BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

American Homes of the Fingerlakes

Phone: (607) 347-4600 Fax: (607) 347-4647 1968 Dryden Rd, Freeville, NY 13068 http://www.american-homes.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers the sales of manufactured, mobile and modular homes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Homes of the Fingerlakes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Homes of the Fingerlakes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Homes of the Fingerlakes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 14, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1998 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1998 Business incorporated: 01/01/1998 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack Baker, Manager Mr. Edward Schell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Baker, Manager
Principal: Mr. Edward Schell, President
Business Category

MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS MODULAR HOMES MOBILE HOMES - DEALERS


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American Homes build our home and placed it on the foundation in October 2012. The front door has consistantly leaked. We have notified American Homes and they have sent someone out to fix the door, but unfortunelty it has not gotten fixed. As of last week the last person American Homes sent out told us that it's because of they way we positioned our house and that is why the door leaks. We now have black mold growing on the door and on the sheetrock next to the door, and there is fungus growing in the basement. American Homes says that we have to take it up with the manufacturer of the home at this point, who is not returning our calls. American Homes is our general contractor they should be the ones remiding this situation and then dealing with the manufacturer if neccessary. My 2 young children are now being exposed to black mold and fungus and no one will fix the issue. The guy from American Homes had my husband spray the door with water from the hose, and watched the water coming in and all he could say is that it's the way we positioned our house.......

Desired Settlement: We want the door, threshold, sheetrock and flooring replaced. Everything that has gotten wet or is molded or has fungus should be replaced. This house is not even a year old. We also have been complaining about this for 8 months and have had to miss work to meet workers at the house, getting compensated for that time would be nice too.

Business Response:   We have been aware of the door issue and tried to resolve it a couple of times on our own, as stated in the complaint.  After we were unsuccessful we turned it into ****** Homes who is responsible for the factory service.  I have enclosed correspondence between the ******** and ****** Homes which shows that ****** Homes has agreed to replace the door and fix any problems the leaking may have caused.     Respectfully,   ******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased a home from american homes in august of 2011. when they delivered our home they ran into a tree with our home, then they racked the corner of our home so when they set the home it didn't set right.From hitting the tree it damaged the fascia on the back side of our home, were told would be replaced. electric was to be dropped in basement and wasnt so now they had to do sub panel in basement. we have numerous cracks throughout our home that need to be repaired. there is a hump in our floor in living room from them racking the home and doesn't sit right. It has been almost seven months and none of these issues are being taken care of.

Desired Settlement: we have tried several times to contact service manager and our housing consultant and are getting no results

Business Response: April 18, 2012 

I have received your letter about the repair issues with above ID# and as directed have not included 
identifying information with this response. In response to the statement received, one of our service 
contractors has met with and scheduled the service to be completed of all outstanding items listed 
during the week of 4/23/12-4/27/12 at the customer's convenience. During this meeting a few other 
items were brought to our attention that were not in the statement you received, I authorized our 
contractor to complete these as well. 

Typically, the sheetrock settling cracks are repaired at the end of our one year warranty period to 
give the home the longest time to settle, due to the new working load and new excavation. 

Although it is not required by the NYS Home Builders Standards of Performance we feel it is benefit 
for us to do this for our customers. At the customer's request we will make these repairs during 
aforementioned scheduling. 

Respectfully, 
******* ***** 
Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1