BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

American Homes

Additional Locations

Phone: (315) 858-1600 Fax: (315) 858-2604 4050 US Highway 20, Richfield Springs, NY 13439 http://www.american-homes.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Mobile, Modular, & Manufactured Homes for sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 19, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1999 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated: 01/01/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jack Baker, Sales Manager Mr. Bob Fandrich, Sales and Service Manager Mr. Frank Fratianni, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Schell, Owner
Business Category

MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS MODULAR HOMES MOBILE HOMES - DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
Kenn-Schell LLC

Additional Locations

  • 152 North Pine Street

    Gloversville, NY 12078 (518) 725-1776

  • 1968 Dryden Road

    Freeville, NY 13068 (607) 347-4600

  • 2749 State Route 31

    Weedsport, NY 13166 (315) 834-6033

  • 4050 US Highway 20

    Richfield Springs, NY 13439 (315) 858-1600

  • 8765 Brewerton Road

    Brewerton, NY 13029 (315) 698-1600

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a modular home from American Homes in Early June. The home was delivered in August. It is now December and there are multiple things that have not been finished in the home: we do not have doorknobs for 4 rooms, there are not doors on 4 rooms/closets, one door needs to be replaced, another door needs adjusting, there are numerous outlets that do not work, our screen door has a hole in it, our dining room light was supposed to be put on a dimmer switch and it is not, the celieing in our entryway has dig holes in it, the backsplash in our master bathroom does not math the sink, our kitchen cabinets do not pull out as they are supposed to, some of them have not even been put together, the kitchen cabinet drawers do not shut as supposed to (no slam drawers), our master bathroom shower is incomplete, our floor has not been grouted where tiles were replaced, one of our lights is missing the globe, leaving the lightbulbs exposed, and we are missing a cover for an outlet. As of now, these are the things we have discovered, who is to say that we will not discover more as time goes on. Also, when workers left after working a day, windows and doors were not properly closed, causing us to lose much of our heat and the safety of those in the house to be jeopardized. The work has not been finished in a timely manner; it has been 18 weeks since the home was delivered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the work to be finished by January 10, 2014.

Business Response: I received the above complaint of ******** ****** and do apologize for the delay in responding as I have been out for a lengthy period. I reviewed the file and met and spoke with representatives from the ******** factory that built the ****** home, and expressed the dissatisfaction on in regard to the lengthy lime in receiving the material to finish ******** ******'s home. We did receive the tile and some other materials and serviced the home on Monday the 13th and are returning on Wednesday the 15th to grout the tile and do some other items on her list. We have been notified that the interior doors will be delivered to us by mid-week next week and we are scheduled to install them the end of next week. **** ***** in our service department has been working on this diligently for some time and for what ever reason has not been able to get them to send the material until now. This is not typical for ********, we have been doing business with them for a long time with out these delays. They have assured me that the material will be here to complete this home next week. Again I apologize for the delays in getting this complete. Sincerely, ** ****** Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl, LLC

Business Response: I received the above complaint response from ******** ******. In my last response I did not say that all issues were resolved. I said that we were servicing the home on the dates indicated. We had no way of knowing that the doors were not going to match. **** **** has indicated to us that the interior doors and cabinet issues would be addressed by them next week. The issue with the Valance was new to me and I have sat with ***** **** and **** ***** to review that issue. **** is working with **** at ******** trying to get matching cabinet material to put a Valance between the Cabinets. At this time ******** has indicated that they do not offer a Valance. If the material is made available to us we will install a Valance. If it is not made available we will reimburse the customer for that item. We should know shortly as to its resolve. We do not manufacture the home only retail and service it as requested by the manufacturer. We also do not control there service scheduling. We will continue to work with Mrs. ****** to complete the home as soon as possible.
Sincerely,
** ****** Gen. Mgr.
Kenn-SchI, LLC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
As we have had people return to our home and work on things, all of the matters are not fixed. Incorrect doors were delivered and installed. We are still missing outlet covers, the master closet has not been finished, there are still screws popping out of sheetrock that have not been fixed, we are continuing to wait for fully operational kitchen cabinets as some of them do not have all shelving in them, we are currently missing a valance between two cupboards, upon a few other concerns. I am accepting of the fact that things take time, however, I am not ready to say that these issues have been solved. I will be happy to accept a business response when the issues stated above have been fixed and finished to an acceptable manner. Regards, ******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is excessive issues on the exterior of our house including siding,and soffit/facia issues.The delivery of our house was delayed causing my wife and i to pay a 450 dollar charge to keep our loan rate at 3.7%. The last thing is we were suppose to receive the drappery package with our home a value of 6 to 700 dollars in value that was not delivered.

Desired Settlement: The pictures that were sent to american homes i would like fixed promtly .Also the 450 refunded and the drappery package money refunded in cash

Business Response: In response to your letter of 9/11/2013 regarding the above customer we contactedMr. ***** and have setteled the matter with him. I have attached the email and a copy ofthe release from Mr. *****. Thank you for your help in this matter.
Sincerely,** ******
Gen. Mgr.
Kenn-Schl LLC/American Homes

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,   ****** *****      

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom it may concern: I purchased a new mobile home from American Homes on november 9, 2007. The home was delivered to my property on December 12,2007.The home was installed by American Homes, but was not installed properly. The home is a 2008 Titan model built with the upgrades and special changes were made. 
Six months after the house was installed on our property we began to have problems with it. The water lines that were installed were done so improperly, causing leaks under the floor in the master bathroom causing the floor to rot. American homes was contacted. They sent a work order to *** ***** of ***** ***** who sent workers to the home. First to lay the linoleum back down when it was rolling due to the floor rotting. Then back to find the leaky pipe which was not found, the floor was then replaced and linoleum was laid back down by outside contractors hired by ***** *****. A few months after this I fell through the master bathroom floor due to the Shotty work done by the contract workers hired by ***** ***** a sister company of ******** *****. This time the floors had rotted into the master bedroom. Prior to the second time floors rotted out the shower in the master bath was running onto the floor through the bottom of the shower. The linoleum was not laid properly. Again we contacted American Homes on this matter. Again they came and took up the floor, removed the vanity, toilet, shower and garden tub. The floor in the master bath and bed were replaced and the bathroom put back together carpet laid back down in both rooms. What was not done was the walls between the two rooms which had begun to rot with the amount of times the floors had rotted. Since the floors were laid down before the walls were placed up the floor under the walls had rotted as well but not replaced with the rest of the floor causing the wet rotten floor beneath the walls to rot out the bottom of the walls which in turn made the walls drop and seperate from the ceiling in this part of the house. They also left a large hole under the garden tub in the master bath where the pipes come in and laid used scrap wood as the floor under the tub.
The duct work throughout the home was crushed up under the floor during transportation of the home to my property. The kitchen vents were not working properly causing the front end of the house to constantlly be cold. They returned to the house a few times to fix the problems with the vents. The duct work in the master bath was not properly placed back when the floor was replaced and is now just laying under the vent cover a mangled mess and detached from the house. 
The countertops in the kitchen have seperated from the backsplash on multiple occasions as well as the countertop itself has bubbled in spots. They have never tried to replace or fix the counter just continued caulking over top of the problem, and never did anything with the countertop bubbling. They suggested that we continue to recaulk should it separate again.
Also upon delivery of the home the stainless steel appliances that we had paid extra for came in dented. The refridgerator has dents in both the top and bottom of the door on the fridge side. The skin of the dishwasher had been replaced due the amount of dents in it when it came to us. The garbage disposal had to be fixed as well the first time it was used they had found a screw from the home as well as an industrial size staple inside the disposal that had jammed it when we tried to use it the first time. 
Due to moving the home and its improper placement on the slab, the screen door has never closed right causing the rain to get between the doors and rotting the frame in the front entrance. As well as the the screw in the screen door falling out. We have replaced the screw several times ourselves. While moving things into the home we were being stabbed in the foot by nails that had come out of the carpet in the living room. The nails they used in the carpets had come out. We took over 80 nails out of the carpet ourselves as well as what they removed. The living room carpet has had to be stretched and can no longer be stretched and is still rolling throughout the house. 
The door frames on both the front and rear door have seperated from the walls inside the house. The siding on the house has bowed and warped, it was replaced in the middle front of the house but again has bowed and warped. When the skirtìng on the house was placed in the rear of the house it had to be pushed inward to be placed cause that end of the house is not on the slab and the tracks were. These problems were all within the first year of the home being on our property. We had called American Homes on numerous occasions since these problems had been looked into. The calls have been either ignored or not returned. 
At this time, the home is in a state of disrepair. According to the warranty on the home. The manufacturer has the opportunity to come in and fix and or replace the problems in the home. If the problems are not properly taken care of or other problem asrise from the work done improperly then the home must be replaced in a timely manner. With all the problems the house has seen since it was built and the facts that prove the manufacturer has not done their jobs properly causing the homes current conditions. They are now responsible for the timely replacement of the home due to their negligance. The list of cosmetic problems with the house they say can‘t be dealt with are due to the structural damage of the home. 
Back in 2009 a friend came to visit and fell through the living room floor. When we had called American Homes another order was sent to *** ***** who informed us that our friend fell through the floor cause he was jumping on the floor. This is not the case. We had to fix the floor ourselves and upon pulling the carpet up we found that the area of the floor where he fell through was near a seem and the seem was not centered on the joist as it should have been. Therefore creating a weak spot in the floor upon which we also found multiple holes from where the furniture just sits on the floor. We attached 2X4s to the joist in the floor to secure the plywood that we used to fix the floor. We were also informed by *** ***** at this time the house is settling and some things will shift. The pad this house was placed on has been here for many years prior to this house. We added to each end of the existing pad to compensate the larger home.
On March 3,2012 we found the hot water heater had broken and was leaking onto the floor of the water closet located behind the wall of the master bedroom closet. The leak from the hot water heater also leaked through the to the office floor as well as the master bedroom floor and closet. Easter morning we found that the 300 lb support beams under the house had collapsed and taken out the drainpipes under the house. The waterbed in the master is sinking through the floor on one side. I called ***** ******* (local code enforcer) on April 5, 2012 to come to the house and observe the damage and have it recorded. Upon his inspection he was not happy with what he saw but agreed not to condemn the house at that time in order for us to fix the problems. On April 7,2012 **** contacted ******* *******, code compliance from the state dept. in Albany NY. He asked that an email be sent to him the information regaurdding the house and he would look into my claims with *** ***** and what was actually done. Without having the opportunity to get that information to him properly he called **** on April 18,2012 to let her know that he and ***** would be meeting at the house at 2:30 that afternoon to inspect the home together. My parents as well as a friend of the family was there as I was on the road and **** was at a dr apt. **** nor myself has spoken to either inspector since they were at the house, **** had a brief phone conversation with ***** from the dr which she was told that we had a certain amount of time to hire the proper contractors and plumbers to replace the broken pipes and floors and to buy the hot water heater and have it professionaly installed. ***** then stated that the waterbed was the problem with the floor in the master bed as well as the reason that the house has shifted 3" to the North. The waterbed is located in the rear sounth side of the home. Also the waterbed was in the old mobile home that was a 1987 for 12 years and never had problems that house was still in great condition when traded for the one we have today. We were told that we would have to be responsible for all these repairs out of pocket.
I sent a formal complaint to the office of the Attorney General in June 2008. They contacted *** ***** who responded with work orders of the problems they had fixed. Some of the claims were correct and some of them were false. Their were also statements that said that they were coming back to at a later date which didn’t happen. We have sent a second formal complaint to the office of the Attorney General on April 3,2012 after being told by American Homes that I needed to contact my home owners insurance I did Contact them, and **** , *** came to the home on April 4,2012. to get his proof of the damage and file the claim. **** also did a recorded interview with ****, which he will provide if needed.
We are now waiting for response from the second complaint to the Attorney General. We feel that we should not be help responsible for the repairs needed to make this house safe. If the contractors had done their jobs corectly the first time as well as the builders who did not properly put the home together these problems would not exist today. By us taking money out of our pocket that we do not have in order for us to try and replace these things, then we are telling the manufacturer that they don't need to be held responsible for their mistakes. They need to be held responsible for their incompetance. 
We are looking for Champion Homes to replace the entire home with a home of equal or greater value as we had $18,000 in extras put into the house when purchased. As well as being compensated for the time lost at work to come home and take care of this problem as well as for the displacement of my daughter who had to move into an unhealthy environment with her mother. **** having to find and pay for long term living situation, as well as my not being able to come home cause their is no safe home for me to come home to. This is causing undo and over whelming stress on me and my family. Causing my job performance to suffer as making me physically sick.  I'm just asking that they be held responsible for their incompetance. In closing I wish this problem to be taken care of swiftly and properly as my daughter needs to come home and I need a home to come to when I am not working. 
Attached you will find a seperate list of the things that are wrong in the home and hopefully you will see as we have, that this is not a mistreatment of our home. It is fault of the manufacturers. Also enclosed is the formal complaints to the Attorney General as well what was done the first time we had contacted them as well as a disc with pictures of the current condition of the home. Thank you for taking the time to help me and my family with this problem and we await for a response from your office. 

Desired Settlement: We are looking for Champion Homes to replace the entire home with a home of equal or greater value as we had $18,000 in extras put into the house when purchased. As well as being compensated for the time lost at work to come home and take care of this problem as well as for the displacement of my daughter who had to move into an unhealthy environment with her mother. **** having to find and pay for long term living situation, as well as my not being able to come home cause their is no safe home for me to come home to. This is causing undo and over whelming stress on me and my family. Causing my job performance to suffer as making me physically sick.  I'm just asking that they be held responsible for their incompetance. 

Business Response: I received the complaint regarding a Titan home sold by our company to *** ***** ** ******** in December 200?. I have read the complaint and  the file on this unit. I have attached copies of all service related items. The home was inspected by our company on 12/21/2007 a copy of which is attached. There were no major problems reported at that time. Shortly thereafter a major water leak was reported in the home, which was immediately reported to Titan Homes. *** ******** worked directly with Titan on the repair work from that point on. The next communication in the file is a call from *** ******* on or about March of this year reporting a leak in the Water Heater. We tried to explain to *** ********* that the home had a One Year Warranty and the Water Heater had its own Warranty from the manufacturer of the heater itself but he would not accept our answer. We did recommend that he Contact his homeowners insurance for any damage caused by the water Heater leak. We as the seller of the Manufactured home do not offer any Warranty on the unit itself but do provide to the homeowner a Manufacturer's One Year Warranty along with Warranties from Appliance manufacturers. The unit was purchased four and one half years ago and there is no Warranty in effect at this time. I have also provided a copy of the Purchase Agreement which states that we provided no hook up to water or septic. Due to the time elapsed since the purchase of 4 1/2 years and the home being out of Warranty 3 1/2 years the only assistance we can offer is to forward to Titan Homes for their possible assistance. Thank you for your help in this matter. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1