BBB Accredited Business since

MedAltus

Phone: (585) 582-1310 Fax: (585) 624-3963 View Additional Phone Numbers 760B Canning Parkway, Victor, NY 14564 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.medaltus.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business is an e-commerce retailer of skincare products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MedAltus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MedAltus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MedAltus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 17, 2003 Business started: 02/01/1997 in NY Business started locally: 02/01/1997
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lee Jacobson, COO Ashley Wilcox, Customer Service Team Leader
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lee Jacobson, COO
Business Category

INTERNET SERVICES INTERNET SHOPPING

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards and Paypal
Industry Tips
Internet Domain Name Registration Internet Shopping

Additional Locations

  • 760B Canning Parkway

    Victor, NY 14564

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Boustise Boustise Bust Plumping Serum for $52.35 on 9/14/14 on askderm.com. I received it on 9/17/14. The website claims that "Continuous use helps to redefine bust contours for a more volumized and lifted look." It shows before and after photos of what the results should be. It clearly shows that it plumps up the ***** making them fuller and bigger. The directions state "Applied 2x daily, results have been observed AFTER 28 days of continuous use." The product money-back guarantee states that it must be BEFORE 30 days. If results are not even supposed to be observed until after 28 days, then there is no way to receive a refund if the product does not work. The day I received the Serum, I applied it and continued to apply it twice a day. The first month I did not notice anything. I continued to use it to see if it would work after two months. Nothing. I noticed absolutely no difference after using the Serum twice a day for two months. I was so discouraged. The serum was a complete waste of money. I contacted askderm.com to see about a refund. They said it was past the 30 days, so they would not refund me. Then I submitted a dispute with my credit card which I used to purchase the Serum. Askderm sent the credit card agency proof that I received the Serum and proof of their 30-day guarantee. It was closed without a refund. I did not dispute the fact that I RECEIVED the item--I disputed the fact that it DOES NOT WORK.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the full amount that I paid. I am tired of companies taking advantage of small-breasted women, claiming that their products will make their ***** fuller or bigger, taking their money, then not refunding them when the product does not work. This is the case with askderm.com. They claim that this product will work, but it does not, then they don't back it up with refunds when it doesn't work.

Business Response:

We have several issues with this customer’s complaint and request for her money back.   First, the customer makes it look like we promise results with the product.  One of the quotes she neglected to include in her complaint is from the askderm.com Boustise manufacturer page.  This page states, “When used twice daily, MOST users see a difference in about a month (see MfgProdPage_askderm.com attached).” We do not claim that everyone who uses the product will see results anywhere on our website (see see MfgProdPage_askderm.com and ProductPage_askderm.com attached).  Second, Ms. ***** states that she started using the product on September 17th, the day it arrived.  She states that she then used the product continuously, twice a day for two months.  We have an issue with this claim because according to the manufacturers website, Boustise.com, “One 80ml bottle of Boustise should last approximately 40-50 days with 2x daily use” (see BoustiseMfgWebsiteFAQ attached).  If Ms. ***** used the product continuously, twice a day for two months, as she states, she was either not using enough of the product at a time or she was not using it the way she says she did.  Either situation would make the product less effective.  The other reason we question Ms. *****’s usage is because the bottle of product was in her possession for 74 days before she submitted a request to return it.  Even if she managed to stretch the contents of the bottle out for 60 days of usage, why did she wait an additional 14 days to contact us?   Finally, Ms. ***** complains about our return policy.  Yes, we have a 30-day return policy (see askderm.com_ReturnPolicy attached) and yes, Ms. ***** purchased a product that takes a minimum of 28 days to show results (see ProdUsageInstruct_askderm.com attached); this didn’t leave her much time to request her return.  BUT both the minimum results time and the return policy were clearly posted on the website BEFORE Ms. ***** purchased the product so she was aware that she may not be able to return it if she was unhappy.  Additionally, if Ms. ***** had contacted us a week or two after the 30-days were up we would have been willing to authorize the return of the product for a partial refund.  Instead of contacting us within a reasonable time frame, Ms. ***** chose to wait an additional month and a half before requesting the return.  This delay is what caused the authorization to be denied.  This isn’t a case of our company trying to take advantage of Ms. *****, as she states in her complaint, it is simply a case of a customer waiting 44 days beyond the posted return policy period before deciding she wants her money back on a product she finally decided didn’t work for her. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID , and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. This is a highly sensitive topic. I would not be raising any concern if I didn't feel it needed to be done. In regards to the company claiming that I did not use the serum properly because it lasted two months instead of a month and a half, I used the serum on ONE breast for the first month, then both.  It should not matter that I waited to contact the company about their product not working. I have four children that keep me busy. When I was finally able to sit down and contact the company, it had been too late for the guarantee. The company states that they would agree to a refund had I not waited so long. Why not issue the refund regardless? Stand behind your products. If it does not work for everybody, then it should state it more clearly, or state that if it does not work, regardless of the time frame, then issue a refund. Most companies will issue a refund 90 days past the purchase date. Also, I left a review for the product on askderm.com and it was removed, as though the company does not want people to see that it does not work. I'm sorry that I ever purchased anything from askderm.com, as they seem callous and insensitive. I will be sure to tell all my friends NOT to purchase from them. Regards, ***** *****




12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have exchanged numerous e-mails with company rep ****** ******, but she refused to correct the problem. The product that I purchased had a watery consistence and this is not normal. The store, CVS, said they have stopped carrying this product due to other complaints. I sent a photo of the lotion box to Ms. ******, however she still refused to help because I do not have my receipt. I just want a new product that is not bad. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Please replace the bad product with a coupon for a new product.

Business Response:

Dear ****,

This dispute, brought against MedAltus, LLC should not have been brought against us.  First, the customer did not buy whatever product she is discussing from MedAltus, LLC.  I have attempted a variety of searches using the complainant’s full and partial name and have not found one customer with the last name *******.  MedAltus, LLC, does not manufacturer any skincare products and should not be held responsible for replacing products that were not purchased from one of the websites we service.


Second, the customer does not reference which product this complaint is about so I cannot address any issues regarding the product but I can verify that MedAltus, LLC, did not make, or package, the product she is complaining about.  We do occasionally receive calls from people who think we are the manufacturer of the various products we sell.  When this happens we refer the caller back to the vendor they purchased the product from.  If a customer is having a problem with another authorized vendor, and they have valid proof of purchase, we may try to assist the customer with their return to that vendor.  Unfortunately I do not know any vendor who will blindly accept a return, for refund or exchange, when they cannot identify how old the product may be, where it came from, how much the customer paid, etc. so without valid proof of purchase there is very little we are able to do to assist them.  


If/When Ms. ******* can provide valid proof of purchase we will be happy to contact CVS on her behalf to help arrange for a refund or replacement of her product, without the proof of purchase, CVS will not even speak with us.

 

Sincerely,

***** *********

MedAltus, LLC

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought four products of mia2 from askderm, but when my friends received these items, they found these items are all refurbished. First , there are two seals on the box,but a new product just has only one seal ; Second, a new label is covered on an old one. Third, there are obviously nicks on the product handle and charger. I contacted website agent, but they denied these situations, they said their products are new . If the product is new ,why the three mia2 all have obviously nicks? I do not think it is a coincidence. I took pictures about these products

Desired Settlement: first I wish the website can explain these situations, Second the business should give me a full refund.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

 Ms. **** did contact our company via live chat, under the name “USF ******” on 8/1/2013 at 11:01 AM.  At that time she stated that she just received a Mia2 in White that she questioned if the product was new or used.  At the time the customer was notified that, per our policies, we do not accept returns on Clarisonic units.  All of the products that we ship are received new from the manufacturer.  Ms. **** questioned the seal on the box again but was told that we do not resell and returned products and that the product came directly from the manufacturer.  Ms. **** continued to push that the unit in question was used and ******** provided the manufacturer’s phone number so the customer could arrange for the product to be returned.   I’ve attached the live chat transcript for you to review.

 Ms. **** has also contacted our company by email August 11, 2013.  Once again, she only references a problem with the white Mia 2 unit received under order # *******.    This time ****** notified Ms. **** that we do not accept any Clarisonic returns and that she needed to contact the manufacturer to arrange for the return or replacement of the unit.  Ms. ****** response was “I know I should call you for a return authorization request, but I tried several times, your line is always busy, so I have to send you an email to request a return label.”  We sent Ms. **** an email at 8:50 AM this morning asking if the telephone number on her file is the best way to reach her so we may explain the Clarisonic return policy to her verbally.  I’ve attached the email trail for your review.

 This dispute stating that she has received FOUR Mia 2 units that were refurbished is the first we had heard that there was problem with more than one unit she received.  Even after starting this dispute she has not referenced more than the one unit in her email responses.

 We have issues with Ms. ****** complaint for several reasons. 

1)   We have addressed the issue regarding the white Mia 2 unit Ms. **** received on order #*******.  She was notified that she needed to contact the manufacturer directly for the return per our posted return policies (see attached posted manufacturer return policy.)

2)   Ms. **** has never mentioned more than one unit being damaged in the contact that we have had; but in her dispute she states that four units are questionable.

3)   Ms. ****** dispute states that she is requesting a refund for the four Mia 2 products she purchased.  Her claim is for $417.00 but she paid 412.20 for the products in question.  She is asking to receive full price on two of the units she received at 30% off.

4)   We are an Authorized Clarisonic Retailer.  We receive only new, non-refurbished products from the manufacturer.  We do not accept returns on any Clarisonic products.  Per the manufacturer’s request all return requests are forwarded directly to and handled by their company.  Because of this it is not possible for one damaged product to have been shipped out of our facility let alone four.

5)   Ms. **** placed the ****** *******, ******* and ******* on June 19, May 27, and May 26, respectively (see attached ******.)  These ****** were delivered on June 24, June 17, and June 15, respectively (see attached tracking.)  Even if we did accept Clarisonic returns these ****** have surpassed our 30-day return policy. 

6)   Ms. **** had the ****** she is disputing shipped to three different freight-forwarding companies under three different names.  These freight-forwarding companies receive packages for foreign recipients and then send the packages overseas to those recipients.  We guarantee the condition of the products to the shipping address provided.  We do not guarantee the condition of the products after they leave our shippers' hands.  At the time Ms. **** placed these ****** she signed a waiver stating that she understood these products were shipping to a freight forwarding address, that if the package was lost after delivery we were not responsible and that if there were any problems upon delivery to that address provided we needed to be contacted as soon as possible (see attached signature waivers.)   There weren’t any problems indicated at the time the ****** were delivered to the addresses provided.

 Ms. ****** dispute is not valid.  We have been working with her to resolve the one issue she has contacted us about, the ‘refurbished’ white Clarisonic MIA 2 she received on order *******.  We have provided the information that Ms. **** needs to resolve this issue but she is choosing to ignore what we have provided.  Ms. **** needs to contact Clarisonic directly at ###-###-#### to initiate her return. 

 

Sincerely,

***** *********

MedAltus LLC, formerly WWWEnterprise, Inc.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I  have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received your messages, but I am not agree with you. In your issue ,you list six items, I will explain as follows: 

 1) I have tried to contacted manufacturer , but the line is always busy, I tried at least four times, but the line always prompt me to waiting.

2)due to the white clarisonic mia2, I asked my friends to check their mia2, and they found the same problem. I did not mention other units is because I found the others' problem after I contacted you for the white one. also I think even I contact your agent with other products' prblems ,your agent will still tell me to contact manufacturer, so I didn't do that. by the way  I can not contact the manufacturer ,so I have to complaint on BBB

3) the amout I claimed is wrong, I did not see the 5 coupon, so I have paid $412.2

4)you say you do not accept returns on any Clarisonic products. but in issue 5), you also say it has passed 30-day return policy, I think the two explains are conteadiction. If you do not receive any clarisonic product ,why did you say the product has passed 30 day return policy 

5)If the four units are all news, why there are some nicks on the product handle and the charger.  I don't think it is a coincidence. I asked many people, they told me they bought the Clarisonic product which are from your website, all have some problems. some are not charged, some have nick, some have two seals. 

6)you say that I choosing ignore you, but the fact is that I reveived your email to said you want to contact me ,and then  I reply it, I told you my phone number, but you did not call me. so I am not choosing to ignore. I response your email as soon as quickly when I received your reply.


finally, I contacted you first about my white mia2, at that time ,I just think it is a  coincidence so I am ready to return this unit, but when my friends told me their unit all has these problems, I realized it is not a coincidence . It is my reason why I complaint on BBB. I just wish you can give me a reasonable explanation. I upload some pictures about these units, which are my friends provided me. also the email we communicated, it can prove that I did not ignore you. I can provide more pictures to prove these units have problems ]

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: Dear ****** ****,

In regards to your six concerns:

1. Clarisonic (the manufacturer) can be contacted either by phone Monday through Friday, 6:00 a.m-5:00 p.m. Pacific 1-888-5-CLARISONIC (###-###-####) or by email ******@clarisonic.com.

2.  We are an authorized retail distributor of all of the products we carry.  We do not accept returns for Clarisonic products and they come directly from the manufacturer. 

4. We are an authorized retail distributor of all of the products that we carry.  Clarisonic is non returnable.  Even if it was a returnable item, your request is not within our 30 day return policy. 

5.  We can only assume that the products may have been damaged at the freight forwarding facility or during shipment which is a chance that is taken with not receiving a product directly. 

6. The phone number that is on your account is for a freight forwarding company.

Regards,
Askderm


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on MedAltus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)