BBB Accredited Business since

Main Plumbing & Heating

Phone: (607) 324-6681 299 Main Street, Hornell, NY 14843 http://www.mainplumbingandheating.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This Company Offers plumbing, heating, drain cleaning, plumbing and heating Supplies, well pumps, and water heaters. They also offer space heaters, engineered septic systems, sewer cleaning, sewer jetting, sewerline camera inspections, excavation, water softeners, EasyWater no salt water conditioning, Iron shield to eliminate rust stain and sulfur smell from water. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Main Plumbing & Heating meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Main Plumbing & Heating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Main Plumbing & Heating
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1960 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1960 Business incorporated 03/17/1970 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Hornell
82 Main St, Hornell NY 14843
http://www.cityofhornell.com
Phone Number: (607) 324-7421
bperrott@cityofhornell.com

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Lois I. Raish Jr., Owner / President
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Lois I. Raish Jr., Owner / President
Business Category

PLUMBING - CONTRACTOR AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING DRAINS & SEWER CLEANING WATER HEATERS - REPAIRING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES - RETAIL PLUMBING FIXTURES, PARTS, SUPPLIES - RETAIL WATER HEATERS - DEALERS WATER SOFT & CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT SERVICE & SUPPLIES PUMPS - SERVICE & REPAIR BOILERS - NEW & USED PUMPS - DEALERS FURNACE SALES & SERVICE BOILERS - SALES & SERVICE

Products & Services

Main Plumbing & Heating sells the following brand(s): American Standard, American Standard, American Standard, Bradford White , Bradford White , Bradford White , Delta, Delta, Delta, Dunkirk , Dunkirk , Dunkirk , Geber , Geber , Geber , Heil, Kohler , Kohler , Kohler , Lennox, Lennox, Lennox, Moen, Moen, Moen, Wolverine Brass, Wolverine Brass, Wolverine Brass

Main Plumbing & Heating offers the following product(s): Air conditioners, Air conditioners, Air conditioners, Boilers, Boilers, Boilers, EasyWater no salt water conditioning, EasyWater no salt water conditioning, EasyWater no salt water conditioning, Forced Air Furnaces, Heaters, Heaters, Heaters, Iron Shield to remove rust staining and sulfer smell, Iron Shield to remove rust staining and sulfer smell, Iron Shield to remove rust staining and sulfer smell, Water pumps, Water pumps, Water pumps, Water softeners, Water softeners, Water softeners

Refund and Exchange Policy
This company offers refunds within 30 days (no refund on electrical parts).
Alternate Business Names
Main Plumbing & Heating of Hornell, Inc. Main Plumbing & Heating, Inc
Industry Tips
Choosing a Plumbing Contractor Heating Systems Home Improvements Service Calls Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Water Quality

Additional Locations

  • 299 Main Street

    Hornell, NY 14843 (607) 324-6681

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had your company service my furnace which was not working. Your service man could not fix it, stating "it was cooked", he could put in a new boiler for $6000. Meanwhile we have no heat or hot water in December. I called ********** in Alfred and in five min. They had it working. My cost $50 for a new part.

Desired Settlement: Refund my $97 service call pmt.

Business Response:

The customer contacted Main Plumbing & Heating Inc., stating the heat was out and requested immediate service.  Upon arrival and initial diagnostics, it was determined that the boiler had been run dry and the automatic water fill supply had been turned off. NO low water cut off was active.   The boiler ran dry and had no re-supply of water available. It eventually starts to steam and burn itself dry.  Once a certain degree is reached safety switches trip and shut down the unit to eliminate an unsafe situation. This is what happened in this case.  It is not as simple as replacing the limit and many  times creates an unsafe situation in itself.  Any time safety switches are breached it is important to find the reason for the breach prior to putting a unit back into operation. In this case after inspection it was determined that the boiler had been degraded and not safe to operate any longer.   To change a safety of an unsafe unit and put back into operation is merely creating a possible disaster for another day. While it is understandable that the customer was not happy with our decision. We will always error on the side of safety.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I apologize for not receiving previous emails. The response from this company is not acceptable. They came here to see our boiler and charged us a hundred dollars to tell us it needed complete replacement which would cost thousands of dollars. When we called for another opinion from a different company, it was a 50.00 fix. It was easily fixed within minutes and did not require replacement. When we called the company to address this and ask for our hundred dollars back, because their repairman was not only wrong but left us without heat for days in winter. He either was inept or wanted the thousands of dollars a new boiler install would have cost. Their response when we called them to report was outrageous as they claimed that they never told us that the unit needed replacement. Their email to BBB states it DOES need replacement. Their response to US that day was that it needed replacement. It did NOT need replacement and when we called them, they told us they never said it did need replacing. The actual fix to the unit was 50.00 in whole, including the visit to estimate what the problem was.
We are really unhappy with this situation.  ******* ******




Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Main Plumbing & Heating
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)