BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Apex Window Films

Additional Locations

Phone: (585) 424-3456 View Additional Phone Numbers 3 Rockwood Place , Rochester, NY 14610 http://www.apexwindowfilms.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business installs window film for residential and commercial clients.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apex Window Films meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apex Window Films include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apex Window Films
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 06, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2008 in NY Business started locally: 03/01/2008 Business under new ownership as of: 06/10/2010 Business incorporated: 05/19/2010 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Guider, Managing Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Guider, Managing Partner
Business Category

RESIDENTIAL WINDOW TINTING WINDOW TINTING & COATING - COMMERICAL GLASS COATING & TINTING

Alternate Business Names
BFGG Investor Group, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 3 Rockwood Place

    Rochester, NY 14610

  • 900 Old Liverpool Rd.

    Liverpool, NY 13088

  • PO Box 20116

    Rochester, NY 14602

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (315) 423-3456(Phone)
  • (607) 277-3456(Phone)
  • (716) 853-3456(Phone)
  • (866) 750-2739(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 25, 2011 we had 3M window film applied by Apex Window Film Co. in Rochester to 11 windows in our home . The film caused 1 window to crack early last Fall. In October, Apex arranged to replace the glass thru a Syracuse glass company. Since then we have made several calls to Apex to replace the film on the new window. Calls were not always returned, and when they were, firm appointments to replace the film were not made --- just the promise of action. Two calls have been made to the 3 M company warranty administrator in St. Paul, Minnesota. Today, 3M tells us they will again call Apex Window Film Company. **** ****** with Apex promptly called us with another excuse.

Desired Settlement: We want the Film replaced on the window as promised by the warranty.

Business Response: January 21, 2012 

l am in receipt of your letter dated January 14, 2012 regarding complaint  *******. All items have 
been fully and completely addressed to the customer’s concern. In fact, the customer recently sent a 
letter complementing our associate for the quality of work and the professionalism he displayed during 
the course of installation. 

The delay in addressing the customer's warranty was due to a delay in the sub-contractor performing 
the work he was charged to do in accordance with our warranty. As a result, this sub­contractor has 
been removed from our list of recommended contractors due to non­performance. 

Please advise if you have any other questions in regards to this item. 

Cordially, 
*********** ** ****** 
Managing Partner

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

January 24, 2012 

We have a copy of Apex Window Films reply to you. 
 To clarify: We reported a cracked window to Apex in September, 2011. Apex completed warranty repairs on January 17, 2012, four months later -- and 3 days after you notified them of our complaint. Repeated calls were made over the months, to their sub-contractor, to Apex, and, finally, to 3M in Minnesota. There were 2 delays. The longest delay was getting Apex to restore the film after the subcontractor replaced the very large living room window. The subcontractor was hired by Apex, but told we would pay him. After Apex agreed to pay 
hirn, he installed the glass. We had to make several Calls to get that straightened out.  warranty expense was Apex's responsibility, not ours. And they chose the subcontractor. They knew about the delay. 

*** ****** infers that my note compliments his company. It does not. It was an apology to the installer because I took out 4 months of frustration with Apex management on him. Although we prefer 3M material, we have cancelled having 6 more windows covered by Apex. We will use another company. 

Hopefully, you will incorporate our difficult experience in the Apex file. 

cc: Customer Service 
 3M Corporation 
 Minneapolis, Mn

Business Response: We appreciate the additional feedback from our customer, and we have taken corrective actions based upon this unfortunate event.  Again, we sincerely apologize.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1