BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Home Improvement Contracting.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Kaz Companies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Kaz Companies, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Kaz Companies, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1983 Business started: 07/01/1993 in NY Business started locally: 07/01/1993 Business incorporated: 08/02/1988 in NY
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Kazmierczak, President
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS INSULATION CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES BASEMENT - REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING REMODELING SERVICES WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS HANDYMAN SERVICES SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION WINDOWS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS - REPAIR GARAGE DOORS & OPENERS GARAGE DOOR REPAIR DECK BUILDER PATIO BUILDER WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING CONTRACTORS - GENERAL GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS

Alternate Business Names
Kaz Brothers Construction Kaz Roofing Systems Raynor Door Of WNY
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 150 North America Drive

    West Seneca, NY 14224

  • 50 Ransier Dr.

    West Seneca, NY 14224

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2011 Contacted a roof with Kaz company. Was told verbally by ***** ******* and in writing that the warranty guaranteed the roof against any leaking. I chose to enter into a contact with Kaz because of their reputation and their eagerness to please the customers. Since 2012 my roof has been leaking on and off. Notified Kaz at the time and they came to fix it several times throughout 2012 and 2013. I recently got a several calls from ***** ******* to sell me skylights for my roof because I was told that's why my roof was leaking. The problem is.. I was told by several Kaz employees at the time my skylights were fine and didn't need replacing. Now they can't seem to find the leak so the only thing left to do is replace the day lights at my expense. I sustained a lot of interior damage as well. If my skylights were fine at the time the roof was installed and now they're not ...why would I be responsible . I put over 50k in my roof, I spared no expense because I wanted a roof that didn't leak. At this time Kaz isn't doing anything to rectify the situation. I don't want this to turn into a legal issue.

Desired Settlement: I want my roof repaired as per warranty.

Business Response:

When she signed the contract for her roof, she elected not to have the skylights replaced. Thus we have no responsiblity for leaking skylights. However, as always, we at Kaz understand the clients frustration and have been out multiple times to address the issue. We have changed the flashing at our cost, we explorered the shingles around the skylights and we attempted to reseal the skylights by removing trim and appling a sealant. Multiple times, trying to help.

We are a trained Velux Installer. The only contractor I believe in WNY. We are very educated on their product but we never stopped trying to help. But we have exhausted all probablities around the skylight and the roof. Skylights are vulnerable to the weather at all times, especially skylights that are applied on a slope less than a 5/12 pitch. The skylights in question all are on a slope less than the 5/12. Hence the seal deteriorates and replacement is required. Some skylights can last 30 - 40 years, others 20 -25 years, hence we always try to give the client the choice to replace or not when proposing a roof project.

For Ms. ********, our last offer proposed was to replace at our cost, labor and materials, and if we opened the roof and found a problem unrelated to the skylights, then we would make the repairs at our cost. I believe that sounds extremely fair. How is it that we come out everytime to help, make an offer to open everything up to inspect further and still get a BBB complaint. We are frustrated too. Is this really a complaint or does the client not want to hear what we have to say? We havent run away we have done everything we can do to this point.

We are very confident that we will find the skylights to be the issue. I have had my eyes and three other experience qualified installers insect the issue and the only thing we believe is the issue is the units themselves.

Sorry but we have done all we can. Ms. ******** is a valued client and we have tried. My offer still stands but there has to be an understanding that we have tried and we will take responsiblity if we deem the issue is something regarding the roof or installation. Otherwise she will have to pay for the cost of the skylights, the roof materials and the labor. That cost will be in the $300 to $5000 price range I believe. Now I would need a significant deposit for the materials and would really need an understanding we have been out to help all along. If this offer isn't fair enough to Ms. ******** then I am sorry I will not help anymore.

This "complaint" should be cleared from my record. We are frustrated when we do everything we can yet it isn't acceptable.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

******** ********

I put over $50k into my roof. I certainly would NOT have skimped on the skylights if they needed replacing. I told Kaz at the time of the construction if there was anything wrong my skylights I would have replaced them at that time and on the spot.They deemed my skylights just fine and did NOT need replacing. Soon after they started leaking.it would be logical to assume if indeed it is my skylights it would be from the result of the roof and skylights being tampered with, and do not feel this should be my problem.

They've been out to "fix" my leaking roof several times with no success. During those times there was never a mention of faulty skylights. Because they can't figure out what the problem. Now suddenly it's the skylights. 

Kaz guaranteed my roof in writing as well as verbal and I felt because they're a "reputable " and local  company I felt confident in doing business with them. I was wrong. 

I will be taking this matter into a legal arena for resolution. I'm sorry this couldn't be resolved via BBB.  

 

Consumer Response: The roof came with a GAF golden pledge warranty and when contacting them I found that KAZ never sent in the paperwork to warrant my roof when completed in August 2011 

Upon contacting KAZ November 2013 they had at that time sent the warranty paperwork in. 
 
 I also don't want to jeopardize loosing my GAF roof, so I'm working with GAF to ensure that.
 
At this time I'm getting estimates, opinions and legal advice. I will keep you updated. 

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Kaz for an estimate of some work we needed done around March 1st. They set up an appointment to come out and go over the work that needed to be completed. ****** *****, came to the house. He spent about an hour here, seemed attentive, asked questions, took notes, took pictures and said he would mail us an estimate of work that needed to be done. About a week passed, so I called on two separate occasions and left him a message with no response either time. At this point, we are looking at around two weeks passing. I called again and was told that ****** was off work due to a family matter I believe and *** **** was handling the extra work load. I left a message for Mr. **** explaining that we are just waiting for an estimate of the work we needed completed. I did receive a callback from Mr. ****, he explained that he wasn't completely understanding all of the notes left by Mr. *****, and wanted to set up another appointment to come out and see the job for himself, which we did. Mr. **** came out, took notes, took pictures, asked questions, made suggestions, and said he would mail us an estimate. Another week had passed and we had heard nothing. I called on several different occasions, and left messages for Mr. **** explaining that we had not received anything in the mail and wondered why there was such a hold up. No calls were returned. At this point around six weeks had passed since initial contact, and in that time we had two other businesses come out and had already received their estimates. We have no idea why we were repeatedly ignored and denied the service that is provided to other potential clients. I feel alienated and discriminated against.

Desired Settlement: We would like Kaz to send us an estimate. We had some prior work done that needs to finished an/or repaired and would like, what we thought, a reputable company to complete the work. We have heard many good things about Kaz, we hear their ads and understand that they stand behind their work. We do have other estimates from companies with similar reputations, but to blatantly ignore a potential customer, with no explanation is unacceptable.

Business Response:

The original estimator had a family issue and has taken a leave of absence, understandable Mr. ****** was frustrated because we did not get back in touch. Just bad timing and an unforeseen issue.

Then *** **** got involved after Mr. ****** contacted us again. *** visited but never told Mr. ****** we would be interested in getting involved with his project and never gave any guarantee we were going too.  Admittedly Mr. ****, should have contacted Mr. ****** to inform him with clarity that we were not interested but Mr. **** unfortunately had a family health issue and the contact was not made. Things happen.

Please apologize to Mr. ******, but at this point as it was before, we are not interested to quote Mr. ****** project.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If they were not interested why send out two separate estimators, both of whom took pictures and drawings and both of whom promised estimates forthcoming in the mail?

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

No other comment needed from me. I apologized and just not interested moving forward with Mr. ******.

No offence but I am sure he can find another contractor.

12/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kaz brothers installed replacement windows for our house two years ago and issued life-time warranty. I started to notice two windows leaking water badly from the top (between wood trims and windows) in September. I called them. One contractor came and caulked the outside window and promised that this way would fix the leaking problem. But it did not. Two weeks ago, when Hurricane Sandy came, these two windows leaked water badly again. I called the company again and requested them to fix windows correctly. But they said that water leaked from our wood siding. We need pay them to fix the problem. I don't agree with that. If they sealed the replacement windows and wood trims very well, how can water leak into my house? Our old casement windows never leaked water before they installed these replacement windows. I believe they did not do a good job and seal the replacement windows and trims correctly.

Desired Settlement: Fix our leaking windows correctly as soon as possible

Business Response: I am going to see * *  tomorrow. We have been to the house a few times, first for condensation and recently for the leaks. We believe the leaks is orignating from the siding and not the window.

Consumer Response:

The president of Kaz Brothers was very nice and very willing to show where the water leaked from, I had to admit. They sprayed hose water and showed that water leaked from wood trim above the replacement windows. However, they did not not take wood trim apart and diagnose how water got into our house. Still, if they did a good job to prevent water from entering into our house when they installed those replacement windows, water leaking issues should not have occurred. Now they refused to do anything about our windows, claiming that the windows are not leaking, but wood siding. I am contacting other contractors to have our windows fixed now. If it turns out that it is their (Kaz Brothers) fault (window installation), I will consider to take legal action.

 

Business Response:

We have been to the home four times. Each time we have told them that there is leaking from around the siding and not the window. The fourth time, after the BBB complaint, we came out again and we water tested the windows and proved the leak was from the siding. The window installation we perfromed was a replacement install. In a replacement window install, the exisitng window frame, interior trim and exterior trim remain in place. It is a common install and a more economical way of replacing a window which vinyl inserts.

The leak which is above the window has nothing to do with the installation of the new replacement windows. I certainly sympathize with our client but we are not responsible. The issue has to do with either: there was never proper aluminum drip cap flashing install above these windows, which in our experience is not uncommon on home build in the period this home was build (+/- 20 years ago). Also with the type of siding on the home (board and batten cedar), there may be multiple levels of caulking. Caulk around the window before install, caulk around the trim and caulk on the siding. Eventually it can breakdown and the water can find a way in. The other possibility is that the drip cap material has broke down itself. After closer inspection a drip cap is not apparent but that doesn't mean there isnt one, we just cant see it.

I instructed * * that they either should recaulk the trim to the siding, which is a temporary fix, or remove the siding and install a new aluminum drip cap. I had hoped to provide a price and schedule the work if they desired, however after reviewing with my production team, we will be unable to help do to committments with other clients. I informed * * and now we get this responce.

Sorry it is not our responsiblity, we don't run from problems, we fix them if it is our responsiblity. We can't help because we have other committments and honestly now I wouldn't want to touch the project because the is no trust. Four times and a water test to prove we were correct the first time. Sorry

 

9/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We entered into a business contract to remodel our home for the price of $250,000. We gave the business $10,000 as a down payment. Kaz directed the demolition of the property to ready for the construction and purchased some of the kitchen and bath products. On August 6, 2012, Kaz told us they would require at least $30,000 - $40,000 on top of the price of $250,000 to continue with the project. Their other option was for us to take the purchased products. We now have an uninhabitable property and no place for the products and have come to find not all the products were purchased. We have asked for our money back as Kaz has physically done no work on our premises. They have refused our request. We do not want the few products they offered. We wish to have this resolved.

Desired Settlement: Return of our $10,000

Business Response:

The client has had an attorney contact us. We have sent a reply their attorney and to our attorney. Attached is the letter.

8/23/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ever since I've let Kaz Brothers install a Raynor Garage Door on my new build home I've had problems. First it was the installation of the door. After many attempts, the installer finially corrected that problem.There have also been problems with the garage door opener (specifically the light bulbs will not keep lit), the wall mounted garage door control blanks out, and very recently the battery backup went bad.When I bought the door they had a peace of mind warranty on the door that was supposed to be a "5 year full coverage of the door which included the door, parts, and labor." The kaz Brothers have not lived up to their warranty.I would like my door opener fixed properly or a refund of my origonal purchase price. The last I called them they initially told me that they would be over to fix it.... The repairer **** was on his way and I was covered under warranty. He then didn't show up. I received a call from a **** who told me that the door wasn't under warranty anymore and when I tried to contact him all that I've gotten is the run around.... I am literally sick of their poor product. I have never had a garage door with so many problems.

Desired Settlement: They could either replace or refund the product's purchase price. The Kaz Brothers needs to live up to their warranty. That warranty is why I bought the product.

Business Response: We certainly understand *** ********* frustration. However, we have replace door weatherseal, changed the original opener, replaced the power head twice, changed the control panel twice and the battery, all based on his word that there is an issue. We have done everything to help *** *******. Last two phone calls went unanswered. Left a message for *** ******* to contact Liftmaster (the manufacturer) directly 1-800-528-9131.  We have lived up to our labor warranty and may have even spoiled the situation by being so liberal on changing parts that we cannot substantiate the issue.

Consumer Response:

Sirs:

 

The Weather Seal had to be replaced because the installer did not install the door correctly and the door was so tight that it was ripping off the seal.  It took many attempts for the installer to correctly adjust the door so that it worked correctly.  Most of my calls had been about the door's installation.

Kaz Bros. has never changed the original opener.  Never changed the power head.  They changed the control panel once.  And they never changed the battery.  They are trying to make me sound like a terrible customer, but I assure you; I am not.

I would highly suggest that they know the problems with their garage door openers.  I would like to know how many other customers have had similar problems with their products.  Specifically with the wall mounted opener, the light bulbs (specifically the contacts that expand when heated and do not make contact so the lights do not work), and the poor quality of the back up battery that they want $100 dollars for (to replace).

I have never had problems like these with other openers.  I still own another home with a different brand of garage door opener that works well and it is 20 years old.  I decided to try their brand because the garage door had a high r value (r 18) and figured to give them a try on the opener... Who would have thought I'd have all of these problems. 

I had only called one time prior on the lights not working and the installer came down and put a penny in the light socket to make a better contact...  Seems that that opener is having the same problem for a bunch of customers and the kaz bros. company is not fixing the problem satisfactorily. 

They need to make good on their products and warranty.  I believe that the product is not fit for it's intended purpose and they need to replace it with a similar one that actually works the way it should.  I have called them several times after "****" called me, never to have my problem(s) resolved (i.e. permanent solution that actually works).

They need to stop the run around. 

Business Response:

Again we understand your frustration and we do not consider you a terrible client. We simply need you to contact operator manufacturer to assist you. We don't have an answer.

Business Response:

I could not find the original paperwork but a door and operator was sold on 9/28/08. We provide a 5 year labor warranty on the door and a one year warranty on the opener. The opener in question was a Raynor Admiral, which we later switched due to complaints, to Liftmaster 3850. The warranty I believe is one year on components and 5 years on the motor. Both units are manufactured by Chamberlain. The phone number provided was a Liftmaster Tech Support hotline. All *** ******* needs to tell them of his issues with his 3850.

 On a side note, I get disturbed about these type of complaints because this will register as a complaint unfairly to us. We have been out there beyond our labor warranty and as soon as I tell him he needs to call, we get the complaint. Boooo

2/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with The Kaz Brothers Company to partially remodel my upstairs bathroom (due to a moisture problem). The contract - replace surrounding shower walls, install new tub, faucets, shower head, repair floor and sub floor where necessary, install new toilet and electrical exhaust fan, replace textured ceiling - with smooth flat surface. Instead of focusing on the the bathroom repair, the coordinator and worker's main concern was that I was to install a hardwire CO/Smoke Dector System in my home. Although, my home was already safely equipped with the monitoring systems and up-to code with the Amanda Law that was passed in NY State. They both sternly "warned" me that I may not pass final electrical inspection if I didn't have the hard-wired system installed. One day , the coordinator, quoted me $*** and two days later $*****. I told him that this was not part of the contract I made with Kaz Brothers. I felt pressured and distressed with this additional cost. I told them both 5 times that I have the plug in CO Detector with back-up battery in all of my 3 bedrooms, 1 in the hallway leading to the bedrooms, 1 on the main floor, and 1 in my basement. Smoke detectors are in each of the bedrooms, 1 hard-wired in the hallway leading to the bedrooms, 3 on the main floor, and one in the basement. On the last work-day before I made my final payment to *** he received a cell-phone call from ***, once again, about the installation of the CO/monitoring system. I printed off a copy of Gov. Patterson's new Amanda Law - it stated that homes built prior to 2008 - DO NOT NEED TO HAVE THE HARD-WIRED SYSTEMS INSTALLED BUT ARE COMPLIANT WITH THE ELECTRICAL PLUG IN TYPE WITH BATTERY BACK-UP. I was not having an addition built in my home - so I was not considered a "new build". My home was built in 1988. I felt I was bullied into trying to buy this product - even though I was compliant with the NYS Amanda Law. I called my original salesperson. on 1/27/12, and he agreed the two employees that were in my home went way too far with this issue. Also, the worker, who did the actual remodeling felt that it wasn't necessary to remove the black molded wood that was under the sub flooring - and inside the shower wall, even though this was part of the moisture problem I was trying to resolve. I had to call my salesperson about worker's decision not to remove the molded wood in the flooring and shower wall (once the drywall was down). Luckily, for me, I was home at the time of this discovery - I'm afraid that if I wasn't home to actually see this - the molded wood might not have been taken out. The salesman called the worker - only then did the worker take out the molded wood and replace it. The dimmer switch in my bathroom didn't have to be replaced - the work said that it was "broken" - and couldn't get it to work - I told him it was fine and didn't need to be touched - he said it wouldn't have matched the other electrical switches... after seeing what he actually put in - the dimmer switch would have been okay. Again...it was a "he said - she said" when I reported this to the coordinator. The coordinator made me feel like I was the source of any problems and suggested a meeting. I told him no meeting is required and called my salesman and said I will no longer be speaking with the coordinator. When the faucet and shower head were installed - I had to remind the worker to caulk around those areas - he felt it wasn't necessay because there was a gasket behind the fixture - but he did do what I requested. Everyone I talked to said that these fixtures should always be caulked. I am also disputing the cost of an electric permit - the inspector , ********,  quoted me a price of $***** (when he was in my home). I am now being charged $***** from Kaz Brothers - without itemization. I am currently waiting for an explanation for this and a statement from Commonwealth Electrical. I would like a copy of the permit and keep it with the building and plumbing permit I received from the ****.

Desired Settlement: Desired settlement - an apology letter / and statement about educating their employees. Kaz Brothers employees cannot bully and itimidate customers with trying to sell an alarm system. Employees should be educated regarding the Amanda Law/ year of home they are working on or in, etc. so my experience cannot happen to another home owner. Employees should be focused on the work they are contracted to do - not trying to intimidate the home owner - not trying to sell them something they do not need - or scaring them into the sale - especially in regard to passing inspection. Employees working in a home should know the reason why they are in someone's home - (in my case, a bathroom repair) and to focus on their work that was contracted. Employees should know about the bathroom faucet fixtures - caulking, etc. - especially in my case having a moisture problem. Employees should not just decide on their own "opinion" if something like molded wood should or should not be replaced - even though my contract said to replace wood and I was paying for replacement of bad flooring that had a moisture problem.

Business Response:

We respectfully disagree with *** ***** interpretation of the events.  As company policy, when project issues arise our General Manager requests a meeting with all involved.

*** *** denied us of that opportunity. Hence, this project is closed and we have moved on.

She apparently has not trusted our professionals with their answers and we have done everything to appease the client.

I also understand that she is very happy with the work and we don't understand the complaint.

Rick Kazmierczak   President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I was in daily contact with my salesperson, ******, regarding the progress of my bathroom remodel.  ****** was fully aware of the disappointment I felt when the worker didn't want to remove the blackened molded wood, he was also made aware of the numerous times I was told that I would need an expensive wireless CO system to "pass inspection", even on the very last day when I gave the worker my check for final payment.  ****** was also made aware the worker didn't place the tile at the start of the shower wall. 

Yes, I was asked to have a meeting with the salesperson, coordinator and worker  so "that we are all on the same page"  - I felt it was unnecessary - the worker already started the tile work - he would have  had to take down almost  day's work  - I accepted that fact.  Normally one would start a tile at the edge of the wall- or have the  bull-nose finish at the edge of the wall (this shower wall separates the tub from the toilet).   Right now there is about 1/4" open- then the tile starts.

The worker explained that in case "I want to wall-paper the room - the paper can "wrap around the wall".  I wouldn't use wallpaper in a bathroom with a shower.

What I didn't like was the pressuring of buying a wireless CO dectector system - that was totally uncalled for - for 3 people to deny that  didn't happen- and not admit that to their president is down out lying.  For a worker to deny that he said my dimmer switch was broken - that again, was a down right lie- For a worker not to remove bad wood, when I had that in my contract, and I was paying for new wood - is unethical.

For a worker to say that the molded black wood didn't have to be removed - and he actually spoke to the salesman after I called the salesman - and the president doesn't want to hear that about his staff ??  The worker only took the bad wood out - only when the salesman told him to do that. 

All they were concerned with was trying to push and scare me with that wireless CO detector.

I'm glad the 10 day re-model is over.   I am not satisfied with the president's response that the issue is closed because the work is finished and I was satisfied.  I was distressed with the worker and the coordinator and their pushiness - even to the very last day.  I called my salesman, ******,  on Friday, Jan. 27th to tell him that the worker AGAIN approached me about my chances on NOT passing an inspection.  ****** said the worker and the coordinator went way too far with this matter.  Now - the president cannot accept this happened ??

Also, this past week, on Feb. 1, 2012, I had to call Kaz Brothers, because the hand-held shower was leaking from the side and was getting worse since Friday, Jan. 27, 2012.

The warranty person, ***** and another repair man met me at my home at noon on Feb. 1, 2012.  Upon inspection, they noted that the shower  head was incorrectled installed and it was not threaded correctly.  They took pictures.  They removed the hand-held shower head and replaced it with a stationary one that it came with.  They both tested the shower head - and it didn't leak.  I was then satisfied with their prompt response and repair.

I did receive a statement that showed a $***** balance due for the electrical permit.  This was not itemized.

I paid $***** - Kaz Brothers said the cost was $*****.  I did call my salesperson about this and said that I spoke with the Electrical Inspector's office and would like an itemized billing.

A day later, I received another statement from Kaz Brothers that reflected a "zero balance".

All-in-all, I am glad the work is over - I am glad the moisture problem is resolved - but, I am not satisfied with the president's response.  The president wasn't here when those 2 men were pressuring me to the point of scaring me with an additional cost between $***- $******* for the wireless CO detector. 

I have also worked in customer service for close to 40 years - please don't scare people into buying a product they don't need  or their home meets the criteria of a NY Law.  Customers only come back when they are working with people they can trust and they are 100% satisfied with the overall experience they previously had.

After speaking with his employees, I am still requesting an apology letter from the Kaz Company - please own up to your employees' disrespect to this homeowner.

Thank you.

 

Business Response:

We don't make the building code, we only follow it. CO detectors and smoke detectors are required but are enforcemented and interpretted differently in each municipality.

Also permit fees cost different in each muncipality as well. 

We apologize but we did not do anything intentional. The meeting may have helped explain everything.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank you for the apology - but this matter had to be brought to the attention to the Better Business Bureau.

Kaz Brothers should not interpret the Amanda Law  (for their own personal monetary gain  and scare a consumer into buying a product she doesn't need) before  a municipality does an inspection.   Only then, a consumer  can explore her rights and check prices with competitors on the installation of a hard-wired installed CO Detector, if needed.

As far as having a meeting with the Coordinator, ***, and the worker, ***, I didn't want to waste my time with them anymore and I did mention this to  my salesman, ******.   The Coordinator and Worker should have been focused on the Bathroom Repair only  and not be obsessed with the hard wired installation of a CO Detector.  I didn't contract for that work.  This concern wasn't even brought up at my initial meeting with ****** regarding planning the bathroom remodel.

My family and friends are proud of me that I took a stand for this and reported this to the BBB.  It is my hope that this doesn't happen to another consumer.

As far as my next home-improvement project - I will be looking elsewhere to have someone do the work - my family and friends, as well.  I learned my lesson with the Kaz Brothers. 

TIP FOR KAZ BROTHERS FOR KEEPING CUSTOMERS - FOCUS ON BEING ETHICAL, FOCUS ON THE JOB THAT WAS CONTRACTED,  HAVE GOOD QUALITY WORKMANSHIP SO  THE CONSUMER WILL RECEIVE WHAT WAS PAID FOR, AND JUST KEEPING CUSTOMERS HAPPY.  MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE WILL NOT BE FORGOTTEN.

Thank you to the Better Business Bureau for accepting my complaint and looking into this issue with the Kaz Brothers Company.

 

2/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Kaz Brothers to replace my garage roof and install gutters. They did unauthorized work on my home. The roof was installed on January 3, 2012. I was told twice that the gutters were going to be installed. To date the gutters are not installed on my garage. No communication from contractor on status.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job or issue a refund for the gutters that I paid for.

Business Response: 1-30-12
Re: Better Business Response 

We don't understand this clalm. Our project manager had been in touch with the client. Calls were made and 
apologize were given. 

A mistake was made by the gutter company; they put gutters on the house and not the garage as contacted. 
Due to weather, wind and or rain, the gutter crew could not get back out right away. Since then the gutters have been 

installed and to our knowledge the work ls satisfactory. 

ls this a real complaint? Patience is all we had asked for to complete the project. 

 **** *********** 
President