Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Phone: (864) 345-8180 Fax: (864) 573-7115 View Additional Phone Numbers 210 S. Daniel Morgan Avenue, Spartanburg, SC 29306 http://www.maaco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2006 Business started: 04/03/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Revenue
300 A Outlet Point Blvd, Columbia SC 29210
https://www.sctax.org
Phone Number: 803-898-5000

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Culver, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Culver, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Framtiden, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 210 S. Daniel Morgan Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29306 (864) 345-8180

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Macco complete repairs on my car, during the estimate I had opted to have my pin strip added back after the paint was applied. I returned to drop the car off and was offered to have the color changed nothing was said about pin strips, I opted to change the color of the car. 5 days later I picked the car up paid the tab and went home. I was filing the receipt and noticed I had a charge for $30 for pin strips. I contacted a ******* ********* with my concern, he stated they would add the pin strip the following day, I asked for a refund instead. He never acknowledged my request for a refund. I requested a refund several times with no response from *******. It has now been 2 weeks since my last request for a refund with no response.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $30 refunded to me for services not wanted.

Business Response: As the owner operator of Maaco of Spartanburg, I was very disappointed that ******* ******'s request was not handled properly.

I contacted Ms. ****** yesterday (2/15) and advised her that a check will be sent to her immediately.
The $30.00 check has been sent to her at the address she provided.

Sincerely,

******* ** ******
Maaco of Spartanburg
*** ** ****** ****** Ave.
***********, SC  29306

3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1998 **** *** to Maaco to have it painted on February 24, 2015 and was told it would be ready for pickup on February 27th (4 days). For the most part the car looked ok. However, after closer inspection there was paint runs and other areas that required more work. My second pickup date was March 3rd. There was still areas that needed painting and I was able to get my car on March 5th. I went back on March 7th after noticing that the front tag frame caps ($4.23) were missing and the frame for the rear tag ($14.99) was missing. ******* ask me he would call me Monday March 9th after he speak to one of his workers. He never called so I called him. He said the worker did not come to work and he will call me on the 10th. He called around 9am to say they were looking for the frame. I went back to their shop at noon and was told that they could not locate the frame but were willing to pay for half the cost. I did not have half of a frame when my car was left with them and all I wanted was the frame or for them to replace it. I had already priced the frame at ******* **** @ $14.99 and asked them to write me a check for $16 to cover the taxes. They refused but wanted me to make another trip to ******* **** and back to them with a receipt after I purchased one. I asked them to either give me the $16 or send one of their employees to ******* **** with me and let them buy it. I did not want to spend more gas and time running back and forth to their place. I was told by ******* that it is not his business and he could not help me.

Desired Settlement: They can either send me a check for $20 to cover the replacement of the rear tag frame and the caps for my front tag frame tag.

Business Response: Attached please see a copy of the check I am sending to *** *****.

Unfortunately, we did somehow lose *** ***** "license frame". We took the situation to hold a meeting with our team to remind them of the importance of tracking parts removed from vehcle in our care. I must also note, as he failed to mention, *** ***** was given a $153.00 discount in the price to paint his vehicle.
However, when *** ***** was here on Tuesday the 10th, I as the owner and check issuer, was not free to immediately issue him a check. 
My employee, ******* ********* suggested he go purchase the replacement frame and bring us back the receipt, at which time I might be free to issue him a check or we would send it to him.
Apparently, *** ***** could not wait and went home to write his complaint.
Upon sending this $20.00 check to *** *****, we consider this case closed.
Sincerely,
******* ** ******
Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Spartanburg, SC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ***** **


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)