BBB Accredited Business since

YPC Media

Phone: (585) 247-3996 Fax: (585) 247-3862 View Additional Phone Numbers 280 Kenneth Drive, Suite 300, Rochester, NY 14623 http://www.ypcmedia.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

 This company offers full service advertising, specializing in utilizing the internet for our customers to conduct business online. We offer full color display ads, mobile ready websites, videos, coupons, and custom information pages for each of our customers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that YPC Media meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for YPC Media include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on YPC Media
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2000 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 12/19/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Pavone, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Pavone, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Lana Schultz
Business Category

MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES SALES PROMOTION SERVICE SALES TRAINING VIDEO PRODUCTION SERVICES VIDEO EDITING INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES WEB DESIGN INTERNET - WEB HOSTING ADVERTISING SPECIALTIES MEDIA CONSULTANT DIGITAL MEDIA SALES LEAD GENERATION ADVERTISING - MOBILE ADVERTISING - INTERNET ADVERTISING - DIRECTORY & GUIDE ADVERTISING AGENCIES & COUNSELORS ADVERTISING - DIRECT MAIL YELLOW PAGE ADVERTISING GRAPHIC DESIGNERS MARKETING CONSULTANTS

Alternate Business Names
RCityWeb.com Yellow Page City, Inc. YPC Media, Inc.
Industry Tips
Developing a website

Additional Locations

  • 280 Kenneth Drive, Suite 300

    Rochester, NY 14623

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This started in January 2015. I was approached about advertising with this company YPC Media/*** - after research I did not feel this was going to work for my company in *****. But in the meanwhile I did give my payment information with the promise they would not charge me tell the paper work was finished. Well they have several times taken money out of my checking account - UNAUTHORIZED transactions. I have all the emails of the conversations promises etc. I told them March 11th 2015 I was done. I would like all my monies back that was paid into this ****.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount of $805.55 refunded back to me please. On 2-2-15 they withdrew $333.33 on 3-11-15 they withdrew $750.00 (I also got it refunded on 3/18/15) on 4-2-15 and 5-1-15 they withdrew $236.11 (each time). I would like the rest of the money back. Thanks, **** ******

Business Response:

On January 14, 2015, Mr. ****** purchased an Enhanced Listing and a 3 page mobile friendly website through the *** *** ******* program. On January 30, 2015 Mr. ****** upgraded this listing to a Featured Listing. The proof was sent to him on February 17th. We called the AB for approval but didn’t get a hold of him until March 3rd. At that time he said he would look at the proofs and get back to us by the end of the week. The AB (actually his bookkeeper) emailed us on March 4th and asked to cancel. The email stated the following- “I was under the assumption that this was a *** (*****) endorsed project, and it is not. I would like to cancel everything and have the money I have already paid refunded please”. Our Assistant Sales Manager called him on the same day and verified that we were in fact partnered with his local *** and gave him the contact number to call someone at *** directly to confirm. She walked him through the entire program again. On this call the AB also asked for examples of how the listing will look once it was published. She sent him examples of the program as well as her contact info so if he had any questions he could contact her directly. They had a great conversation and he seemed to understand how the program works at the end of the call.  On March 9th, our production department called the AB to see if he had time to review the proof. The AB told our production rep that he would like to talk to our assistant sales manager again to get some additional information from her. The call was transferred to her and all of his concerns were address again. The AB asked her to send another example of the program in the ***** region. She sent him a few more examples and suggested to him that we get his listing published so he would be able to see the final product and hopefully this would clear up any confusion. On March 13th the AB sent two emails back to back to our assistant sales manager. The first one asked for us to cancel the program and the second email stated we incorrectly processed a payment on March 11th. The assistant sales manager was on vacation in Florida when she received the emails but forwarded them over to the office and asked the sales manager to call. Unfortunately, the sales manager didn’t get to the email until Monday the 16th since it was sent in late on Friday. He called the customer to let him know that we did incorrectly process a payment of $750.00 (actually this was the original payment amount and date agreed to when the customer first signed up on January 15th but then this changed when he decided to upgrade to the higher tier) but it had already been refunded to his account and he should see it reflected in the next day or two. They discussed the listing again and the AB said he would review everything but didn’t want to be rushed. They also had a good conversation and the AB seemed happy.The day after (March 17th) the AB called in again and said he received a call from his bank stating we processed yet another payment of $750.00. This is where the bank went wrong; it wasn’t an incorrect payment, it was the refund we had just processed and they mistakenly told the AB it was a payment. The AB gave us the contact info to his bank representative. We called the bank directly and spoke to **** (###-###-####) and straightened out the situation. **** was going to call the AB back to let him know she made a mistake.  We called the AB back a few times after this but never got a hold of him. We continued to process the monthly payments (as agreed to) in April and May. The AB sent us an email late on May 1st which we didn’t get until the morning of May 4th which is also when we received the complaint. As I stated there was so much confusion on this account; The AB’s confusion with our partnership with ***, the AB’s confusion with not being able to see his listing up and live before it was published, the payment we processed incorrectly, the bank telling the customer we were trying to take another incorrect payment rather than showing him it was a refund. I have no problem cancelling and refunding this customer but I would like to keep his listing up for the remainder of the contract period as an act of good faith. I do not want him walking away thinking we are that type of business. We do care about our customers and will always stand by the product we sell.

Consumer Response: I would like this completely canceled and my money refunded. Thank you I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, **** ******

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: earlier this year i purchased a website add, that claimed to be associated with the BBB and upon checking with in your office and viewing some of their adds in your off ice I purchased it, the web page placing is nothing like they promised, the keywords do not prompt my add as promised and so on, i complained to BBB, they contacted the company who in which contacted me, i explained the problem to the person that sold it to me, the next day his supervisor contacted me, i missed her call she said she fixed the problem, and problem solved, it did not fix it, i returned her call, no answer, left a message "the problem is not fixed, it is nothing that was promised, and i understood that all phone conversations were recorded at her company and suggested that she review the conversations, and fulfill them, and to please forward me a copy" i never heard from her again, this complaint is not closed, and has not been reviewed by the BBB and i have spoke with two other people at BBB and got non reply I then spoke with another person from said company, we spoke for quite a while i explained that things that were promised were not delivered, and that I understood that they recorded all conversations, to review them, she agreed, said that if what i was promised was not delivered she would be happy to give me a full refund, i did not here back from her for quite an while, i contacted her, she stated her sales manager had a idea, that was it i never heard from her again. i was told my company would pop up when certain key words were put in for search, that does not happen, i was told my company would pop up in the top few on ******, that does not happen, and numerous other promises, and the funny thing, a while after purchasing this service, the company contacted me and tried to sell me a lot of what i was promised for a additional $3,000.00 a year, and at that time I once again ask for management to contact me, no answer

Desired Settlement: Full refund as promised

Business Response: On January 14, 2014, Mr. ******** purchased an online advertising package that consisted of a 3/8 page ad and a mobile friendly website for a total contract amount of $1,577.40. On June 5, 2014 Mr. ******** reached out to his local BBB because he was confused about the products he purchased through us. BBB reached out to us and asked us to follow up with him on his concerns. His sales representative called him on the same day and explained the program to him in detail. Part of the confusion was the customer's ad was published under the contractors heading in our directory but he wanted to focus solely on electrical contractors. The next day we made the revision and moved his ad into the electrical contractors heading. The sales representative called the customer to let him know the change had been complete. On June 16, 2014 we received another call from BBB on behalf of Mr. ********. The customer informed BBB that we never responded to his first request and that he hadn't heard back from our company.  As an effort to help resolve the issue, BBB sent the customer screen shots of his advertising to show him that it was in fact working. We verified our follow up conversation we had with the customer about 10 days before and also said we would follow up with him again to clarify any confusion. The customer was called again that day and a message was left for him. To avoid any more confusion a follow up email was also sent from us to the customer. The email explained the changes that were previously made and also included screen shots of the program working correctly. BBB was also copied into this email. I asked the customer to call us back if he had any further concerns. We did not hear back from the customer until 3 months later.About 3 months later BBB contacted the customer in regards to their accreditation dues. At that time the customer again expressed concerns with the advertising he purchased through us. Once again BBB contacted us and asked us to follow up with him and once again we called him. This time the customer stated that he was not happy with the program because it was not working the way he thought it was supposed to work. We reviewed the program together and he still thought the program was explained to him differently. He asked to cancel his advertising and refund him the entire contract amount. I explained to him that we were now over 9 months in to his annual contract and that I could not justify giving him a refund on the entire contract amount. I offered to issue him a prorated refund of any advertising time not used. He asked me if I could review the recorded calls that were made between him and his sales representative to verify what products were purchased. He also asked that I have the Sales Manager call him back to discuss his cancelling options. I was able to listen to the recorded calls we had. However, the actual sales call was not recorded.  The calls I did listen to explained the program correctly. The customer explains to the sales representative that through this program he is trying to reach new customers.  They have a long discussion about this and the sales representative assures him that this could be accomplished through this advertising.  Looking at the advertising created and the stats generated from this online program, I believe his goals were achieved. I shared this information with our Sales Manager. He called the customer back a few times. The customer's voice mail was full a few times but he was able to finally leave a message on October 1st. To date, we have not heard back from the customer.Although we have not heard back from Mr. ********, we are still willing to prorate a refund for the unused advertising time. In order for this to be done, he would need to contact us directly.

Business Response: BBB spoke to **** at the business and the following was relayed in addition to the business rebuttal received: The business is willing to refund the company 50% of the amount paid for the listing. I attached the stats you requested. I also attached an email that I sent to ***** back in June showing that the links to his advertising were in fact live and working well. . The issue he had started in June and I worked closely with ******* ****** (Spokane BBB) to resolve his issues.  I thought it might help to give you a timeline of events. This was purchased on January 14, 2014. The total contract amount was $1577.40. He paid $788.70 down (half) and the remaining $788.70 on February 13, 2014.  The advertising went live on March 6, 2014. There was a delay in getting the customer’s approval. ******* reached out to  us on June 5, 2014 on behalf of the AB. He was having a hard time with ****** searches. He was under the impression that we were going to put his business name on the first page of ****** with links directly to his business. Our program does not work that way. We purchase ****** AdWords for Yellow Page City and link them directly to the heading that customer’s ads are in. During this time we also made changes to the heading his ad was in. Both ******* and I talked to the customer and believed this issue was resolved.  On September 9, 2014 ****** ***** (Spokane BBB) reached out to us again on behalf of the AB. This was the first time he asked for a cancellation. At this point the contract had been live for 6 months. I offered him a prorated refund. At this time I passed this account over to the sales manager. Per our notes, he tried calling the AB several times but never reached him. This account has been on hold since. To date, the customer has not received any type of refund, not even a prorated refund.  

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Regards, ***** ********

12/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct. 27, 2014 I talked with a sales rep from YPC in regard to renewing the ad I placed last year. I was told it was under automatic renewal, however my credit card had expired and they needed a new card. I didn't plan on renewing as my business didn't receive any calls from the past years advertising. When I told this to the sales rep, she took it a step further to find out why. One major reason was that the phone number posted on the website was incorrect. The sales rep called the phone number posted on the website and all it did was ring. I called the same number and got the same thing, it just rang. I expressed huge frustration with the situation, as I payed nearly $2000 for advertising and received nothing out of it. She asked me to hold so that she could talk with her supervisor to see what could be done. Her supervisor told her that I approved the website, which I did, but the approved website had the correct phone number. I wouldn't approve a website with the wrong phone number. When she returned, she offered to give me the same website ad and that she would personally put in the correct phone number and make sure the correct phone number went to all search engines the next day. She scheduled to call me back Thursday evening to give me the results and show me the corrected problem. In the meantime, I had given her updated credit card info until we talked on Thursday. Once I saw the corrected information, I would authorize payment. The next day, I saw that my credit card was charged $1100, the price the sales rep told me. I did not authorize payment when I talked with the sales rep on Monday. After seeing my card was charged, I check the website to see if it was corrected, it wasn't. On Wednesday, I tried calling the sales rep, she wasn't in. I waited for her phone call on Thursday, she never called. On Friday, I called YPC and left the sales rep a voicemail and a supervisor a voicemail. I informed them that I was not interested in advertising and I demanded a refund, no one called back. On Monday, Nov.3rd, I called YPC again and asked to talk with a manager, again, I was sent to a voicemail. I demanded that I get a refund and that someone have the decency to return my phone call. The sales manager did return my call. He told me that the phone number was a tracking number and that all calls were forwarded to my phone. After a lengthy discussion with him, he finally told me that he would email me a list of the phone calls that were forwarded as well as his contact info. This is Friday, Nov. 7th and I've yet to see anything from the Advertising Manager. I sent the sales rep and email on Wed. informing her that I talked with the manager and he has yet to send me what he said he would. I informed her that I just want a refund and that I do not wish to advertise with YPC this year. She did reply and informed me she would refund the $1100, however, I have yet to see a refund. Today, the YPC design dept. sent me an email asking me to proof the website. I replied to them that I do not wish to advertise and that I do not give my approval to post the ad. Now, enough is enough! I've asked for one week to be refunded what my credit card was charged, yet all I get is a run around. I decided to go to the BBB website to check the YPC ratings. I was quite surprised to see that they have seven complaints in 2014, all similar to mine. I also read YPC's replies to the complaints, they were just mumbo jumbo to make the company look good. I'd like to see what there reply is for mine. Why don't they return my phone calls? Where's the info they said they were going to send? Why did the "tracking number" not work until after I talked with the sales manager? Why is the design dept. looking for my approval when I repeatedly said I do not wish to advertise? Where's my refund? I want a full refund.

Business Response: Mr. ***** has been a customer of ours since 2012. On October 27, 2014,  Mr. ***** talked to one of our sales representatives regarding his annual renewal on his Yellow Page City advertising.  His advertising uses a call tracking number which was added to his contract back in 2013.  This tracking number has seamlessly linked to his business phone number since that time. On the renewal call, Mr. ***** questioned the tracking number on his listings and mentioned that he was not aware of that phone number. He was very concerned that he had been advertising with us using an incorrect phone number for the entire year. Our sales representative was not very diligent in going back to research this concern. Instead she said that she would look into this issue and get back to him on a resolution. Had our sales representative looked at the prior contract and tested the tracking number, she would have known that this tracking number was in fact assigned to this business and properly working. Mr. ***** and our sales representative had a lengthy discussion on this renewal and the changes that needed to be made. At the end of the call it was agreed upon that the requested changes would be made and the renewal put through after the changes were complete.
Upon further review, our sales representative realized that there was confusion regarding the tracking number itself, not an issue with the product or the functionality of the product. The advertising that had been live the previous year was correct and performing quite well. At that point, our sales representative should have called Mr. ***** back with an update. Mr. ***** called the day after and left a message for his representative. Unfortunately she was not in that day and call was not returned. He followed up the following day and spoke to our Sales Manager. After their discussion, Mr. ***** should have received an email recapping their conversation but the email was not received.
This issue was brought to my attention and I immediately followed up with Mr. *****. We had a great conversation and we clarified all the miscommunication from previous discussions he had with our company. We reviewed his entire contract and went over every concern he had. I pulled a report that showed 172 calls to the tracking number since December 2013. Out of the 172 calls, only 70 of the calls connected. We discovered that one of the issues with this was the fact that our tracking number connects to a phone line that does not have call waiting. The unconnected calls were not connecting because the caller received a busy signal. Mr. ***** was also going to follow up with his phone provider to discuss adding call waiting. This would resolve the issue with potentially missing new customer calls. We also discussed other potential changes that could be made to his advertising. At the end of the call Mr. ***** agreed to stay with Yellow Page City for his advertising.
The integrity of Yellow Page City is paramount. Our reputation and the relationships we build with our customers are key to our success. Yellow Page City strives on providing 100% customer satisfaction.  Because I feel as though Mr. ***** did not receive 100% quality customer service I offered to refund the entire contract amount of $1,100.00 and keep his advertising live for this contract period. Our customers are our number one priority and I hope this helps compensate for any inconvenience this may have cause Mr. *****. I am asking that this complaint be closed as "customer experience" only. Thanks

 

10/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company I work for [********************** ****] has done advertising with yellowpagecity.com. This year we have as a company decided not to advertise with Yellowpagecity.com. During my conversation with **** ******* after I made him aware we were no longer going to be using his services he let me know that "He has worked his *** off on our account." He will take us off all accts he claimed and we will fall in our ratings and we are not to call him to say he sabotaged us when this happens. I was instructed by the owners of ********* ************* ****. to file a complaint with you as Yellowpagecity.com does your advertising. The exit interview could have been done in a professional manner.

Desired Settlement: I am making you aware of the business that represents the BBB. I would like a response to this complaint. Thank you

Business Response: This customer has been a customer of ours since 2006. Each year we speak to the business owner and discuss the renewal options with them. On 9/24/2014 our sales representative called this business for the renewal and spoke to the person filing this complaint. She mentioned that the company would not be renewing with us this year. Because this company has advertised with us for so long, our rep was pointing out the disadvantages of cancelling this account. Upon review of the recorded call between our rep and this company we also believe that our rep could have handled this call more professionally. Although our rep is very passionate about our program and the products we sell, his demeanor on the phone is not one that we support. The Sales Manager of our company did speak to him about this call and discussed ways to express his concerns in a professional matter. We have very strict guidelines on the verbiage our reps are allowed to use and due to this infraction of our policy, there was discipline action that followed. The rep received a written warning and was put on a calling restriction. We take this kind of issue very seriously and can assure that the proper actions were taken to prevent this from happening again. I would like to extend my sincere apologies to this company for the actions of our sales representative.

8/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with YPC Media through my sales rep. ******* Guilfoyle on 04/11/2014 when he signed me up he asked for referrals and advised me I would be given a $50 American Express gift card for every referral. He also made several promises about our increased web presence; he told me he would be in contact with me throughout the process and would receive updates regarding progress. After taking my money and referrals not only did ******* never follow up with me but he also never sent me the gift cards he promised. I have no idea if anything has been done on my behalf or if they are just collecting my money. The people I referred have expressed that they feel the same way.

Desired Settlement: I have not been contacted or given any evidence that the work I paid for has been completed.

Business Response: On April 10, 2014, this customer purchased an online advertising package through Yellow Page City for a total contract amount of $2,000.00. The contract included the following products: 1/4 Page Ad in the Minneapolis, MN directory under the insurance heading, the Smart Listings Network, The Extended Social Network and a Special Offer.  This contract was to be paid with a $1,000.00 down payment and then 2 additional payments of $500.00 each due on June 2, 2014 and the final payment on August 2, 2014.  The final draft was sent to the customer for approval on April 18, 2014 and on the same day the customer emailed back stating that the advertising looked good, thanked us, and mentioned that they were ready to go live. After quality assurance checks on our end, the online advertising went live on April 21, 2014.

There was no communication between our company and the customer until August 1, 2014 when we received an official BBB complaint stating the customer was upset for multiple reasons. The reasons mention in the complaint were because his account representative had not been in contact with him and because he had not received referral gift cards that were promised to him for referring other State Farm agents to us.  The complaint also mentioned that the customer was unaware if anything had been done online on their behalf. Since this was the first correspondence we have received from the customer, we called him immediately to discuss his concerns. The customer and the account representative correspoded by email over the next few days trying to come to a resolution. Our Customer Service Manager also reached out to the agent to see if she could help resolve any further issues. During that call we realized that the final paymet was supposed to be processed through their account the next day and their main concern was that they would be paying out more money when they already had concerns on the program. The payment scheduled to be processed on August 2, 2014 was immediately stopped until we could resolve this issue with the agent. The agent seemed very happy with this offer. The agent was also sent out 2 referral gift cards that were owed to him for referring other agents to our program. We sent him a total of $100.00 in American Express gift cards. Upon further discussions with this customer we agreed to cancel and refund all payments made on this account. We would not want any customers thinking that we do not hold up to the integrity we have set for our company.

I am hoping that since the customer has been refunded all monies he has paid in to this program and also received $100.00 in gift cards on top of this that this complaint can be closed for information only or as a customer experience. As soon as we realized this customer had an issue we were on the phone with them trying to resolve this issue. Had we known about this issue previously before the complaint was put through to the BBB we would have been more than happy to resolve the issue with the agent directly.




8/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with YPC media around June 19, 2014. A downpayment of $400 was given and a payment plan established to pay the remaining $600 ove the next 6 months, in exchange for coverage internet and placement. I was shown other ***** **** agents that supposedly used them and the way they were placed under certain seach engines. I was told to give them about 10 days to get me up and running. They have done nothing. Nothing has changed and i have no additional exposure at all. I have called them 3 times over the last 3 weeks and no one will call me back. Since the intial sale of their "product", i have not been able to speak to anyone except the receptionist who transfers me to voicemails. I feel that this company has stolen my money on the premise of doing work that they have no intention of doing.

Desired Settlement: I would like a phone call or an email letting me know that the contract has been cancelled and a refund given.

Business Response: On June 18, 2014, this customer purchased an online advertising package through our compnay for a total contract amount of $1000.00. The contract consisted of an 1/8 Page Ad in the **** ******** LA directory in the ********* heading, the ***** ******** ******* and a Special Offer. We created the ad and sent the customer a proof to review. On June 30, 2014 the customer emailed in approval of the work and on July 2, 2014 the ad was published in our directory. Per our customer log, the customer called in on July 18, 2014 with concerns that she could not find the YPC  listing while performing a Google search. She briefly spoke to someone in our production department. The customer called in again on July 29, 2014 and was transferred to our Customer Service Department with the same concerns. We discussed these concerns with her and advised her we needed to look further into the issues but would have her Sales Representative call her back by the end of the day with a resolution. Her Sales Representative called her back within the hour and together they were able to resolve her issues. The resolution consisted of adding an additional product on to her contract at no additional cost to her.  This product will ultimately help her placement on Google Maps. The customer does not wish to cancel at this time.

I believe this issue has been handled diligently and in an appropriate time frame and would like this complaint closed as information only.

8/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a "renewal" customer for Mr. ******* *********, representing Yellowpagecity.com. I told him that I was not interested in renewing the terms or services this year but his "strong-man" sales tactics convinced me that if I accepted his offer on 04/30/2014, I would have 5 days to cancel with a "no obligation" refund credited back to my account. I cancelled the next day, 05/01/2014, and as of yet have not been credited back the $333.00 paid. I have an on-going dispute with my credit card company and Yellowpagecity.com. Their reply back to my credit card company was that they had already started the project and wished to keep the $333.00 payment. I have sent emails to the company showing Mr. ********* stating, "I will for sure cancel your account." Even after I asked repeatedly not to be contacted by telephone, he would not honor that request and continued to the point of harassment! I have sent all documents to the credit card company for further resolution. If I am not satisfied with their findings, a credit of $333.00 plus interest accrued, I will have no other choice but to seek legal action from my attorney.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of $333.00 and any accrued interest be credited back to my credit card or sent to me directly. Also, I do not want Mr. *********, or any representative of Yellowpagecity.com to make any further contact with me or my company.

Business Response: On April 30, 2014, this customer's contract was renewed for a total contract amount of $1000.00.  The customer has been with us for five years. The contract consisted of a YPC Enhanced Listing, a Bold Listings, the Smart Listings Network and a Special Offer. On June 23, 2014, the customer issued a chargeback in the amount of $333.00 (the same amount of the down payment). We responded to that chargeback and it was resolved in our favor, allowing us to keep the $330.00 down payment. After this decision was made, the customer contacted us again and he was refunded the entire $333.00.

We were able to resolve this issue with the customer directly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Although, they had no contact with me and did not initiate the refund until after this complaint (specifically, July 23, 2014.) The only way I found out about the refund is after receiving this message and calling my credit card company to ensure it had transpired.

Regards,

**** *********

2/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative from Yellow Page City called making a claim they were working with the BBB to offer members of the BBB services that included correcting online listings for our business and for creating additional listings in the major directories. He claimed by having thousands of correct listings that this would help our rankings and help our customers find us. It does make sense that this would help. My first clue to this being fraud should have been that he claimed the BBB sent me a letter explaining the partnership and the services they were offering. The problem I have is that I called the BBB and they verified they sent a letter which was never delivered but they did email a copy of the letter and assured me Yellow Page City was partnering with them. The services they sold me was supposed to happen within a 2 month period. It has now been more than 4 months and they have done nothing. I have searched many directory listings using Yellow Page City's competitors and other services and the directory listings and corrections that were supposed to have been completed more than 2 months ago have not even begun. In fact one of the places they claim they work with for our listing is yp.com. I went to that site two weeks ago and they had the wrong listing for us. I emailed yp.com directly and after 3 days they did put a listing for us up that had the correct information but left the listing that was incorrect! this is proof that Yellow Page City is NOT doing what they promised. I tried calling them last week and was directed to the sales persons voice mail. I left a message and he has not returned my call. I called again today, 1/22/14 (3 business days later) and was again unable to talk with the sales person. The receptionist was unfriendly and would not allow me to talk to anyone else including a manager. She would only send me to the sales person's voice mail and told me he was very busy and did not know how long it would take for him to return my call! I have paid hundreds of dollars to this company and have received nothing in return. My business is Accredited with the BBB and I know that if I treated my customers this way we would lose our rating and the BBB would not want anything to do with us 'partnering' with them. If this was about a bill for $25 it would be upsetting but would not be something to worry about. But after spending close to $1000 I feel Yellow Page City is committing fraud and using the BBB to do so. It now has me wondering what kind of payoff the BBB is getting from this company that the BBB would be involved with this fraud. I am seriously considering not renewing my BBB membership because of this criminal activity. I will not support any organization that I know is committing a crime and although the BBB is not actively selling the fraudulent service they are actively promoting it and that makes them as guilty as those committing the crime.

Desired Settlement: I either want all my money back that I have paid To date $888.85). Or, I want what was promised to me in the 'contract' and I want proof the work has been done. I want proof from a company not associated with Yellow Page City or the BBB. If this proof is not available then I want my money refunded in full. It should not be difficult to prove their work was done using another source that they do not have business ties with. If the company is too busy to provide adequate satisfaction I will take this matter to the Attorney General.

Business Response: On August 20, 2013 Mr. ******* purchased an advertising package through Yellow Page City for a total contract amount of $1000.00. The contract included a YPC Enhanced listing in our directory and the Smart Listings Network.  On January 22, 2014, Mr. ******* called to speak to his account representative  with concerns on how the advertising campaign was preforming. His account rep was on another call and was unable to take his call at that time. Our receptionist asked to take a message for him to call him back. Due to Mr. ********* frustrations, he did not feel as though he should wait for a call back and asked to speak to someone above his account representative. Unfortunately, all managers were in a meeting and unavailable so again the receptionist asked to take a message. Mr. ******* left a message and then made a follow up call to the BBB to express his concerns with our company.

Mr. ******* was called back about an hour later from his account representative. They discussed his account and any changes that could be made to help benefit this campaign. Mr. ******* was offered a complimentary upgrade to his account, valued at $1500.00. This upgrade will shorten the length of time that the AB's business listings will update across the internet. The product added to his existing campaign will resolve the concerns he had.

I do believe we resolved his issues within a respectable amount of time. Mr. ********* advertising campaign will be reviewed again with him in about 30 days to make sure he is satisfied with the changes we made.

2/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with yellow page city through a salesperson named ***** ********* three years ago. I renew every spring. The service I buy is search engine words such as auto or renters or insurance agent, followed by Richmond, Va. I was told if you type in these words to things like google search, the word yellow page city would be in the top three of the advertising page. Once you click on yellow page city, my ad would be the next site. I have had trouble dealing with ***** the past 3 years, but I stayed with them because they delieverd on the work. Since mid-december, I noticed yellow page city is not showing up at all with any of my search words. I am not sure how long this has been going on, but I have another company Iwork with and when dealing with them I checked on my yellow page city ad and it did not show up. I have left ***** 3 emails about this and talked with the receptionist and two other people who tell me ***** is very busy and will get back with me. This has been going on since 12/31/13 with no response from *****. ***** has alway been bad about returning calls or emails, but this is the first time he will not respond concerning the product. I paid right at $1.800 last year for this service.

Desired Settlement: If I could get some sort of refund, that would be great, but I really just want them to get this working. I am not sure how long my ad has not been showing up. I am sure I am not the only one going through this and ***** or the company should be reprimanded. He is head of sales and you should not be able to get away with this. I think he thinks by not calling me back, this will go away. Any help will be greatly appreciated. ***

Business Response:

On February 13, 2013 Mr. ********* renewed his Yellow Page City advertising for the third consecutive year. His advertising package included a 3/4 page ad for a total contract amount of $ 1800.00. On 12/31/13 Mr. ********* sent an email to our production department regarding finding the YPC links on Google. The email from Mr. ********* was forwarded to his account representative who then responded via email a few days later addressing his concerns. The delay in our response was due to the fact that our office was closed for a few days for the holiday.  I attached the email correspondence between our representative and Mr. Garfinkel. It appears that we were working on resolving this issue as the complaint was filed. There was also verbal communication between Mr. ********* and another account representative here at Yellow Page City. The goal of that communication was to move this account to another representative that would be a better fit to the customer.

 

On 1/20/14 Mr. ********* spoke to his new account manager and they discussed renewing this account. Mr. ********* was open to this discussion and the renewal. About a week later, Mr. ********* decided that he wanted to hold off on making this decision until further notice. Although the decision was made to hold off, Mr. ********* was thankful that his concerns were addressed and he will be contacting us at a later date to discuss his renewal options.  As a courtesy we have extended his contract out until September 21, 2014. We will keep his advertising live and continue to service the customer during this time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on YPC Media
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart