BBB Accredited Business since

Cortese Construction Services Corporation

Phone: (716) 683-2100 Fax: (716) 683-2451 2300 George Urban Blvd., Depew, NY 14043 http://www.cortese.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers General Contracting; Baths & Kitchen remodeling/renovation, Basement remodeling, Additions, Roofing/Siding, Windows/Doors, and Handyman services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cortese Construction Services Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cortese Construction Services Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Cortese Construction Services Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1951 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1951 Business incorporated 07/08/1957 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of Buffalo Licensing Division
Rm. 313 City Hall, Buffalo NY 14202
Phone Number: (716) 851-4953
Fax Number: (716) 851-4952

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Domenic Cortese, President
Business Category

CONTRACTORS - GENERAL HOME IMPROVEMENTS HOME IMPROVEMENTS - ADDITIONS PAINTING CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS SIDING CONTRACTORS CONSTRUCTION & REMODELING SERVICES BASEMENT - REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE HANDYMAN SERVICES SUNROOM & SOLARIUM DESIGN & CONSTRUCTION AWNINGS & CANOPIES WINDOWS ENERGY AUDITS PATIO BUILDER FIRE & FLOOD EMERGENCY SERVICE KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING KITCHEN REMODELING BUILDING CONTRACTORS

Alternate Business Names
Cortese Brothers Construction Co., Inc
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Recognizing Home Improvement Scams Roof - Ice & Snow Removal Roofing - Repair & Installation Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 2300 George Urban Blvd.

    Depew, NY 14043

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a home energy audit done 2 yrs ago this past Feb.., by a local Cortese, who was on the list to choose from to do such work. I took their recommendations and had foam insulation blown into my basement and attic. When they retested, they found they had closed my house up too tight, and there was not enough combustible air.They have done numerous things to get this right, which it still isn't, and now I have a mold issue, which I first noticed last June. It seems to be concentrated in my master bedroom and closet. I found mold on shoes, clothing and woodwork. The humidity has been tested as high as 70%. They have run all kinds of vents from my basement to outside, installed fans on timers, all of this directly under my bedroom, and put all kinds of contraptions on my hot water tank, and the issue still exists. I don't even know if it's safe to live here anymore.Immediately after the foam installation, one of my dogs started having respiratory issues. I spent thousands of dollars taking him to ******* *, and ** **** ******, to find out what was wrong. They could not find anything physical, and I'm convinced it was the mold. I had to say good-bye to him at the end of this past Feb.. Since I found the mold last June, I have been suffering from respiratory issues myself, and I have gone to an allergist, and am now been told I'm allergic to mold. Both ENT's I've seen, one at ********* ****** at my own expense, want to perform extensive sinus surgery . When I ask if the mold in my house could be contributing to the inflammation in my sinuses, they both agree, absolutely.This has gone on for 10 months, and I'm tired of being sick, not able to breathe sleep, smell or taste my food.The answer from the contractor is that he will give me $200.00 to have all my "must be dry cleaned" clothes cleaned, which is a total of about 50 items, and he come over here with a product called Shock, and wipe the mold off where ever he sees it. Im not sure if he is certified to do any mold clean-up.

Desired Settlement: The personal dollars I have spent trying to find out what was going on here-balance on loan from *****- $4300.00******* to clean house- $5320.61Vet bills- $4000.00Medical bills-$2846.80 (********* ******)mattress&box springs-$800.00 (no longer safe due to mold)refrigerator-$1500.00 (rusted on front from high humidity)

Business Response: *****, well we feel for you and the situation- we have made numerous attempts to offer our services and restitution in dealing with the issues in your home (please reference attached letters), and have not received confirmation from you on how we can try to assist or remedy the problems you mention.  At this point we have forwarded all pertinent information on to our attorney in an effort to resolve this situation amicable.  We truly do also wish to send our most sincere sympathy on the passing of your canine family member. We are here should you want to speak on the matter further, we can be reached M-F 8-4:30pm.  Regards, Cortese Construction Services

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I have requested proof from ******* ******* that he is certified in removing and cleaning up mold issues, and I have yet to receive anything that states he is.
I should not have to have Cortese come to my house 4 times a yr to check my humidity. I shouldn't have to worry that I have a continuing issue.

I have damage here that was caused by the humidity issue that Cortese should be responsible for taking care of.

I had a mold remediator here to give me an estimate as to what needs to be done to make this house safe to live in. Please see attached. A little bit more involved than wiping visible mold residue off with a product called "Shock". I should not not be responsible for this expense.
Regards,

***** *******




Business Response: We would be willing to make arrangements for mold remediation companies we have had success using in the past to call and meet with ***** for alternate estimates. Please confirm if you would like us to make these calls and arrange. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
I will  be having some air quality tests done today by ************, and will be moving forward with their plan for mold removal. I need Cortese to act on his offer immediately.  I can not waiting any longer for Cortese to decide what they want to do. I've asked them 4 times for proof that ******* is certified in mold removal, and he has ignored my requests. It has now been 10 months since I first spotted the mold, and conditions in this house are beginning to become as they were last time this year. I'm guessing due to the venting and fans in my basement, my current temp down there is 59 degrees with 46% humidity, much too high. My furnace is still running, my bedroom is reading 68 degrees and 37% humidity, really too high in there also.
I need to know what is causing the high humidity issue. I can have the mold removed, but if I don't know what caused it, it'll just come back.

Regards,

***** *******




11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invoice increase without prior knowledge. No mention of tile was above allowance, at time of selection. Provide additional detail on tile above allowance, detail values of tile and dates.

Desired Settlement: Remove $809.40 from invoice, that no additional charge await.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

Our project manager reached out to *** **** in the beginning of us working at his home and told him that we needed a selection for the tile backsplash to be made, multiple times. *** **** was hesitant, for whatever reason to make the selection, but finally went into our suppliers wholesale warehouse and made his selection.  He was then told by our sales representative at the whole sale house that the selection he had made would exceed the normal allowance. At that time, he made no effort to contact us with this budget overage concern that was brought to his attention at the time of selection.  Prior to selection being made our project manager had already called in the QTY’s to be ordered awaiting *** ****’s selection, since we were already waiting several weeks for *** **** to select his tile.  The tile was ordered because we needed the job to be completed.  As soon as the cost for the tile was calculated- *** **** was sent a change order dated 9/4/14. He did not dispute this amount until today, 10/21/14 when we received this complaint from the BBB.  If *** **** would have called us when the initial change order was received we would have been more than happy to discuss the difference in price with him and come to an amicable agreement.

 

Regards,

Cortese Construction Services Corp.

###-###-####

Business Response: *** ****- Your tile was placed on order as soon as you made your selection (roughly the 1st week of August) but since the selected tile was back-ordered our invoice from the supplier wasn't sent to us until 8/28/14 (see attached file) when it shipped from the warehouse. We hope this information is satisfactory in assisting you with closing this case out. We truly apologize that there was a lapse in communication by all parties involved and hope to be able to rectify this with you soon. 

 
Regards,
Cortese Construction Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I will withhold $200 of the owed balance until resolution plumbing and duct-work.

Regards,

****** ****

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a quote to fix a leak in my sunroom roof. I was told that they would remove approximatly 36 inches up on roof along transition of sunroom,install ice sheild and replace the roof shingles to match the exsisting one that were on the roof. The worked that they described in my invoice was not done or did they take off any roofing shingles. even after numerous they had to come back, sun room still had the same leak. I w this is in the back of the house. Upon doing some chaulcking around a dormer in the front of the house I discovered a soft spot on the roof and had it checked out which led to a new roof being put on. This is when I discovered that there was 3 layers of roof up on my house. Upon taking off all the shingles in the back of the house above the sunroom the plywood above the sunroom was entirely rotton and needed to be replaced before the new roof that was put on. If cortese construction would have taken of the shingles like they said they were going to do the workers would have notified there boss who came out to my house and told him we have a major problem here. 30 pieces of plywood was used to replace bad areas on different parts of the roof, including above the sunroom. I spoke to *** ******** a couple of times and have had no response other than the owner would call me and that was over a week ago. I SENT HIM PICTURES OF THE AREA THAT WAS DAMAGED BY WATER AND WHAT WAS CAUSING THE LEAK. No Response other than he said maybe they took off two layers of roof shingles and put the ice shield over the first layer of shingles which is rediculous. After having the new roof put on and the rotton plywood replaced I have not had a leak at all and that resolved the problem. 3 layers of roofing shingles were not taken off or replaced and if so done they would have seen the rotton would and notified me or *** ******** about a serious problem I have. Not happy about getting a run around when if they did the job they would have seen the rotton wood.

Desired Settlement: I would expect at least a partial refund for the work that was not done and for not correcting the problem, the leak in my sunroom. They charged me $3,000.00 to fix a problem that should have been discovered when removing the 3 layers of roofing shingles. So I paid them plus had to have a new roof put on. The new roof solved my problem and and Rob told me I didn't need a new roof. Very unhappy about being taken.

Business Response: September 24, 2014

Dear ********

On 11/07/2013 our home repairs specialist visited *** ******* residence to diagnose a roof leak. At that time the home repair specialist recommend a new roof. The homeowner declined and inquired if there were any other possible options. Our home repair specialist explained that only solution was to trouble shoot areas that looked of concern. At that time *** ******* and our technician agreed to repair the area where the sunroom and house meet. We removed shingles 36 inches up to the roof transition in the rear of the house installed ice shield, new shingles and flashing. Customer called and said the roof was still leaking and we went back to check on it. Each time, we went back, 5/16/14,5/23/14,6/4/14,7/10/14 and 7/29/14, we investigated some and water tested the areas of concern, with customer present and no leaks were visible at that time. It was made clear to the customer at this point that we were focusing our efforts in the wrong area. Our home repair specialist requested access to the dormer area above the sunroom to check for moisture infiltration could be the cause of the leak below and was told it was inaccessible therefore he could not properly diagnose the leak source. In conclusion this was a troubleshooting repair that came with no guaranties because of the inability to know exactly where the water leaking originated from. The homeowner never gave us a chance to complete the task of investigating the matter further and hired someone else to do an entire tear off and reroof as initially suggested on 11/07/13.

Sincere regards, 
******* *******

President
Cortese Construction

Business Response: In the interest of compromise and to assure *** ********s satisfaction, we are willing to extend a Courtesy Credit for the Demo portion of work that *** ******* deemed incomplete. This portion of the project was quoted for $500.  Please confirm if this is acceptable to all parties.

 
Thank you,
Cortese Construction Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Even though the contract had no break down of work being done, I will except a check for $500.00.

Regards,

** *******

2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. Insulation was not completed under crawl section of addition. Kickwalls used instead of concrete were left uninsulated and insulation was not properly installed under floor joists. I have pictures and had to spend additional money and insulated the space myself. 2. While under crawlspace preparing to do insulation I noticed a black garbage back which contained a live wire! This wire was just wrapped up in a black garbage bag and left there!. This resulted in one of there workers spending two days here trying to find the "ungrounded" wire that could not be located. The wire/bag is still there. 3. Drywall finish work is terrible. This is brand new drywall that looks 50 years old. Not just one spot but all over the room. We sit in there and can not even discuss the project without getting upset. 4. Andersen Sliding door installed incorrectly. We watch the wind blow our curtains and have frost half way up the glass some mornings. I have pictures. 5. Cortese was absolutely terrible to work with and used kids who had little or no training. I literally had to become the foreman and show them things. The place was left in an absolute mess. They did not clean anything up.

Desired Settlement: I need to hire another contractor to fix this mess. I have already spent $800 on insulation and now need a new sliding door and drywall completely reworked or torn out. We paid $35,000 for this project. I am requesting a refund of $10,000 for the electrical safety hazard, drywall work, door replacement and insulation. Thank you.

Business Response:

This project dates back to 2011 and is certified by the village of Orchard Park  building department and Commonwealth electrical inspection service. We would, however, be open to a site meeting to review these issues that have come up. It is important to note that a final walk through of the project did not reveal any of these issues with the exception of the drywall work and some electrical issues. Both of these items were resolved, completed and inspected. The customer has paid us in full and has never contacted us directly to bring up any of these concerns or complaints.

 

Business Response:

We have the right to repair any issues that arise on any of our projects. We were never notified of these specific issues until the BBB complaint came in, and again- all our work was inspected and certified by the village of Orchard Park. Having said that, we remain ready to assist *** ****** in any way with the issues he may have. I personally spoke with *** ****** after this complaint was received, and reinforced our willingness to come-by and inspect the work he is speaking of, and make any necessary repairs.

How would a company know of a possible error if they are not advised to its existence and are then denied access to act on said complaint?

Sincere regards,

Domenic Cortese

President

Cortese Construction Services Co.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I stated in my previous detailed response, we are not interested in any more contact with Cortese Company.  As you were able to see, the insulation issue has already been completed at an additional cost and labor by me.   We are not comfortable with any repair on the sliding door based on the previous attempt to circumvent the proper replacement of the incorrect windows (wanting to paint instead of factory applied), and the "band-aid" approach to correcting an issue.  The electrical wire will also be handled by an electrician of our choosing.  The drywall repair estimates are pending.

Regards,

*

 

Consumer Response:

BBB contacted the consumer after they communicated they were unhappy with the closing of the complaint. BBB explained we thought it was reasonable that the company should have been notified before another contractor was called out to fix the issues the consumer laid out in their complaint. The consumer has indicated the company did come back out to re-insulate and the results were still poor. Please review your company files and readdress the consumers concern and request for reimbursement related to the insulation. 

------

I guess you did not understand that Cortese was already here to "re-insulate" and you saw the results. Am I suppose to crawl under my house after every visit to make sure it was done correctly? They cut corners and obviously did not care about the end result. And WHY did they not notice the electrical wire stuffed in the large black plastic garbage bag you also see in the pictures?

This company does not perform quality, professional work. You see that.

How am I going to be compensated for at least the insulation work I had to perform?  They had multiple opportunities.

12/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable