BBB Accredited Business since

MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc.

Phone: (716) 751-6068 Fax: (716) 751-2048 View Additional Phone Numbers 4473 E. Lake Road, Wilson, NY 14172 http://www.mhwhitesiding.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential & commercial contracting including home improvements, roofing, metal roofing, siding, windows & doors, gutters, and gutter cleaning.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1972 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1972 Business incorporated 03/15/2013 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael H. White, Owner Mr. Chris White, Marketing Director and Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael H. White, Owner
Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS PATIO DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS - REPAIR CONTRACTOR - COMMERCIAL COMMERCIAL ROOFING CONTRACTOR - METAL ROOFING WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS - WOOD WINDOWS - VINYL DOORS - CELLAR/BASEMENT/BILCO DOORS - ROLLING CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS FIRE DOORS & SHUTTERS DOORS - VINYL DOORS - FRENCH DOORS - REPAIR GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS GUTTER CLEANING

Products & Services

MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc. sells the following brand(s): Alside, GAF Timberline Roofing

MH White Siding and Roofing Co. Inc. offers the following product(s): Roofing, Siding, Windows

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, and Credit Cards.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 4473 E. Lake Road

    Wilson, NY 14172 (716) 751-6068 (716) 434-8970

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window sashes are lifetime warranty. I have several sashes that are defective and contacted MH ***** about them. After a few weeks they came out to look at them and they said they would get them ordered and that it would be about 2 weeks. I contacted them after about 1 month and they did not return multiple calls. After 6 weeks **** White called to see what we needed. I told him about the sashes he had looked at and ordered. He then said he would check the order and get back to me. He never has and has not returned multiple calls to his business phone and answering service. It has now been over 3 months since he was informed of the issue. I have called the company and answering service over a dozen times with only 1 reply and cannot get an answer on from them.

Desired Settlement: Contact to inform me of my order status and immediate replacement of the sashes or a refund of the purchase price for the windows and installation.

Business Response:

Hello ****,
The sashes that this customer requested were replaced last week.  The windows that were installed for this customer originally had some sashes that were faulty due to a manufacturer's defect.  This manufacturer does offer a warranty for their windows.  Whenever possible we try to assist our customers in handling any claims with the manufacturer.  In this case we did respond immediately and reorder the sashes.  There was a delay in receiving the replacement sashes from the manufacturer.  However, they are now in and have been installed for the customer.  Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this concern.  Please let us know if you have additional questions.  
M.H. ***** Siding & Roofing

7/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mr. White put a new roof on my residence in March/April of 2012. The roof shingles frequently blow off due to poor workmanship. Whenever I attempt to contact Mr. White to notify him of the shingles missing I have to call his answering service 5 or more times to receive a call back. I wait days and days for him to respond. On one occurence, last April (less than a month after he put the roof on) Mr. White finally called me back after two weeks! Mr. White says that he will have someone come over to replace the shingles and fix the problem. It appears as though someone has come over a couple of times because the shingles are no longer flapping in the wind. However, shingles continue to consistently blow off the roof. The problem is not resloved and Mr. White chooses not to return my calls until I call his answering service numerous times. It is important to communicate that during my initial conversation with Mike White, he informed me that "I built your deductible in". I did not like this and asked Mr. White to contact me before proceeding with any work. My concern was that if MH White will cheat insurance companies and conduct illegal activities such as "building in your deductible", he will surely cut corners on the roofing project (labor and materials) resulting in poor quality. Sure enough, the job is inferior and shingles blow off on a consistent basis. I also have been requesting a copy of the paperwork affiliated with this job since December of 2012. My five requests submitted for the paperwork have yet to be fulfilled or satisfied.

Desired Settlement: Repair / Replacement / Billing Adjustment / Apology / Improved Customer Service

Business Response: Mike says that they performed the work for Mrs. ********* a year ago, when she owned the house (for $7,300, not $10,000).  The couple got divorced, and now Mr. ********* owns it. He says everything was taken care of. Mr. ********* wants to see original paperwork. Mike referred him to his ex-wife. He did not own the home at the end the work was done, and Mr. ********* is not his client per the contract.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Mike White does not have ANY of the facts correct. His response is a direct reflection of how he conducts business: disorganized, fabricated, make it up as you go, little thought, without concern or regard for customer satisfaction, with extreme focus on short cutting and without any professionalism. My wife and I are not divorced and what bearing would that have on this issue? Facts:

  • I am, and was at the time of service, the homeowner 
  • The payment to MH White was made through my insurance company with my name on the policy
  • I spoke with Mike White prior to him performing ANY work and he acknowledged I was the home owner 
  • Mike has on 3 different occasions taken over a week to call me back in regards to the work his business performed at my home
  • When Mike finally does call, he cannot remember what I consider important and simple elements such as: what work his business performed, where the original paperwork is pertaining to the job conducted at my home, my address, when he performed the job, what the fee was, exact details (did we scrap old off or place new shingles on existing),  
  • I have requested paperwork in conjunction with work performed by Mike's company at my residence and it has not been provided 
  • Shingles continue to blow off of my roof

I believe that the Better Business Bureau was designed specifically to handle matters, situations and cases like this: expose the corrupt businesses.

Thank you. 

Business Response: ***** from the company left a message for the BBB yesterday. She stated that they were out to see ***, but he did not want the company to see him. He was not easy to work with. He wanted an appointment set up even if he was to be home. She does have the paperwork showing that **** hired them and paid them. The BBB has a reply back to the company to get a copy of this.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After several Attempts to reach Mike White via telephone he stopped by my residence UNANNOUNCED at a very inconvenient time. I  requested that he call me to discuss my concerns, or if he prefer, schedule an appointment. That was 3-4 weeks ago. This is once again an excellent example of MH White's lack of professionalism. 

All I want is a copy of the original paperwork affiliated with the job done by MH White on my home. I was informed that it is not in existence. What type of reputable business does not have paperwork or contracts pertaining to the work they conduct?

This is unacceptable. I simply would like copies of the original paperwork regarding the work by MH White at my house. I look forward to receiving it with your assistance.

Thank you