BBB Accredited Business since

American Homes

Additional Locations

Phone: (315) 858-1600 Fax: (315) 858-2604 View Additional Phone Numbers 4050 US Highway 20, Richfield Springs, NY 13439 http://www.americanhomesny.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Mobile, Modular, & Manufactured Homes for sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 19, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1999 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jack Baker, Sales Manager Mr. Bob Fandrich, Sales and Service Manager Mr. Frank Fratianni, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Schell, Owner
Business Category

MANUFACTURED HOME DEALERS MODULAR HOMES MOBILE HOMES - DEALERS

Alternate Business Names
Kenn-Schell LLC

Additional Locations

  • 152 North Pine Street

    Gloversville, NY 12078 (518) 725-1776

  • 1968 Dryden Road

    Freeville, NY 13068 (607) 347-4600

  • 2749 State Route 31

    Weedsport, NY 13166 (315) 834-6033

  • 4050 US Highway 20

    Richfield Springs, NY 13439 (315) 858-1600

  • 8765 Brewerton Road

    Brewerton, NY 13029 (315) 698-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My purchased mobile home was transported from American Homes, ********* *******, NY to ***** ***** Estates , **** ******, NY on December 9th, 2015. The home was damaged during transport. The warranty repairs have not been done to date despite multiple phone calls an emails to Graig H. at American Homes. The town building inspector will not issue a certificate of occupancy due to possible structural damage.

Desired Settlement: Repair damage to mobile home including structural damage. If the mobile home cannot be repaired than replace. Reimburse expenses such as utilities being paid when I am not able to occupy the home.

Business Response: I apologize as I have been out for the last two weeks. Our Sales manager and Service Manager have been in contact with Ms. ****** and the repairs of the damage to the home have been done. The Codes Official has inspected the home and I believe the Certificate of Occupancy has been given. We received the Stove Orifices from ****** Homes last week and they were overnighted to the homeowner. A service request for the Factory Warranty items has been forwarded to the factory and their Serviceman will be in contact with Ms. ****** next week to schedule the remaining repairs. I certainly apologize for the delay in the initial repairs but it was due to not receiving the parts from the factory. I believe Ms. ****** will be satisfied when the factory service work is done. Thank you for your help and concern in this matter. Sincerely, Edward S. Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl. LLC/American Homes

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. American Homes of ********* *******, NY had set an appointment for Thursday February 4th, 2015. Wednesday February 3rd 2015 I received a call from their warehouse explaining a family emergency and they would reschedule the appointment for repairs. I have contacted Jason C. since and has not responded to my request for another representative to perform the repairs. Regards, ****** ******

Business Response: I received your letter dated February 10, 2016 regarding Ms. ******'s complaint.
I do not think Ms. ****** understands the process which we have to follow. The appointment she refers to in her response was not made by American Homes but was set up by ****** Homes Service Department in response to our request for Factory Service on her Home. They cancelled the appointment she is referring to due to their Service Tech had a family emergency not ours. The Warranty on her home is from****** Homes, not American Homes. We send any request which are determined to be Factory issues to them and they schedule the service. We have been notified from ****** Homes that the Service has been done.


3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our home from American Homes in April of 2011. Our home was delivered in July of 2011, which we thought was in a timely manner. Upon inspection of our new home, we noticed that none of the dead bolts aligned. We were completely understanding of this minor repair as we are aware that some things get bumped and jostled when being delivered. We also noticed that our siding had a large bulge in it. American Homes did send someone out in a timely manner to repair the dead bolts. While the front door dead bolt was being repaired, the man fixing it tried to align the door as it was warped and the man cracked the frame. We were not told of this error from American Homes, but was told by the man completing our heating system (which was not affiliated with American Homes). Our heating guy said that he had witnessed the American Homes guy crack the frame and then tried to glue it to hide the error. Again, we were still patient and understanding as we know accidents happen. We just assumed that it would be repaired in a timely manner. American Homes did keep telling us that the company that made the house would come out to repair. They sent a man 1 year ago to review the door and bulge. He stated that they would get someone out to replace the entire unit on the front door and repair the damage to the closet caused by the warped door. Over the past 3 1/2 years we have kept in contact with American Homes in an attempt to fix our front door with no resolve to the issue. Our guests must use the basement or back door in order to enter our home. Due to the front door not being repaired, water has leaked in, rotting the front door and the hall closet that is kiddie corner to the front door. There hasn't been any attempt to repair the bulge in the siding. We have been patient long enough. Our calls are now going unanswered at both American Homes and the company sent to fix the issue. We would like to resolve this issue effective immediately with our front door unit and the rotting areas replaced.

Desired Settlement: We would like our front door unit and rotting areas due to the warped door, replaced. We would would like the bulge in our siding repaired in a timely manner.

Business Response: I received the above complaint regarding a frame issue with the front door. I have reviewed the file on this home. The front door frame was indeed cracked at the area where the Dead bolt latch plate was installed. This was broken in transit not by American Homes. When we went to adjust the latch the piece came out. We did indeed as Mr ******* indicated have ***** Homes send the Door Manufacturer out to repair the frame Mr. ******* told them that we broke it which was untrue, it was broken when we look the plate off to adjust. The door manufacturer then would not warranty the frame due to Mr. *******'s statement. The door frame where the damage occurred by the dead bolt serves as a cosmetic purpose only. The Dead Bolt has a plate which screws to the frame and the dead bolt travels through the plate and into the adjacent stud. It was glued,repaired and adjusted. We have not had any complaint from Mr. ******* regarding this door not closing since 11/23/11 and no report of any leakage at all to date. We also have no record of a reported bulge in the siding. If Mr. ******* has a written record of the reported bulge in the siding please have him send it to my attention for review. Our file on this home is closed. The warranty expired on 7/1/2012. Sincerely, ** ****** Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl LLC

Business Response: I received Mr. *******'s response to my previous letter and upon reading his response I contacted ***** Homes Service Department. Mr. **** *****, and found that indeed there was a record of the complaint at ***** Homes. This complaint was never sent in writing to American Homes but was documented directly with ***** Homes, therefore the reason there was nothing in our file except the original complaint regarding the damaged door frame. Mr. ***** at ***** Homes indicated that He indeed dropped the ball and somehow lost track of the complaint. He told us that he would contact Mr ******* and schedule the work to be done in mid-April and the scope of the work would be replacement of the front door, damage from leakage of the door and the bow in the siding. ! hope this will be satisfactory to Mr. ******* and will bring this to conclusion. Thank you for your help in this matter.
** ****** Gen. Mgr.
Kenn-Schl LLC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Thank you for your help! We have heard from ***** Homes and they are planning on coming out to fix everything the week of April 13th. I am beyond relieved that this is finally coming to a close and we can truly enjoy our home!  Regards, **** *******

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were trying to purchase a home from them. After a year of going back and forth with the bank about different paperwork they needed to get us approved, A guy named ******, who is the manager at American Homes went ahead and had the house we chose built before we were approved. He calls me up begging me to send him a check for $15,000 as he said to let the owner of the company know we were still interested. Well about a week later the bank sent an email saying they couldnt approve us at this time. I notified American Homes and asked that my money be returned. ****** left a message on my answering machine saying he was not returning our money. We never signed any agreement at all about giving any down payment and at the time we sent the money, I informed American Homes that money was for our closing, and we have an email from a guy named **** stating we would get the money back for our closing. I sent a letter to American Homes asking that our Money be returned, which the letter was signed for on September 29, so I know they got it and have gotten no reply at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to give me back my $15,000 I sent to them. We could not get approved by the Bank, therefore it should be returned.

Business Response: I received the above complaint regarding a requested return of deposit to Mr. ******* ********. In reading the complaint I find a few miss-statements in the complaint. Mr. ******** was approved for the loan at ******* ***** Inc. back in May 2014 and in fact a closing had been set up for him to close. The closing was cancelled due to a last minute issue with the title to the property in which he was putting the modular home on. It was at that time the home was ordered. Something happened between that time and the time the title was cleared which caused the approval to he rescinded. Attempts by ******* ***** Inc. were made to clear up the issue but cooperation by Mr. ******** with the bank did not happen. We now have a Custom home built for Mr. ******** which we have to market to another customer. I have attached a copy of the Purchase Agreement on this home and on the back of this document section 6 Titled "Failure to Complete Purchase" outlines the customer responsibilities. This home did not close due to anything with American homes but something with Mr. ******** and the Bank. We will set up the Modular Home for sale and when sold we will outline our costs to Mr. ******** and send him the balance due him along with a future purchase voucher in the event he clears up the issues with the bank and desires to purchase in the future. I would suggest that Mr. ******** work with the bank and clear any issues outstanding. We would also like to work with Mr. ******** to at all possible complete the purchase. Sincerely, ** ****** Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl LLC

Business Response: I received the follow up complaint regarding a requested return of deposit to Mr. ******* ********. I have also read the emails and Mr. ******** was well aware of what was going on during this process. I would suggest that he send a letter to ******* ***** Inc., **** ******* Street, ****, NY *****. requesting in detail the process he went through and how we got to this point and why the deal never closed in May. I can-not get this detail sent to me due to the privacy act, but it is available to Mr. ********.  We believe that the sole reason for the deal not closing was directly due to the failed follow upon the part of Mr. ******** on his promises to the bank. When we receive the detailed information, we can then make a determination as to what happened to the approval and why. If this information shows that we made some wrong assumptions during the process. We will make a full refund of the deposit. Sincerely,** ****** Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl LLC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Regards, ******* ********

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: home was set on full basement in January 2014,since have had alot of problems with house. American homes came to fix chimney for fire place 4 times before it was fixed right and then the customer service rep accused me of causing the problem.They ran out of the trim to finish the interior and used a different kind to finish the trim, which does not match- (problem still not fixed). They came to adjust front entrance door and back utility door, and damaged and broke the door casings and trim, also the sheetrock walls around door frames- (still not fixed). Had problems with the way furnace was vented, i had to have anouther company fix the issue and paid bills out of pocket-(still have not been reinbursed). Shingles on roof damaged where cables to lift house onto foundation broke edges.- (still not fixed). Service rep very unperfessional. Lied to me twice about getting issues taken care of, and then i find out later that he never did nothing about issues. HAVE OVER 200 PICTURES OF ALL THE PROBLEMS WITH HOUSE AND 3 FULL PAGES OF ISSUES WROTE ON PAPER THAT WAS TURNED OVER TO AMERICAN HOMES AND ********* HOMES( BUILDER OF HOUSE). ALSO HAVE ALL EMAILS THAT I SENT TO THEM. HAVE ALL DOCUMENTATION

Desired Settlement: Want sit down meeting with owner of american homes,the service rep,and my sales rep. Want front door ,casing,and trim, also back utility door ,trim and casing,replaced with new ,not repaired. want to be compensated for furnace and fuel bills ,loss of work wages for time i had to take off of work to deal with all issues,and for all the problems they made worse after trying to make repairs.

Business Response: I received the complaint regarding a ********* home Serial # ***** sold by our company to Mr. & Mrs. ******* ***** in January 2014. I have read the complaint and reviewed the file on this unit. I have attached copies of all service related items. In reading the complaint the specific issues stated were: Tying off the Chimney. The chimney for the fireplace did need tying off to the roof. Mr. ***** met with **** (Sales) and **** (Service) regarding this and expressed that he would take care of this item. After some time passed he called and complained that no one had completed this item. We received no notification from Mr. ***** that he hadn't done it until he complained again at which time we completed this item. (See picture & WO 912). The other complaint regarding the scaling of the chimney. The chimney had been sealed when installed but movement most likely broke the seal. When we went to seal it again we noticed that the sealant had been removed from the rain collar by someone. (See Picture #2 & 3). It is now sealed. Next is the Front and Rear Door Trim. We removed and reset the front and rear doors on 5/2/2014 as noted by WO # 927 and Picture. We will change molding as necessary when we return for the ceiling cove molding replacement. Ceiling Cove molding does not match. We reported this to ********* and had received molding to replace which was not the correct type. It has been reordered and we will take care of when received. See Picture (Grain in wood doesn't match). Bill for Furnace repair not paid. We reimbursed Mr. ***** $333.70 for these repairs. The bill we received was for the repairs and the hook and conversion of the appliances which was his responsability. Shingles on roof need repair. Shingles were repaired on 3/27/2014 per WO # 892. I have made note that there may be additional shingles which need repair which if needed we will repair on next visit. ********* Homes visited the home on 4/15/2014 and complete many of the reported items as indicated by WO# *******. They will return if necessary to complete any of the reported items not completed. The other item in the last paragraph was a excessive heating bill issue. Mr. ***** sent us one heating bill along with complaining of excessive cost to heat the home. When we calculated the cost it came to 2 gallons of propane per day which in the middle of the winter was not excessive. We also do not know how long the basement was open to the weather as shown in picture. We work very hard here to please our customers and will make every effort lo complete the remaining items as soon as possible. Sincerely,  ** ******Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl LLC

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a modular home from American Homes in Early June. The home was delivered in August. It is now December and there are multiple things that have not been finished in the home: we do not have doorknobs for 4 rooms, there are not doors on 4 rooms/closets, one door needs to be replaced, another door needs adjusting, there are numerous outlets that do not work, our screen door has a hole in it, our dining room light was supposed to be put on a dimmer switch and it is not, the celieing in our entryway has dig holes in it, the backsplash in our master bathroom does not math the sink, our kitchen cabinets do not pull out as they are supposed to, some of them have not even been put together, the kitchen cabinet drawers do not shut as supposed to (no slam drawers), our master bathroom shower is incomplete, our floor has not been grouted where tiles were replaced, one of our lights is missing the globe, leaving the lightbulbs exposed, and we are missing a cover for an outlet. As of now, these are the things we have discovered, who is to say that we will not discover more as time goes on. Also, when workers left after working a day, windows and doors were not properly closed, causing us to lose much of our heat and the safety of those in the house to be jeopardized. The work has not been finished in a timely manner; it has been 18 weeks since the home was delivered.

Desired Settlement: I would like the work to be finished by January 10, 2014.

Business Response: I received the above complaint of ******** ****** and do apologize for the delay in responding as I have been out for a lengthy period. I reviewed the file and met and spoke with representatives from the ******** factory that built the ****** home, and expressed the dissatisfaction on in regard to the lengthy lime in receiving the material to finish ******** ******'s home. We did receive the tile and some other materials and serviced the home on Monday the 13th and are returning on Wednesday the 15th to grout the tile and do some other items on her list. We have been notified that the interior doors will be delivered to us by mid-week next week and we are scheduled to install them the end of next week. **** ***** in our service department has been working on this diligently for some time and for what ever reason has not been able to get them to send the material until now. This is not typical for ********, we have been doing business with them for a long time with out these delays. They have assured me that the material will be here to complete this home next week. Again I apologize for the delays in getting this complete. Sincerely, ** ****** Gen. Mgr. Kenn-Schl, LLC

Business Response: I received the above complaint response from ******** ******. In my last response I did not say that all issues were resolved. I said that we were servicing the home on the dates indicated. We had no way of knowing that the doors were not going to match. **** **** has indicated to us that the interior doors and cabinet issues would be addressed by them next week. The issue with the Valance was new to me and I have sat with ***** **** and **** ***** to review that issue. **** is working with **** at ******** trying to get matching cabinet material to put a Valance between the Cabinets. At this time ******** has indicated that they do not offer a Valance. If the material is made available to us we will install a Valance. If it is not made available we will reimburse the customer for that item. We should know shortly as to its resolve. We do not manufacture the home only retail and service it as requested by the manufacturer. We also do not control there service scheduling. We will continue to work with Mrs. ****** to complete the home as soon as possible.
Sincerely,
** ****** Gen. Mgr.
Kenn-SchI, LLC

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
As we have had people return to our home and work on things, all of the matters are not fixed. Incorrect doors were delivered and installed. We are still missing outlet covers, the master closet has not been finished, there are still screws popping out of sheetrock that have not been fixed, we are continuing to wait for fully operational kitchen cabinets as some of them do not have all shelving in them, we are currently missing a valance between two cupboards, upon a few other concerns. I am accepting of the fact that things take time, however, I am not ready to say that these issues have been solved. I will be happy to accept a business response when the issues stated above have been fixed and finished to an acceptable manner. Regards, ******** ******

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is excessive issues on the exterior of our house including siding,and soffit/facia issues.The delivery of our house was delayed causing my wife and i to pay a 450 dollar charge to keep our loan rate at 3.7%. The last thing is we were suppose to receive the drappery package with our home a value of 6 to 700 dollars in value that was not delivered.

Desired Settlement: The pictures that were sent to american homes i would like fixed promtly .Also the 450 refunded and the drappery package money refunded in cash

Business Response: In response to your letter of 9/11/2013 regarding the above customer we contactedMr. ***** and have setteled the matter with him. I have attached the email and a copy ofthe release from Mr. *****. Thank you for your help in this matter.
Sincerely,** ******
Gen. Mgr.
Kenn-Schl LLC/American Homes

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Regards,   ****** *****      


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)