BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Pace Window & Door Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (585) 924-8350 View Additional Phone Numbers 7224 State Route 96, Victor, NY 14564 http://www.pacewindows.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company manufactures and installs windows. They also sell and install entrance, patio, and storm doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pace Window & Door Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pace Window & Door Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pace Window & Door Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 01, 1985 Business started: 09/01/1985 in NY Business started locally: 09/01/1985 Business incorporated: 07/19/1985 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Jeff Bleecker, Complaint Handler Mr. Michael Garver, Finance Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Abramson, President
Customer Contact: Jeff Bleecker, Complaint Handler
Business Category

WINDOWS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS - REPAIR WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE WINDOWS - VINYL DOORS - FRENCH DOORS - REPAIR SIDING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE DOORS PATIO DOORS DOORS - INSTALLATION STORM WINDOWS & DOORS

Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts) Window Condensation

Additional Locations

  • 246 West Ridge Rd

    Rochester, NY 14615

  • 7224 State Route 96

    Victor, NY 14564

  • 7224 Victor-Pittsford Rd.

    Victor, NY 14564

  • 911 Old Liverpool Rd, Suite 7

    Liverpool, NY 13088

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 333-0972(Phone)
  • (585) 924-8347 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At a cost of $2,000, I purchased a door and the installation of that door from Pace Window & Door Corporation, based out of Victor, NY. About a week after installation, the deadbolt would not lock and became a serious security issue for me. After repeated attempts to contact the Pace service department, I managed to get an appointment, but had to wait for three weeks for the repair team. On the day of the scheduled appointment, I learned from the Pace service department rep that the manager sent the repair team to another job, three hours away, and would not be able to keep the appointment to fix my door. The best that she could do was to reschedule the appointment for the end of the following week. There was no regard for the loss of my time and the inconvenience of having to wait yet another week, especially when the mistake was made by Pace. I had to ask for an earlier date and the best she could do was schedule me for a half hour on Monday. This type of service shows a clear disregard for the needs of the customer and is not an acceptable business practice.

Desired Settlement: Faster turn-around time in making repairs on product and correcting for any workmanship errors and honoring those appointments.

Consumer Response: Consumer left a message for the BBB on 6/24 that the complaint is resolved. The company came within 24 hours of receiving the complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/16/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Pace Window and Door in Liverpool, NY install a large garden window in January 2008. It came with a lifetime warranty of free replacement due to any defects. Part of the window failed after about a year, evidenced by leaking and cloudiness between the panes. Pace replaced the defective window in August 2012. Then in March 2013, I noticed that it leaked again. They agreed to come over and take a look on April 3, 2013. The rep said it was definitely a leak and they would replace it again. He called Pace from my house and gave them the information about the window failure and told them to expedite the order, since it was a severe leak, and to use the same measurements that were on file from the previous work. After not hearing from Pace for about a month, I called them and talked to their representative, **** *********, and asked about the progress on my window order. He admitted that the window had not been ordered at that time. They had a whole month to order the window but did not do so. When I asked him why not, he replied he has been very busy and is working 60 to 70 hours a week, implying he didn't have time to order the window. So, after expressing my displeasure, in a respectful manner, concerning their customer service, he said he would take care of it and order the window right away. He said the soonest they could install it would be May 28, 2013, which was about 3 weeks away. When May 28th arrived, I received a call on my voice mail that they didn't have the window in yet and that I should call **** to arrange another date. I promptly called him and got his voice mail on May 28th and left a message to call me. It is now Thursday May 30th and he has not returned my call. I have called Pace numerous times today and always get his voice mail. I have also previously called **** and left voice mails which were not answered. Meanwhile, I've been cleaning up the leaking water for 2 months and it's beginning to rot the wood at the base of the window. Update: I just talked to **** and he said it would be installed on June 13, 2013. I still want to bring this to the attention of the BBB due to the poor service I've received.

Desired Settlement: I want the window replaced within the next 2 weeks, under warranty as per the contract I signed. I might also need the wood directly under the window replaced since the leaking window is rotting it.

Business Response: Business sent email to BBB that the consumer has been called and a plan has been put in place to explore the concerns. Business will have a more formal response next week.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The business did call but stated that there is no problem with the window, that it is condensation. It is not condensation, it is leaking. They called the manufacturer who say they need more evidence that it’s a leak. There is no plan that has been put in place and the concerns have not been addressed. This will be resolved if and when the window is either replaced or reinstalled.

 

 

Business Response:

I have been in contact with ***** ****** on a regular basis since his first complaint was issued to Pace. I have had at least six conversations with *****

Just for the record: 

 

Original install date was 2008

1/2009 complained about excessive condensation and was told the house has a very high humidity problem plus he has a wood burning stove.

2011 complained again about excessive condensation and was told again that the humidity was high in the house.

2012 customer said there was a seal failure in the glass. With out asking any questions we just did the new glass at no charge. Our technician did not believe it was it was a seal failure he believed it was condensation on the glass. 

His complaint years later is that the joint is leaking in the garden window  and water is coming in .

 

We have documentation that we have been at his house 6 times before the 7th time  where we did a water test .

On June 17th we went to his  home  where he set the time at the end of the day to meet his schedule and he was not there  for the meeting . His wife was home. We did a water test at  the house  and his wife witnessed no leaks with our technician. I called him that evening and we talked and he still believes it is leaking at the corner where the vinyl comes together ( we all have said if it is leaking we will fix this of course if we find the leak?). During our conversation I said we would order new glazing snaps that hold the glass in place. I said we would take the existing pieces off the window and then do another water test and see if we can find the leak. WE WANT TO HELP THIS PERSON IF WE CAN? So he said that would work and I said you have to be home this time so we  would  work together to solve this problem. We ordered and received the snap pieces which are in ***** office . Since he has written you we have ceased all contact until we know what direction to take?

I have personally tried to work with him and he agreed with the direction we were taking before you received the communication from him. 

We have to tell Mr.. ****** if someone other then Pace  tampers  with this window the warranty will be void. If there is a problem we want to fix it !    

Mr.. ****** can call me at anytime to start the process we agreed on and we would schedule the review and test the window again  with him being home at the time of the test .  Please have him call my cell (which he has the number ) . 

Thanks,

******

PS this should not be a legitimate complaint considering how realistic the complaint is and how Pace responded over the years  even  before 2013. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/22/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1