BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

123-CCTV.com

Phone: (716) 304-0250 410 Lawrence Bell Dr, Unit 10, Williamsville, NY 14221 http://www.123-cctv.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 123-CCTV.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 123-CCTV.com include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 123-CCTV.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 15, 2011 Business started: 07/09/2009 in NY Business started locally: 07/09/2009 Business incorporated: 07/09/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ray Ansari, President Mr. Dan Hohl, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ray Ansari, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Dan Hohl, Manager
Business Category

SECURITY CAMERAS

Alternate Business Names
Avalonix Group, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 410 Lawrence Bell Dr, Unit 10

    Williamsville, NY 14221

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a video camera that we thought was right according to the few pictures on line. We it arrived, it was not correct, the housing on the back was wrong. I got in touch with the company via email. I sent the item back. When they received it I was told there was damage to it. I emailed them said it was out of the box for a whole minute. Maybe it was damaged prior to shipping it. He assured me it wasn't. I asked him for a refund for the camera only. He emailed me replying their policy, no refunds on damaged goods. So we are out the money for the camera.

Desired Settlement: I would like the public to know about this company and that they are shady. I truly believe the damage happened before it was shipped.

Business Response: BBB spoke to *** at business and the following was relayed:

Customer purchased the video camera on 2/6/14. It was returned to us on 3/4/14. Originally, there was no mention that something was wrong with the video camera. The customer had said they wanted to return it and upgrade to something more expensive. It was returned destroyed, it was no longer functioning. They were advised to file a *** claim. They refused to do so and wanted reimbursement from us.

Business is sending copies of emails between them and customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase a security system from 123 CCTV. I had problems with 1 camera on monitor went black. I sent camera back for replacement. I Received camera back quickly but still did not work. I ask for a RMA to sent back. 123CCTV refused for me to send back. The Co is only open at times I am not available. The email replys I get are very rude. All I want is my camera /cables replaced or fixed. The warranty runs out 7-8-2013.

Desired Settlement: New Camera/cable Replacement

Business Response: The BBB spoke with the business today and he stated that she tried to contact him on July 4th and he responded that they are closed.  He states they have tried many times to contact her via phone and email and they are never able to speak with her.  The camera was fixed once and returned to her, they think there may be an issue with the cables - but they need to talk to her and are unable to.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received an email from 123-cctv.com on July 19th telling me the only way they will consider  "Offering a Roadmap is First the BBB complaint must be Retracted."

Regards,

****** *********

***,

I received the below email from 123CCTV it went to my spam. I feel the below is a threat. I am not dropping the claim with BBB. This company has been very difficult to do business with. They are very rude in phone messages and emails. I have 3 working camera's. I cannot take the day off to meet their working hours 10-6. I dont want anybody else to experience the same issues I have. 

****** *********

 


 



******,

 

If you wish to receive a RMA for the 2 cameras to be repaired, we had no problem with it. But your expectation that we would be available in off-business hours at your convenience is unrealistic. We attempted to contact you several times about the first RMA in April but were unable to since your phone always went to voicemail and you were very difficult to get a hold off.

If you wish to get these 2 cameras repaired, we can offer you a roadmap for. First we need the BBB complaint to be retracted.

Second, you have to talk to us at a schedule time to troubleshoot your system. Simply assuming that a camera is not working when a repaired item was shipped to you does not warrant another replacement. We need to determine what's going on there. We need pictures of the way you have setup your system inside to get a hands-on view. If you can work with us on that, we can get these issues resolved. Otherwise there is no way to move forward with this if we cannot talk.

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

Do you understand I am the customer? Dont be so rude. This is not the first security camera I have had. Your company should have made sure the camera was working when I sent back. When I received the package back it looked like it had never been touched. Then your company refused to give me a RMA to send back for a new camera.

****** *********


We received a voicemail from you on July 4th. Are you aware that was independence day and that most businesses are closed?

 Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 


 

As I have told you before I am not available Mon-Friday until 6pm. I get home at 6:30pm. Your hours are not convient for me. That is the reason at my expense I sent the camera back to get fixed. Instead I get the camera back that still does not work. You refused for me to sent it back. Yes my warranty is about to run out. However, I have been trying to get this fixed before the warranty ran out. But you refused for me to sent back.

****** *********


******,

 

It is impossible for us to reach you today. We have already tried to contact you several times and you are never available by phone. Before your sudden email today, your last communication to us was back in April. You have not bothered to make any attempts to call us during business hours. We received an email from you today July 3rd when we are closed for the holiday weekend. There is no one to assist you today.

 Your order was placed last July and the warranty is about to run out. We will attempt to help you this week. One of our managers will give you a call during the weekend as courtesy.

 Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

 

The camera I sent to you quit working I have a black screen. The camera I got back did the same. Black screen no difference.

I suggest  I need to call Better Business Bureau.

****** *********


Thank you for your email. You are calling on July 3rd. We are closed until July 8th.

 

The camera you sent to us was tested to be in good working condition before it was sent back to you. If you are unable to get it to work, we suggest you hire a professional to come out and help you.

 

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

 

Just let a voicemail trying to get in touch with solving the camera issue.

****** *********

###-###-####


The voicemail box on your phone is filled up. Contact **** during our business hours at ###-###-####.

 

There are no red lights that are supposed to come on. There IR lights that come on in total darkness. Regardless, please call the tech during our business hours of 10am to 6pm EST Monday thru Friday. You are emailing us on a Sunday when we are closed.

 

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

****,

I dont know what is with the voice mail system because I have no messages. When I plug up the camera the red light does not come on. I tried with the orginial cable that was hooked to the camera it did not work. So I tried with unplugging a working camera and it still did not work.

******


We have tried to call you on several occasions today however were unable to get a hold of you. Please call our tech support person **** who fixed the camera at ###-###-####.

 

Your voicemail box also says it is full.

 

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

 

I received my camera back and I still have the same problem. I unplugged one of the working camera's and it still does not work. I need a RMA# plus ups # to send this camera back and get a new replacement working camera.

 

****** *********

###-###-####



******,

 Please carefully package your camera and send to our repair department:

 RMA ******

Avalonix Group Inc

410 Lawrence Bell Dr Unit 10

Buffalo NY 14221

 

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 


 

Yes Please a RMA. I have tried different cables and that did not help.

Thanks

******


******,

 

***** is no longer with our company so please do not email his old address. All support questions should be directed to support@123-cctv.com so any of our available staff members can help you. Cameras are covered under a 1 year warranty against manufacturing defects. We can issue an RMA authorization number for repair.  If you would like to do that we can issue a RMA number with instructions on where to send the camera so our techs can inspect it.

 

Please advise.

 

Because of the nature of this request, our phone operators will be unable to assist you. All RMA inquiries are handled by email only.

 

Support Team

123-CCTV.com

 

 

I have one camera that has stopped working. It is the one that has the red/yellow/white end.Can I sent this back and get another camera cable.

****** *********


 

 

Business Response: Since one camera has already been repaired before and the customer is claiming it is not working again we need to rule out user error in this case. Failure rate for our cameras is less than 1% and repeat failure only happens in cases of improper installation. The only way we could help this customer with her tech issues was with the customer being on the phone and trying several different steps.

We have made numerous attempts (upwards of ten tries) however the customer is never available by phone. We have also made attempts on the weekend and after 6pm but we are unable to reach her. Further, she has a voicemail box that is always full on her phone number. We have tried to meet the customer's schedule as courtesy yet she is still unavailable.

Since the customer has not made a good faith attempt to contact us for resolving her issues and only contacted us during the independence day weekend when we were closed, we are unable to assist this customer any further. If we cannot communicate with her then we cannot help her.

Troubleshooting is a vital step we take and this customer has refused to cooperate. She mentioned that in our prior email we made a threat about retraction of this BBB complaint. We feel this complaint was non warranted as we were willing to help this customer, and made several attempts prior to her last call on July 4, 2013 however we never heard back from her. That obviously showed she was not very concerned about one camera not working. The customer only became concerned when she realized that her warranty was running out on July 8th, and she submitted this BBB complaint as a threat or attempt to keep that warranty effective. Unfortunately in this case this warranty is no longer in effect as the customer did not contact our tech team by phone during business hours and did not follow proper troubleshooting steps which are required for issuance of a RMA. Further only one replacement is issued per warranty period.

Consumer Response:

I tried numerous times with the security company. The staff was always so rude, very difficult to work with. They had  hours were never available when I could be  available. When I sent the camera back for repair I had to pay the expenses to sent back. The camera was under warranty at the time. When I received it back it was sent back in the same box, packing that I sent in. I opened the camera and it did not work. I ask for a RMA to send back but they refused and let me know I could not sent back. After I filed the complaint with BBB Security company sent an email insisting that the only way they could help me figure out the situation was to drop the complaint with BBB. I do have a problem with that .If I immediately dropped the complaint why would I even file it.  Very Rude difficult company to do business with.

****** *********

Business Response: Please reference prior response to this complaint we already provided all details regarding the matter. The customer is beyond any repairable period for the products and is unreachable. We cannot simply provide a RMA for an item that is beyond warranty, and has already been replaced. We attempted several times to contact the customer and troubleshoot the issues however the customer never pickups the phone, her voicemail is always full, and she never returns our missed calls. Further she does not reply to emails. If the customer does not want to cooperate in this matter we cannot help with this any further.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a DVR recording surveillance system between January 28 and February 1 2013. As of today, I still haven't received the remote unit that was suppose to have come with the unit. Let me start by saying, this has been the WORSE experience I have ever had dealing with a business, either by telephone or email. They are not professional, they are RUDE, and I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE. The technical service is a JOKE. I purchased an iPhone 5, and the app that I've been using to view my cameras remotely, needed to be updated. After the update, I couldn't get the app to work. I called the company on Friday, May 24, 2013, explaining the problem I was having. The guy said, since it's Memorial Days weekend, there are only 2 guys working, and they are swamped with work. The best thing for you to do is visit our website, send tech support and email, and someone will get back with you. After several emails back and forth, nothing has been resolved. Pasted below is the last and most recent email they just sent me. **** ****** (123 CCTV Support Help Desk) May 29 01:44 pm (EDT) You need to log back in to your router and ensure that you have port forwarding settings configured. We already did this once for you. Networking is free of charge for the first instance. If you provide the make and model of your router, we can direct you to instructions on how you can configure the router yourself. If you would like us to reconfigure your router, you will have to purchase our repeat networking support which is $45. ----------------- **** ****** Tech Specialist ************* May 24 04:46 pm (EDT) I have not made any changes to any of the devices. The only change were the updates from the I Mac. **** ****** (123 CCTV Support Help Desk) They want me to pay for services that should automatically be included to an app that I had no control over.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I DO NOT WANT TO DEAL WITH THEM AFTER I RECEIVE MY REFUND. I do not want to feel like I"m BOTHERING THEM. The experience that I had with them, is PATHETIC and a DISGRACE.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint ID ******* please see our response as follows:

Mr. ******'s purchase is well beyond the 30 day return period. He was made aware of the return policy at the time of order, which is also clearly accessible from the 100% guarantee link in the top header visible from every page on our website. It is specifically located at:

http://www.123-cctv.com/seccams/guarantee.html

These terms and conditions also specifically state our Digital Video Recorder (DVR) Policy:

"123-CCTV.COM is solely responsible for the sale of the DVR itself. Due to liability and legal issues, 123-CCTV.COM is unable to assist in the areas of networking, firewall and/or anything outside the performance of the actual DVR purchased from 123-CCTV.COM. "

Although we do not provide networking service, we did provide to this customer as courtesy free of charge once to help him get setup in early Feb 2013. He was notified of this at the time of purchase, and at the time of the first and only free networking session.

He contacted us in late May 2013 via phone and we determined that he changed his networking environment by using his iMAC to change his router. We asked him to submit a support ticket in our support portal to receive free technical support on this networking matter. You can see the attached print out of the support dialog.

It is important as a layperson to know that once the necessary port forwarding rules are configured in to a router, they remain until they are changed by the user, or the router is reset or replaced. We tested his external ip address and found that his networking settings had been modified. To redo the whole process we asked the customer purchase a networking session, since there is nothing wrong with the DVR but instead with his router that he purchased elsewhere. We also asked the customer to provide the make and model of his router so we could point him to free resources for help, however he never replied and decided to file this BBB complaint in an effort to obtain free service.

Since the customer was unwilling to respond to our support ticket for more than 48 hrs the support ticket was closed. The customer can continue to seek another avenue for getting networking setup, and he can also try the SuperLivePro or Broview app for the digital video recorder.

Let's make sure it is made clear that the problem lies with the customer's router that he purchased elsewhere. The customer can contact the manufacturer or provider of that device. He may also contact his Internet Service Provider. All these avenues will also charge for the port forwarding  service, in amounts of $55 and higher.

Let it also be noted that the customer was made aware that the DVR was shipped with a remote and we mutually concluded early on during his purchase that his installer setting up the DVR misplaced the remote. Mr. ****** purchased several components from several different sources when setting up his security camera system and hired an installer to install those products for him. He was told of the cost of the replacement remote, but he decided not to purchase it. The customer is only bringing it up again as an excuse to get qualified for a return.

Unfortunately the customer request for any refund is denied since he is well beyond any returnable period, and the unit is functioning properly. To use loss of networking port forwarding rules on his own router as an excuse is unacceptable.

Sincerely,

123-CCTV.com

Phone ###-###-#### 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Here are FACTS regarding my case, which are UNDISPUTED can be VERIFIED. The statements that the company alleges, are NOT TRUE. 

Superlive Pro is the app that the company told me to use, to view my cameras from my iPhone. The app seemed to be working fairly ok at the time I installed it on my phone. Before I purchased the DVR from this company, I made it clear to them, I wanted to be able to view the cameras via my iPhone. They assured me, that would not be a problem, because they use a good app called Superlive Pro.


If anyone has an iPhone, one thing for certain are the updates that occur with the apps that are on the iphone. There was an update pertaining to this particular app, that after I made the update, THE APP STOPPED WORKING  I contacted the company regarding the problem, and they gave me the runaround. They started rambling about everything except addressing the SPECIFIC PROBLEM. 


I invite you to view the Superlive Pro app from the app store, and read the 70 plus horrible reviews regarding the update I've been referencing, that are written from other users.


Based on concrete information from the various reviews, this company should have been aware of these MAJOR ISSUES.


Either this company is INCOMPETENT, or DECEPTIVE..........BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!           BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!


As I stated before, I've never received a remote from them. My technician did not misplace the remote. This is just another example of NEGLIGENCE on their behalf.

Regards,

***** ******

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to state, for the record, that this is a myriad complaint. In addition to refund/exchange issues, I am experiencing unprecedented customer service lows, and unsatisfactory warranty coverage. In fact, concerning the warranty, I believe this company purchases their inventory after online-consumers make their purchases, making it their warranty, not their warranty to give. Whether they purchase and extend the warranty themselves or provide the warranty independently, their level of commitment to customer service and production of viable solutions is pathetic, to say the least. This is what happened: I experienced 2 faulty cameras in a home dvr security system with 4 cameras. I had to pay to send them the faulty cameras, adding to the insult in customer service they provided. Only to discover the company received the cameras and is declaring that they now work. When troubleshooting over the phone prior to technicians advocating that I send in the cameras for inspection and repair, technicians had me verify that the other dvr camera outlets worked for the two existing functioning cameras, and they did, ultimately meaning that the wiring was intact and completely functional. I am disappointed in how I have been treated; I have been given a rather elaborate run-around, and each time their own advice failed them, they just made up a new issue and shifted the blame. I would appreciate if someone would please figure out how to make them refund my money, because all I got was excuses and frustration, and I would hate to put anymore fellow citizen consumers through that trouble. I appreciate your willingness to help. Thank you-*********** ******

Desired Settlement: They have repeatedly shifted blame from their own advice, to that of their terms of service, while I have tried to solve the problem with the faulty product I purchased from them. They have hidden behind their dilapidated customer service ethics, avoided solutions, and refused to refund my money. They still have not sent back the 2 faulty cameras they claim are working. They refuse to give me a refund, and will not send me back the product I sent in to be inspected.

Business Response:

The customer received a working and tested product, after a few months the customer call saying two of the cameras didn’t work. We asked him to send us the cameras and that we would upgrade him to new cameras if we found that the cameras were defective. After the cameras were tested we found them to be working properly, we contacted *** ****** and informed him that the cameras were working and there may be some other problem. I was personally assisting him in diagnosing the problem, however, he became irate and hostile when we informed him that he may have improperly installed the system and fried some components by using the wrong power supply (his own as opposed to the one we provided). Even after his outburst we agreed to assist him as best we could, however he was uninterested and had a second outburst with my manager ***. At this time we had to cut off communication with him.         

Business Response:

Attached is a pdf document containing the invoice for the customer from security-cameras-cctv.com, and a print out of the product description that the customer purchased which clearly states the Manufacturer name and Phone number for all warranty and repair issues. As concerns the customer's claim that his cameras have not been returned to us, the working cameras were shipped via UPS ground tracking number ******************. This number was provided to the customer before he filed the complaint.

Thank you,

Ray Ansari

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am through dealing with the business in question. I tried to resolve an issue and use the proper channels to report my complaint. After which, my character was maliciously attacked. The company in question returned the product and I wish to redact my complaint and be done with the matter entirely. Thank you for trying.

Regards,

*********** ******

 

Business Response:

***** called today and explained the issue more specifically. He stated that the consumer received a working unit. The company sends power supplies minus the monitor. After a few months the consumer called and said the monitor went bad. It turns out he was using 19 volt personal power supply and NOT what was sent by the company, which was 12 volt. The consumer was frying out the components. When **** tried to help, the consumer was upset and was not being cooperative. **** is still willing to provide technical support. There is no refund due to the consumer as the consumer was using his own power supply which also voids the warranty.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

2/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1