This business is not BBB accredited.

Window World of Binghamton

Phone: (607) 797-3234 Fax: (607) 797-3236 786 Main Street, Johnson City, NY 13790 http://www.windowworldbinghamton.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers replacement windows, doors, and siding.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Window World of Binghamton include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Window World of Binghamton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 14, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2009 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 05/01/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hoffmeier, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hoffmeier, Owner
Business Category

WINDOWS WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE GUTTER LEAF GUARDS CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS PATIO DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION SHUTTERS

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards. 100%  financing available.
Alternate Business Names
Window World of Binghamton NY, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    786 Main Street

    Johnson City, NY 13790

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 7/21/16 the installer came to install Windows. The job was not complete so they were to come back the next day to complete. 7/23/16 my windows were still not complete, leaving half my home windows exposed and unwrapped. After no word from the installer I contacted window world and informed them of my situation. They then told me that the contractor submitted that the job was complete and I checked my account and seen I was also charged 6,144.00 for a job that was not complete and told to wait it out until Monday when a manager may be present. After speaking with two mangers on Monday I simply asked to speak with the owner, I was told he WILL not call me back and that this manager is to only talk to customers because "that's why he gets a pay check for".

Desired Settlement: I would like to be contacted by the owner, and an explanation on how a contractor submitted the job was done when I was suppose to sign off on the job. Was my name forged? do we have a legal matter here?

Business Response:

The processing of this job was a simple clerical error which was reversed immediately within 48 hrs. Customer was explained this. Job was completed on 7-28-16 in its entirety. Our field manager was present to inspect the job. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards, ******* *****




9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been in the process of receiving replacement windows installed on our home since January 2, 2015 and the job has not been completely finished . The job was paid in full back in April/May because they considered the majority of the work to be done. We paid knowing we have a contract and that these remaining issues would be completed. We have had numerous workmanship issues on the $15k worth of windows installed by the multiple installers that have been placed on this job. I have made several attempts with the office to have this fixed/completed. They will set up appointments and then the installers either NO SHOW or show up hours late and say they can't complete the job. I have called the office to complain many times and still can not get the job completed. I called last Wednesday to the main office after the installer who was suppose to be at the house between 3-5 did not show during the slot. I even called at 1130am that day to confirm the appointment later that day. When the installer did not show or call between 3-5, I spoke to the office and asked that the owner of the company please contact me to discuss. He did not. I called yesterday morning at 950am and left a message to contact me, still no call back as of 9/1/2015 at 1250pm. I feel we have been more than accommodating in trying to resolve this matter with Window World of Binghamton. We have taken numerous vacation days to wait for the jobs to be completed, only to be 8 months into this installation and the job is not complete.

Desired Settlement: I would like the owner to call me to discuss how this job will be finished. It has been 8 months of installation mishaps & lack of on-going communication.

Business Response:

In regards to the issue concerning customer complaint by Mrs. ***** ******:  The issue for Mrs. ****** has been taken care of as of today, September 4th 2015.  Our installation crew was out last Friday, August 28th to meet with Mr. ****** to address his concerns.  The main concern was with the exterior wrapping and caulking on the windows, as well as some interior finish trim work.  While out last week, the installer informed the customer that we would be entirely replacing all the exterior wrapping and caulking on all windows, as well as replacing the interior trim work.  Due to the specific color of wrapping, the installer had to make two trips to complete the work, as he did not have enough of the specific color.  More material was ordered, and the job was completed this morning.  Mr. ****** was there to oversee the work, and was happy with the resolution to their issues.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   It took involving the BBB in order to get the job completed.  It's not as if the window company wasn't aware of the color of the windows since January 2,2015 or about all of our complaints along the way.  The job is finally completed satisfactory after 245 from the start of the installation date.  Regards,   ***** ******




1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window World installed the wrong widows in my house at *** **** **** Rd. Oneonta, NY. When I informed the contractor he quit work on my house leaving window sills unprotected. I even asked contractor if I would have any leaks and his answer was no. However the first rain storm we had the windows sills that were not finished leaked and damaged ceiling on enclosed porch. I had to call and complain that sills had to be covered when a storm was approaching so more damage would not occur. I sent a register letter That was received August 22,2014 and did not receive any written communication as of this date October 29,2014. For your information I have not paid second pay for completion of contract because of damages.

Desired Settlement: I want damages repaired to original condition. Or credit to repair damages.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In answer to what Widow world claims I did not tell the contractor to leave. I did bring the mistake to his attention, he then quit work on his own. I even asked him if would have any leaks because trim work was not complete. He said I would not and he left. After calling the office he said I would have to wait for them to reorder the correct windows and they would finish work then.
I want my ceiling repaired to look as go as it did before it was damaged.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: In response to the recent Better Business Bureau complaint
filed by Mr. *** *******, it is our understanding that the work has been
completed based on the original complaint.  
We had scheduled installation of Mr. *******’s windows for May 27th,
2014, the day of the installation, after the crew began work, it came to the
installers attention that the windows were manufactured to be a different
series than those that were ordered.  The
installer finished putting the windows in, and brought this to the customer’s
attention that we would need to return with the proper items.  The customer was, understandably, upset that
they were not the proper series.  The
installer explained that he would finish the installation and return to make
the change once the correct windows arrived from the manufacturer.  At this point, Mr. ******* told the installer
to leave, knowing that manufacturing was a 4 week process, he insisted work be
stopped and the installer leave. 

In the time between the original installation and the
correct windows being received, we did not receive word of an issue from Mr.
*******.  The day of the re-installation
of the correct windows, he showed the damage of the porch roof and interior
ceiling to the installer, having no notice of these issues, the installer was
not prepared to make the repairs on the home as sheet rock was needed.   Upon returning to our office, the installer
told us of the water damage in the home. 
We then sent the installer back to the home, where he installed sheet
rock and painted the interior to amend the damage.  At this time we consider this matter
completed, beyond the original contract, and that all damage was removed and
the home restored to its original condition. 
We are now seeking payment for the original contracted window purchase
in the amount of $2337.00; we do not intend to charge additionally for the
extra work done on the home regardless of the timeline between the installation
and damages being brought to our attention.

Consumer Response: BBB spoke with the consumer today and he stated that Window World did send him a letter stating that they would pay for repairs.  The consumer has stated that he will have the repairs done, and deduct the amount he paid for them from the remaining balance due to Window World.

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had multiple problems while trying to get one sliding glass door replaced by Window World. I was cancelled on twice after taking time off of work to be home for replacement which were both perfect days to replace the door - warm and not raining . The third time it was a freezing, rainy day but two gentlemen did show up late for the installation but they at leased showed up. They completed the installation which I am pleased with the door. The installer forgot the screen for the door and said he could drive back to the shop and get it or come back early the next week and install it since they were going to be working in the area and could swing by and install. I did not have to be home since it is an outside installation. I unwisely chose to trust his word and told him it was okay to install the screen the next week. He was happy and said it would have been a wasted trip since they would drive by the next week before or after a job. Since they were cold from the install and appeared to do a good job, I gave him a $20 tip and told him about a good diner to warm up at. After over a week, I called Window World, ***** (spelling?) getting the answering machine asking when the screen was going to be installed. No call back. I called again a week or so later to no avail. I then called the ###-###-#### number and got a manager who took the information, and said she would look into it and get an answer to my problem. I said that I was told I did not have to be home for install so to just call back when I could expect the screen to be installed. I then get a call back from ***** ASKING WHEN I WOULD BE HOME FOR THE INSTALL! So I again have to make another call and go through the I do NOT have to be home...when would the screen be installed? She said it would be installed Thursday, 4 December 2014. On 5 December 2014, I again called for the manager. She had left for the day, but the person who answered the call said she would leave a message for her to call me on Monday. I then said I would be contacting the BBB. She said she would email the owner with my problem. I waited 24 hours before turning to BBB thinking if an owner of the company cannot get the job done or at least a call to a long-time customer, I am not going to see the completion of this project any time soon. I have used this Window World to replace all of my windows with a great product, on time, and very good customer service in the past. I am not sure what has happened with this business unit, but their services have declined dramatically. Too bad, because I had more doors to replace. I also had recommended their services to two friends before this. I will be rectifying that soon.

Desired Settlement: It has now been well over a month and a half since my original install date, and I am still being forced to deal with an install that should be complete. My desired outcome is for Window World fulfill their contractual requirement and complete the job.

Business Response: This patio screen has been replaced. Customer complaint is resolved. 

5/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window was improperly sealed when installed and also installed slightly crooked. Water made it's way into the window frame and worked its way to my downstairs bath causing damage to the wallpaper. It took a service tech two weeks to come out. I made a video of the leak and water damage and showed the tech. He acknowledged the window was improperly sealed and caused the water damage. He ensured me he would follow up with the field manager to rectify and compensate me for the damage due to their improper install. Please note, not a single other window leaked in the entire house. Only the window that Window World installed. It took almost two months, and at least four phone calls to the office to finally get this field manager to see the issue for himself. He finally came to the house, still found the window was not properly sealed and took the window out and re-installed it (for now the third time). Upon viewing the damage from all the leaking water and seeing the video, he claimed it was a ice dam, and therefore they won't compensate for the damage they caused. Again, no other window leaked and there are three other windows on the same level. I informed him I was told I would get some money to fix the wallpaper and light fixture where the water damaged the downstairs bath by the previous technician. He pretty much ignored it and said it's not their fault and won't compensate me for the damage, even though he just fixed the improperly installed window. I informed him this was unacceptable but he didn't care about the customer, my future business ( I was going to buy three more windows from them), nor the obvious fact that their product was the cause of the damage.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting $200 to replace the light fixture that had water pouring out of it, replacing the wallpaper border, and repainting the wall.

Business Response: Window World has a protocol for customer issues. We send a service tech out to assess minor issues and if the issue can not be resolved we schedule a Field Manager to do a full assessment of problem. Mr. ****** was told that if the window was causing a leak. Window World would take full responsibility for the damages incurred. Upon inspection, the field manager found that the issue was not related to the window. The customer was explained the nature of the problem. The problem was due to ice damage occuring on the roof above the window. He was expalined that "ice damming" was a common problem in this area, this winter, due to the freeze and thaw cycles we experienced. We also have pictures to show this. While on site, the Field manager made an adjustment to the lock. This was the only item that needed service while at Mr. ******** property. The field manager also stated, Mr. ****** agreed he had significant ice accumulation above the window in question and that ice damming could be a problem. Mr. ****** was told that Window World was not willing to reimburse any money due to the fact that the problem was not a result of negligence on Window World's part.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Window World of Binghamton
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart