BBB Accredited Business since

Window Flair, Inc.

Phone: (585) 225-7710 Fax: (585) 227-2205 View Additional Phone Numbers 29 Pointe Vintage Dr., Rochester, NY 14626 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.windowflair.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Window Flair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Window Flair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Window Flair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1973 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1973 Business incorporated 09/12/1989 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Constance Chiacchierini, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Constance Chiacchierini, President
Business Category

WINDOW SHADES WINDOW COVERINGS FLOORS - LAMINATE CARPET INSTALLATION HARDWOOD FLOOR CONTRACTORS CARPET & RUG DEALERS - NEW

Alternate Business Names
Blinds Express Blindsexpress.com
Industry Tips
Buying Carpet Home Improvements Three Day Cooling-Off Rule (cancel contracts)

Additional Locations

  • 29 Pointe Vintage Dr.

    Rochester, NY 14626

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Vendor shipped incorrectly sized blinds and valances (not valance returns). The blind company has been provided opportunities to replace it with the correct item or provide a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer a refund at this point since the blind company does not have a proper resolution to the issue.

Business Response: 1. Customer ordered custom blinds at his own accord through our online websitewww.BiindsExpress.com. 7/8/15 (Order attached -A). As stated directly in the product information and on his order, deductions are taken on the products by the factory from the size provided. It is also noted that the valances (the parts that come to cover the hardware at the top of the blind) come with two sizes of returns customer that customer can cut to fit. (See A)2. Before a consumer can proceed with a secure online order they have entered, they MUST click on the ordering disclaimer page before the cart will process the order on their credit card. (See B for an example of this screen in the process). This consumer clicked the ordering disclaimer which tells us that he has read the disclaimer and understands that the products are made custom to what he tells us.3. The consumer did not contact us claiming the product was "not as described". He said there were issues with the fit and the valances. Initially he was not sure if it was an error on his end(measuring) or on the manufacturing end. As noted in the disclaimer, we require picture proof(or we can pick up items for inspection) before remaking product. We asked for pictures showing the issues and in-corrections. The consumer's pictures did not show the issues he was explaining. He decided that his issue was with the valances and asked us to remake them all a different way than was ordered. At one point we offered remaking the valances and any blind she needed as long as he could show us and provide a list of what actually came incorrect (each size of the headrails). This is simply for us to be sure the factory made the errors .. We had sent him a very descript email 7/21/15 (Attachment E) requesting what actually came wrong to tryand start a remake. We asked for the head rails sizes so we knew what the errors were that came and how many. He emailed back as shown not providing that, but simply stating he would"grind" the head rails himself and was more concerned about the valance parts which are not something that comes attached to the blinds themselves. Since f.e would not provide what the sizes actually came for us to determine error, we assumed that perhaps the consumer made errors. He did admit that this was for a "job" of his. So we are not clear if this is for his home, a project he is responsible for, or if he is a re-seller.4. Grinding the shades would not have been necessary if he could have sent over the info needed to know if they were truly made wrong. All communications via email are attached regarding the issues he was describing. In order to help him or remake something, we need specific info to give to the factory.5. As of today, we have not heard back via phone or email with the information to help him further. We did get a charge back for his order amount. His bank sided with us and reversed the chargeback showing they felt we did everything we could to rectify the situation.6. The products are made to spec according to how the consumer ordered. We did not issue an RGA to the consumer as this is still in the process of collecting proof from him of what was sent incorrect. His complaint about the valances having to be cut refers to the order note on the order info in plain print" Norman will send two valance returns% and 2 inch-customer can cut to size" right on his order and in black and white in the product info.We would have been happy to assist him in remaking the products that came wrong if he had simply provided us the picture proof and the measurements that actually came. Thus far the photos and info he sent are not clear or showing what the issue is. He did not reply to the final email that would have been able to tell us what came wrong and what needed to be remade. We have to be able to have the opportunity to collect the information and remake the product per our disclaimer. Since it is a large order with many similar sizes, we need to be clear on what actually came correct and what did not come correct so we do not remake the wrong products for him. We do not feel his complaint regarding our company is fair. We were willing to help the consumer if he had replied back as to what size head rails came. We have offered him fair suggestions to help rectify the situation and would remake what was needed if he was able to provide proof of the factory errors. However, if the consumer made measuring errors, no-charge remakes would not help his situation. If he had made errors in g and notified us of this, we also offer "oops" discounts on re-orders. Unfortunately, we can not remake products at different sizes due to customer errors. Since we have not had any further replies from consumer, we feel this may be the case. Thank you for your time.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
Regards, **** ****

Rebuttals from Consumer on 9/14/2015:
1. The Vendor states on their website "NEVER Take your own deductions. The factory will take necessary deductions and allowances." (exhibit A). Therefore, actual dimensions were provided. The blind valence claim.is repeated in the Vendor's claim #3 and is addressed in detail in #3 below. The Vendor stated in an email on 7/20/2015 that "They were all ordered as IB inside mount and the manufacturer will deduct 3/8 off the measure you sent us." (exhibit B)
The pictures emailed to the Vendor on 7/21/2015 (exhibit C) show the received blinds as 58% for blinds with dimensions inputted on the order of 58%" (exhibit D). This is why the blinds cannot fit into the window frames and cannot be installed. My question to the Vendor is if the order was made correctly then why are there any blinds received at 58%'' because that is not equal to the 3/8" deduction of any blind dimensions listed on the order? The largest entered dimension on the entire order was 58 7/8".2. I do understand that the blinds are made custom, so why were custom blinds not received if the correct dimensions were inputted. I am not asking for a change of my inputted dimensions. I am asking for the correct deductions of 3/8" to be removed from the blinds as stated would be removed. Rebuttal #1 and the pictures in exhibit C show that incorrect deductions were taken. I received blinds and valences (not to be confused with valence returns) that needed to be cut by the consumer as the proper deductions were not taken. My question to the Vendor is why do custom blinds require the blind and valence to be cut if they are
advertised as custom?
3. I never questioned the issue as a measurement issue on my end, as I have installed blinds from reputable online vendors on 9 other rental properties without issue. My exact words were "The blinds were cut too large" and "The valence is too wide for the rail" (exhibit E). This is clear on what the issues are and that the items were not as described. Because the text of "not as described" was not paraphrased does not mean that the problems were not clearly described as to what made the items  different than what was advertised. My question to the Vendor is where did I question my measurements in any correspondences? The Vendor was provided picture proof of the issues on 7/20/2015 (exhibit E), 7/21/2015 {exhibit C) and 7/23/2015 (exhibit H). I don't understand how much more clearly I can display the issues as the pictures were provided to the Vendor in a large format with a measuring tape included.
The reason that I did not have the valences remade is because the Vendor is stating that the valences (not to be confused with valence returns) "should have come 1/4" larger than the ordered width" (exhibit F), which is still too large for any inside mounted blind. My question to the Vendor is how do you attach a blind valence that is W' larger than the window frame opening onto an inside mounted blind on a 5 3/8" deep window frame (exhibit J- actual
picture from the subject Property)? Please provide a sample picture with a tape measure next to each item if the Vendor claims that this is possible while having the blind sit flush against the window. Otherwise, the blinds would have a box effect when looking at the blind from the outside in and would allow huge light gaps as the blinds cannot sit flush against the windows. My question to the Vendor is, if the order was made correctly then why are the valences showing nearly 62"(exhibit G) when there is not a single blind dimension entered into the order (exhibit D) within %" of 62"? The largest entered dimension on the entire order was 58 7/8".
4. Again, the Vendor sending oversized valences (not valence returns) a second time would not rectify the issue. The website does state that valence returns (not to be confused with the valence itself) would have to be cut, which is not the issue at hand. The issue is that the blinds and valences (not valence returns) need to be cut. Neither of which are listed as being a requirement. These are supposed to be custom blinds and not blinds that you receive a generic size for and have to do all of the cutting. I could have gone to **** ***** if I wanted generic blinds and valences to cut myself. 5. The Vendor was clearly provided pictures and statements of the issues, but is choosing to deny their mistakes rather than fixing the issue. I am open to having a refund or the entire order made correctly and not with the valences (not valence returns) still being oversized. I am no longer open to trying to repair any part of the Vendor's mistake with additional labor on my end as the company needs to take responsibility for their mistakes and not rely on the consumer to carry the burden. Not once did I state that I was unhappy with the quality of the blinds. I am unhappy with the incorrectly cut blinds and valences. My question to the Vendor is where did I state that I was unhappy with the quality of the blinds or attempt to obtain a different quality blind? Summary
I believe my rebuttals above clearly demonstrate that the order was produced incorrectly and that the Vendor does not have a proper method to rectify the situation as they still insist on sending oversized items that cannot be properly mounted. My question to the *** representative is have you ever seen an inside mounted blind with available space inside the window frame to mount the valence that chose to mount the valence on the outside
of the window frame as sampled in exhibit J? The Vendor is asking that I mount my blinds and valences in this manner with both oversized blinds and valences. The clips that attach the valence (exhibit K) to the inside mounted blind rail have no way of making contact with the blind rail even if the Vendor cut the valences W' larger as they suggested. I believe the Vendor is just trying to develop excuses rather than admit fault. I have never seen blinds shipped in this manner in my last 9 blind installs. I believe the only course of action is to go ahead and process the claim against the Vendor as: a) The Vendor has no plan to make the blinds or valences properly even after showing and clearly
describing the issues to them b) The Vendor is not willing to refund me on their own accord  Sincerely, **** ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The business has been notified that the entire order is incorrect.  If  they choose to remake the entire order, then that is fine or they can  provide a $600 refund so that I can hire someone to modify the incorrect blinds to the correct size. Regards, **** ****




Business Response: I would like a final note added to the resolution of this complaint. Rather than allowing us to resolve the issue through your organization, the consumer initiated charging back his entire order amount and shipping cost through his credit card company. Though the charge-back was reversed in our favor, the consumer has since initiated a 2nd charge-back again for the full amount instead of partial as he noted here in the agreement. The consumer has been credited in full for all costs related to this transaction and we will not be pursuing efforts to get the portion back that was agreed on nor the product since he is in Hawaii. The consumer has been refunded in full and gets to keep all product. Thank you.
Cheri M********
Vice President
Window Flair Inc.

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This organization is the parent company of BlindsExpress.com. We ordered a product from this organization based on measurements that we believe were accurate per special instructions and detail on the website. In the end, the product we received was not the correct size. A dispute ensued between "Carl" a customer support representative and myself to discuss this in detail. Carl told me that I was wrong, I did not read the instructions. That the product never would have worked for me anyway. That his margins were too tight (6%) to do anything about it. That he had the banks on his side (I never suggested I would reverse the charges). He was interruptive, inconsiderate and kept telling me that I was wrong and did not read. He further indicated that if "I had been smart, I would have called instead of guessing by ordering on the website." I needed to continue to remind Carl on several occasions that I was a customer and that he at least needed to allow me to finish my sentence. Carl told me that he was the supervisor, there wasn't anyone else to handle the issue, and he would be the one deciding on what would happen going forward, no one else. Given the scenario that played out, I have taken screenshots of the website to confirm that I am in the right, the instructions are NOT clear that the product I ordered would come to me different than expected. I will not order from this organization again and I believe the parent company needs to be aware of the customer service challenge they face.

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement of this product at the correct size or a full refund.

Business Response: Customer clearly did not read the major caution we have noted in "how to measure" and specifically on the actual page of the product they ordered. See attachment. With this product if you do not order as cautioned on our "how to measure" and on the specific page, the fabric will be delivered 1 7/8 narrow. This customer did not add the appropriate width additions and therefore did not get the fabric width they desired. We tried to explain this to the customer to no avail and we offered to split a "mistake" policy of $120 as a customer concession. The customer accepted that offer. Customer paid $60 and we absorbed $60. see attached verification of cautions. Enclosed find caution attachments and confirmed acceptance of our offer. The customer obviously did not read the cautions nor did he call us for help. We gave the offer as a customer concession and absorbed 1/2 the cost of replacement. There will not be any refund given for customer error. Carl J. C************ COO Windowflair inc. Owner www.blindsexpress.com

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an online order with the business with the expectation shipping was free of charge. Instead I was charged for shipping when my order was processed. I had this expectation because the home page of the business' website clearly states "Free Shipping" in large font. I also read the business' "Frequently Asked Questions" that clearly states, "Our prices include all freight charges." I contacted Customer Service and was informed that "about 2-3 weeks ago" the manufacturer changed its policy and was charging sales tax on internet orders to California. Supposedly, that was what the "shipping charge" was for. This "new" policy is not stated anywhere on the business' website. It is also misleading on the customer bill because the "shipping charge" is actually a "sales tax".

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the "shipping costs".

Business Response: Thank you for your feedback.  Our Customer Service associate explained to the individual that called today that due to brand new tax/handling fee policies, one of our vendors has required us to collect and pay California sales tax/handling fees on their products shipping to California. There is general explanation of this in our "Frequently asked questions" page at this link and available when on our website. http://www.blindsexpress.com/static/faq.jsp#4. It is also in the ordering disclaimer that pops up for customers to read and approve prior to ordering. Both explain the need to charge NY Sales tax (where our business resides) and now partial taxes/handling tax for **** and ****** brand products to California. Being a tax policy imposed on those vendors, we have to abide.  We do acknowledge in those sections that the charge comes up under "handling charges". This is due to the fact that our site is set up for New York State sales tax and since California has labeled this a handling tax, we thought it better to appear in the handling section of charges.

Once a consumer processes an order, within seconds, they receive a full receipt for them to look over in case there are any questions on prices or charges. We did not receive a call or email  from the account holder ******* ********* after she placed her order. They are due to arrive to her chosen shipping address on Thursday of this week.

Since this is is a tax, not a profit we are not able to refund this amount. It has been made as ordered and has shipped within the defined time frame on our site. We do appreciate the writer's feedback and will most definitely discuss the possibility of confusion or the possibility of making  the message more clear for consumers. Once the order is received by the consumer, if anything is damaged or in error from what she originally ordered, we will be happy to take care of it if the need arises. As always, we try to appease any and all sales issues, customer service issues as fairly as possible. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The references the business made in its response to its website are new (as of yesterday) and after I made my order and submitted my complaint. The business appears to have updated its website in order to correct its error and misinformation. But, this was information was not available to me at the time of my purchase. The business should still refund me the amount of on my bill identified as "shipping" because when I placed my order, the business clearly stated on its website that shipping was free of charge and there was no sales tax. An ex post correction does not correct the misinformation they provided me at the time of my order. 

Regards,

****** *********

7/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2012 we purchased and had installed Quick Step Laminate flooring for our kitchen from Window Flair, Inc. We were told this flooring was very durable and a good choice for our kitchen. Within two months areas of the floor (around seams) started rising. Window Flair was called. After a few weeks the installer came to look at it and determined it was not his fault. After another month, Window Flair sent a third party inspector to review the floor. The inspector’s report arrived a couple weeks later stating that the “swollen seams” was a result of excessive liquid from the top. The report also stated that it was a locally caused maintenance related issue. We have never mopped or used water or cleaning fluid of any kind on the floor. At most a slightly damp cloth was used on an isolated spot – usually near the stove (which had none of these issues). We have no clue what excessive liquid could possibly have been on these spots. Right now we have a floor that we hoped to keep for at least ten years which will probably be replaced within a couple. It has become a stressful situation at home worrying when the slightest bit of liquid (a dropped ice cube or spilled drink) reaches the kitchen floor. I am sure most families get some liquid on their kitchen floor. We would never have put this floor in if we knew there would be these types of issues . Window Flair would like to charge us to repair the affected areas however we do not want to add more to the cost of a floor we are so very unhappy with. Window Flair obviously does not guarantee product or customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: What we would really like is to never have had this floor put in or a complete refund of our costs. We would settle for repair of the affected areas to be paid for by Window Flair.

Business Response: Thank you for making us aware of this customer complaint. Our records reflect that the customer spoke to one of our owners in late September explaining that they saw this product at another company's showroom and wanted to see if we could beat the price. They wanted to do business with Window Flair. Our salesperson and customer agreed on a price and the product was ordered on 10/8.  In addition to the care and product information we provided, the customer also had researched this type of flooring prior to purchase.  Within a day of purchase, our office sends flooring care information and warranty information to the customer (this floor care info is attached "Care Instructions Quick Step"). We did not receive any contact from the consumer regarding concerns or questions on the warranty/care information. The flooring was installed by our hard surface installer on 10/29/12 and 10/30/12. As per the inspector's notes the floor was installed properly with an expansion gap.

On 2/11/13, the consumer called stating a section of floor in her dining area was "warped". We sent the original installer to inspect it. He determined that the damage was from liquid that had absorbed into a few sections of the dining area floor. He also asked if perhaps the dog may have had accidents since there were random areas of concern. The consumer rebutted that the floor still should not have warped. Since the consumer insisted that the floor was defective, we proceeded with the appropriate claim process. An independent inspector went out to inspect the floor. His report is attached as "**** 2". Its reflects our installer's observation that the "swollen seams were consistent with intrusion of excessive liquid from the top." A letter (attached)was sent to us and the consumer denying the claim.

To repair the damage of the inspected section only(noted by inspector's report), we suggested the installer could replace the affected boards. As an accommodation for the consumer's unhappiness, we offered to supply the materials for the repair. The consumer would be responsible for labor costs only. This is the only accommodation we are able to offer. If the consumer would like to accept this accommodation, we will need them to contact us within the next 10 days so we can schedule with our installer.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

********* *************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We will not be accepting the “accommodation” that Window Flair is offering.  At this point we have no interest in putting additional dollars into a floor we will be replacing within the next few years.  Our kitchen floor has become the family joke – everyone jumping for a towel if the minutest bit of liquid touches the floor. 

It was actually **** from Window Flair who suggested the laminate flooring for our kitchen back in August 2012 when Window Flair was installing window treatments in that room.  He wrote in the initial estimate for laminate flooring directly on the Window Flair Contract Invoice we were given for the window treatments.  He stated that it would be a very durable floor and would be a great choice for us.  Before proceeding with the floor we did check another company for price but not really “research” as we were already told it would be a good floor for us.  Guess that was our mistake consulting with a window treatment company for flooring.    

Extensive work was completed in our kitchen and all paperwork regarding purchases/work has been kept.  We do not recall ever receiving flooring care/warranty information from Window Flair nor do we have any in our files.

Speaking with **** after our complaints we were told that Window Flair purchased the tool needed to repair our floor “at their expense”.  Since we have the flooring to fix the areas and they want us to pay for the repair, their “accommodation” is purchasing a tool that a professional flooring company really should already own.

Since Window Flair has stated this is the only “accommodation” they are able to offer, we plan on pursuing this matter through another avenue.

Regards,

**** * ***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Window Flair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)