Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Jackie Mauldins Collision Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Jackie Mauldins Collision Repair

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 213-1600 Fax: (864) 213-1612 View Additional Phone Numbers 561 Woodruff Road, Greenville, SC 29607


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jackie Mauldins Collision Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jackie Mauldins Collision Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jackie Mauldins Collision Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1965
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Department of Revenue
300 A Outlet Point Blvd, Columbia SC 29210
https://www.sctax.org
Phone Number: 803-898-5000

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jackie Mauldin, President Ms. Becky Barlow, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jackie Mauldin, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Jackie Mauldin Inc

Additional Locations

  • 561 Woodruff Road

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 213-1600

  • PO Box 6494

    Greenville, SC 29606 (864) 213-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday I went into the shop to get a quote on getting a spoiler painted and put on my car, as requested I got the quote and was told that if I left the spoiler there it would get painted then be ready to get put on the car the next day, so I agreed and left the spoiler there. Friday I called the company around 12:00pm to see if the spoiler was ready to get put on and I was told that it had not been painted yet and wouldn't be ready until 5pm that day and was told I could take my car in at that time to have it put on, which I could not do due to the fact that I had work that day so I agreed to go in on Monday Around 11am instead. On Monday I called around 11am to see if the spoiler was ready and was told that it was not and it would be ready around 12pm and I could show up then. When I got there at 12pm they took my car back to have the spoiler put on and after a few minutes they called me back to show me that the spoiler was warped and didn't fit on the car. Upon being shown this I told them that I put the spoiler on my car multiple times before bringing it anywhere to be painted and it fit perfectly, I also told them that I researched the part for my car before purchasing to make sure it was going to fit so I would not have any problems. The mechanic then told me he could heat up the spoiler to bend it and make it fit my car again. It couldn't be done that day because i had to go to work so we agreed that I would go in the next day to have it done. On Tuesday I went in at 11am to have the spoiler put on and again I was taken back into the shop again so they could show me that upon heating the spoiler the paint job got damaged and they would have to re paint it, they also showed me that the spoiler did fit on the car again but it wasn't a perfect fit like when I had gotten it and they would need to re heat it again to bend it some more to get its shape. After They showed me this they said they would have it re painted and ready the next day to be put on. On Wednesday I called the company around 11am again to see if it was ready to get put on and i was told that they had not re painted it yet and it wouldn't be ready until the following day. At this point I was extremely frustrated with all my time that had been wasted on something that was said would be done by the previous Friday. On Thursday i showed up to the place around 10am to finally have to the spoiler put on, I was told that they would need to use heat and put it on my car at the same time and the process would take about 30 minutes. After about 15 minutes of waiting an older gentleman came up to me (Whom I believe was Jackie Mauldin himself but i'm not sure because he never introduced himself) and said that they were having problems putting on my spoiler and he said he would not be liable if it warped and came off the car, to which I said that the spoiler had already gotten warped during the painting process and I didn't think it was fair that if it came off he wouldn't be liable for it. He then tried to tell me that there was no way it could've been warped during the painting process and it was because of the type of spoiler I bought instead. After arguing back and forth for about 5 minutes he got frustrated with me and kicked me out of his shop. As we were arguing I didn't not raise my voice or swear at him so I don't think he had a good reason to kick me out other than the fact that I was younger than him and he felt like he shouldn't have to deal with me. When I got outside they pulled my car around with the spoiler half put on and told me to go somewhere else to get it finished because he wasn't liable for it. I refused to leave until they took the part of the spoiler that they put on completely off. They did take the spoiler off but left it in a way to where it was too damaged to put back on again. I am furious that after a week of dealing with that company I am left with a damaged spoiler and can not return it to get my $187 back and that the situation was handled in a very unprofessional way.

Desired Settlement: I want a replacement spoiler or a reimbursement of the $187 i paid for it and an apology for treating me unfairly by kicking me out

Business Response: We have received the complaint filed by *** ****** and wish to respond to his concerns. Our goal is to provide every customer with the highest quality work at a fair price. In this situation we had an employee who failed to properly communicate an important issue concerning *** ******'s spoiler for his car. *** ****** brought an after-market spoiler to our shop to be painted and installed on his car. Our employee, *****, handled this customer and should have told *** ****** the potential differences in after-market parts and original manufacturers parts. We try to communicate this with our customers in every situation like this but we are human and sometimes we forget. After-market parts are less expensive than original manufacturers parts and in some cases do not fit or have the endurance of OEM parts. This is especially true of parts that have to be painted and baked in a paint booth. The heat from the baking process has an effect on some after-market parts that can cause warping or shrinkage. This possibility should have been relayed to *** ****** at the beginning of our conversations. We apologize for our failure to make this clear to the customer. This is what happened with *** ******'s spoiler and resulted in a poor fit that would not be indicative of our quality of work. ***** did call  *** ****** several times to discuss the problems that we were having with his spoiler and what might be done to remedy the problem. We did try to heat the spoiler and reshape it to fit the car without success several times. Another concern was that if the spoiler was installed that rising temperatures this summer would cause the spoiler to come off the car. It is our belief that this is a defect with the part itself and that *** ****** should attempt to return this part to the place it was purchased. We followed standard procedures during the refinishing and installation of the spoiler and nothing in our process should have caused this to happen other than a defect with the part. We can not take responsibility for after-market parts and their performance. We strongly believe that an OEM part would not have responded in the same manner. We don't doubt ******'s claim that the spoiler fit before we refinished it and tried to install it however this is before it went through the refinishing and baking process. The company who sold *** ****** the spoiler should recognize that the spoiler is somehow defective and should refund *** ******'s purchase. We did not charge *** ****** for refinishing the spoiler and did not complete the installation because we knew that it would not be satisfactory to our customer, now or in the future. To give an example of the difference in after-market parts and OEM you must look at the cost. *** ****** stated that he paid $187 for the after-market spoiler that he purchased however an OEM spoiler costs $423. There is a difference in the quality of materials that are used in the two types of parts.

We would welcome the opportunity to sit down with a representative of the Better Business Bureau and *** ****** to discuss what could reasonably be done to resolve this dispute. We have been in business for many years our goal is to always satisfy our customers. We look forward to finding a positive solution that will be good for all parties involved.
Jackie Mauldin's Collision Repair