BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This Business is a family Dental practice.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University Pediatric Dentistry PC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University Pediatric Dentistry PC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on University Pediatric Dentistry PC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 26, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1989 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 05/16/1989 in NY
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

New York State Department of State
84 Holland Avenue, Albany NY 12208-3490
http://www.dos.state.ny.us
Fax Number: 518-473-6648

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Paul Creighton, DDS, Co-President Ms. Roseann McAnulty, COO
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Paul Creighton, DDS, Co-President
Principal: Ms. Roseann McAnulty, COO
Business Category

DENTISTS

Alternate Business Names
University Family Dentistry

Additional Locations

  • 1100 Main Street

    Buffalo, NY 14209 (716) 242-8200

  • 1800 Maple Road Suite 200

    Amherst, NY 14221 (716) 688-7712

  • 394 Main St.

    East Aurora, NY 14052

  • 515 Abbott Rd

    Buffalo, NY 14220 (716) 828-3575

  • 521 Buffalo Avenue

    Niagara Falls, NY 14303 (716) 282-5725

  • P.O. Box 5140

    Buffalo, NY 14240

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (716) 688-7712(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Listed below is a letter I wrote to University Pedoatroc Dentistry on 11/29/11 and still have not recieved a response. In addition I have contracted the billing office and office manager on the following dates. Although billing and office staff have been compassionate and helpful, they have informed my *** ********* (the Dentist who performed the work on my daughter) will be contacting me to resolve the matter. The staff continue to tell me to contact them if I have not heard back from the dentist. I have contacted them on the following dates: 11/29/11 wrote letter and forwarded bills 12/29/12 left message 1/3/12 spoke with ******, Head of Billing 1/17/12 ****** is working on it 1/18/12 faxed all materials to *******, office manager 1/18/12 *******, office manager will pass materials on the *** ********* 1/24/12 ******* said *** ********* was handling it but to call her in one week if I hadn’t heard anything 2/2/12 ******* said she would tell *** ********* I was waiting for a response. 2/16/12 ******* emailed *** ********* again and said to contact her again if I recieve no response. November 29, 2011 University Pediatric Dentistry 1800 Maple Road Williamsville, NY 14221 University Pediatric Dentistry: I have been bringing my children to your Williamsville office since they were two years old and have been very pleased with the care they received until recently. At our 1/7/11 routine cleaning it was discovered that my daughter, **** ******, had two cavities. We scheduled an appointment for 2/11/11 to fill the cavities but she reacted poorly to the Nitrous Oxide and only one cavity was filled. A follow-up appointment was scheduled for 3/8/11 but the dentist at that appointment was unable to calm my daughter and said we would need to schedule an appoint to take her to ********** ******** for sedation so the tooth could be filled. Once I was able to schedule the appointment I called the office and requested a morning appointment, knowing that my child would not be allowed to eat anything before the procedure. I was informed that the morning appointments were reserved for babies. I said I didn’t mind waiting for a morning appointment and said I knew my child would not do well if she was hungry. I was told in an extremely uncompassionate manner that it would not be possible. After some discussion over the issue, I scheduled an appointment simply because it had been over four months since the cavities were discovered and they needed to be fixed. After I scheduled the appointment I asked to speak with the Managing Partner to discuss this policy. I received a call back from *** ********* in a timely fashion and explained my daughter’s situation. *** ********* scheduled my daughter for the following Monday, 5/16/11 at 6:30am. I must say I was worried about my daughter’s care and had some reservations but proceeded. When the procedure was over *** ********* came to the waiting room and informed me that my daughter, ****, had eight of her teeth capped with stainless steel. I was shocked. I didn’t know what to say or how to react. It was my understanding we were there to fill a cavity. I took her home and my husband and family had the exact same reaction. I decided that day I was leaving the practice. A few weeks later one of ****’s caps fell off. I contacted the dental practice I was switching to and they informed me that the practice responsible for putting on the cap should resolve the issue for free. I explained my reservations regarding the care my child had received and said I would not be returning to the practice. The new practice was able to replace my daughter’s cap in their office using a combination of nitrous oxide and calming techniques. Unfortunately, I was charged for the replacement since your practice had already been paid for the service. I strongly believe you are responsible for the replacement of the cap since you received well over $1,000 for the capping of my daughter’s eight teeth. I respectfully request reimbursement for the $134.00 I paid for the replacement crown. November 29, 2011 University Pediatric Dentistry 1800 Maple Road Williamsville, NY 14221 University Pediatric Dentistry: Regards, ****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request reimbursement for the $134.00 I paid for the replacement crown.

Business Response: BBB spoke to Roseann from the company today and received a verbal response. She stated that the child did have stainless steel crowns put on. On crown fell off which is not uncommon. There are a number of reasons that would cause this to happen. They offered to replace the crown at no charge and have the mom come back with the child. She declined and went to another office to have the crown fixed. This office will not refund the bill that was paid as they offered to fix it there at no cost.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business is not being truthful as I never contacted them to ask about replacing the cap.  As my letter and complaint outline I was displeased with the original service my daughter recieved and decided at that point to never return.  I do believe they should pay for the cap to be replaced especially since the care my daughter recieved was neglient bordering on abuse.  Please call me at ******** home or ******** work to discuss.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1