BBB Accredited Business since

Rochester Colonial Manufacturing Corp.

Additional Locations

Phone: (585) 254-8191 Fax: (585) 254-5313 View Additional Phone Numbers 1794 Lyell Ave, Rochester, NY 14606

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rochester Colonial Manufacturing Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rochester Colonial Manufacturing Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rochester Colonial Manufacturing Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1961 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated 01/26/1960 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Mark S. Gionta, President Mr. Anthony Monaco, CEO Mr. Tim Forster, Director, Sales & Marketing Mr. Michael Gionta, Sales Manager Mr. Steve Trotta, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark S. Gionta, President
Principal: Mr. Anthony Monaco, CEO
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Rochester Colonial Mfg Corp
Industry Tips
Home Improvement Contracts -- NYS Law Home Improvements Home Improvements -- FHA Loan Advertisements Window Condensation

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 1995, I purchased 3 double hung windows from Rochester Colonial. The salesman emphasized the "lifetime warranty" and sold me on the product. A technician from the company came to my house to measure the rough openings to ensure a correct fit. I picked the windows up in September 1995 and installed them myself. In January 2014 during a very cold evening, below zero, my wife heard a very loud "crack". We investigated and discovered one of the windows had cracked from one edge to the other. It is a double pane window so there was no direct exposure to the outside. We are planning to sell the house and wish to repair the window. October 13, 2014 I called Rochester Colonial and spoke to a woman and told her what happened and would like to have the glass replaced. She was very courteous and found my information from the purchase and said the window was covered under warranty but that there would be a charge for labor for someone to come to the house. I explained that I would remove the upper window myself and bring it in. She asked when I would be coming in and I told her Thursday morning Oct 16. She said that would be fine and there would be no charge and it would take 6-8 weeks for the replacement glass to come in. Thursday Oct. 16 I brought the window to the Lyell Ave. location where it was measured for the replacement glass. The counter person came back and said it would be 2-3 weeks and would cost $166. I told him the window has a lifetime warranty and showed him my paperwork. He smiled and said glass breakage is not covered, just the welds on the vinyl. I pointed out in the paperwork where it said the windows had a "lifetime warranty" and said nothing about "only covering the welds". He then said "In New York State, 'lifetime' means 7 and 1/2 years, this window was more than 10 years old." He went back to talk to someone while I called my wife. He said they would give me a break and only charge $140 and that was the best they could do. He offered to show me the terms of their warranty, I asked if it was the same as in 1995 when I purchased the windows and he did not know. I said my paperwork says "lifetime warranty", nothing less. At that time my wife called me back and we agreed that we would file a complaint with the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Honor their warranty as it was sold to me at the time of my purchase, not how it is sold today. I would like the cracked glass in the window replaced free of charge.

Business Response: We are in receipt of the above-referenced complaint (copy attached). The customer in question purchased the window in question nineteen years ago and performed his own installation. Although the window did come with a lifetime warranty, the coverage for glass breakage was twelve months (Enclosed is the warranty in effect at the time of the purchase). In any event, our customer service department had offered to repair the glass for free if the customer brought the sash into our showroom. Although the staff member in the showroom was correct that the glass breakage was no longer covered under the warranty, he was not aware of the offer that had been made to the customer. We will honor the offer to replace the glass at no charge. Due to the age of the window, we may not have that glass size in stock. To avoid any additional inconvenience I suggest that we contact the customer and have someone from our staff stop by his house and measure the glass. Once the glass is here he can then bring the sash into our showroom and we will make the repair. Please let me know if this is acceptable to the customer. You can reach me at my direct line at ###-###-#### or via email at *****@*****************.com.


******* ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I wish for the complaint to be left open until the window is actually repaired, which could take 6 - 8 weeks. Thank you.


****** ******

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 5, 2013, our front window "popped" and broke on its own. We contacted Rochester Colonial that day and were told that the warranty on the window had expired (ten year warranty, the window was installed during our house build in 2002), but they would be able to order a new pane of glass and have it ready for installation within three to six weeks. The window was not received by the manufacturer until December 13, 2013. An appointment for installation was made for December 16, 2013. We were contacted on the 16th to notify us that the glass was dropped while being loaded into the truck. The representative said that it would be another three to six weeks for a new piece of glass. We appealed to them for an expedited shipment. Rochester Colonial was able to obtain a new piece to be delivered on December 23, 2013. On that date, the glass arrived at our house as planned; however, it was incorrectly measured and had to be reordered once again, taking between three to six weeks to be received. The service manager noted that the product cost would be refunded and the accounts payable manager would cut a check and send it to us when she returned from vacation. In the interim, another window experienced the same issue. We contacted our building to see if they could assist in working with Rochester Colonial in correcting this new window, expediting the original window, and to assist in obtaining the refund check (which, as of January 20, 2014 had still not been received). The builder provided me with a different contact at Rochester Colonial. I talked with the other contact and was told that they would be in touch soon to schedule the installation of the first window; at that point the technician replacing the window would review the problem with the second window. The company contacted me within two hours to schedule a next day appointment to install the first window. This left us perplexed as to how it was received so quickly - or was the window pane there all along, but we weren't notified? The technician arrived on time and installed the original window pane. He reviewed the matter with the second window, went to his truck to contact the office, and returned notifying me that they would order a new window at no charge and that the original window was "taken care of". I noted that we had not been reimbursed for the first window as of the 27th of January and we resolved that I must contact the office to inquiry on this. On January 27, 2014, I contacted the office and was told that the full refund was not promised, and we would only see reimbursement for the labor cost of the first window. The total cost of the window was $260. Labor cost totaled $75. Three months into this ordeal, we have still not have been provided restitution. We suggested that Rochester Colonial contract with a different vendor for the faulty glass, as other neighbors within our housing development have had the same problems with the product. The response I received was impenitent, which when working with the service manager is the usual feeling we had. I do want to note that the technicians were very polite, though.

Desired Settlement: The amount of the window pane should be refunded. We are willing to pay the labor cost, as we had no issue with the labor. We do have issue with the product, though, so logically this should be the refund we receive.

Business Response:

I have reviewed Ms. ******’s complaint. We value her business and will resolve this to her satisfaction, but do want to point out the following:

 1. The contract to install the new insulated glass unit was for $237.00, not $260.00.

 2. Our notes indicate that the service manager said he would inquire about waiving the labor charge ($81), not the product charge ($156).

 3. Credits and/or refunds are typically processed when the job is completed and turned over to Accounting. Since the job remains “open” that was not done but we can certainly expedite the refund.

 4. As a result of the issues we had with the first insulated glass unit we agreed to furnish and install the second insulated glass unit, plus two new balances, completely free. The cost for this would be $267.00, which is more than the entire cost of the product and labor for the first insulated glass unit.

 In essence, because of the inconvenience with the first insulated glass unit we agreed to perform $504.00 worth of work for $156.00. We felt this was a fair and reasonable resolution. However, in the interest of demonstrating our good faith we will refund the $156.00 product cost rather than the $81 labor charge.


****** ******