BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Advance Furniture, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (716) 875-3237 Fax: (716) 875-3238 View Additional Phone Numbers 2525 Elmwood Avenue, Kenmore, NY 14217 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.contemporaryfurniture.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail furniture sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advance Furniture, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advance Furniture, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advance Furniture, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 14, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1958 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated: 08/05/1966 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Pusateri, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Kenyon, Manager
Principal: Mr. John Pusateri, Vice President
Business Category

FURNITURE - RETAIL

Alternate Business Names
Contemporaryfurniture.com

Additional Locations

  • 2525 Elmwood Avenue

    Kenmore, NY 14217 (716) 875-3237 (800) 477-2285

  • Eastern Hills Mall  4545 Transit Road

    Williamsville, NY 14221 (716) 276-8495

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 477-2285(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took delivery of a 2 piece sectional couch from Advance Furniture *** ** **. **** NY **** on March 3, 2010. I gave an initial deposit of$1500.00 at the time of purchase and paid the balance of $2,900.00 at the time of delivery. The apron of the couch is leather and the cushions are microfiber. At the time of the purchase, the owner **** ****** assured us that the microfiber was "easy to maintain and would wear like iron." Recently my wife and I noticed that the cushion was visibly wearing and we called Mr. ******. When he arrives he took pictures of the cushions, said they were "pilling" and took one
microfiber throw pillow with him. He also informed us that the furniture manufacturer is no longer in business. After a lengthy conversation Mr. ****** assured us that he would "take care of us". After selecting upholstery to recover the cushions I spoke to Mr. ****** and asked him how we should proceed. Mr. ****** denied that he said he would "take care of us" and refuses to take any responsibility for his product. Needless to say that my wife and I were shocked and disappointed with his attitude since we also had purchased 2 additional pieces of furniture in 2010. My wife and I agree that any consumer who pays $4,400.00 for a piece of furniture would have reasonable expectation that it should not be wearing out in 2 years. We are asking for your intervention.
*** * ***

Business Response: It is unfortunate that this complaint has gotten this far. Advance Furniture has maintained an unblemished record for 57 years of business. We aim to continue that record. We have done this by finding unique, quality products which fulfill our customer needs. We take pride in our business and pride in the products we sell.Advance Furniture has responded to the customer’s phone calls regarding their complaints on the purchase of a sectional and chair on February 3, 2010. The customer purchased the sectional at a floor model reduced price of $3699.00. Upon purchase the customer was informed that the manufacturer of the sectional had gone out of business, reason for the reduced price.In 2011 the customer notified Advance Furniture that the brackets of the sectional had loosened. Appointment was made and brackets were tightened. In June 2012 the customer called with a complaint that the fabric was not wearing well. *** *** went out to the home and inspected the sectional. He concluded that the frame, cushions and fabric all showed normal wear. It was noted that the fabric had signs of normal pìlling that occurs with everyday use. He asked to take a pillow back to store to remove the signs of pilling, was successful and offered to perform the same service to the rest of the sectional at no charge. The customer countered wanting to know if the sectional could be reupholstered because the color wasn’t perfect. **** recommended the name of an upholsterer. 3 months later the customer called demanding Advance Furniture pay for the reupholstering of their sectional. Since the sectional fabric does not have a defect but only shows normal wear, **** explained that Advance Furniture would not pay to have it reupholstered. Industry standard of fabric warranty does not cover everyday, normal use which can result in pilling. Fabric warranty is only for one year and states free of defects in production of fabric. Warranty does not cover pilling, fading, shrinkage, heavy soiling, abuse and normal wearing from use.
*** ***
Vice President
Advance Furniture

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ***, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Thank you for your letter of 1/22/2013. After reading the letter, the following are response facts as we know them which are contrary to Mr. *****’s claims: 1.  Enclosed are copies of the checks and invoice. Please note check #**** in the lower left “For *****) which was the initial $l500.00 deposit with the balance of $2,900.00 due on delivery. See corresponding order #***** on invoice- total $4,400.00 not $3,699.00 as Mr. ***** claims. 2.   At no time at point of purchase were we advised that the manufacturer was out of business. We found that out when we asked Mr. ***** if we could speak to a representative of the company in order to voice our concern. (see photo and you are welcome to look at the couch at any time) 3.   The pillow that Mr. ***** took with him was an 18”x18” throw pillow that showed no sign of wear. The wear is on the cushions. He told us he was taking the pillow to possibly match the fabric color with fabric he had at his store. At no time did we voice dissatisfaction with the color. (There was no other reason to take a throw pillow since it showed no sign of pilling) 4.   Finally, up to this point we had a cordial business relationship with Mr. ***** and did not “demand that Advance Furniture pay for reupholstering”. The conversation was to clarify what he was going to do for us since he assured us he would “t Our children are grown and only my wife and I and occasional guests use the couch. Our entertaining is done in our dining room and living room which does not include that couch. Since the couch is only 2 years old with minimal use, my wife and I were disappointed to the excessive wear since Mr. ***** assured us it would “wear like iron”. Mr. *****’s refusal to take any responsibility for his product is extremely disappointing. The message to my wife and I is that Advance Furniture takes no responsibility for their products. Thank you for your continued assistance with this matter.
Very Truly Yours,
*** ***
 Attached are copies of the consumers checks in the amount of $4,400.00, a picture of the affected couch, and a copy of the delivery request/invoice.

Business Response: I am glad the complainant acknowledges that I had been cordial the whole time. I have provided again a copy of the receipt with the exact price of the sectional. There were additional items on the order. The price is of only significance because The complaintant knew he was getting a piece of furniture at a discount, and the reason for the discount was that the manufacturer was out of business. I told them on the day of the inspection that fabric has no warranty and I have provided you with copies of manufacturer warranties illustrating that fact,  but that I was willing to go the extra mile to assist my customer. I took the pillow to try to shave the pilling off the fabric and was successful and I responded within days that I was successful and was willing to assist the complainant to help with the pilling that was occurring on the fabric. I was going above and beyond. It was the complainant that insist on reupholstering which is not an option. The piece of furniture was in great shape when I inspected it. The frame was solid, the cushions were in great shape. The only issue with the piece of the furniture was the pilling that naturally occurs with wear. Other than that the fabric is holding up well. It is not puddling. it is not sagging or stretching. I have no other responsibility to the customer yet I still tried to assist them. Surely one must recognize that Advance Furniture has served this customer, answered their questions and  concerns, but sometimes a customer wants more. They bought a sectional at a discount, the sectional still looks great but is showing some pilling which can be shaved off. I offered to shave off the pilling. the customer refused that service and wants his sectional to be reupholstered. I did not try to color match the fabric for him. he hired a designer to do so and sent her in on a couple of occasions. I was kind and cordial then too, if they want to reupholster, they can do so but at their expense. I have answered the complaint honestly and have provided evidence of that. Advance furniture was willing to shave the pilling off the fabric, but that is the extent of what we are willing to do. I consider this complaint closed. There will be no satisfying this customer.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ****, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. Once again Mr. **** demonstrates his lack of integrity. Enclosed please find copies of 2 additional checks for the “additional items.” The couch was paid with check #s **** in the amount of $1500 (original deposit) and check # **** in the amount of $2900 for the balance to be paid COD. Invoice #*****. The chair was purchased and paid for 3/24/10, check #**** in the amount of $738.38. and a coffee table purchased and paid for 9/16/10, check #**** in the amount of $1196.20. Three items purchased from Advance Furniture in the amount of $6334.58. Additionally, he repeats that he shaved the pilling from the throw pillow. As I mentioned in my letter of 1/29/13 paragraph 3 that a throw pillow 18” x 18” gets very little wear, as a result there was no pilling. They are more decorative than functional. This letter is a rebuttal to his letter of 2/26/2013 and for your record, there is a complaint which has not been resolved to the satisfaction of either party.
Very Truly Yours,
*** ***  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.