Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Anderson Ford Mazda

Phone: (864) 225-4157 Fax: (864) 225-7799 View Additional Phone Numbers 3900 Clemson Blvd, Anderson, SC 29621

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anderson Ford Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Anderson Ford Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2009 Business started: 09/23/2009 in SC Business incorporated 07/15/2009 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Parks, Owner Mr. Bill Hall, General Manager Mr. Randy Zydonik , Parts and Service Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Bill Hall, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Dan Parks, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Locations

  • 3900 Clemson Blvd

    Anderson, SC 29621 (864) 225-4157 (864) 225-4151


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I previously owned a 2014 Ford Focus that I purchased from Anderson Ford Mazda back in September of 2014, which at that time I also purchased GAP insurance on said vehicle. I then traded such vehicle in and purchased a new vehicle from ******** **** ********** back on September 13, 2015. When I made this new purchase, I then proceeded to Anderson Ford Mazda to cancel my GAP insurance contract because I had GAP coverage on my new vehicle. When I went to Anderson Ford, they gave me the run around to where they made me wait to cancel said contract until confirmation concerning my new vehicle came through. I waited for an additional week and took all information back to Anderson Ford so that they could file the necessary paperwork canceling the policy and was told that it would be processed with the end of the month paperwork. I am now going on three (3) months to where I haven't received my refund and every time I reach out to Anderson Ford Mazda, no one knows what is going on. I have called and spoken to the Finance Manager and he said he doesn't have anything else to do with it. I called to see if I could speak with the General Manager of the dealership and he is never available, I called again today and was told by the front desk that the Finance Manager couldn't help me and that the one I should be speaking with is only in the office at the end of the month and their office was in *******. I asked for their number so that I could contact them personally and was told, "That number is not available"!!!!! I feel that I am being given the run around. All I want is the refund from my GAP insurance that is due to me.

Desired Settlement: To receive the balance of my GAP insurance from the date I previously submitted it back on September 13, 2015.

Consumer Response: To ***** ********


This is to notify you that on December 8, 2015 approximately 1:00 pm, I received a call from the company stating that my check was ready. Thank you for whatever you did on my behalf to expedite this matter.  Once again, Thank You!!!


11/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a certified 2015 Lincoln MK Z on October 10, 2015 per my salesman I would received a new set of tires, however once I return home with the tires it was on two and the brand was different. I spoke with ******* **** and her attempted to belittle my knowledge about tires and told me he would not replace two tire just for the name.

Desired Settlement: I would like two new ** ******** tires and gas for the inconvenience of traveling to this place of business.

Business Response: I have been made aware of this situation and this vehicle is currently here in our service department.  I will take care of the other 2 tires and have the vehicle cleaned with a full tank of gas when the customer picks her vehicle up.  If she has any further concerns please do not hesitate to contact me directly.  

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Your complaint is:I test drove a 2012 ford fusion from this dealership. The salesman "*** " said this particular vehicle was the only one at the dealership he could get a loan approved for me. Not just the year, make & model. I'm saying THIS EXACT car was the only one he could finance for me. The salesman brought the car up to the showroom and my wife test drive it. I looked all over the car inside and out. Very nice car, and I needed a vehicle fast for my wife " whose a full time college student". So we draw up papers and come to an agreement. I know everything about my loan details so I sign..... However , the salesman locked my keys in my car so I had to return the next morning to get it. As I get the car, I have no issues as I drive off. About 7 days later. " yesterday " I get a call from the dealership saying I need to come by and swap cars because THEY put me in the wrong car. As my wife and I go back and see the car I actually signed for, I'm very displeased. The cars interior and exterior is different completely. The car has scratches inside and on the paint job. The car I test drove was a much better car all around with 36,000 miles instead of the car we "so called" bought with 40,499 miles. So I'm stuck with a car payment in a vehicle I've NEVER seen or driven until 7 days into the loan. I have argued and asked to redue my loan numbers and make this correction fair. The loan officer and salesman both agreed that it was their fault for the transaction and said they can't do anything about this because the loan had gone thru. Please tell me that I can get this taken care of, because I'm sick to my stomach about this whole thing. I can't beleive that this had happened.

Desired Settlement: Rip up this loan and give my motorcycle trade back and I'll take my business elsewhere. I'm very dissatisfied with the way I was treated and scammed.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond.  This was an honest mistake as the two vehicles were the same year, make, and model, and color.  The vehicle that was contracted and the VIN # on the customers paperwork from the beginning was on the vehicle that they are driving currently.  They are in the correct vehicle now and the bank funded on that vehicle.  There is unfortunately no option to change that paperwork however we have offered to take care of putting a protective coating on the interior of the vehicle which is a $300 value and take care of the scratches and a year of free oil changes all for free to the customer as it was an honest mistake by the salesperson and we want to make it right by our customers within reason.  I am definitely willing to work with this customer and remedy this situation outside of changing vehicles as that is just not an option once we are funded from the lender and have submitted the tag and title paperwork.  Thank you again for this opportunity to respond.  This customer may contact me directly any time at ************.

**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/15/2013 I took my Ford truck to be serviced for engine light on b/c vct solenoid stuck open and timing incorrect. The so-called service advisor **** called next day saying the vct solenoid needed to be replaced and would not be covered under my extended warranty. They replaced solenoid for $250 and then informed me the truck was still having the same problem and wanted me to pay for 6 hours of labor to tell me what was wrong with the truck. I then came and picked up the truck and took it to a real mechanic. The vct solenoid was stuck open due to timing being incorrect which was caused from a broken timing guide rod on Bank 1. During this process, I received 3 different stories from the personnel at Anderson Ford. The mechanic told me he thought the cam phasers were bad and might be causing the timing problem. After numerous attempts to contact the service manager and/or director, I finally spoke w/ the service manager and he then proceeded to give me not only an attitude and arrogance, also a 4th story about the service of the truck and why the vct solenoid was replaced. He lastly claimed that the vct solenoid was broke, but this was the first I had heard that. This is a FORD service provider/dealer and you would think they would know the proper way to diagnose a problem rather than to just start replacing un-necessary parts. At my request the service manager sent me a picture of a part he claims was the part that came out of my truck. But I'm sure it wasn't labeled with my VIN and name on the part. He gave me every excuse in the book to justify their actions instead of taking responsibility for their mistake. After a wasted $250 and 2 days of time, this has been the most pitiful and ridiculous vehicle service as well as customer service I have experienced. It really gives Ford a bad name and reputation. They are representing the company with misinformation and untruths to the consumer.

Desired Settlement: I would like Anderson Ford Mazda to reimburse the cost of repair for the unnecessary repair of the vct solenoid.

Business Response: Anderson Ford Mazda response with complete documentation attached:

This customer brought the vehicle into the service department on 10/15/2013 with a check engine light and rough running concern. The vehicle had a P0012 code (current/continuous). The technician used the Ford IDS to monitor and diagnose the concern with live data. A P0012 code can appear for two reasons, a failed VCT solenoid or a broken timing chain guide. The technician noticed that bank 1 VCT solenoid had been broken at sometime and glued back together with epoxy. The technician started the diagnosis by monitoring the duty cycle of the VCT solenoids. He found that bank 2 VCT solenoid performed to factory specifications but that bank one VCT solenoid was monitoring in a stuck position. The bank 1 VCT solenoid VCTADVERR was always at -16.43 degrees and the VCTDC was at 0.0 degrees. The VCT solenoid adjusts the timing through oil pressure using the cam phaser when demanded. The timing was not adjusting due to the stuck VCT solenoid. The customer's aftermarket warranty company denied the VCT solenoid repair because it was not a covered item. The service advisor then called the customer for the approval to replace the VCT solenoid. The customer approved the repair. After the bank 1 VCT solenoid was replaced the VTCADVERR was still at -16.43 degrees but would change with VTCDC demand. The VCT solenoid was now able to adjust the timing but the timing was still out of specifications causing a rough run situation. The technician then diagnosed that the stuck VCT solenoid had allowed the engine to jump time causing a rough run situation. The service advisor contacted the customer's aftermarket warranty company with the findings. The aftermarket warranty company said the front cover (timing cover) would have to be disassembled for an inspector to evaluate the concern before they would know if the failure was a covered component. The aftermarket warranty company said the customer would have to approve the tear down and if the repair was deemed warrantable they would pay for the repair including the tear down. The customer declined the tear down for the aftermarket warranty to be able to evaluate the timing concern.  There has been only 1 story on our end the whole time.  Being a “certified” Ford repair shop and not an independent garage we must adhere to certain steps that are standard operating procedures based on factory guidelines.  The bottom line is that the repair in question was completed by a Master Certified technician and independently backed up by technical advisors with Ford Motor Company and authorized by the customer.  Any further repair that was needed was subsequently declined by the customers own aftermarket warranty company and then ultimately declined by the customer.  The work in question was performed and therefore there is absolutely no refund due.  Furthermore Anderson Ford works diligently to completely satisfy our customers and maintains a very high customer satisfaction rating through Ford Motor Company, however we do not refund repair work that was done correctly and to specifications because of numerous threats of negative reporting to independent agencies.  Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Quoting the business response "A P0012 code can appear for two reasons, a failed VCT solenoid or a broken timing chain guide." There was nothing wrong with the VCT solenoid and was unnecessarily replaced by Anderson Ford. They improperly diagnosed the vehicle as having a "failed VCT solenoid" when the problem was a broken timing chain guide rod. The cause of the VCT solenoid stuck open was a result from the broken timing chain guide rod. Any mechanic or technician with a working brain knows the VCT solenoid will not properly function if the timing chain guide rod is broken. It's obvious Ford service technician has major problems diagnosing a problem with a vehicle. The repair of the VCT solenoid was not necessary to remedy the problem. After Anderson Ford replaced the VCT solenoid and realized that was not the problem, they should have put the old part back in the vehicle and continued to further investigate. Who knows how many other unnecessary parts they would try to replace before they would actually figure out the problem. I am not satisfied with the response because they have done nothing to remedy the complaint or take any responsibility for their poor unnecessary actions and repeated poor customer service.


****** *********

Business Response: Thank you again for the opportunity to respond.  The customer stated "There was nothing wrong with the VCT solenoid and was unnecessarily replaced by Anderson Ford."  This is just not true.  The VCT solenoid was broken and put back together with epoxy glue.  This was the first problem and obvious problem to look for according to Ford specifications.  There is a picture attached of the broken VCT solenoid and the part number matched up with the build date of said vehicle in question.  We obviously strive for customer satisfaction that is why all of our service advisors and technicians spend numerous hours to achieve and maintain "Master Certified" status from Ford Motor Company in their areas of expertise unlike independent garage technicians.  Thanks again for your time and attention to this matter.

**** ****
General Manager
Anderson Ford Mazda

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Anderson Ford never informed me at time of diagnosis that the VCT solenoid was broke. They only stated to me that it failed not that it was broke. This actually came to light through one of their stories I was told afterwards through their so called research into my complaint. The VCT solenoid having epoxy on it has no relevance to this matter. The part was not broken and was working with no problem until the timing chain guide rod broke causing the solenoid to remain open. 

Anderson Ford cannot in any way prove the picture of the part uploaded is the exact part that came out of my truck nor can they prove it wasn't broken at time of removal by the technician. Once again after they unnecessarily replaced the solenoid and did not fix the problem, the customer should have been given the option to have the old part put back in vehicle.



****** *********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Anderson Ford Mazda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart