a full time college student". So we draw up papers and come to an agreement. I know everything about my loan details so I sign..... However , the salesman locked my keys in my car so I had to return the next morning to get it. As I get the car, I have no issues as I drive off. About 7 days later. " yesterday " I get a call from the dealership saying I need to come by and swap cars because THEY put me in the wrong car. As my wife and I go back and see the car I actually signed for, I'm very displeased. The cars interior and exterior is different completely. The car has scratches inside and on the paint job. The car I test drove was a much better car all around with 36,000 miles instead of the car we "so called" bought with 40,499 miles. So I'm stuck with a car payment in a vehicle I've NEVER seen or driven until 7 days into the loan. I have argued and asked to redue my loan numbers and make this correction fair. The loan officer and salesman both agreed that it was their fault for the transaction and said they can't do anything about this because the loan had gone thru. Please tell me that I can get this taken care of, because I'm sick to my stomach about this whole thing. I can't beleive that this had happened.

Desired Settlement: Rip up this loan and give my motorcycle trade back and I'll take my business elsewhere. I'm very dissatisfied with the way I was treated and scammed.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond.  This was an honest mistake as the two vehicles were the same year, make, and model, and color.  The vehicle that was contracted and the VIN # on the customers paperwork from the beginning was on the vehicle that they are driving currently.  They are in the correct vehicle now and the bank funded on that vehicle.  There is unfortunately no option to change that paperwork however we have offered to take care of putting a protective coating on the interior of the vehicle which is a $300 value and take care of the scratches and a year of free oil changes all for free to the customer as it was an honest mistake by the salesperson and we want to make it right by our customers within reason.  I am definitely willing to work with this customer and remedy this situation outside of changing vehicles as that is just not an option once we are funded from the lender and have submitted the tag and title paperwork.  Thank you again for this opportunity to respond.  This customer may contact me directly any time at ************.

 
**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/15/2013 I took my Ford truck to be serviced for engine light on b/c vct solenoid stuck open and timing incorrect. The so-called service advisor **** called next day saying the vct solenoid needed to be replaced and would not be covered under my extended warranty. They replaced solenoid for $250 and then informed me the truck was still having the same problem and wanted me to pay for 6 hours of labor to tell me what was wrong with the truck. I then came and picked up the truck and took it to a real mechanic. The vct solenoid was stuck open due to timing being incorrect which was caused from a broken timing guide rod on Bank 1. During this process, I received 3 different stories from the personnel at Anderson Ford. The mechanic told me he thought the cam phasers were bad and might be causing the timing problem. After numerous attempts to contact the service manager and/or director, I finally spoke w/ the service manager and he then proceeded to give me not only an attitude and arrogance, also a 4th story about the service of the truck and why the vct solenoid was replaced. He lastly claimed that the vct solenoid was broke, but this was the first I had heard that. This is a FORD service provider/dealer and you would think they would know the proper way to diagnose a problem rather than to just start replacing un-necessary parts. At my request the service manager sent me a picture of a part he claims was the part that came out of my truck. But I'm sure it wasn't labeled with my VIN and name on the part. He gave me every excuse in the book to justify their actions instead of taking responsibility for their mistake. After a wasted $250 and 2 days of time, this has been the most pitiful and ridiculous vehicle service as well as customer service I have experienced. It really gives Ford a bad name and reputation. They are representing the company with misinformation and untruths to the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Anderson Ford Mazda to reimburse the cost of repair for the unnecessary repair of the vct solenoid.

Business Response: Anderson Ford Mazda response with complete documentation attached:


This customer brought the vehicle into the service department on 10/15/2013 with a check engine light and rough running concern. The vehicle had a P0012 code (current/continuous). The technician used the Ford IDS to monitor and diagnose the concern with live data. A P0012 code can appear for two reasons, a failed VCT solenoid or a broken timing chain guide. The technician noticed that bank 1 VCT solenoid had been broken at sometime and glued back together with epoxy. The technician started the diagnosis by monitoring the duty cycle of the VCT solenoids. He found that bank 2 VCT solenoid performed to factory specifications but that bank one VCT solenoid was monitoring in a stuck position. The bank 1 VCT solenoid VCTADVERR was always at -16.43 degrees and the VCTDC was at 0.0 degrees. The VCT solenoid adjusts the timing through oil pressure using the cam phaser when demanded. The timing was not adjusting due to the stuck VCT solenoid. The customer's aftermarket warranty company denied the VCT solenoid repair because it was not a covered item. The service advisor then called the customer for the approval to replace the VCT solenoid. The customer approved the repair. After the bank 1 VCT solenoid was replaced the VTCADVERR was still at -16.43 degrees but would change with VTCDC demand. The VCT solenoid was now able to adjust the timing but the timing was still out of specifications causing a rough run situation. The technician then diagnosed that the stuck VCT solenoid had allowed the engine to jump time causing a rough run situation. The service advisor contacted the customer's aftermarket warranty company with the findings. The aftermarket warranty company said the front cover (timing cover) would have to be disassembled for an inspector to evaluate the concern before they would know if the failure was a covered component. The aftermarket warranty company said the customer would have to approve the tear down and if the repair was deemed warrantable they would pay for the repair including the tear down. The customer declined the tear down for the aftermarket warranty to be able to evaluate the timing concern.  There has been only 1 story on our end the whole time.  Being a “certified” Ford repair shop and not an independent garage we must adhere to certain steps that are standard operating procedures based on factory guidelines.  The bottom line is that the repair in question was completed by a Master Certified technician and independently backed up by technical advisors with Ford Motor Company and authorized by the customer.  Any further repair that was needed was subsequently declined by the customers own aftermarket warranty company and then ultimately declined by the customer.  The work in question was performed and therefore there is absolutely no refund due.  Furthermore Anderson Ford works diligently to completely satisfy our customers and maintains a very high customer satisfaction rating through Ford Motor Company, however we do not refund repair work that was done correctly and to specifications because of numerous threats of negative reporting to independent agencies.  Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Quoting the business response "A P0012 code can appear for two reasons, a failed VCT solenoid or a broken timing chain guide." There was nothing wrong with the VCT solenoid and was unnecessarily replaced by Anderson Ford. They improperly diagnosed the vehicle as having a "failed VCT solenoid" when the problem was a broken timing chain guide rod. The cause of the VCT solenoid stuck open was a result from the broken timing chain guide rod. Any mechanic or technician with a working brain knows the VCT solenoid will not properly function if the timing chain guide rod is broken. It's obvious Ford service technician has major problems diagnosing a problem with a vehicle. The repair of the VCT solenoid was not necessary to remedy the problem. After Anderson Ford replaced the VCT solenoid and realized that was not the problem, they should have put the old part back in the vehicle and continued to further investigate. Who knows how many other unnecessary parts they would try to replace before they would actually figure out the problem. I am not satisfied with the response because they have done nothing to remedy the complaint or take any responsibility for their poor unnecessary actions and repeated poor customer service.

Regards,

****** *********



Business Response: Thank you again for the opportunity to respond.  The customer stated "There was nothing wrong with the VCT solenoid and was unnecessarily replaced by Anderson Ford."  This is just not true.  The VCT solenoid was broken and put back together with epoxy glue.  This was the first problem and obvious problem to look for according to Ford specifications.  There is a picture attached of the broken VCT solenoid and the part number matched up with the build date of said vehicle in question.  We obviously strive for customer satisfaction that is why all of our service advisors and technicians spend numerous hours to achieve and maintain "Master Certified" status from Ford Motor Company in their areas of expertise unlike independent garage technicians.  Thanks again for your time and attention to this matter.


**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Anderson Ford never informed me at time of diagnosis that the VCT solenoid was broke. They only stated to me that it failed not that it was broke. This actually came to light through one of their stories I was told afterwards through their so called research into my complaint. The VCT solenoid having epoxy on it has no relevance to this matter. The part was not broken and was working with no problem until the timing chain guide rod broke causing the solenoid to remain open. 

Anderson Ford cannot in any way prove the picture of the part uploaded is the exact part that came out of my truck nor can they prove it wasn't broken at time of removal by the technician. Once again after they unnecessarily replaced the solenoid and did not fix the problem, the customer should have been given the option to have the old part put back in vehicle.

ONCE AGAIN, A BROKEN TIMING CHAIN GUIDE ROD WILL CAUSE THE VCT SOLENOID TO REMAIN STUCK OPEN. LIKE I STATED BEFORE, THE VCT SOLENOID WAS UNNECCESARILY REPLACED.


Regards,

****** *********




8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After experiencing difficulty with the instrument cluster in our 2010 **** Explorer (which ONLY has 58,000 miles), we were advised that it needed to be replaced. We ordered a new instrument cluster and were assured that it was the correct part. I asked specifically if it needed to be programmed, and I was informed that it would have the correct odometer reading and would be programmed to my VIN number directly from the factory. When the part arrived, I was informed that I would have to bring in the old instrument cluster in order to pick up the new one. I turned in my old cluster, and picked up the new one and drove home.After installing the new instrument cluster, the vehicle would no longer start. I called the service department and was advised that the new instrument cluster HAD to be programmed to my keys, and that there was no way that I could install the cluster without bringing it to the dealer. Because I was required to turn in the old cluster, I now have a vehicle that is impossible to start or drive! I will now have to pay to have it towed to the dealer, and feel that this whole ordeal is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: It was not the dealer's fault that I needed a new instrument cluster, but it certainly IS their fault that I am going to have to pay to have my vehicle towed.

Business Response: This was a parts order and an actual error on the**** Parts website which this part was ordered through.  We have contacted the customer and are reimbursing for the tow bill which **** will reimburse for their website error.  We apologize for any inconvenience of our customer that took place.  Thank you


**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and spoke with *** ******* from Anderson Ford Mazda this afternoon.  They have offered to not only reimburse the towing bill, which is $0 due to roadside assistance, but also to reimburse the amount paid to another **** dealer for service.  We are very pleased with the level of service we have received and would like you to consider the complaint resolved!

Regards,

***** ******

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking for a **** ********** at Anderson Ford Mazda. I was looking at a 2011 **** ********** on their lot when I was approached by a salesman. He told me that the vehicle had approximately 25,000 miles on it and that it was priced in the mid twenties. I test drove the vehicle and I was interested. When it came time to talk pricing, they said they were selling it for $41,000. I told them it was out of my price range. They said that they also had a 2008 ********** for sale and that the person that originally wanted the vehicle changed their mind and were bringing it back to the lot. When the vehicle arrived back to the lot, the salesman took me out to see it. We came back in to begin paperwork. He went to another office and came back out and said that the other customer changed his mind and was going to buy the 2008 **********. He said since they had it first that they could buy it. I later found a 2013 ******** on the lot. They allowed me to drive it to an event for approximately 3 hoursand bring it back later so I could decide if I wanted the vehicle. I liked the ******** but still wanted the **********. When I got back to the dealership I noticed that the 2008 ********** was still on the lot. I asked our salesman if the other people had purchased it and he said that they had. He said all paperwork was complete. He said they couldn't take it with them because they did not have insurance on the vehicle??? I ended up buying the ********. The vehicle wasn't detailed on the inside when they turned it over to us. There was still trash and food crumbs inside of it. We told them they could do it on a later date. I noticed approximately 2 days later that the touch screen **** needed to be updated. I followed the instructions via ****'s website and the touch screen froze. It was not usable. My wife called **** and advised them of the issue. **** personnel said that the software should have been updated before the vehicle was sold. I set up an appt on the next

Desired Settlement: Day. We brought the vehicle early and they worked us in. The employee said that he couldn't believe our appt was scheduled so late because their technicians leave before our scheduled appt. The service guy said that **** had a recall and that it came out on the day we purchased the vehicle. They were going to give a loaner because our vehicle would have to stay over nigjt. We met with our old salesman, who we were told to look for. Not enough room for full complaint.

Business Response: I sincerely apologize for any confusion that may have occurred in reference to this customer and our salesperson.  When I became aware of any problems with the ******** that this customer purchased I instructed my management team and the salesperson to make it right as our goal is to take care of our customers.  We installed the hitch for this customer, made them an extra key, and updated the **** system in the vehicle.  While this was getting done we also gave them a loaner vehicle to drive at no cost to the customer.  They have picked the vehicle up and at this time I am not aware of any further issues with this vehicle purchase.  Please feel free to contact me in the future if anything else arises and I will be happy to make it right.


**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response:

******* ***** called and stated his complaint is Resolved.
--

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They sold me a new **** ******. I signed papers and received the car as a done deal.Then 3 weeks later they came got the car back saying they could not get it financed. i never should have been able to leave with the car if it was a done deal...I signed all contracts with **** on 3/16/13 they should have to made honor them.

Desired Settlement: I want the contract honored by Andrson Ford Mazda.

Business Response: Re: Response to Complaint #*******


Thank you for letting me respond  to this complaint from one of our customers ****** ******.

*** ****** did sign papers to purchase a new **** ****** VIN #***************** on 3/9/2013 (Buyers Order attached) and the vehicle was delivered to him on good faith by Anderson Ford Mazda.  *** ****** also signed paperwork (Bailment Agreement attached) that made him aware that Anderson Ford Mazda would attempt to obtain financing for this vehicle on his behalf, however Anderson Ford Mazda does not finance vehicles and the purchase is subject to credit approval and financing by a lending institution.  We do everything in our power to try and obtain this financing as we do not make a dollar until financing is approved, so it is for the benefit of both parties to obtain the financing for the vehicle.  In this case I actually made a call to**** Motor Credit myself as the General Manager to try and obtain that financing and they still would not give the approval.  This took a number of days because the person I needed to speak with who is the Branch Manager was out on vacation and I wanted to take this deal to the manager for *** ******.  When it was recognized that financing was not able to be obtained my management staff made many attempts to contact *** ****** and we were unable to get a call back.  We finally, after many attempts, were able to recover the car on 4/1/2013 at a large expense to the dealership.  The next morning *** ****** finally came into the dealership to speak to us about this.  He at that time asked for his total deposit of $800 back and we gave him his whole deposit back (check attached), although according to the Bailment Agreement that *** ****** signed we were within our rights to charge him for use, mileage, and recovery fees that totaled more than his $800 deposit.  I chose not to do that because in the end we both wanted the same thing and that was to sell and obtain financing for the vehicle and I chose for Anderson Ford Mazda to be the ones to cover all of the expenses not *** ******.

Unfortunately the Desired Settlement requested by *** ****** to honor the contract is not able to be done as financing for the vehicle is not available for *** ****** as per our agreement.  That is why we absorbed all of the costs involved with this transaction and made *** ****** whole by refunding his entire deposit of $800 to him on 4/2/2013.

Thank you,

**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service