BBB Accredited Business since

Victory Lifts, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 827-5036 View Additional Phone Numbers 26 Corporate Circle, East Syracuse, NY 13057 http://www.victorylifts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Accessability Equipment & Small Elevators-Sales, Service, and Installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Victory Lifts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Victory Lifts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Victory Lifts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1999 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 11/03/1999 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Metras, President/Owner
Business Category

WHEEL CHAIR LIFTS & RAMPS ELEVATORS - SALES & SERVICE LIFTS/ELEVATORS - IN HOME

Industry Tips
Home Improvements

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 2011, I signed a contract to have a chair-lift placed in my home for use by my 90-year old mother. Sometime in August the lift broke down while I was away. After contacting the owner I was told that the responsibility to fix the lift was mine. The owner of Victory Lifts contacted ******* ***** in my area and they sent someone to fix the lift at a cost of $497.00, which I paid. Shortly afterwards the lift broke again. I called Victory Lifts and again was told by the owner that he would not make any money fixing the equipment. I told him my expectation was that the rental would stand up longer than a year with normal wear and tear. The only one using the lift was my mother. I had to call the police to lift my mother to bring her up and downstairs when the lift was broken. I did call ******* again. He informed me that he neglected to look inside of the chair the first time and found that the cause of the malfunction was the mother board was duct taped up and when the tape loosened it caused a shortage. He did not take the tape out, but put a Styrofoam cup in to keep the two pieces from touching, thereby keeping it from shorting out. He called Victory Lifts and told the owner of the problem. I did the same and explained that I felt he should pay for it because the item did not come to me in proper order. He did not believe me and said he would come to see it. He also asked for a picture, which I sent. I withheld the December payment thinking he would get back to me. He never did. When I returned the lift I spoke with an agent of his over the phone who informed me that I owed a month's payment. I explained the situation and she asked me to send pictures (which I did) and told me the owner forgave the payment and my bill was satisfied. I stopped payment on the March payment after speaking with her. I recently received a bill with an extra $30 charge, so I called to find out why. I was told I owed for March, the month I returned the lift. I explained why I felt I did not owe and asked to speak with the owner. I was told he would call back. I was also threatened with an attack on my credit. The owner was available to me until the rental was made. When there was a problem he refused to speak with me or acknowledge receipt of the proof of the mistake made with the duct tape.

Desired Settlement: The initial problem happened because the machine was not serviced properly. Victory Lifts should be responsible.

Business Response: Good Morning-

Excuse the Tardiness of this response. 

Ms. ******* ***** Leased a Unit from Victory Lifts, inc. on 11/16/11.  This lease was for a minimum of Three months.  She paid for the initial install and than pays ongoing 125.00 per month for as long as she uses the Lift Owned by Victory Lifts.  When a customer leases a unit, it is a previously owned Lift.
The contract she signed (attached) details all of the maintenance and repair responsibility.

The contract signed By ******* ***** states that all regular maintenance and repairs are the Lessee's responsibility.   The chair ran with no problems for approximatly Nine Months. Ms. ***** called in a Service call on 8/4/12.  we offered to come out and fix it and gave her an estimatyed quote for the 6 hours of drive time along with a couple hours on site.   She opted to hire a company who was located closer to her to do the repair. (Hiring another company is strictly forbidden in the contract).  Again she called on 9/11/12 and reported a problem.  We did not do a repair than, i must assume she hired some one else. 

This Company she hired is no longer in business. They claimed our install was defective.  I cannot interview our original  Installer as he no longer works here.  If Ms. ***** had allowed us to do the repair we could have determined if in fact it was a defective install.  If it was a defective install we probably would have guaranteed our work. 

She paid this other company to fix it.  We offered to give her one month free rent to compromise with her.  We credited her account one month and she stopped payment on a another check. 

The unit was removed at her request in March of 2013.

We cannot be responsible for the $400 as it was not paid to us. 

She stopped payment on a rent check and we credited a second payment.  That is roughly half of her repair bill, from another unknown company.  I believe this case is settled as she violated the terms of her contract, and also received $250 plus the $30 for a bounced check fee from us.  along with Parts that the unknown company used in repairs.


Sincerely,
Victory lifts, Inc