Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Phone: (864) 232-2811 Fax: (864) 233-9114 View Additional Phone Numbers 350 North Pleasantburg Drive, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.Maaco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 06, 1996 Business started: 06/10/1999 Business incorporated 05/27/1999 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Revenue
300 A Outlet Point Blvd, Columbia SC 29210
https://www.sctax.org
Phone Number: 803-898-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Luke McClatchey, President Mr. Monique McClatchey, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Luke McClatchey, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting


Additional Locations

  • 350 North Pleasantburg Drive

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 232-2811

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Macco look at our 1999 Mustang GT to get a new body kit installed and the whole car repainted. We received 2 estimates and worked it out to take the car in to be completed- they said in about 7-10 days. I bought the body kit brand new and it was inspected upon arrival and was brand new. We delivered the car and the new body kit in the box to Maaco. Macco had our car for 10 days. We called a couple of times to check on the progress and they stated it was good. On day 10 that Macco had our car they called us and stated that they were not able to complete the job as previously stated and wanted us to come pick up our car or take it to another shop to get the body kit installed. We stated that we would come get the car and body kit. Macco had taken the emblems off the car and charged us 120.00 to get them back. They had written in marker on the mustang back bumper that had no clear coat on it- return to customer across the whole back bumper and window. It was only needed on the window- I think they were purposely being malicious doing it on the back bumper because we were upset they kept the car that long and lied to us the whole time- not to mention damaging our products we brought to them. It took an hour with a magic eraser to get that off our back bumper. When we picked up the body kit it was obvious that they had worked on it. There was evidence of heat gun usage, it was bent and warped and there was a hole that had been poorly repaired in the back bumper. Took the car and kit to another shop and found out it will cost 400.00 to repair the back bumper before it can even be installed. My husband and I have repeated attempted to call and go to the shop to talk to the manager or owner and always get the runaround. Talked with the manager once and he gave me the run around and told me that he would have the owner contact me- No call ever came. The shop damaged my new car kit and held my car for 10 days and then charged me 120.00 to get the car emblems back that they took off and did not put back on. They will not even talk to me in person or take my calls.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $120.00 for the emblems and $400.00 reimbursement for the repair needed to back bumper after your shop damaged it.

Business Response:

I am not sure the attachment will open correctly. I may need to fax it in to you.

Tiffany Helms dropped the 1999 Mustang off at Maaco Collision Repair in Greenville on August 8th, 2015. The bumpers and body kit were supplied by customer. As we tried to understand how to mount the supplied parts, we decided it was not something we could do sccuessfully. No mounting hardware was supplied with the body kit, nor were there any mounting holes in the kit. We are not comfortable with fabricating parts for mounting parts to a vehicle for safety and cosmetic reasons. In an effort not to create a bad or worse situation with *** *****, we decided it was best to advise her to take to the body kit to a company that installs aftermarket body kits to insure it was done correctly and securely. The rear bumper came to us with repairs previously done to it, that was another deciding factor. Maaco in not way performed any repairs to the rear bumper. When the Mustang came to Maaco, the gentleman that dropped off the car put the rear bumper in the Mustang. Upon removing the rear bumper from the vehicle, it was not straight.  With regard to the emblems, we always have the emblems restored immediately in an effort to keep the repair process moving forward. The emblems were completed and the charge was $120, as was stated on the repair order.

Certainly, Maaco does not want frustrated customers and we are willing to accommodate the customer in any way that is reasonable. Unfortunately, we can not install the supplied body kit as it is not a factory set and will not mount according to  the factory recommended procedures.

Please let me know what I can do to help the situation for *** *****.

Thank you,

**** **********, owner

Maaco of Greenville

 

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In picking up a car after being serviced, we discovered after the charge had been paid that the interior of the vehicle was soiled and that parts of the exterior had noticeable paint specks. The store manager refused to acknowledge the situation or correct it, even after one of his employees inspected the vehicle and acknowledged our claims.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of expense incurred in having the vehicle cleaned.

Business Response:  This response is in reference to the complaint on the 2008 ******* that was repaired for **** *****, see attached repair order.

MAACO removed and repaired the rear bumper cover on the ******* van. After the paint work was complete the rear bumper cover was then re-installed and customer was notified it was complete and ready for pick up. The van itself was not involved in the repair process, only the bumper. Not likely the any of all of the debris was created by our staff. We understand *** ***** was upset with the interior of the van, we offered to clean, he refused.

With regard to the $200 bill to clean, we do not believe that is an acceptable solution when MAACO offered to clean the van at no charge. Our offer to clean still stands and would like the opportunity to do this for *** *****. 

Sincerely,

**** **********
Owner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

**** *****  

MAACO: "This response is in reference to the complaint on the 2008 ******* that was repaired for**** *****, see attached repair order."

The repair order that was attached indicates estimated pricing at $565. That was not the estimated price. Although I was not given a printed copy of the estimate, my notes indicate that the estimate was about $350.

MAACO: "MAACO removed and repaired the rear bumper cover on the ******* van. After the paint work was complete the rear bumper cover was then re-installed and customer was notified it was complete and ready for pick up. The van itself was not involved in the repair process, only the bumper. "

There is no dispute that the rear bumper was painted. As I told the staff several times, the bumper looks quite good.

 

MAACO: "Not likely the any of all of the debris was created by our staff. We understand *** ***** was upset with the interior of the van, we offered to clean, he refused. "

1.     It is difficult to believe that paint dust would be present inside a vehicle prior to its arrival at a paint shop.

2.     Upon examination of the vehicle at the shop and in the presence of Maaco staff, multiple scuffs and significant amounts of ambient paint dust were noted in the vehicle’s interior, as well as paint specks on the exterior of the right rear door. Photos taken in the staff’s presence document this soilage.

3.     An offer to clean the vehicle was made only after 30 minutes of argument and only on the staff’s condition that the cleaning be done the following week. The vehicle’s interior was such that it required cleaning prior to any use, as evidenced by paint dust on my wife’s clothing after driving the vehicle home.


MAACO: "With regard to the $200 bill to clean, we do not believe that is an acceptable solution when MAACO offered to clean the van at no charge. Our offer to clean still stands and would like the opportunity to do this for *** *****. "
The vehicle was cleaned the next day at a local detail shop, the timing of which is explained. While Maaco staff never quoted a specific price for cleaning the vehicle, they also never stated that it would be cleaned at no charge.



 

Business Response:

In an effort to resolve this issue quickly, I will pay the $200 cleaning fee upon receipt of cleaning invoice. Please forward invoice to BBB via this website.

At that time I will mail a check to:

 **** *****

  **** ******* ******

   *********** ** *****

 

Thank you,

 

 

**** **********MAACO in Greenville

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am grateful for the business owner's willingness to resolve the matter, and I will consider this to be resolution in full of my complaint.

Regards,

**** *****

6/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had our car painted by Macco and was suppose to have 4 year warranty. It has been three years and the paint has faded and is peeling off. We carried it to them and they told us it was a pro-rated warranty. We were never told that and was not given anything in writing about the warranty. They told us it was printed on wall, but we did not read the wall. If we knew it was pro-rated, we would have taken it back sooner because the problem started sooner than three years. They want to charge us $700 dollars for a new paint job with remainder of warranty (6 months)the only one we will have. We feel they should be responsible for the whole paint job. They need to explain the warranty to all customers and give them something in writing stating the warranty is pro-rated. The man at Macco stated "You got three years out of it." I told him it was warrantied for 4 years not three. He also told us they were having problems with fading so they adjusted the paints they use. The fading was caused by something they did, so it should be covered 100%.

Desired Settlement: We would like them to repaint our car and replace decals at zero cost to us.

Business Response:

*** *******,

I responded to the complaint via email and sent to you and my customer's email attached to the complaint.
In short, we want the opportunity to repair the warranty issue at no cost to the costumer and hopefully salvage the relationship between MAACO and the customer.

Please let me know what I need to do next.

Thank you as always,

**** **********
MAACO in Greenville

Business Response:  To all concerned:

Here at MAACO we offer several different paint services with different levels of warranty and durability. As part of the warranty, the first half of the warranty is 100%, the second half is prorated.

That being said, MAACO in Greenville would like to repair the warranty issues at no cost to the customer. We appreciate the business and do not want to sacrifice the relationship. We understand the frustration this has caused and would like to make the rest of your experience as easy and friendly as possible.

Please contact me,**** **********, at ************ so that we can set up convenient time for you to get this resolved.

I want to apologize for the miscommunication on our part and ultimately your less than perfect experience with the warranty issues.

Thank you for the opportunity to make you happy again.

**** **********, Owner
MAACO in Greenville
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)