BBB Accredited Business since

The Kaz Companies, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (716) 674-7288 Fax: (716) 675-1490 150 North America Drive, West Seneca, NY 14224 http://www.kazcompanies.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Home Improvement Contracting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Kaz Companies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Kaz Companies, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on The Kaz Companies, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 7
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1993 Business started: 07/01/1993 in NY Business started locally: 07/01/1993 Business incorporated 08/02/1988 in NY
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Kazmierczak, President
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS INSULATION CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES BASEMENT - REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING REMODELING SERVICES WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS HANDYMAN SERVICES SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION WINDOWS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS - REPAIR GARAGE DOORS & OPENERS GARAGE DOOR REPAIR DECK BUILDER PATIO BUILDER WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING CONTRACTORS - GENERAL GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS

Alternate Business Names
Kaz Brothers Construction Kaz Roofing Systems Raynor Door Of WNY
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 150 North America Drive

    West Seneca, NY 14224

  • 50 Ransier Dr.

    West Seneca, NY 14224

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can’t begin to tell you how disappointed I am with Kaz company and the way I was treated after I contracted them to replace my roof and gutters last year. I spent almost $20,000.00 last August. The roof specialists that replaced the roof over my 3 season room used nails that were too long. The nails came through the ceiling, I called to have someone come fix the p***lem, the nail tips were clipped off but that still didn’t fix the way it looks from the inside. I have nail holes all over in the ceiling. Now I am supposed to hire someone else to come fix the p***lem. I had ice damage this past winter and had Kaz Company come take a look, they did nothing to correct the situation, so now I have damage in the attic, ice build-up behind the electrical panel in the house and also damage to the kitchen ceiling. I was told that I should file a claim with my homeowners insurance. I took pictures and my insurance company feels that the p***lem arose due to too the siding being taken off at the roof line and not properly covered with tyvek for the winter. So here we are once again. I am having the house sided and come to find out when the roof was replaced only one layer of siding was removed not both layers. So now the siding will not meet the roof line because the roof is 4 inches short and needs to be built up. Once again I called Kaz Company, not just once but 3 times and left a voice message for Don Murray. The forth call was to the company and left a message for the roofing supervisor, ****.  *** called me the following day, I told him that I would like them to come out and fix the roof so that the siding company can finish the job. *** told me that it would be a billable service, I said OK. *** then told me that they were too busy to schedule it for quite a while and that I should have the siding people correct it. I asked him “will that void my warranty if I have an issue” he said it shouldn’t. Really? it shouldn’t??? He then asked me who was doing the siding, I told him * * * *************... And if I do have an issue down the road from now, then whom should I contact???? Kaz Company? * * * ************? My homeowners?

Desired Settlement: I would like the ceiling of my sun room repaired, all of the ice damage repaired due to the fact they took off the siding and didn't properly cover the area, and the repair to the roof where they took off only 1 layer of siding and now the roof is too short. Or a complete refund and I will pay someone else to do the repairs.

Business Response:

Response is that I have a meeting with her today to check the roof. I wrote her a letter after I received a letter from her in Nov to contact me explaining our position and to schedule a time for me to stop by to inspect the roof and ceiling. I can forward you the letter if needed.

Thanks

Thanks,

**** ***********

President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mr. *********** did come to my home on December 21, 2015. Mr *********** said that he would have someone come out and repair the ceiling in the sun room and also have some come to take a look at the roof, no dates were discussed so until someone comes out to correct the situation I feel the case remains the same in my opinion.



Regards,

***** **********




Business Response:

No problem, because the room in question is unheated, the temperature is important.

The roof repair and inspection should be happening soon, but the drywall and paint may take a little while due to the weather.

****

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kaz Brothers are contracted to newly build back yard deck and when they almost finished they said they have to make it to a another building project and will come back to finished what is left over but never come back. issue I have with a new decks are following: 1) stair from deck to backyard is not what we a greed upon. stairway should be measured as 4'wide but it's 5'. 2) need to molding on siding from wall to deck and corner is not finished so if rains water might leak to house. 3) when they builded a new deck they block right bottom side of deck but left side is wide open. 4)when they working on ground base they cover the ground with black cover and using our bricks to hold covers and i need those brick to cover our basement window so rain can't get to windows. 5) need to clean up and finish. 6) deck is not as builded as floor plan drawing. these are some issue with Kaz Brothers and all they want is their payments when Job is not finished. I will pay when job is finished and clean up. they already make some threat.

Business Response: Here is our response, I wasn’t sure who to send this too. I never received notification that there was a claimant filed in May.The background on the job:The Homeowner, Mr. **** was made to redo his deck by the Town of Amherst as a result of a complaint from his neighbor. There was no permit on his original deck and it impeded on her property.  

The Project: Completed on March 31, 2015  Did not get a response for payment after mailing the first statement for the balance. Terms were Balance Upon Completion. Sent new statements on 4/29/15, and 6/4/2015  Office placed a call looking for payment. Date was not recorded. Upon reaching Mr. **** for the balance we then were given a list of items he wanted completed before he makes the final payment. It is unfortunate that we had to wait to contact Mr. **** to find these things out. It is our contention that it was not a priority for him to communicate with us regarding the balance due and or the work he had concerns with.  On June 16th, without notice of a BBB claimant registered in May, we sent out someone to address his stairs, poly under the deck, caulking and a 2x4 issue. That person was sent away with a new demand that we need to send written notice on when we will be coming and that they need one weeks’ notice. This is not how communication is done in our industry. We have called and attempted to handle concerns but it wasn’t until we asked for the balance due payment that issues arose. Just let us get onsite to finish and collect the balance. Unfortunately we are into the busiest time of year so it is not easy to give a weeks’ notice when we are trying to squeeze the work in. This could have been avoided with some communication from the client. Have Mr. **** call our office, **** ****** at ********, to schedule time to complete the project and at that time the balance will need to be paid in full.  Sincerely,  Rick Kazmierczak President

 

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Why you left before you finish the job? Why you ask payment for the unfinished work?  Why you threat?   **** ****** is the one that who threaten me. I do not want to deal with him. Please, answer the above  q before we go any futrher?
Regards,  **** ****








Business Response:

Our response: Why you left before you finish the job? Project was complete. Why you ask payment for the unfinished work? As explained in our initial response to the complaint, we only found out that ****’s were unhappy with a vapor barrier applied under the deck, the stair size and some caulking. We made numerous calls, with no response. When we did get in touch and asked for payment and received a list to work to finish.  Why you threat?

No threat. **** is the project manager and the person aware of the list. If the threat was about finance fees, then he is only informing the ****’s of what happens if the none payment goes to the office. The only other thing that could be considered a threat in ****’s work is that he inform them that we would bring the building department in for an inspection. I believe the code violation was the reason for the project in the first place. **** ****** is the one that who threaten me. I do not want to deal with him. **** is the project manager. They don’t have to deal with him directly but we do have to work around a very busy schedule. If the ****’s are interested in resolving this complaint then: 1.       Email **** ****** at ************************************************ and myself at   ***********************  , 3 or 4 possible dates to come out to finish the project. Dates should be scheduled within the next 6 weeks. 2.       When we agree on a date, then payment in full is requested before we start an work. Their balance is $2,660.00  They will have to trust us for that day to complete the work. We trusted them all along that we would get paid, and they have not been trustworthy due to the lack of their communication. The project cost was $5,802.00 and we have 4 to 6 hours to complete the work. If they disagree with this arrangement, then it will leave me to believe that they have no intention to pay us and is only stretching this out. We will forward the information to our attorney, place a mechanic’s lien on the property and invoice with finance fees. This project was completed on 3/31/15 and we have sent 3 invoices and made numerous calls. We are not looking for this to take any longer. 

Rick Kazmierczak

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 
first of all i reviewed your responses and you need to admited you threaten me with towns building inspection but which you already got permit for building a deck then why should i get afriad?? I hired you as my deck builder because i heard lots good thing about your company.i owned couple business myself and this is not how things should be end up.  I already send few pictures may 6th and june 6th. please look attached picturs and if i am wrong and you want to call your lawer then i am fine with that.  just building a deck cant not be saying work is completed. your finished when customer is satisfied. not leaving things behinded and told come back later to finished.  then send me a balanced invoice to pay. who will pay for unfinished job?? do you??  anywayI  will pay at the moment you finish the job by the contract and by the drawing as I stated in 2 e-mail on 6th of June and 6th of May to Les, ****. But You have to let me know how you going to finish this unfinished job by writing in detail first. E mail me with plan but not **** ******. Regards, **** ****





Business Response:

Mr. ****, My problem is that we had communication issues. We have documented the calls and invoices sent. That robs our time, which is money, and I am still having to explain my terms. When we did get in touch with you, you had a list. You did not call us after the work was completed, you offered the list when we were looking for payment. I am not willingly to recreate that situation. I have a list of:

Rebuilding the stairs, redoing some caulking and possibly moving some bricks or vapor barrier. We will come out and handle those items, but I will only do it with our terms. Payment in full first, and on a date in which we can now add it to our schedule.I am sure you are an honorable man but now you have to trust that I am too. My fear is that we come back out and there is another list before we get our payment. Pay us and I assure you the list will be completed.  Sincerely, Rick Kazmierczak

Business Response:

This can be and needs to be resolved if Mr. **** can agree to my terms. This is dragging out too long. I need payment and will not spend any more time on this.  1.       I need a list of dates in July and August to schedule the work. After we receive them, we will review and attempt to choose a convenient date. 2.       Payment in full when we show up to complete. Work should be able to be completed in one day. I guarantee completion of the items he has requested. 3.       List of work to be completed – Stairs rebuilt, vapor barrier and blocks rearranged or removed and replace some caulking at the siding. If there anything else, let me know. I have not received any pictures with your emails and if I don’t hear from Mr. **** by Friday, we will proceed with legal action, finance charges and a Mechanic’s Lien. I am not about to explain myself on the terms and or why I want payment in full before I start anymore work.  Sincerely,Rick Kaz

12/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 Contacted a roof with Kaz company. Was told verbally by ***** ******* and in writing that the warranty guaranteed the roof against any leaking. I chose to enter into a contact with Kaz because of their reputation and their eagerness to please the customers. Since 2012 my roof has been leaking on and off. Notified Kaz at the time and they came to fix it several times throughout 2012 and 2013. I recently got a several calls from ***** ******* to sell me skylights for my roof because I was told that's why my roof was leaking. The problem is.. I was told by several Kaz employees at the time my skylights were fine and didn't need replacing. Now they can't seem to find the leak so the only thing left to do is replace the day lights at my expense. I sustained a lot of interior damage as well. If my skylights were fine at the time the roof was installed and now they're not ...why would I be responsible . I put over 50k in my roof, I spared no expense because I wanted a roof that didn't leak. At this time Kaz isn't doing anything to rectify the situation. I don't want this to turn into a legal issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof repaired as per warranty.

Business Response:

When she signed the contract for her roof, she elected not to have the skylights replaced. Thus we have no responsiblity for leaking skylights. However, as always, we at Kaz understand the clients frustration and have been out multiple times to address the issue. We have changed the flashing at our cost, we explorered the shingles around the skylights and we attempted to reseal the skylights by removing trim and appling a sealant. Multiple times, trying to help.

We are a trained Velux Installer. The only contractor I believe in WNY. We are very educated on their product but we never stopped trying to help. But we have exhausted all probablities around the skylight and the roof. Skylights are vulnerable to the weather at all times, especially skylights that are applied on a slope less than a 5/12 pitch. The skylights in question all are on a slope less than the 5/12. Hence the seal deteriorates and replacement is required. Some skylights can last 30 - 40 years, others 20 -25 years, hence we always try to give the client the choice to replace or not when proposing a roof project.

For Ms. ********, our last offer proposed was to replace at our cost, labor and materials, and if we opened the roof and found a problem unrelated to the skylights, then we would make the repairs at our cost. I believe that sounds extremely fair. How is it that we come out everytime to help, make an offer to open everything up to inspect further and still get a BBB complaint. We are frustrated too. Is this really a complaint or does the client not want to hear what we have to say? We havent run away we have done everything we can do to this point.

We are very confident that we will find the skylights to be the issue. I have had my eyes and three other experience qualified installers insect the issue and the only thing we believe is the issue is the units themselves.

Sorry but we have done all we can. Ms. ******** is a valued client and we have tried. My offer still stands but there has to be an understanding that we have tried and we will take responsiblity if we deem the issue is something regarding the roof or installation. Otherwise she will have to pay for the cost of the skylights, the roof materials and the labor. That cost will be in the $300 to $5000 price range I believe. Now I would need a significant deposit for the materials and would really need an understanding we have been out to help all along. If this offer isn't fair enough to Ms. ******** then I am sorry I will not help anymore.

This "complaint" should be cleared from my record. We are frustrated when we do everything we can yet it isn't acceptable.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** ********

I put over $50k into my roof. I certainly would NOT have skimped on the skylights if they needed replacing. I told Kaz at the time of the construction if there was anything wrong my skylights I would have replaced them at that time and on the spot.They deemed my skylights just fine and did NOT need replacing. Soon after they started leaking.it would be logical to assume if indeed it is my skylights it would be from the result of the roof and skylights being tampered with, and do not feel this should be my problem.

They've been out to "fix" my leaking roof several times with no success. During those times there was never a mention of faulty skylights. Because they can't figure out what the problem. Now suddenly it's the skylights. 

Kaz guaranteed my roof in writing as well as verbal and I felt because they're a "reputable " and local  company I felt confident in doing business with them. I was wrong. 

I will be taking this matter into a legal arena for resolution. I'm sorry this couldn't be resolved via BBB.  

 

Consumer Response: The roof came with a GAF golden pledge warranty and when contacting them I found that KAZ never sent in the paperwork to warrant my roof when completed in August 2011 

Upon contacting KAZ November 2013 they had at that time sent the warranty paperwork in. 
 
 I also don't want to jeopardize loosing my GAF roof, so I'm working with GAF to ensure that.
 
At this time I'm getting estimates, opinions and legal advice. I will keep you updated. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on The Kaz Companies, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart