BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

This Business is not BBB accredited

Prime Social Marketing

Phone: (888) 467-2614 Fax: (716) 831-9698 207 Commerce Drive, Amherst, NY 14226 http://www.primesocialmarketing.com

! There is an alert on Prime Social Marketing !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers social media marketing and custom application development.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prime Social Marketing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 2011 Business started: 11/21/2011 in NY Business started locally: 11/21/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Leonard Danilovich, General Manager Mr. Ross Marranca, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard Danilovich, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Ross Marranca, Owner
Business Category

SOCIAL MEDIA CONSULTANTS - SOCIAL MEDIA


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    207 Commerce Drive

    Amherst, NY 14226 (888) 467-2614

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've read the other complaints posted against this company and I agree with them all, however, I have no intention of getting as wordy. Without going into lengthy details, I'll keep my problem with this company simple. They contacted me through cold calling which appears to be their M.O. They told me how much exposure my new and struggling business would realize if they built me a face-book presence offering a giveaway to increase visitor traffic. Their initial estimate of $800 for a 3 month agreement was cost prohibitive for me so they kept lowering the price until I took the bait at $400. All the while, they sent me to look at other sites they supposedly built which I will say were very good looking. I was lead to believe that my site would resemble these but I was in for a major disappointment. We finally agreed on 2 payments of $200 each. At this point I felt good about receiving $800 in services for only $400 until I saw the finished product. I am not face-book savvy but what I saw a fifth grader could have done. Rather than create a face-book page for me as promised, they reworked my existing face-book page a friend of mine was helping me with so they could utilize the 950 likes I had established thus far. In NO WAY did it resemble the others they sold me on. When I confronted them with my extreme displeasure I was told that what I actually purchased was their "Silver Pkg" which apparently was what I was now looking at with complete disdain - they might renaming it their "Kindergarten Pkg" which would at least give the consumer a heads up on what they are actually getting, and not mislead them into thinking they are getting a premier package at a reduced fee. What made the matter even worse was they insisted I knew I was getting this lesser package - essentially calling me a liar. So I told them I was not pleased and demanded a refund. Their next tactic was to shame me into sending them the next $200 payment by telling me how hard they worked on my face-book page. Their argument might have had more merit if the contest they posted actually worked and the promised links on my website to my face-book page were actually delivered! Still, they were not satisfied to let it go and they had a "supervisor" call me twice calling me a liar on both occasions. Stay clear of these dishonest people! In my opinion they are scam artists who work the system to their advantage with little regard for the consumer they are professing to help. To this day I am disputing their charges with M/C on whom they are using the same lies to sway things their way. All I can say is "Buyer Beware" of Prime Social Marketing who will sell you for a shiny new limousine, deliver a rusted out clunker with flat tires, swear up and down that's what you ordered and then call you a liar when you dispute them - leaving you to prove them wrong or be forced to pay for their ridiculous services because they know how to work the system and get your credit card company to approve their false charges.

Desired Settlement: I would be happy if Prime Social Marketing simply ended the dispute and refunded my money. I did not get what I paid for and was totally mislead by their shady sales practices. It would be wonderful if they stopped dealing untruthfully with people but I'm afraid that may be asking for far more than they have the conscience to deliver.

Business Response: Client purchased a Facebook Sweepstakes contest from us for $400.00 on 4/18/2013 and paid $200.00 down at that time. We completed all work on our end (profile image, cover photo, sweepstakes, promotional flyers), and even merged his duplicate Facebook pages as a courtesy to the client. The merging of his pages took numerous hours to accomplish. We contacted him to get our final payment for our completed work - as agreed upon in the voice verification - the client at that time refused to make the payment and removed us as an administrator to his page. We removed our active application at that time. Client still has the designed cover photo and profile image on his page. Screen shots of his design are included. In early June, we received a chargeback for the initial $200.00 payment from the clients bank. We responded to the chargeback and the bank ruled in our favor, as the work we promised was completed. Attached are the design files for the sweepstakes. The cover photo, promotional flyers and profile image are still live on his Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/charles.sica.5 Thank you, **** ******* Prime Social Marketing Operations Manager ###-###-#### ********@primesocialmarketing.com

8/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had worked with Prime Social to create a web page on my Facebook business page. They had followed up to discuss, what I'm lead to believe is added services. In the process of listening to a sales person down talk and bad talk my ability to run a successful business for the past 10 years, I had had enough. So I sternly stated that I understand I haven't done everything internetwise to position myself on the first page of search engines, but that I have many things I am doing, and don't need him to tell me what I'm not doing, and I'm not going to hire him to do anything. After which he placed me on hold. While on hold and still connected to his computer for the purpose of the meeting, I read his text to another, I would only have to surmise was a manager, "What should I do with this chick" At which time, I hung up the call. He since left me a VM saying he has sent my welcome packet (Which I have not received) and if I have questions, don't hesitate to call.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate compensation for my time and treatment, and would only expect the same if I treated a customer of mine that way.

Business Response: We apologize for the behavior of our sales representative. This is not the way we practice business, and have taken the proper steps to ensure that this will never happen again. On July 10, 2013, client spoke with our Customer Service manager and we attempted to fix the issue by offering other services. Client declined, and had to get off of the phone. We are happy to talk to the client and find a way to resolve the issue, and instill trust their in our company again. Thank You, **** Shipley Prime Social Marketing Operations Manager ###-###-#### ********@primesocialmarketing.com

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I was first contacted by Prime Social Marketing they expressed to me that one of their most popular packages of service was their contest. This is one in which they help your fan page on Facebook to experience better growth for your business. One way they suggested was the picture contest where people who entered through our fanpage would be entered to win a prize and at the end of the contest we would choose a winner. They also suggested donating a dollar to someones favorite charity if they became a fan and entered in a somewhat different type of sweepstakes. Both of these types I expressed to them would not be something our organization could participate in because we are a Non-profit ministry and the IRS sets strict guidelines on what we can actually be donating to that is relevant to the type of ministry we do. I expressed to the sales agent on the phone that their service may not be a good fit for us, but she continued to persist and then recommended the essay contest which I said we could do as long as they were writing their testimony about why they wanted to go on a mission trip. In turn the winner would receive the money towards his or her mission trip via his or her church. I was told that they would design our layout or app for our contest on our fanpage and that they would market our contest all over Facebook. The contest ran for six weeks and as we neared the end I called the person in charge of marketing the contest and expressed my concerns about why no one was entering our contest and then asked how could this be if they were marketing it all over Facebook. She said they were not marketing it all over Facebook and only to our current fans. I told her that I was told in the beginning it would be marketed all over Facebook by my sales agent ******. The marketing agent then told me not to worry and that if the contest was a failure they would do another one free of charge. I then told her that from my perspective all they really did was do a design and make a few posts on my fanpage which I could have done myself. One of the main reasons I hired them was marketing which I was told would be done all over Facebook. If I had known from the beginning that this was the way they would carry out their end I never would have done business with them. After the contest ended I spoke with the head of their customer service dept and I was assured that they would have ****** who sold me in the beginning contact me to work something out. No one ever called and after numerous attempts to contact them I know turn to the BBB. By the way their website says they are BBB Accredited and according to their profile on here they are not.

Desired Settlement: After losing faith in this companies willingness to carry out their word I see no other solution then to ask for a refund,

Consumer Response: The desired settlement amount is 300.00 dollars refunded to us. 


Business Response: All services were provided to the client and only after the client's claims of not seeing any additional business from the marketing package was a refund brought up. We explained many times to the client that asking for donations would not result in a lot of qualified traffic. We advised the client to run a contest or sweepstakes to make the page fun and interactive to grab potential customer's interest. The client stated that he wanted to move forward with his ideas,  all work was designed and completed. We offered to extend the term of the package but the customer only financial restitution. Everything was explained to the customer about the marketing package and just like any other form of advertising there is no guarantee. We explained many times that if we ran the marketing game plan as we suggested the client's chances of customers would be better than to ask for donations. Prime Social Marketing moved forward with the customers requests despite our advice. 

Consumer Response: First of all their response suggests that they are oblivious to exactly what the real problem is. I run a Non-profit organization and at no time was I trying to gain more customers. My site is free and the information we provide on ******* ******* is for the benefit of growing closer to God. We at no time asked for donations. The contest suggested by their sales staff was one in which each entry into our contest that wrote an essay would have our organization donate a specific amount to the charity of their choice. I turned down this suggestion stating the IRS' strict rules for our specific type of Non-profit would prohibit such an action. I then stated that I was not at all sure that their business was a good fit for my organization. The sales agent then proceeded to try to talk me out of not using their service by suggesting that we do a contest where WE make a donation to something that we could donate to like missions. Seeing that we are a Christian organization I felt that would be acceptable. Our contest was exactly this, that each entry was to write an essay stating how they came to know Christ and why they wanted to go on a mission trip. The winner would receive 300 dollars from our organization towards their mission trip. The proof of this contest and its rules are still on our fanpage on Facebook at *******************************. Their is a badge/link to our fanpage on the right side bar of our website ****************** as well. Just click on the app titled "How Has Christ Touched Your life" ******* *****. When I asked how they would be marketing our contest I was told that they would market it all over Facebook. This did not happen in fact they only posted on our own fanpage and I told them that if I had known that this was all they were going to do I would never have signed up with them. This is problem number 1 because they were misleading from the beginning. Problem number two came when they told me that I would be contacted by a person from their company who would design our contest and that they would contact me within three days. This did not happen. In fact it was ten days before I was contacted which made me very concerned. The third problem I have is what was said towards the end of the run of our contest. I was told by their customer service staff that they would run another contest free of charge since this one did not work out for us. After the contest ended I was promised that my original sales agent ****** would contact me within a few days to work out an arrangement with our organization. Neither one of these promises were upheld and my emails were ignored from that point forward. It is my belief that I was intentionally mislead and I am able to provide comments made by Paypal to my organization if necessary. I ask just one question, what would I have to gain by being deceptive in this matter? Our number one desire was one that we have always maintained to help the less fortunate by feeding the hungry and reaching the lost for Christ while spreading Christ's message of hope. If this is a crime then I am guilty as charged. 

Business Response: After checking our phone system there were several attempts to contact the customer to get the marketing and design started on the business page. The the phone systems tracks all attempts to contact the client to begin the work. Despite the explanation that this client is provided, there were several emails and calls back and forth about the marketing, it is clearly explained that we all our company does after designing the contest is to post onto that clients page about the currently running contest to remind his fans to join. We clearly state to every other client we have ever worked with that it is up to them to promote the contest any way that they can  including any other marketing that they are currently utilizing. We make is a point to explain that any day to day posts, updates, and messages should be directly from the client to build a relationship with his followers. It is well known in the social media marketing world that that the company needs to be the one posting to their fans, a 3rd party marketing company posting for that business isn't going to get the same results. The goal is to build a following and relationship with your current fans and to "brand" not advertise. The contest and marketing that we provided ran its course, and after the client didn't see the results he was expecting was a refund immediately demanded. If a certain marketing idea doesn't yield a certain amount of results that the client is looking for is not the fault of the marketing company. Any business owner understands that a company must try different avenues when it comes to marketing, some work, some are more successful than others. We have hundreds of clients that we work with and not once has this been an issue. Any work that was outlined to the customer was completed, there are no refunds from any marketing / advertising company in the world if the company" didn't see results." It's the same concept as running a TV commercial, no one calls you, and then demanding a refund from the company that ran the TV commercial. Any business owner understands the risks involved when it comes to marketing, and understands that you must try different approaches of marketing. The bottom line is, the customer paid for design and a contest application, all of which was provided. 

12/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has been calling me on a weekly to bi-weekly basis for the last several months to offer me the service of increasing my Social Media presence (Facebook, Twitter, etc). On each occasion, I have told them I am not interested, and to remove me from their calling list. Each caller has assured me they would do so. I received yet another call today, and rather than being polite or nice about it today I decided to be a jerk, in the hopes that they simply would not want to deal with me again. No idea if it will work, but either way I wish to register a complaint against their business practices. Today's caller "***" refused to transfer me to a supervisor, claiming he was one, which I find highly doubtful that a supervisor is the one making cold calls. In addition, I tried calling them directly to complain to an actual supervisor, their prompt system of dialing '1' for an employee directory doesn't work, and when I hit '0' for reception I simply get transferred to a generic voice mail box, making it impossible for me to actually control the situation and talk to a real person.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology, along with written assurance from the company that I will not be contacted again.

Business Response: We have received the documentation in regards to this complaint. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our promotions department. We will make sure that the referenced party will not receive any more calls to their business from our company. If there are any questions or customer service issues, please contact the customer service line. 

9/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Business was contacted by a sales associate of Prime Social Marketing in regards to our Facebook page. They sent a proposal for a trail service in which the description was listing the total charges we would incur for their services. The proposal makes only a mention to the total price of 300.00 in which they would update our facebook page to include a more custom business appearance and style. They offered other products but since we did not have the funds to purchase a larger package, they offered us a trail package in which we would see some basic updates that we would be able to keep. From there, we would be able to add features in the future. After the three months in which they reviewed our "facebook likes" they contacted us to review. At this time, I informed Prime social that we would not be able to purchase the now $2,000 package. They then told me that it would cost $25/month to maintain our site the way it was built. The want I found out about this was that the new proposal (the one for $2,000) showed the actual monthly charge. The first proposal (the one for $300.00), which I signed and purchased, does not state anything about a month fee. Before signing the agreement, I asked if there would be any additional fee's for their service, and if I would be able to keep all the work they had performed. They stated affirmatively, "yes", I would be able to keep everything they would update on our Facebook page for us, and that no, there were no other charges unless we elected to continue adding additional features. We would be able to do this at anytime. Now, after I told them that we would not be getting additional services at this time, but at a later date, they informed me of the monthly $25 maintenance and hosting charges. I was then informed that they would go to each of my competitors to represent them... to teach us a lesson. Also, they attempted to mislead us during the review process. I started noticing "likes" on our facebook page in which were coming from the employees of Prime Social Marketing. During the review process, they did not remove the employees from the statistics they were presenting me. The information they presented was largely false. They did not perform in any way to increase our business or marketing abilities. I would have to say this company is deceitful in its proposals as well as it's reviews. When i confronted them about these matters, they basically cut me off and said they would be reaching out to our competitors to teach us a lesson.

Desired Settlement: I wish for this company to receive lower marks for their score with the BBB, as well as the hosting for the products they have set up on our page as of this time without charge. Since my proposal specifically does not have the charges for the monthly hosting charges, I should not have to pay this. If this can not be done, I wish to receive a refund of the services they performed.

Business Response: The customer purchased our 3-month trial package in which we build up the welcome/ special offer page and host the page on our servers for 3 months. After the 3 month term is over we always contact the client and review any progress made so far and ask what their intentions are going forward. If they do not choose to move forward with any other package, they can either choose to have us host the page moving forward ($25/month) or we email the client their design file and they can do with it what they wish. All design work on the special offer page is the client's to keep, they do not have to host with our company. We always let the client know that any work is in fact theirs to keep and provide an email with all design files attach. Therefore, as we stated in the beginning the client does own the design, it just has to be hosted like a website with us or on their own. If the client does not wish to take us up on our hosting offer, we will email them any design work and that is in fact their property to do with it as they wish. We would like instructions on what the client wishes to do, we can email out their design work right away so that the client can continue to have a professionally designed page that is unique to their business. That company can contact their webmaster to have their website host take over their Facebook page design or can host it themselves, they are not obligated to have our company host it on our servers, that is just one option. Our company has operated with the same packages for a long time now and this has never been an issue with anyone else, we are very upfront that once the design work is done, this is basically a 2nd website and needs to be hosted on a server as such. We regret any miscommunication with the client and would be more than happy to provide their design and answer any questions or concerns that they may have.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9156738, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately, the response that they provided was insufficient in explaining why it was not written in my contract that future continuation of services would cost me an additional $25 a month.  You can see the standard in the industry for changes in price after a promotion is clearly stated.  In my copy of the contract, there is no evidence to support that they had clearly advised me of the continued charges.  The information that they provided was not the way our conversations concluded.  I have attached a copy of the proposal email that was sent to me by the sales rep.  As you can see, nothing mentions continued service charges.  I asked the rep, ***, if there were any additional charges after the initial 300.00 was spent.  I was told, "no".  Not unless we decided to get other services added on to our facebook page.  Such as a new game or tool to drive up new members.  The explanation  they have provided is insufficient in explaining why I was misguided in order to obtain my initial business.  Then I was told off by the "manager" and he hung up on me after telling me they would contact all the other spa's in the area to compete with us directly.  This to me is very bad customer service, bad business ethics, and inaccurate information. 

Regards

Business Response: With our services there are no additional fees after the starter package unless the customer decides to either upgrade to a higher package or would like us to host their design information on our servers. There are no fees if the client would like to host their own design information. We are more than willing to email the client their design file and they can host the design themselves either o their own server or some businesses will contact their website host who can host their Facebook content as well. If the customer chooses to host their work themselves than we can email the design that day for them to proceed as they see necessary

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this business and the BBB are not looking that actual information that I am sending.  They keep saying the same thing over and over.  I sent a document that shows that there is no indication that they asked for monthly fee's for anything that they originally provided me and they came back and said that they don't require any additional charges, but yet, I don't have the product that they made for me in the trial.  Nor was I informed that I would have to try and find a host to keep up with the Facebook page.  The BBB has failed on this review and so have the company.  I do not have the time to sit here and send back and forth reviews endlessly.

Regards

3/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Telephone sales representative for Northeast region threatened to approach my competitors if I didn't accept their reduced cost offer for their Facebook page development services. Offer was made available only during the time of the call which is a type of offer I will never accept as a practice.

Desired Settlement: For public information

Business Response: BBB spoke to ******* from the business today. He apologized for the call and they do not condone that type of sales call. If you can remember who called, ******* can further look into the matter. If you are interested in this type of marketing, they are offering a free consultation. Please accept or decline this offer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me with regards to their not condoning his type of sales call. I am not interested in this type of marketing at this time.

Regards,

******* *******