BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Window World of Binghamton

Phone: (607) 797-3234 Fax: (607) 797-3236 786 Main Street, Johnson City, NY 13790 http://www.windowworld.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers replacement windows, doors, and siding.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window World of Binghamton meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window World of Binghamton include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window World of Binghamton
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 14, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2009 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated: 05/01/2009 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hoffmeier, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hoffmeier, Owner
Business Category

WINDOWS WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE GUTTER LEAF GUARDS CONTRACTORS - GUTTERS GUTTERS & DOWNSPOUTS SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS PATIO DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION SHUTTERS

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards. 100%  financing available.
Alternate Business Names
Window World of Binghamton NY, Inc.
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Window was improperly sealed when installed and also installed slightly crooked. Water made it's way into the window frame and worked its way to my downstairs bath causing damage to the wallpaper. It took a service tech two weeks to come out. I made a video of the leak and water damage and showed the tech. He acknowledged the window was improperly sealed and caused the water damage. He ensured me he would follow up with the field manager to rectify and compensate me for the damage due to their improper install. Please note, not a single other window leaked in the entire house. Only the window that Window World installed. It took almost two months, and at least four phone calls to the office to finally get this field manager to see the issue for himself. He finally came to the house, still found the window was not properly sealed and took the window out and re-installed it (for now the third time). Upon viewing the damage from all the leaking water and seeing the video, he claimed it was a ice dam, and therefore they won't compensate for the damage they caused. Again, no other window leaked and there are three other windows on the same level. I informed him I was told I would get some money to fix the wallpaper and light fixture where the water damaged the downstairs bath by the previous technician. He pretty much ignored it and said it's not their fault and won't compensate me for the damage, even though he just fixed the improperly installed window. I informed him this was unacceptable but he didn't care about the customer, my future business ( I was going to buy three more windows from them), nor the obvious fact that their product was the cause of the damage.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting $200 to replace the light fixture that had water pouring out of it, replacing the wallpaper border, and repainting the wall.

Business Response: Window World has a protocol for customer issues. We send a service tech out to assess minor issues and if the issue can not be resolved we schedule a Field Manager to do a full assessment of problem. Mr. ****** was told that if the window was causing a leak. Window World would take full responsibility for the damages incurred. Upon inspection, the field manager found that the issue was not related to the window. The customer was explained the nature of the problem. The problem was due to ice damage occuring on the roof above the window. He was expalined that "ice damming" was a common problem in this area, this winter, due to the freeze and thaw cycles we experienced. We also have pictures to show this. While on site, the Field manager made an adjustment to the lock. This was the only item that needed service while at Mr. ******** property. The field manager also stated, Mr. ****** agreed he had significant ice accumulation above the window in question and that ice damming could be a problem. Mr. ****** was told that Window World was not willing to reimburse any money due to the fact that the problem was not a result of negligence on Window World's part.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HAD OUTSIDE WNIDOWS INSTALLED AND WINDOW AND DOOR WRAPPED. THEY WERE SUPPOSED TO REPLACE THE WOOD AROUND THE KITCHEN WINDOW MAN TOOK OUT 1/2 THE ROTTED WOOD ON THE BOTTOM OF IT AND DID NOT REPLACE THE WHOLE SECTION OF THE WOOD. DID NOT CLEAN UP THEIR MESS WHEN I WENT TO CLEAN UP MY PATIO OF ALL THEIR GARBAGE, NOTICED THAT THERE WAS JUST THE 1/2 OF ROTTED WOOD. ALSO THE WRAP ON THE BACK GARAGE WINDOW WAS DENTED. WHEN I CALLED TO COMPLAIN THEY SENT ANOTHER MAN AND WHEN HE TOOK OFF THE WRAP FROM THE WINDOW THE 1ST GUY JUST STUCK A PIECE OF WOOD THAT DID NOT EVEN FIT THE WINDOW WILL IN THERE NOT REPLACING THE WHOLE SECTION OF WOOD. DISGUSTING WITH THE AMOUNT OF MONEY I PAID FOR THIS WORK. CALLED OFFICE FELT SINCE THEY DID SUCH BAD WORK TO BEGIN WITH AND IF I HAD NOT PAID ATTENTION TO THE WORK THE FIRST GUY WAS NOT DOING, I DO NOT FEEL THEY SHOULD CHARGE ME FOR THE WRAPPING AND REPAIRING OF THAT WINDOW ALSO THE DENT IN THE BACK GARAGE WINDOW WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I HAVE NOT HAD A CALL BACK FROM THE COMPANY ADDRESSING THIS WHICH I WAS TOLD I WOULD GET.

Desired Settlement: I WANT SOME KIND OF COMPLENSATION FOR THE SHODDY WORKMAN SHIP ON THAT WINDOW.

Business Response: We were notified on 6/14/12 that we had received a complaint from this customer. This issues that the customer chose to address in the complaint had already been addressed and rectified prior to the customer filing it. The customer’s install was set for 5/23/12. The installer arrived that morning to replace 2 windows, one of which needed to be reframed, as well as place exterior trim around one of her doors. During the installation, the installer noticed that only part of the frame on one window was rotted and informed the customer that he would only need to replace a part of the frame because the rest of it was still in good condition. The customer then asked the installer for a discount for the part that wasn’t needed. The installer told the customer that wasn’t possible since we charge a flat rate for reframing a window, regardless if it’s a section of it or the entire frame. After the install, the customer signed our completion certificate that stated that the job was completed and was to her liking.

The customer then called into the office that evening to discuss this with one of the office managers and was again told that we cannot discount the price of the frame. She called back again on 5/25/12 to address her concerns about the frame again and about an exterior trim that she wasn’t satisfied with. Working around her schedule, our office set up a service appointment for 6/6/12 to have our service technician address her issues. On that appointment, the service technician removed and replaced the entire frame of the window in question, along with replacing all exterior trim that was placed during the initial install, to satisfy the customer. The customer again signed our paperwork stating that the job was completed and to her liking. The week following the service, our office sent her a full refund check for the amount of the reframe for compensation. All issues had been addressed and resolved prior to the customer making their
complaint. 

Consumer Response: BBB spoke to the consumer who verified her refund was received after the complaint was filed. Complaint is resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 18 May 2012 I ordered a new replacement window. The salesman told me it will take two weeks to get delivery after delivery they will arrange installation. On the 7 June someone from Window World called me and told me that the window had arrived and they would like to install it on Tuesday 12 June. At 9:30 I prepared the room for installation and after waiting 15 mins after the contractors delivery time I called Window World to inquire as to when the installers will be arriving. I was told that they will not be here until 11 July. I am most annoyed at this inconvenience and wish to register a complaint against this company for 'Failure to Perform' I had placed a 50% deposit and they would not refund my deposit.

Desired Settlement: I believe a 10% reduction in my bill would be acceptable.

Business Response: Please see attached letter. I feel that this letter should be posted with the complaint for everyone to see. TRhe BBB is destroying small business due to the fact that they do not screen these complaints. We agree that some complaints are legitimate. but there are a large number of complaints that are NOT. This is one of them. Everything according to our contract has been executed exactly as explained.


In regards to the issue concerning customer complaint by Mr. ****** *****: Mr. ***** signed a contract for new replacement windows on May 18th, 2012.  At the time of sale, he was informed that installation time for the windows was between six and eight weeks from the date of the order being placed.  His windows were received at our store Wednesday, June 6th, 2012.  We
spoke with Mr. ***** that day to let him know his windows were in, and available to be scheduled.  We arranged to have the windows installed on Wednesday, July 11th, 2012.  Mr. ***** agreed to this date and we processed his information to start his install on July 11th. 

On Tuesday, June 12th we received a call from Mr. ***** asking where his installers were, and why they had not showed up yet.  We explained to Mr. ***** that when we spoke the previous week, we had set the date for install on July 11th, not June 12th.  He proceeded to get irritated, and insisted that we had set the date for June 12th.  We referenced the history of his information
in our system to confirm that we had set the date for the 11th of July.  All information regarding install was dated for July 11, 2012.  At this point, Mr. ***** proceeded to say that our company lied to him, and that he wanted to have the window dropped off at his property and he would have someone else install.  We informed him that we only sell installed products, and we were adhering to the contract that he had signed with us.  We apologized for any confusion, but we would be sticking to the original install date that he had agreed to, which was July 11th. At that point in the conversation Mr. ***** ended the call. 

We feel it unnecessary to refund any amount to this customer, since he had agreed on the initial install date. Everything from the date of the order up to the point is exactly as our salesman had
explained to Mr. *****.   No compensation will be issued, and the install date for Mr. ***** is still set for July 11, 2012.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1