BBB Accredited Business since

Window Flair, Inc.

Phone: (585) 225-7710 Fax: (585) 227-2205 View Additional Phone Numbers 29 Pointe Vintage Dr., Rochester, NY 14626 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.windowflair.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window Flair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window Flair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window Flair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1973 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 09/12/1989 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Constance Chiacchierini, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Constance Chiacchierini, President
Business Category

WINDOW SHADES WINDOW COVERINGS FLOORS - LAMINATE CARPET INSTALLATION HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS CARPET & RUG DEALERS - NEW

Alternate Business Names
Blinds Express Blindsexpress.com
Industry Tips
Buying Carpet Home Improvements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 29 Pointe Vintage Dr.

    Rochester, NY 14626

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order with the business with the expectation shipping was free of charge. Instead I was charged for shipping when my order was processed. I had this expectation because the home page of the business' website clearly states "Free Shipping" in large font. I also read the business' "Frequently Asked Questions" that clearly states, "Our prices include all freight charges." I contacted Customer Service and was informed that "about 2-3 weeks ago" the manufacturer changed its policy and was charging sales tax on internet orders to California. Supposedly, that was what the "shipping charge" was for. This "new" policy is not stated anywhere on the business' website. It is also misleading on the customer bill because the "shipping charge" is actually a "sales tax".

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the "shipping costs".

Business Response: Thank you for your feedback.  Our Customer Service associate explained to the individual that called today that due to brand new tax/handling fee policies, one of our vendors has required us to collect and pay California sales tax/handling fees on their products shipping to California. There is general explanation of this in our "Frequently asked questions" page at this link and available when on our website. http://www.blindsexpress.com/static/faq.jsp#4. It is also in the ordering disclaimer that pops up for customers to read and approve prior to ordering. Both explain the need to charge NY Sales tax (where our business resides) and now partial taxes/handling tax for **** and ****** brand products to California. Being a tax policy imposed on those vendors, we have to abide.  We do acknowledge in those sections that the charge comes up under "handling charges". This is due to the fact that our site is set up for New York State sales tax and since California has labeled this a handling tax, we thought it better to appear in the handling section of charges.

Once a consumer processes an order, within seconds, they receive a full receipt for them to look over in case there are any questions on prices or charges. We did not receive a call or email  from the account holder ******* ********* after she placed her order. They are due to arrive to her chosen shipping address on Thursday of this week.

Since this is is a tax, not a profit we are not able to refund this amount. It has been made as ordered and has shipped within the defined time frame on our site. We do appreciate the writer's feedback and will most definitely discuss the possibility of confusion or the possibility of making  the message more clear for consumers. Once the order is received by the consumer, if anything is damaged or in error from what she originally ordered, we will be happy to take care of it if the need arises. As always, we try to appease any and all sales issues, customer service issues as fairly as possible. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The references the business made in its response to its website are new (as of yesterday) and after I made my order and submitted my complaint. The business appears to have updated its website in order to correct its error and misinformation. But, this was information was not available to me at the time of my purchase. The business should still refund me the amount of on my bill identified as "shipping" because when I placed my order, the business clearly stated on its website that shipping was free of charge and there was no sales tax. An ex post correction does not correct the misinformation they provided me at the time of my order. 

Regards,

****** *********

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2012 we purchased and had installed Quick Step Laminate flooring for our kitchen from Window Flair, Inc. We were told this flooring was very durable and a good choice for our kitchen. Within two months areas of the floor (around seams) started rising. Window Flair was called. After a few weeks the installer came to look at it and determined it was not his fault. After another month, Window Flair sent a third party inspector to review the floor. The inspector’s report arrived a couple weeks later stating that the “swollen seams” was a result of excessive liquid from the top. The report also stated that it was a locally caused maintenance related issue. We have never mopped or used water or cleaning fluid of any kind on the floor. At most a slightly damp cloth was used on an isolated spot – usually near the stove (which had none of these issues). We have no clue what excessive liquid could possibly have been on these spots. Right now we have a floor that we hoped to keep for at least ten years which will probably be replaced within a couple. It has become a stressful situation at home worrying when the slightest bit of liquid (a dropped ice cube or spilled drink) reaches the kitchen floor. I am sure most families get some liquid on their kitchen floor. We would never have put this floor in if we knew there would be these types of issues . Window Flair would like to charge us to repair the affected areas however we do not want to add more to the cost of a floor we are so very unhappy with. Window Flair obviously does not guarantee product or customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: What we would really like is to never have had this floor put in or a complete refund of our costs. We would settle for repair of the affected areas to be paid for by Window Flair.

Business Response: Thank you for making us aware of this customer complaint. Our records reflect that the customer spoke to one of our owners in late September explaining that they saw this product at another company's showroom and wanted to see if we could beat the price. They wanted to do business with Window Flair. Our salesperson and customer agreed on a price and the product was ordered on 10/8.  In addition to the care and product information we provided, the customer also had researched this type of flooring prior to purchase.  Within a day of purchase, our office sends flooring care information and warranty information to the customer (this floor care info is attached "Care Instructions Quick Step"). We did not receive any contact from the consumer regarding concerns or questions on the warranty/care information. The flooring was installed by our hard surface installer on 10/29/12 and 10/30/12. As per the inspector's notes the floor was installed properly with an expansion gap.

On 2/11/13, the consumer called stating a section of floor in her dining area was "warped". We sent the original installer to inspect it. He determined that the damage was from liquid that had absorbed into a few sections of the dining area floor. He also asked if perhaps the dog may have had accidents since there were random areas of concern. The consumer rebutted that the floor still should not have warped. Since the consumer insisted that the floor was defective, we proceeded with the appropriate claim process. An independent inspector went out to inspect the floor. His report is attached as "**** 2". Its reflects our installer's observation that the "swollen seams were consistent with intrusion of excessive liquid from the top." A letter (attached)was sent to us and the consumer denying the claim.

To repair the damage of the inspected section only(noted by inspector's report), we suggested the installer could replace the affected boards. As an accommodation for the consumer's unhappiness, we offered to supply the materials for the repair. The consumer would be responsible for labor costs only. This is the only accommodation we are able to offer. If the consumer would like to accept this accommodation, we will need them to contact us within the next 10 days so we can schedule with our installer.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

********* *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We will not be accepting the “accommodation” that Window Flair is offering.  At this point we have no interest in putting additional dollars into a floor we will be replacing within the next few years.  Our kitchen floor has become the family joke – everyone jumping for a towel if the minutest bit of liquid touches the floor. 

It was actually **** from Window Flair who suggested the laminate flooring for our kitchen back in August 2012 when Window Flair was installing window treatments in that room.  He wrote in the initial estimate for laminate flooring directly on the Window Flair Contract Invoice we were given for the window treatments.  He stated that it would be a very durable floor and would be a great choice for us.  Before proceeding with the floor we did check another company for price but not really “research” as we were already told it would be a good floor for us.  Guess that was our mistake consulting with a window treatment company for flooring.    

Extensive work was completed in our kitchen and all paperwork regarding purchases/work has been kept.  We do not recall ever receiving flooring care/warranty information from Window Flair nor do we have any in our files.

Speaking with **** after our complaints we were told that Window Flair purchased the tool needed to repair our floor “at their expense”.  Since we have the flooring to fix the areas and they want us to pay for the repair, their “accommodation” is purchasing a tool that a professional flooring company really should already own.

Since Window Flair has stated this is the only “accommodation” they are able to offer, we plan on pursuing this matter through another avenue.

Regards,

**** * ***** ****

9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The way the ordering section is set up for Window Flair, Inc. website storefront named www.blindsexpress.com is not consumer friendly and is misleading if not confusing at best.At present their ordering system can bypass all the "warnings" about measuring the product for proper fit into a window casement. Apparently, there is an industry "accepted" practice which is not evident to the consumer. If the consumer has a preconceived notion of exactly how they want the product to be measured, as I did, there is nothing "self-evident" that whatever measurements the consumer has provided, the manufacturer will automatically deduct .5" from that measurement. This is NOT easy to understand although it is hidden within a very lengthy disclaimer along with other standard disclaimers. As it is the most important aspect of purchasing the product it should have been made clear at SEVERAL areas of the ordering process it is not.The re-seller assumes that the consumer will place the mouse over "?" mark areas in order to fulfill questions. I had no questions, I know exactly what I wanted. What should be in the area of the form is if you choose the [32"] a box should pop-up as [Cut Size: 31.5"] it does not presently do this. This is an "assumed" knowledge that is prevalent albeit visually "quiet" on the graphic navigation of the website and in the words only disclaimers as well.the main problem is the consumer is able to by-pass ALL Warnings about the .5" right upto and including Place Order. No re-seller should assume a buy-in from the consumer, that because they have placed an order also assumes industry knowledge.

Desired Settlement: I have contacted the re-seller who stands behind their disclaimer and would only offer a re-make at their reseller cost. This is not acceptable. I think there needs to be some kind of regulation on such companies to better protect customers if in fact they want return customers. I feel my complaint is legitimate in that if it weren't for such "hidden" aspects of a major change, which will be made to the final product, I would have been a more satisfied customer.

Business Response: This customer placed his order online via our online website www.blindsexpress.com. On every product advertised, we show tabs for a product summary, specifications, Colors available, and Measure and Install information. The tabs and information are on the product page itself where the consumer builds their blind. The Measure and Install provides all the steps that are necessary to measure properly and what measurements you need to place an order. In addition, there are "help" question marks next to every option explaining the options or cautions for the consumer to consider prior to ordering.

Our goal for our online company is to provide as much information to educate the consumer prior to that consumer taking the step to order. This includes information (including the inside mount deduction process) in our online ordering disclaimer that a consumer must "check" and acknowledge before proceeding to the final order step. On every page of our site is our 1-800 phone number for consumers to call and reach Customer Service in case they have any questions about our ordering process, options,  or any other questions.

Both of our Customer Service staff who spoke to this consumer deduced that he may have provided measurements of an existing shade rather than window measurements as requested in the several sections of the website. Because he ordered the blinds as Inside Mount (this means you provide exact inside dimensions of the inside of your window and the factories take the proper allowance), the blind came with the correct deduction. The customer did not want any deduction. This option is also available and described online as Outside Mount However,he did not choose it.

We did send the consumer 2 emails. The 1st showed him the many sections online where we offer the knowledge so that he is aware for his next purchase. We also sent him a courtesy discount called an "oops" discount to remake the shades as Outside Mount (this is the other mount option that means no deductions are taken-also described next to option online). The cost for the new order would have been $74.00 total for all three shades.

I am very sorry for the consumer's frustration and tried to appease the situation by offering the new order at cost. We are certainly not in the business of frustrating or misleading consumers. I am very sorry the consumer feels unhappy with his transaction. We feel we did our best to try and appease.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

********* *************