BBB Accredited Business since

Atomic Design

Phone: (585) 271-8661 Fax: (585) 672-5476 277 Alexander St Suite 208, Rochester, NY 14607 http://www.atomicdesigninc.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers web design, web hosting, marketing programs/services/consulting and graphic designers.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Atomic Design meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Atomic Design include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Atomic Design
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1996 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/2005 Business incorporated: 12/30/2008 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Hanna, President Ashlee Cecere, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Hanna, President
Business Category

WEB DESIGN INTERNET - WEB HOSTING COMPUTER CONSULTANT SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION SERVICES PRINTERS COMPUTERS - GRAPHICS COMPUTERS - NETWORKS GRAPHIC DESIGNERS MARKET RESEARCH & ANALYSIS MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES VIDEO PRODUCTION SERVICES

Industry Tips
Developing a website

Additional Locations

  • 277 Alexander St Suite 208

    Rochester, NY 14607

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Atomic Design to create a website for me on June 2, 2011. I am very unsatisfied with the way the entire project has gone. It has taken over 1 year and I still do not have a website that I am able to post to the internet. There was several times that I would contact Atomic with no response for days. There was also several times that the site was not able to be worked on due to Atomic's "server being down". I have copied the owner (***** *****) in on all of my emails and have made several attemtps to call him so that I could get this project up and running. He is always not available and never returns a call. I am now having a problem getting it live on the internet because Atomic is not hosting it. I had every intention of hosting my website with Atomic from the beginning. Since it has taken over 1 year to finish the website and Atomic seems to have so many issues with their servers I decided to look elswhere for hosting and contracted another company to host the site. As you can imagine, I have lost trust in Atomic to be able to host my site without having major problems. It was not until we were almost done (1 year after starting the project) that Atomic told me that they are "not responsible" for the site if they are not hosting it. Upon making my final payment I was under the impression that the site was complete. WHen I got to the office I was told by Nick that there were a few changes that he did not get a chance to do. He stated that once the website is up and running he would be able to complete those changes. They made me sign a waiver before they would give me the website on disk stating their "not responsible"clause. They are now ignoring all of my attempts to get this site up and running and I have paid in full for my project with no live website.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is to have Atomic help to get this site up and running with my current hosting company and to finish the changes that were left undone per ****. It has been over a year and the site would have helped me with advertising my business all of this time.

Business Response:

I am not sure why Mr. ****** is filling a complaint.

1. Atomic Design delivered everything that was asked and paid for.
2. Mr. ****** accepted delivery of the work after thorough testing and signing off on the work
3. Mr. ****** opted to not have Atomic Design host the website and took possession of the files.
4. If a client chooses not to host with Atomic Design we educate them on the issues that they may run into, have them sign a hosting waiver document, explain the document in detail, offer to assist them with setting up the site on their chosen hosting provider, and make it clear what the charge would be.
5. Mr ****** was educated by an Atomic Design programmer, ****, signed the hosting waiver, and as stated, took possession of the completed work.
6. Mr. ****** declined hiring Atomic Design to setup the website for his chosen hosting provider, and informed us he would take care of it himself.
7. The Hosting Waiver clearly states that the "Client shall be responsible for all fees and efforts related to installing their new website on clients. of third party's host server." "This is a service we can provide at an additional cost." Furthermore the hosting waiver lists some third party hosting companies that are known to have compatibility issues.
8. Mr. ****** chose to proceed with one of the non-compatible companies, which was clearly stated as a problematic hosting provider, and recommended by Atomic Design not to use.

This is a process we have followed for many years, we have been creating websites since 1997, and have never had an issue with it before, because it is very clearly explained and reviewed with clients.

We are not quit sure why there is a complaint and how to handle it since Mr ****** a) chose to disregard our recommendations and b) does not want to pay Atomic Design to assist him after telling us he would do it himself.

We are very open to a resolution but are not sure how to proceed. In an effort of good faith we will contact Mr. ****** and offer two (2) months of free hosting and no setup charge should he choose to host with Atomic Design. 

Thank you for your attention to this matter, we pride ourselves on excellent communication and customer service and are always unhappy to hear of issues such as this.