This business is not BBB accredited.

United Restorations

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 64 Halter Rd**Returned Mail, Glenmont, NY 12077


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for United Restorations include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for United Restorations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on United Restorations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2009
Business Management
Mr. Ian Vivenzio, Owner Ian Christopher, Owner Erin Markham
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ian Vivenzio, Owner
Business Category

ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Weathertech Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    325 Duanesburg Rd**Mail returned

    Schenectady, NY 12306 (518) 728-5672

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    64 Halter Rd**Returned Mail

    Glenmont, NY 12077

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6779 Lainhart Rd

    Altamont, NY 12009

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: End of June 2012. One of my husband friend told us about this contractor and how he did a great job and the insurance company paid for it. Contractor advise me to contact insurance company and explain my situation. Contractor advise he can do the roof and siding for the cost of what insurance company give us. He guarantee's that the insurance company will pay for the roof,he has a guy that has worked with him numerous times from my insurance company. He guarantees again that they will pay. The day the insurance company came to do the inspection(not the contractors connection in insurance company, contractor was MIA. Calls me in two days, "Im sorry, I was in a motorcycle accident." Just so happens the day he did not show, there was two motorcycle accidents. Advised contractor, Insurance company cant pay to replace the roof, there is some damage but not enough damage for them to pay for a new roof. They would pay for the snow panels,some siding, and some other damages to the house. "oh no, get back on the phone with insurance company and advise them you want someone else to come out and take acontractor wrote up a work order. In order to get from contractor, the girlfriend brought it to my husbands work and asked him to sign it. I advise not to sign, girlfriend said he had too. My husband wrote on work order ESTIMATE. I faxed form to insurance company. Before any work being done, I advised contractor to make sure he gets permit, they will need his insurance paperwork. The contractor starts working on the siding . Insurance company advise me that the ball got dropped on their end and the insurance company supervisor is making sure someone will be at my house to do the inspection. I pay him $4500.00 on 7/9/12. Contractor advise me he went to the City for permit, will take three days. Rips off aluminum siding(cashes it in for cash), contractors foreman advise my husband he received $1700.. He complains that he had to strip down three layers of siding. Contractor ask for another $1000. I gave him $500 on 7/10/12 and 7/11/12. Contractor advising me of foundation problem and wood rot. He would do it for $2800 more to fix those issues.Contractor writes up a new work order.The contractor advises us more foundation problem, its going to cost $6000, then he went down to $4500. Agent calls(contractors connection) comes on Friday July 13th for his inspection before 8am. Contractor comes in to advise he is cutting a check now for roof. Agent comes to door advise us, cant pay for anything else. The contractor was upset, storms off and then MIA again. I called his cellphone, his own workers call his cell phone and he does not answer or call back all day. Workers stop working at noon and was ready to leave. I asked them what was going on. I had an idea and just asked them to please make sure they clean their mess for the safety of my children. They were ready to be paid for the week of striping the house. Contractor never showed and finally called about 5pm, advising them, he cant pay them due to some check issue. I advise them not with my check, he should have plenty of money! Contractor claims he can't do any more work unless he gets $3000 for wood and labor before siding can be put up to fix the rotted wood. Making the total over $9000 before any work can be done. We advise on 7/19/12, he has to come and clean up the mess and bring siding here before he would receive any more money. I spoke to the City Building Permit office and asked them if a permit was ever issued or if someone has been down to start or discuss anything for my house.. Insurance company asked to submit any paperwork that would support why they should. Which the mall. Office advise me that no one has been here.Contractor advise siding is being delivered on 7/20/12. No siding was delivered, contractor said no later then 7/23/12. My husband and I did some research on this contractor, has recently been in times union for same thing. We went to court and he never showed for small claims. We have a judgement against him

Desired Settlement: i want a full refund

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DETAILS:
3/27/13 I was approached by a roofer who was working in the neighborhood who identified
himselfas *** *********** (an alias, real name *** C. ********) This was reason ini tial internet
search didn't show any issues and we had a mutual acquaintance, his girlfriends sister. He noted
that I had windstorm damage to my roof and offered to handle the claim with my insurance
company, State Farm. I felt comfortable with him doing the job due to initial internet search and
mutual connection.
411/13 An agreed price was reached for the damage with State Farm for $7323.58. I then signed
a contract with him to do the complete roof for that amount plus an additional $500 for a portion
of the roof that wasn't covered under the storm damage.l would pay $5859.58 upfront and $1464
upon completion of the job. Per *** and as stated on original insurance estimate it was a two day
job.
4/8/13 Met with *** and my boyfriend, ****** ***** wrote him two checks per his request,
one for $2,000 cash and a second for $3859.58 payable to **** *******.
4/9-10/13 Roofing materials and a dumpster were delivered and the job was started with good
progress made the first work day. There was himself with 2 workers and ****. On second day
work a partial day with only himself and ****. For the remaining time the only ones that came to
work on roof was *** and ****.
4111/13 Called and claimed needed additional work not covered by insurance claim. My father
met with him and verified additional work had to be done on both side wings due to rot damage
and had to be rebuilt. He also claimed that all the plywood on dormer had to be replaced and
that would be verified once it was stripped. They agreed on the work do be done for $1250
($250 wings and $1000 dormer). He gave *** the cash but didn't get a receipt at that time.
4/12-15/13 Next few days minimal work was done as his truck broke down. *** and **** would
show up occasionally using cabs.
4/16-18/13 Requested an additional $1,000 to get truck and pay crew. Gave him $1,000 cash
against final payment of $1,464 leaving a balance of $464 upon completion. Minimal work
completed next two days (4/17-18/13). Did get the wings completed. At this point about 314 of
the roof was shingled.
4/19/13 Called again need to reflash wings and chimney with was not covered, we met with him
and agreed to $1250 to do same.
4/20/13 Completed flashing on wings and still needed to do chimney area, paid him $1250 for
work and got receipt. Started to tear off shingles on dormer and had approximately 1/3 off and
covered area with a plastic blue plastic tarp, said he would be back next day to finish job.
4/21/13 Didn't show reached him finally and claimed back was hurting and spent day at
hospital and couldn't work but he'd be there tomorrow
4/22/13 Noticed some of his tools where gone, only roofing material left was a partial rooI of
tarpaper and some nails.
4/23/13 More of his equipment was gone, including ladders jack stands and tools. Dumpster
company picked up dumpster, he apparently hadn't paid them and they couldn't reach him. My
father got involved and was able to reach ***. He assured him that he would be there with a crew
of four and wrap the job up Ole next day.
4/24/13 No show, father reached, will be there 25th
4/25/13 No show, sanle as above wi ll complete on 26th
4/26/13 No show, same as above wi II complete on 27th
4/27/13 No show, unable to reach, not returning call s.
4/28/13 Unable to reach, not responding to phone calls or voicemail. At this time the majority
of his equipment had been picked up and what remain was maybe worth $50. There were no
roofing materials to complete the job. We were faced with a partially exposed dormer roof only
being protected by a plastic tarp. He had started them job on 4/9 and it was now 4/28 (20 days)
to do a 2 day job. He wasn't responding to any of our efforts to reach him. At this point we
were forced to bring in another contractor to protect the possibility of additional damages. We
called Metropolitan Contracting and they came over that afternoon and finished the job the next
day. They advised that the chimney didn't need to be reflashed and the plywood on the dormer
didn'l need replacement. There cost to complete the job was $1850.
My father continued to pursue him to no avail in an attempt to recover the money for the work
that he failed to do and the work that wasn't warranted . He talked to him a few times and then
the phone was disconnected. He was able to establish he is currently in the Albany County Jail
(9/2/13). We are involving **** ******* as she had a fiduciary involvement in the cashing of the
checks.
Thank you for you anticipated cooperation.
Very truly your,
****** B. *****

Desired Settlement: refund


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on United Restorations
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)