BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Yellow Page City, Inc.

Phone: (585) 247-3996 Fax: (585) 247-3862 View Additional Phone Numbers 280 Kenneth Drive, Suite 300, Rochester, NY 14623 http://www.yellowpagecity.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online yellow page advertising.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Yellow Page City, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Yellow Page City, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 10, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2000 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated: 12/19/2006 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven Pavone, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Pavone, CEO
Business Category

YELLOW PAGE ADVERTISING INTERNET MARKETING SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
RCityWeb.com USA Data Sources YPC Media, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 280 Kenneth Drive, Suite 300

    Rochester, NY 14623

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 847-9760(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A representative from Yellow Page City called making a claim they were working with the BBB to offer members of the BBB services that included correcting online listings for our business and for creating additional listings in the major directories. He claimed by having thousands of correct listings that this would help our rankings and help our customers find us. It does make sense that this would help. My first clue to this being fraud should have been that he claimed the BBB sent me a letter explaining the partnership and the services they were offering. The problem I have is that I called the BBB and they verified they sent a letter which was never delivered but they did email a copy of the letter and assured me Yellow Page City was partnering with them. The services they sold me was supposed to happen within a 2 month period. It has now been more than 4 months and they have done nothing. I have searched many directory listings using Yellow Page City's competitors and other services and the directory listings and corrections that were supposed to have been completed more than 2 months ago have not even begun. In fact one of the places they claim they work with for our listing is yp.com. I went to that site two weeks ago and they had the wrong listing for us. I emailed yp.com directly and after 3 days they did put a listing for us up that had the correct information but left the listing that was incorrect! this is proof that Yellow Page City is NOT doing what they promised. I tried calling them last week and was directed to the sales persons voice mail. I left a message and he has not returned my call. I called again today, 1/22/14 (3 business days later) and was again unable to talk with the sales person. The receptionist was unfriendly and would not allow me to talk to anyone else including a manager. She would only send me to the sales person's voice mail and told me he was very busy and did not know how long it would take for him to return my call! I have paid hundreds of dollars to this company and have received nothing in return. My business is Accredited with the BBB and I know that if I treated my customers this way we would lose our rating and the BBB would not want anything to do with us 'partnering' with them. If this was about a bill for $25 it would be upsetting but would not be something to worry about. But after spending close to $1000 I feel Yellow Page City is committing fraud and using the BBB to do so. It now has me wondering what kind of payoff the BBB is getting from this company that the BBB would be involved with this fraud. I am seriously considering not renewing my BBB membership because of this criminal activity. I will not support any organization that I know is committing a crime and although the BBB is not actively selling the fraudulent service they are actively promoting it and that makes them as guilty as those committing the crime.

Desired Settlement: I either want all my money back that I have paid To date $888.85). Or, I want what was promised to me in the 'contract' and I want proof the work has been done. I want proof from a company not associated with Yellow Page City or the BBB. If this proof is not available then I want my money refunded in full. It should not be difficult to prove their work was done using another source that they do not have business ties with. If the company is too busy to provide adequate satisfaction I will take this matter to the Attorney General.

Business Response: On August 20, 2013 Mr. ******* purchased an advertising package through Yellow Page City for a total contract amount of $1000.00. The contract included a YPC Enhanced listing in our directory and the Smart Listings Network.  On January 22, 2014, Mr. ******* called to speak to his account representative  with concerns on how the advertising campaign was preforming. His account rep was on another call and was unable to take his call at that time. Our receptionist asked to take a message for him to call him back. Due to Mr. ********* frustrations, he did not feel as though he should wait for a call back and asked to speak to someone above his account representative. Unfortunately, all managers were in a meeting and unavailable so again the receptionist asked to take a message. Mr. ******* left a message and then made a follow up call to the BBB to express his concerns with our company.

Mr. ******* was called back about an hour later from his account representative. They discussed his account and any changes that could be made to help benefit this campaign. Mr. ******* was offered a complimentary upgrade to his account, valued at $1500.00. This upgrade will shorten the length of time that the AB's business listings will update across the internet. The product added to his existing campaign will resolve the concerns he had.

I do believe we resolved his issues within a respectable amount of time. Mr. ********* advertising campaign will be reviewed again with him in about 30 days to make sure he is satisfied with the changes we made.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with yellow page city through a salesperson named ***** ********* three years ago. I renew every spring. The service I buy is search engine words such as auto or renters or insurance agent, followed by Richmond, Va. I was told if you type in these words to things like google search, the word yellow page city would be in the top three of the advertising page. Once you click on yellow page city, my ad would be the next site. I have had trouble dealing with ***** the past 3 years, but I stayed with them because they delieverd on the work. Since mid-december, I noticed yellow page city is not showing up at all with any of my search words. I am not sure how long this has been going on, but I have another company Iwork with and when dealing with them I checked on my yellow page city ad and it did not show up. I have left ***** 3 emails about this and talked with the receptionist and two other people who tell me ***** is very busy and will get back with me. This has been going on since 12/31/13 with no response from *****. ***** has alway been bad about returning calls or emails, but this is the first time he will not respond concerning the product. I paid right at $1.800 last year for this service.

Desired Settlement: If I could get some sort of refund, that would be great, but I really just want them to get this working. I am not sure how long my ad has not been showing up. I am sure I am not the only one going through this and ***** or the company should be reprimanded. He is head of sales and you should not be able to get away with this. I think he thinks by not calling me back, this will go away. Any help will be greatly appreciated. ***

Business Response:

On February 13, 2013 Mr. ********* renewed his Yellow Page City advertising for the third consecutive year. His advertising package included a 3/4 page ad for a total contract amount of $ 1800.00. On 12/31/13 Mr. ********* sent an email to our production department regarding finding the YPC links on Google. The email from Mr. ********* was forwarded to his account representative who then responded via email a few days later addressing his concerns. The delay in our response was due to the fact that our office was closed for a few days for the holiday.  I attached the email correspondence between our representative and Mr. Garfinkel. It appears that we were working on resolving this issue as the complaint was filed. There was also verbal communication between Mr. ********* and another account representative here at Yellow Page City. The goal of that communication was to move this account to another representative that would be a better fit to the customer.

 

On 1/20/14 Mr. ********* spoke to his new account manager and they discussed renewing this account. Mr. ********* was open to this discussion and the renewal. About a week later, Mr. ********* decided that he wanted to hold off on making this decision until further notice. Although the decision was made to hold off, Mr. ********* was thankful that his concerns were addressed and he will be contacting us at a later date to discuss his renewal options.  As a courtesy we have extended his contract out until September 21, 2014. We will keep his advertising live and continue to service the customer during this time.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a solicitation call from a very rude representative who acted as though my questions about the purpose of the call, insinuating that we had initiated contact, we out of line. I went online to check out the company after the call and found that the site implied they are highly regarded by BBB.

Desired Settlement: No more calls and that they remove BBB references from the website. It harms the BBB reputation and many of us depend on the validity of BBB reports.

Business Response: We received an online request to add/update the listing information for ******* ******** & ********** on Yellowpagecity.com. This request was initiated with link at the bottom of Yellowpagecity.com that reads "ADD OR UPDATE YOUR LISTING". Once you click this link you are brought to a page where you enter business information the way you would like to see it listed in our directory. There is a mandatory verification process in order to make sure the information was submitted by the business owner and that the information is correct. This is an imperative step in the verification process to ensure that we are following all privacy policies. If we allowed the general public to make changes to business listings, without verifying the information, you can imagine the potential mess this would cause; businesses could deliberately change their competitors information causing a great amount of hardship on other businesses in their field.

We have tried numerous times to call this business to update their listing information as requested, but unfortunately, we have not been able to get a hold of them. On May 2, 2013 a rep from Yellowpagecity.com called and spoke with ***. *** is the executive assistant for *** ******, the business owner. Our rep asked to speak with *** (the business owner) and the executive mentioned that *** was not in. Our rep tried to inform the assistant that he was following up on a request that the business owner made but he was interrupted by the assistant telling him to put the business on our internal Do Not Call List. Our rep did not have a chance to fully explain himself because she was very quick to rush him off the phone. I have attached the recording of the call for your review.

The phone number was immediately added to our Do Not Call list and there has not been any further calls to their number. About two weeks later a formal BBB complaint was issued stating that our rep was rude and thought we were not being honest when we mentioned that the business initiated the call. Although our rep was not rude, the business did initiate the call and we were only following up on their request to do so.

Based on this information I am hoping the BBB will not go forward with this complaint and mark it as customer feedback.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The evidence that we initiated contact is a form from 2011?  That is supposed to be proof that we want to do business with them in May of 2013?  I stand with my statement that this is unsolicited and we do not want to be contacted by them in the future.  ALSO, the complaint I made was not so much about the call but the fact that they have or had agents of their business with the BBB logo all over it.

Regards,

*** ******

Business Response:

Yellow Page City strives to publish only accurate, up to date information. The request is dated from 2011 and we have unsuccessfully been trying to contact the business owner to verify this information. Recently we decided to revisit prior requests, in order to improve the accuracy of listings in our book. We did not intend to upset the business owner or other employees. Our only intention was to verify the listing information that was given to us and update this information if needed.

As recently stated, we have added the business to our internal do not call list and we will no longer try to contact them.

Yellow Page City is also an Accredited Business. We are proud to be able to feature the BBB online seal on our website. This seal is an opportunity for others to research our company. It provides consumer confidence and recognizes high standards of business practices. It also identifies our company as a BBB Accredited Business that has earned trust. With all due respect, I do not think your request for us to remove any BBB reference from our website is warranted. We work very hard to maintain a high rating with the BBB and therefore, we would like to be able to share this rating with others.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract we went over was different from the one he sent to me. I let ***** know this, but he acted as if I were wrong. I know what we went over and that is not what was in the contract he sent to me. We paid full price same day to receive a discount. The ad is nice, but I have not received everything he said I would. He said we would have a paperclick ad that was piggybacked off of their website and I have not seen that. He also said we would receive a phone internet site, so people can use our website easier on their cell phones, when I questioned him about that, he acted like he didn't say that. Also, everytime I call or e-mail *****, he takes a long time to respond. I have had to leave him a few messages before I even hear back. I am not one to complain, but I am very tired of all this advertising businesses getting over on my business and not doing what they say they will. I sent him an email one month ago and have never seen a response and also left him a phone message. When we first did the ad, they sent me a copy of the ad to verify it was what I wanted and it was not. So I let them know what needed changed, no big deal. When they finally sent one back, they did not make the changes I requested. It took to many times of going back and forth to get my ad correct, when I said exactly what needed changed the very first message, all they had to do was change some wording. When they sent it back, it was the same except one minor change they made. They did finally get it right, it was just unbelievable to me what it took for them to get it right, it was like they were not even reading my emails. They also made sure I knew they were with the better business bureau and honestly this is the worst service I have experienced since we opened for business in September of 2009. The customer service seemed great when he was trying to make a sale, but after he made the sale it was like we were nothing to them. They didn't even have the job done correctly.

Desired Settlement: I would like for this business not to do this to any other businesses. They need alot better customer service before and after someone pays them. I would also like them to do what they said they were going to do before I paid them or they could just send us the money back.

Business Response: The customer purchased an advertising package consisting of an 1/8 page ad in the Mansfield, OH directory under the heading of *********** *********. There was some miscommunication between the sales rep and the customer regarding the products purchased. Yellow Page City's customer service manager called and spoke with the manager of this business and they were able to come to a resolution. All revisions the customer requested are complete and their contract was also extended until December 31, 2013.

The customer emailed and called the BBB asking to have this complaint dismissed. We would like to proceed with that request.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/19/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1