BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

Boulevard Van City, LLC

Phone: (800) 876-2708 Fax: (716) 731-4331 View Additional Phone Numbers 2708 Niagara Falls Boulevard, Wheatfield, NY 14304 http://www.vancitymobility.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers handicap accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boulevard Van City, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boulevard Van City, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boulevard Van City, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 07, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1976 Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 08/13/2001 in NY
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Frank Southerland, Owner Ms. Debbie Klymkow, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Southerland, Owner
Business Category

WHEEL CHAIR LIFTS & RAMPS TRUCK CAPS & SHELLS VAN CONVERSIONS & ACCESSORIES

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, MC, Visa, Discover
Alternate Business Names
Van City

Additional Locations

  • 2708 Niagara Falls Boulevard

    Wheatfield, NY 14304

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (716) 675-6600(Phone)
  • (716) 731-4335(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a new **** brand cap from Van City on May 20, 2013 for a new 2013 Ram 1500 truck and paid a deposit of $1593. It was installed on June 24th, 2013 and paid the balance of $1593. When they pulled the truck out of the shop into the bright sunlight, it looked great. When I tried to open the rear door and close it it would not operate and the bottom seal was falling off. They attempted to adjust it and decided they would have to order new hinges as they appeared bent. Additionally, the cap was advertised to conceal the black trim on the truck's bed rails for a "seamless look" but it sat higher than it should and looked very poor. I had seen other **** **** on trucks that looked like they fit properly and this one did not at all. When I pulled into the garage at home, I tried to clean what I believed was dust on the side windows and discovered that in fact there was overspray of paint in various areas of the windows and cap. The cap also showed areas where it had been damaged and repaired previously. The side windows were also installed crooked. I explained the situation to VanCity and after a long period of time negotiating with them, I was advised that the cap would have to be sent back and repaired. I explained that that would not work as I had purchased the $3200 cap for camping and needed it. VanCity said we could wait until fall to send it back. I requested that **** send a new one and they could swap it when it came in. VanCity told me "it doesn't work like that, **** needs to see it and will repair or replace" I decided to wait until fall to follow up on it. In the mean time I took a 1200 mile trip through New York and Ontario with 3 kayaks attached to the **** factory installled Thule rack. After the trip, I observed that all four of the rack mounts were incorrectly installed, by ****, with the fasteners inverted from the proper positioning. This error put my gear as well as my family and general public at risk as only about 1 millimeter of aluminum was actually holding the rack and kayaks onto the cap's roof! I contacted VanCity who suggested I contact **** myself. I did so and expressed my disappointment with the quality of the product overall as well as the serious safety issue of the inproperly installed rack. **** ageed to send a new cap. The replacement cap arrived a few weeks later. Initial inspection looked revealed 3 of 4 rack mounts were again improperly installed and would have allowed the rack to fly off the truck. VanCity corrected this when I pointed it out. This replacement cap had a very nice finish and I figured we were all set. It was supposed to be a quicker install as all the wiring was done already. After waiting a rather long time, I was taken back to see the progress. It was quite obvious the installers were struggling to get it lined up on the truck. I was told that the spray on bedliner was the problem as they could not get one side to lower into place. I looked at the cap and it was obvious that the cap molded unevenly. I pointed this out and had to take a coin as a reference and show them that the right side fiberglass was twice as thick in the front. As it was closing time, I was told I would have to come back and that they would contact ****. I requested a refund as this second cap looked nice but fit worse than the first. I was concerned about the quality and safety of the product as it is a large item that was purchased to keep my gear secure inside as well as on the rack. That ****'s quality control was so poor that they sent a poorly molded cap with an improperly installed cargo rack to a customer who had just advised them of this very serious safety issue. Again, I was told that it had to go back to **** for repairs. I refused to be without the item unless I was refunded my money. At this point my patience was wearing out and I went to VanCity and told them to take it off and give me a refund. The owner, ***** *********** flat out refused to refund me anything. After several weeks of discussion and negotiations, VanCity advised me that **** wanted another chance to make this right and were going to send yet another cap, VanCity offered me $250 for the troubles. I was assured by VanCity that they were promised by **** that this be perfect and get the "white glove" inspection prior to leaving. I still desired a refund but agreed to have the third cap sent out. Several weeks later it arrived and I was scheduled to get it installed. When I arrived, I was shown the cap, sitting on the floor and saw a couple minor scuff marks but overall it looked OK. They removed cap number two and started installing cap number three. When I was shown the cap installed on my truck, it was immediately obvious that the paint did not match my truck at all. There was also a considerable amount of dirt that had dried into the paint. *** *********** came out to see what the problem was and told me "it is just the fluorescent lighting in the shop, it will look fine outside". I expressed my doubts about that. I was told to get an estimate to buff out the dirt. *** *********** walked into another area, I thought it was to get a camera or to call ****. In fact, he left. I finished up with the sales consultant and inquired about the $250 refund I was promised. I requested he put it back on my credit card and he said that they always do it with a check. He looked around a bit and couldn't find it. I suggested he call ***** but he would not. So now I left as the shop was closing with a third defective cap and without the $250 I was promised. I called and was told ***** won't give it to me until I am happy with the cap. I was very busy for the next several weeks in and out of town and the severe winter weather prevented me from cleaning the truck and cap for a repair estimate and then back to VanCity to look at it again. Being covered in salt hid the lousy paint job very well and I tried to just live with what I got. With a break in the weather, on Friday, March 7th, I got an estimate from a collision shop who pointed out numerous areas that indicated that the cap had already been repainted before. To make the cap match the truck, they would have to remove it from the truck, disassemble the door and windows, sand and repaint the entire thing. The estimate was for $1052. I called VanCity and let them know I got it and would email it to them to work with ****. I sent it the following Monday with a request that they send me a payment of the estimate amount plus the promised $250. ***** replied via email telling me that no one received a call from me and they thought I was going to bring it back sooner. I explained the weather, and offered to come on the following day, March 11 at 4:00pm if that was convenient. I did not receive a reply. I actually was able to get there at 2:30PM which I hoped would avoid yet another closing time you will have to come back. When I pulled in, the sales consultant, ***, met me in the parking lot and when I asked for ***** as I had told him I was coming he told me "he is not here, his truck is but he is not". *** told me that he wanted to look at truck and agreed the color match is unacceptable. I said I will wait for ***** as I was early. "Well, I don't know if he is returning" I asked if he could call his cell phone. We went inside and secretary had no idea where he was and had no way to contact him. She also said he never got an email about a 4:00 appointment. I now knew that I was definately getting a run around and was quite sure ***** was hiding in an office somewhere as he does not want to take care of this issue and probably hopes I will just give up. The sales consultant, ***, contacted **** while I was there and now **** is requesting again that I sent the third cap back for repair along with disassembling my new truck and sending the gas tank door in to get the paint matched. *** told him that could not happen. I again requested the amount needed to get the repairs done locally as it has become very apparent after three attempts that **** can not do it. I also offered to return the cap to them for a refund. Today I received and email from ***** *********** stating the cap has to go back to **** and now has changed his customer satisfaction offer from $250 to $300. I advised him that I was insulted by the offer and requested he work with **** to take care of his repeat customer. I previously purchased a **** cap from VanCity in 2004 and was pleased over all and returned when I needed a new one. I have sent pictures and the estimate to **** via an email address provided by ***. I have not received any replies.

Desired Settlement: I would like VanCity to remove the cap from my truck and refund my purchase price of $3186 either by check or a credit to my Visa card.

Business Response: March 17, 2014

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, N.Y. 14228

RE: ***** *******/Cap Refund Complaint

Dear *******,

We are in receipt of your letter regarding the complaint filed by Mr. ***** ******* and his request for a full refund.

*** ******* has been advised repeatedly of ****s policy (repair or replace product) and as a **** Dealer we adhere to this policy, and have done so since 2002.

I am including with our response:
1.) Signed customer invoice which clearly states - This is a special order. No refunds are given on special orders.
2.) Customer signed copy of the **** Fiberglass Limited Warranty - which clearly states ****s options of either repairing or replacing the item. 
3.) E-mails from *** *********** addressing *** *******'s concerns, which were done in a timely fashion This issue would have been resolved long ago if *** ******* hadn't continually delayed the process by keeping the cap on his truck for his own convenience. This is another clear indication that Boulevard Van City is trying to accommodate *** *******.

*** *********** did not have an appointment with *** ******* on March ll"': *** ******* just showed up at 2:30 that day. *** ***********'s email responses to *** ******* have been very clear as to how this needed to be handled. *** *********** does not need to be present to resolve issues such as this. *** ******* refuses to accept the policy of **** and/or the policy of Boulevard Van City (which he signed at the time of his original purchase).

We will satisfy *** *******, but it will have to be done according to the agreed upon terms. 

Please review the documentation I have provided for you and advise the customer we will be happy to move forward in accordance with the **** Warranty Policy.

Thank you.
Regards,
****** *******
Business Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Van City does not state what they intend to do to solve this issue.

 
In my initial complaint I did not see an option to attach any documents. I have attached three this time;
 
     1) A picture taken from a cell phone during the repair estimation at ******* *********
     2) An estimate of repair from ******* ********* in the amount of $1060.31
     3) An email conversation
 
As is very evident in the photo, the paint on the cap does not match the truck. As this is just the corner of the vehicle, only a small amount of dirt that had dried into the paint is visible, it is all over the surface.
 
This is the THIRD attempt by **** to provide a cap for my 2013 Ram 1500. Each of them were poor quality, with different issues each time. I paid a premium price for a "Custom" cap for my vehicle.
Both **** and Van City have been very difficult to deal with. I originally ordered the cap for camping over the summer. ONLY after I discussed all of the problems with "*****" at ****, including the obvious safety issue 
of the improperly installed cargo rack was a replacement cap sent.  This second one did not fit at all and leaked quite bad. I requested a refund and was denied. When I agreed to have a THIRD cap sent out after being 
assured that it would be done right, they instead sent one that;
 
     1) Does not have matching paint
     2) Has obviously been re-painted
     3) Has dirt dried into the paint all over it
 
I believe that I have been as patient as possible considering I have spent over $3000 for a "custom" cap and have received three defective units instead. I also wasted numerous hours returning to Van City
attempting to get this taken care of. 
 
In the business' response, they stated that I did not have an appointment and that ** *********** did not need to be there to resolve the issue. I have also attached an email conversation between us
where I offered to stop by at around 4:00PM. I did arrive early, about 2:30PM and offered to wait for his arrival. I was told several times previously that he DID need to make the decision on what Van City would do
and I would have to bring it back again for him to see it. I was advised that he did not get the email, he was not there (his truck was there, per ***), they did not know when he was coming back and that there was
no way to get in touch with him. This seemed like yet another brush off.
 
I have never been forced to formally complain about any business in my life. I have been treated very poorly and have not received what I paid for. I went with a **** cap from Van City because of the 
quality and service I received in around 2004 when I purchased my first cap from them. I anticipated a similar experience and instead this has been very disappointing in every way.
 
I am not looking for damages or anything other than my money back as I have not received what I ordered and paid for.
Regards,

***** *******




Business Response: *******,
*** *********** is out ofthe office until next week and cannot address your
letter dated 04/11/14 until he returns. We wanted to make you aware ofthis as
a reply is due within 10 days from the date of your letter.
Thank you.
******

Business Response: April 23, 2014

Better Business Bureau
100 Bryant Woods South
Amherst, N.Y. 14228
Attn: *******

Re: ***** *******/Cap Complaint

Dear *******,

I have read all the correspondence related to *** *******s complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.

Our policy has been clearly explained. We have no further comment other than to reiterate that Boulevard Van City maintains its position to satisfy the customer providing it is done in accordance to the agreed terms by both parties. Also, please be aware that we offered *** ******* a $250 concession and would issue a check in this amount once a cap is deemed acceptable.

Thank you.

Regards,
***** ***********
Owner

Consumer Response:

I reject the "offer" of $250 and take what I have. The facts are simple, Leer tried three times to send a cap that fit my truck and had matching paint without any attention to quality control. I paid approximately $3000 for this cap. I either want the $1300 as per the estimate to refinish the cap with paint that matches my truck or I want a refund and they can have the cap back.

I had hoped that this could have been resolved between Van City and I but they do not seem to want to do anything at all for a repeat customer. This has been stressful, inconvenient and disappointing to say the least.

Thank you,
*** *******




Business Response:

Dear *******,
 
Per our discussion this morning:
 
    1.)    Boulevard Van City has done all we can do to try and satisfy the customer within the parameters of the Leer Warranty Policy and our own policy concerning special orders.  In our letter dated March 17, 2014 we supplied you with copies of the Leer Warranty signed by *** *******; a copy of our  invoice signed by *** ******* stating " This is a special order.  No refunds are given on special orders.
 
    2.)  We adhere to our vendors warranty policy, in this case Leer.  It is clearly stated that Leer has the option to repair or replace the cap.
 
    3.)  We could have closed this out months ago if *** ******* had not waited 6 to 8 months to return the first cap which he used for his own convenience. We had ordered the replacement cap against Leer policy to assist the customer.  It took him several months to come in and do the exchange.
 
    4.)  *** ******* has displayed to myself and other employees of Boulevard Van City a very rude and at times belligerent manner.  Our employees are adhering to the policies of our vendors and those of Boulevard Van City.  We do not make the rules however, we have to abide by and adhere to said policies.
 
    5.)  The $250.00 is a concession to *** ******* over and above what has already been done to resolve his issue.  No one has said he has to "take what he has".  The only stipulation was that he accept a cap he deemed acceptable.
 
  6.)  We are not going to address this again.  The policies of both Leer and Boulevard Van City are well documented and signed by the customer.
 
We appreciate your assistance with this matter.
 
Thank you.
 
Regards,
******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

1