BBB Accredited Business since

Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps

Phone: (518) 393-2274 View Additional Phone Numbers 836 Troy Schenectady Rd, Latham, NY 12110

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential elevators, chairlifts, stairlifts, wheelchair lifts, and scooters.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 16, 2004 Business started: 10/01/1999 in NY Business started locally: 10/01/1999 Business incorporated 07/23/2007 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Terry Farrigan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terry Farrigan, Owner
Business Category


Products & Services

Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps sells the following brand(s): Acorn, Bruno, Concord, Harmar, Prairie View, Pride, Savaria, Sterling, Summit, TKAccess

Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps offers the following product(s): Chair Lifts, Elevators, Ramps, Reclining Lift Chairs, Scooter Lifts, Scooters, Stairlifts, Van Lifts, Vertical Lifts

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check or Credit Cards
Alternate Business Names
EazyLift Albany, LLC. EazyLift Elevators
Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

  • 836 Troy Schenectady Rd

    Latham, NY 12110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 5th 2014 I dropped off two stair lifts for their Buyback Program. Previously to this drop off date I communicated with this business via email. When I dropped the stair lifts off they woman at this business implied within a few weeks we should receive a check for $400-$450 for each stair lift pending inspection by their technicians. At no point in our communications with this business prior to or when we dropped off the chair lifts was I told I would have to wait until the stair lifts were sold to receive our check. After six (plus) months I received the check for the first stair lift and now virtually a year later are still wafting for the second check. That involved at least two emails to this business prior to receiving the first check. This business scammed/lied/mislead us by never implying that there was a requirement for someone to buy before buyback money was received. The receipt we received upon dropping the chair lifts off nor the communication emails prior to drop off had no mention of this.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive the check (minimum of $400) for the second stair lift since I was horribly mislead and never informed of the requirement for someone to purchase the stair lifts before the buyback money to be issued.

Business Response: ******, 

I have received your BBB information and am looking into this.  I did receive a call about this since you dropped them off so this is the first i have heard of any issue.
You had my email why wouldn't you just have emailed me and i could have figured it out quickly for you.  We are a good reputable company and are not in the business of scamming people as you stated and certainly not over $400.  That comment is both incorrect and hurtful to all of the employees that work so hard for our customers.
The office is currently closed for the weekend but i will look into this w/ the accounting department and get back through the bbb site and by email on Monday morning.  I am sure this was a simple over site by the accounting department and a little research will get it resolved.  Please except to hear back from me on Monday.
Thank you for your patience.

Business Response: We have mailed the customer out a buyback check for the $400 that was over sited.  I also called the customer to let her know and listed to the feedback she offered.  This was a simple over site by the accounting department and was easily fixed with a quick phone call.  The customer stated they would go online and enter that they were satisfied when the check arrives.

Thank you for your help.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  In my opinion it is unfortunate  that we had to take it to this level in order to get our money.  It is not a buyback program but a consignment agreement.  It is not acceptable to wait one year to get our  money.


****** ********

5/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: EAZYLIFT:1.Defrauded us, in our opinion, by keeping the brand new unused parts paid for by us without letting us know and without our permission. These rails with their appropriate installation kits may be useful to us in future as mentioned above and amount to a lot of money. (approx. $2700.00 for all, if re-installed by dealership separately and like a new installation).2.Very bad maintenance and the destruction of our perfectly working, almost new stair lift, thereby resulting (apart from our mental anguish) in our paying excessive unnecessary labor costs as follows:a.Excessive wrong use of black gritty calcium grease in place of the recommended white smooth creamy Lithium grease (P/N 2010-I).b.Mangling of the charging fingers causing the charging copper system to become damaged. This happened during the first EAZYLIFT paid service call in trying to determine the cause of the malfunction.c.Wrong diagnosis about the gear wheels becoming faulty and calling for their replacement; now confirmed as unnecessary.d.Inconsistent fluctuating labor charges without proper analysis. e.Unprofessional behavior towards unsuspecting senior citizens, thereby totally betraying the trust we put in them.3.To reiterate, when the lifts were installed, I was NOT aware of the standard package contents (paid by me) from BRUNO and about which EAZYLIFT kept quiet. EAZYLIFT has betrayed my trust and in my opinion fraudulently took my property without my knowing about it. However, EAZYLIFT did leave the left over unused parts of the manual folding rail paid ($700) in addition by me. WHY ONLY FOR THIS FOLDING RAIL?Our (apart from our mental anguish) Financial Loss (LABOR only plus estimated value loss of our paid for property):1.Paid to EAZYLIFT for faulty diagnosis and damage to our rail copper charging strips and charging fingers Labor = $220.002.Paid to the New Dealership for repairing the lift damaged by EAZYLIFT a.Installing new fingers/diagnosis/new wheel set/ NEW CHARGING SYSTEMLABOR = $365.00Total Labor = $585.003.In addition theft in our opinion of our paid for unused property (rails and installation kits) without our knowledge and permission = estimated value with installation (dealer installed only to keep the warranty) = $2700.00 rails.Stair lifts are supposed to be for the elderly and persons with disability. The primary goal of Stair Lift companies is to provide assistance and support for the elderly/disabled for better living. How could a company like EAZYLIFT with such an unprofessional attitude become a dealer in this field of business?In summary, my wife and I are totally disgusted with the way EAZYLIFT conducts their business and exploits senior defenseless citizens (as has happened in our case).

Desired Settlement: Refund us all expenses incurred by us including the cost of our appropriated property and an apology in writing. Please see the fax sent separately with pictures of damaged parts

Business Response: Thank you for the notice.

The customer has filed a complaint w/ the attorney general so why he would now contact the BBB is beyond me.  
The customer signed his receipt and paid in full stating the length of the rail.  The lifts are cut to fit no where did it state did he ask for the additional rail to be left it was disposed of as previously stated.  The customer was not under warranty and insisted we supply labor free of charge when he did not like that response he went the manufacturer of the lift and bashed our company to them and when they told him we had a right to charge for service, he decided to take this route.  We had previously ordered parts for him which we sent to him at no cost and he hired and PAID a second company to come and fix the lift when he refused to pay us which makes no sense.  He is ok paying a second company and now he wants us to reimburse him for that expense and wants us to believe that the new company which is getting paid to service his lift did not due the damage.  There is no way to prove who did what and when it happened.  This is the case of a person trying to get something for nothing.  As far as the refund for the rail, they are cut to fit the steps and then the rest is disposed of it was 15 months later and due to a service call fee that he then brought that up that he wanted the track.  No customer has ever asked for the cut off piece of track, is that really what this is about something that has a value of $30 at a scrap yard?
We installed two lifts which the customer has paid for and has used and is using so i am not sure where at all is the claim coming from?  They were installed almost 2 years ago and now he wants 1/2  his money back?  It doesn't even make sense.  
He was unhappy with EazyLift due to the charge when his warranty ran out but yet paid another company for the same service which is his choice and his right as a consumer.  We supplied what he paid for and he got what he paid for, the fact that we would not provide something for free is his issue it's about the money and we are not a charity we are a a business.  You can't go around emailing people and bashing them to the manufacturer and expect them to show up with a happy face and get what you want.  Once he crossed that line, i referred him back to the manufacturer to find a service company he would be happy with, which he did and yes he paid for that service, again where is the issue here?
We have forwarded the Attorney General complain to our attorneys are they will address it from there.  As previously stated via email, i wished the customer the best, it's sad to see that he has taken this route, we are a company that helps over 500 people a year but i guess if out of 500+ a year if we have one unhappy customer we've done pretty well.  So today instead of helping customers, i am wasting time, energy and emotion on responding to something that had he paid for the service call with us would have been closed long ago.  If you call for service you have to pay for it which of course he was happy to do with a new company.
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Please see attachment for full details.

To resolve this we are suggesting the following course of action:

  1. Reimburse us the estimated value of our appropriated paid for property as mentioned above in our attachment or alternatively send us the 3 brand new rails with their associated gear racks/installation kits. These you will procure from ***** with shipping cost to be paid by you. We require these rails for emergency purposes.

  2. Reimburse us the total amount of $585.00, our actual labor cost incurred and for which we hold you totally accountable and responsible.

Thank you.


********* ***** *****

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Via telephone on 10/14/13, I ordered an Access Unlimited electric car seat exit and entry system from *** ***** ********, Eazylift, Latham,N.Y. In 10/17/13, I was advised that the lead time for acquisition and installation would be 2-3 weeks. I agreed to that condition and on 10/17/13 my ******** **** account was charged $5050.00 for this understanding. Instead of 2 week, almost 2 MONTHS have transpired and the car seat has NOT been installed. I have repeatedly followed up with Eazylift, by e-mail and by phone, and have been repeatedly told, just "2 more weeks ". My latest e-mail, 12/05/13, which also went to *** *** **** at Access Unlimited, 570 Hance Road, **********, N.Y., has gone unanswered---by either enterprise. I'm 79, my wife is 82 and suffers from ************ ********** *** ******** and I've had to cancel and reschedule her 11/14/13 and her 12/12/13 appointments with her Geriatric Specialist, *** ***** ********, New Hartford,N.Y. Her handicaps and my replaced joints ( and those needed ) make it impossible for us to transport her. The device that was described to us ( vocally and by video ) seemed to be what we need and we're disappointed ans discouraged that Eazylift has defaulted on their commitment. Any and all that you might do to urge Eazylift and Access Unlimited to be good for their word will be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: An installed, properly operating mechanism ASAP--hopefully, by the end of next week ( 12/15/13 ) so we can keep some family travel traditions. Worst case, we want our money back. $5050.00 credited to our ******** **** to reverse the charge that appeared in our October bill which we paid in November. I know that would be counter to our needs but if that's what will encourage these 2 businesses to treat their customers fairly and honestly, then I'll do it and shop elswhere.

Business Response: We are working with the manufacturer to resolve this issue or to get a full refund.  We are, as a dealer, unfortunately at the mercy of the manufacturer and we made

commitments to the customer based on promises to us from the manufacturer.  We have a technician on stand by to install the lift and are willing to drive to 
the manufacturer to pick up the lift if needed.
We will update as soon as we know something more concrete.

Consumer Response:

Dear Sir or Madam,
Please do not close this complaint.  Nothing has yet been resolved. Eazylift received a hand delivered mechanism from Access Unlimited on Tuesday, 12/10/13 and sent a technician to my home on Wednesday
12/11/13.  The Eazylift tech, after working from 10:30 A.M. till 7:00 P.M. was unable to install the chair lift into my car. He left my house with the device..

Since then, Eazylift processed a $ 5,050 credit on 12/12/13 to my ******** **** acc't. which ******** still has not acknowledged. ***** ******** told me that I would see the credit in 72 hours, ********
suggested that I call back for confirmation in 15 days---approx. 12/27/13 *** ***** Pres. Access Unlimited, called by phone with an offer to do the installation at his factory.  Eazylift would arrange for delivery of my
van by one of their techs who could be trained and certified during this 1 to 2 day process. The van would then be returned to me with a factory guaranteed installation.  

On 12/14 I e-mail both ***** and *** with my agreement to the proposal and asked for installation " within the next day or two ".  On 12/15 I sent a softer request that it be completed " during the week of 12/16 to 12/20
or I will abandon this car seat from Eazylift and go some place else. I am awaiting *****'s promised e-mail with schedule. Yesterday, she told me that her technicians are usually booked 2 to 3 weeks in advance and that Access Limited had told her that their lead time would be 4 to 6 weeks so it's looking mighty like I'll be doing business with another firm---after I get my money back.
**** ********

Business Response: I'm not sure if there is a delay w/ the correspondence or possibly a miscommunication.  Last i knew, which was the evening of the 17th of December, i let ** ******** know that the manufacturer, not EazyLift would not have an opening in their regular installation bay for 4-6 weeks, we were however ready to pick up his vehicle this morning, we are at the mercy at the manufacturer.  I am attaching the credit card refund directly from Intuit, there is nothing i can do from there about the refund, we have processed it on our end, i think a call to ******** on ** ********* end w/ the transaction ID we provided him would all i can suggest.

I have asked ** ******** to let us pick up the vehicle tomorrow late morning and let our service manager have until Monday to get it installed and he has agreed.  Fingers crossed we are planning on having the vehicle back to ** ******** by Monday, using the manufacturers time slot of Monday/Tuesday as a backup plan in case we run into an issue.

Consumer Response: From: **** ******** <***********************
Date: Mon, Dec 30, 2013 at 1:03 PM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB
To: ***************************

Dear Sir or Madam,
The saga continues.
As reported to you on 12/18/13, my van was taken by Eazylift for installation at their facility in Latham on 12/19/13.

Return was hopefully targeted for return to me on 12/20/13 with worse case return on 12/23/13.  Didn't happen !! When they took my van they did leave a company car for my use. I have a second vehicle so I didn't have to drive around town with their mobile billboard--- I certainly am in no mood to advertise for Eazylift---at least, not in a positive way. Eazylift was unable to install ( claimed parts missing from Access Unlimited ) so drove van to Access on 12/23/13 and returned it to me on 12/24/13----with work still to be done at my house when a seat  becomes available. Supposed to call me today for schedule. Yet to be done.
*  replace seat bottom because of damage done to pressure sensor ( determines force of air bag deployment )
* replace seat back with my original ( have not had an explanation of why the seat back was changed but the one they returned is used and stained  ( body fluids ? ---ugh ! )
* correct leak in hydraulic ram. ( Remove the shop rag that was stuffed under the seat to collect the drips !! )
* the current, unfinished, incomplete condition of the car seat is the result of the collaborative efforts of the manufacturer and the dealer's technical
  personnel yet bears all the marks of a bunch of amateur " shade tree " mechanics.
Throughout this ordeal, I've been repeatedly told that the chair is not suited for application in a Chrysler mini van product----not enough distance between the A pillar and the B pillar. This is painfully obvious when I have 
to contort my wife's legs and feet to clear the seat and the door.  We're learning and adapting but I contend that this device should never be sold for installation in a Chrysler mini van.  An honest, upfront refusal should 
be the ethic employed.  The advertising copy and videos are grossly misleading and should be clarified to remove the deception that it is OK for my brand of mini van.
I'll remain in touch.    Please do not consider this complaint resolved.
Thank you , **** ********

Business Response: ** ********* 

I have received your comments from the Better Business Bureau and based on that i felt it better to converse via email so we have everything on record and there are no misunderstandings.
The seat is due to arrive from the manufacturer tomorrow at some point.  Unfortunately ******s father had a heart attack and is in the hospital at ** ****** awaiting a 5 way by-pass surgery.
I would not expect you to understand that based on the previous history of this installation but the best i can say is that as soon as he is able to get back to work i'll send him out w/ the  replacement and with luck on our side he'll be able to complete the work at your residence at your convenience.
If you need to verify the situation with *****, his direct number is ###-###-####.  Please  confirm receipt of email when you have time.
Thank you in advance & Happy New Year to you and *** *********


***** ********

EazyLift Elevators & Barrier Free Lifts

836 Troy Schenectady Road

Latham, NY  12110        

Ofc: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

EazyLift Elevators Logo                   

Consumer Response:

Dear Sirs and Madams,
Let's put the altar in the middle of the Church, at least from my perspective.
It's now the middle of January ( almost ) and I ordered an Easy Reach for my 2007 Dodge Caravan in the middle of October.
The agreement was installation in 3 to 4 weeks ( *****'s quote ) and it's now almost 4 MONTHS with no operable seat--as a matter of fact, you've managed to disable my van!!
To the best of my recollection, here's the chronology of this pathetic performance by Eazy Lift and Access Unlimited.( e-mail copies available for most events ).

*10/14/13-initial inquiry to Eazy Lift. ( They had satisfactorily installed a stair chair in our home.)
*10/16/13-link from Access Unlimited to see photos and videos of a Generation 7, Easy Reach adaptable to a 1996-2007 Dodge Caravan.
*10/17/13-gave authorization " for a front passenger application in a 2007 Dodge Caravan at $5,050.00"
*10/17/13-acknowledgement from Eazy Lift and a $ 5,050.00 charge to my ******** card.
*11/19/13-request for status
*11/20/13-received copy of e-mail from Eazy Lift to Access Unlimited reminding of Access Unlimited 10/24/13 commitment of 3 weeks.
*11/20/13-notified ***** of reschedule of wife's November appointment and said that I would not reschedule the new December appointment
*11/20/13-*****, " I'll stay on it "
*11/21/13-Thank you. The new Dr. appointment is 12/12/13.
*12/03/13-Reminded ***** that on 11/20/13 **** had said " two more weeks" which would expire tomorrow. Status please.
*12/05/13-Lengthy , detailed complaint to *****, *** and Walt
*12/10/13-*****, "installation set for 12/11/13 "
*12/11/13-**** Burkhart ( Eazy Lift Tech. ) spent all day ( even called for a helper who drove up from Latham with more tools ) unsuccessfully. No installation. Repack unit.
              Asked for a full refund.
*12/11/13-***** " I'll reply by tomorrow P.M."
*12/12/13-no reply from *****. Follow up on refund status.
*12/13/13-phone calls from **** and ***** offering to " install at factory "
*12/13/13-*****, " are you OK with factory installation ?"
*12/14/13-acknowledged copy of refund request by ***** to ********. 
               agreed to the 1 to 2 days at factory as verbalized by *** and Walt.
*12/15/13-factory installation must be completed 12/16/13 - 12/20/13.  Awaiting van pick up.
*12/15/13-*****, " Eazy Lift is completely booked. No techs available for 2 complete days back to back " for work at Access Unlimited.
*12/19/13-van driven from Ilion to Latham.  ***** ( chief service tech ) will work on it himself.   Will try to complete 12/23/13 latest.   Was unable to install.
*12/23/13-van driven from Latham to Access Unlimited.   Collaborative installation by Eazy Lift and Access Unlimited   Van returned to Latham for " final touch ups ".
*12/24/13-van returned to Ilion. Still not done.  Needs seat bottom that contains sensor to control air bag deployment.   ******** charged $ 4,050.00.
*01/02/14-*****, " personnel unavailable " to deliver and install replacement seat bottom. 
*01/05/14-I'll wait.
*01/06/14-***** replaced seat bottom.  Could not resolve " Passenger Air Bag Not On"' warning.   Suggested a Dodge Dealer could reset the computer.
*01/10/14-Wife had DR. appointment.  Had to disable the magnetic door safety circuit to stop the constant alarming  before we could leave the house.   I had to do this once  
               before, after the van was returned on 12/24/13, per telephone advice and instruction from *****. This safety was designed to protect and has to be disabled to make
                it livable.
*01/10/14-Appointment with ******* ****** **** ********** ***** * *********. Waited 10:15 AM to 12:05 PM.  Could not repair.  AIR BAG DOES NOT WORK ! 
               Want to take a ride ? 
*01/10/14-I exercised the seat to see what I just paid $ 4,050 for and found to my horror, ( but not to my surprise ) that there is a major CRACK in a MAJOR component of
               the seat retract mechanism.  The curved segment of the cruciform piece, the segment on which the support bearing rides, has a 1 1/8 inch crack across it's 
               2 1/8 inch dimension !  It appears to be through it's entire thickness.  Really guys, are you beginning to become embarrassed ?  Maybe a hefty law suit will help
               to correct your poor workmanship and deceitful product representation.

     * Misleading advertisements.
     * Wrong application or improperly installed unit that results in great interference, during operation, between the client and the door. ( Your answer has been to remove the
       inner door panel.)
     * Broken promises of delivery, 4 weeks to 4 months and the darn thing still doesn't work---in fact , it has become a dangerous liability.
     * Erratic door safety device. Alarms in the door closed position.
     * Imminent failure of a primary support member with a 53% crack across it's web. This is an accident waiting to happen.!
     * I cannot,  will not,  carry front seat passengers with out a functioning air bag.  This effectively renders my wife home bound,  which is exactly what we were trying to avoid
       4 months ago.
     * My frustration, aggravation and anger grow daily, no hourly !
     * Expenses I insist on recovering------in addition to the refund of the charges to my ******** account.
          12/12/13-Wheelchair transport to Doctor and return                           $ 140.00
          12/19/13-Ilion to Latham                   77.1 miles @ $.555 / mile           $ 42.79
                                                                           tolls                                    2.75
                                                                                                                $ 45.54      
          12/23/13-Latham to Hance Road     145.0 miles @ $.555 / mile           $ 80.48
          12/23/13-Hance Road to Latham     145.0 miles @ $.555 / mile           $ 80.48
          12/24/13-Latham to Ilion                   77.1 miles @ $.555 / mile           $ 42.79
                                                                          tolls                                    2.75
                                                                                                                $ 45.54
          01/10/14-Ilion to Yorkville and return  32.6 miles @ $.555 / mile           $ 18.09
          01/10/14-Air bag service at ******* *****                                        $ 39.15  
          TOTAL                                                                                          $ 309.28

Resolution offered
     * Remove apparatus ( would make a good boat anchor )
     * Restore van to full pre October 2013 safety features.
     * Refund all charges to ********
     * Reimburse $ 309.28
     * Reverse my life to the point where I had never heard of Eazy Lift or Access Unlimited.

Please respond ASAP.
Thank you, **** ********

Business Response: The customer has disputed the charge thru ******** and has been refunded in full.  We'd like to send someone out to remove the disputed item as it has not been paid for.

we have contacted our insurance company as previously stated and they will be in touch to work with ** ******** on replacing his "cracked" seat.
Thank you in advance, 

Consumer Response: Eazy Lift, d/b/a
Barrier Free Systems
836 Troy-Schenectady Road
Latham, N.Y. 12110

Dear Ms. ********

February 24,2014

*** ***** ***** *** ****** **** *****

Not wishing to "beat a dead horse", but in the interest of learning from this 4 months long experience, I enclose pictures that I took of the installation as it was released to me by ***** on ******* ( with the admonishment that I should take the vehicle to a local Dodge dealer for the air bag problem ). I first tried to use the van on the 10th to transport my wife to her specialist and to also fulfill an appointment that I had made with ******* ****** Yorkville, NY when again the darned door interlock alarmed incessantly-which it had done once before on 12124/13,6 hours after ***** had delivered the van to me from Latham---and as before, I had to disable that safety circuit by removing one of the magnetic components. So, at that point, I had a van with a deliberately defective safety system and a non- functioning air bag. That's when I decided to look closely at the apparatus and took the enclosed pictures---not that I'm qualified to understand what I was looking at---and noted several disturbing conditions. 

Photo 1 shows an overall and displays the uneven tracking, the gouges at the start point and the motor hold down bolt ( red head) that Access Unlimited said was not even tightened.
Photos 2 through 5 show what I described as a "crack" in the main bearing member. which Access said was really not a crack---a1though , after they worked on the unit, the "crack" is no longer visible.
Photo 6 shows where I removed one of the door safety magnets-for the second time. 
Photos 7 and 8 show the air bag "off' alarm with the car running and shut off.
And photos 9 and 10 show the interference between the seat and the door.

What have we ( I ) learned.
This device should not be offered for installation in a 2007 Dodge Caravan.
The advertising videos should be of one continuous operation and not the hide the need for leg contortions.
Technicians sent into the field should be adequately trained, experienced and equipped.
( **** had never installed this device and had to send back to Latham for more tools on the day of his first unsuccessful attempt.)
If the unit from Access was deficient, incorrect or lacking parts, this should have been learned by an " incoming inspection ", not at the customer site.
Senior technicians should be adequately trained and experienced. ( ***** damaged the air bag sensor and was the last to work on the seat that presented with the unlocked motor hold down bolt.)
And above all, promises should be kept .. From my simplified perspective, Access took 2months to deliver and Eazy Lift took 2 months to install. I leave it to you and Access to
iron out the specifics but the bottom line is that both organizations have a deserved credibility problem which, as a consumer, I feel obligated to share with the Better Business Bureau in the hopes that a future customer won't have to under go a similar unpleasant experience. 
**** ********
Cc: Better Business Bureau, Inc. ( Upstate N.Y.)
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, N.Y. 14228
Complaint # *******
*** ****** ********* *** ***** **** **********, N.Y. 13903

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eazylift - Elevators, Stairlifts, Wheelchair Lifts & Ramps
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)