BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Albany, Buffalo, Rochester & Syracuse regions

BBB Accredited Business since

WaterCheck.biz

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 222-0840 Fax: (866) 647-2872 PO Box 220, Hillsdale, NY 12529 http://www.watercheck.biz View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers water filtration and purification systems, water testing/analysis, water coolers, rain barrels, water conservation and personal hydration products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that WaterCheck.biz meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for WaterCheck.biz include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on WaterCheck.biz
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 22, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2004 in 0 Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Leslie Gabriel, President/CEO Mr. Bruce Sargent, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leslie Gabriel, President/CEO
Business Category

WATER FILTRATION & PURIFICATION EQUIPMENT WATER COOLERS WATER COOLERS - EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES WATER CONSERVATION WATER SOFT & CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT SERVICE & SUPPLIES WATER ANALYSIS

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards (Mastercard, Visa, Discover, American Express), PayPal, Google Checkout, Check, and Money Order.
Industry Tips
Water Quality

Additional Locations

  • 15 Schutts Road

    Hillsdale, NY 12529

  • PO Box 220

    Hillsdale, NY 12529

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a whole house well water filter for my home from ****** *******. His site offers a 5 year performance guarantee, which I have copied to my computer from his website, and was still on his website last I checked. He was given a detailed report of my water quality and offered his most expensive filter available. He assured me (both verbally and his website confirmed these promises) that this system would be effective for my water. I also checked to see that he had a great rating on the Better Business Bureau before deciding it was safe to purchase from him. After around 3 months, the systems failed to perform as promised. Our dishes, bath tubs, and sinks are stained. The water caused yellow stripes in my wife and I's teeth, which a dentist believed stripped the enamel off. The water emitted a foul smell, created fogginess of the water, and leaves black sediment on our skin and dishes. My wife is also pregnant, and we are hoping the baby doesn't develop problems related to this water. We have since been using bottled water to drink and wash our food with. After several months of working with the manufacturer, the manufacturer came to the conclusion that there was too much iron bacteria for the filter to handle, and it had become "fouled". The manufacturer verbally offered to refund his portion of the system if it's not able to handle my water, but said that he can't speak for ****** *******'s share of the income, and that would have to be handled by ******. The manufacturer said I would need to chlorinate the well. I called a company that chlorinates wells (Kickapoo well drilling company), and they advised me that the well didn't need chlorinating, and that my home filter should be able to handle it. He also said that if it was chlorinated, the surviving iron bacteria would feed on the dead bacteria and the iron bacteria population would boom. I contacted five separate households on my shared well asking if they were willing to chlorinate the well. All of them said their filters were working fine with our water, and they didn't want to chlorinate the well. At one point, the manufacturer said that I should move to a new location due to all the issues with my water. I took this as a clear sign that his filters could not handle my water. Because my neighbors on this shared well use the same water and have no issues, it's clear that this filter is simply not able to handle my water. The last suggestion of the manufacturer was that I could replace the media and start over after chlorinating. At this point, I told ****** that the filter is not appropriate for my water and that I would like to return it for a refund. I told him the manufacturer had offered to refund his portion, but that ******'s portion would have to be handled with him. ****** asked if I had that in writing, and said if it wasn't in writing, I didn't have anything. He said he would talk to the manufacturer and "go to bat" for me. After ****** talked to him, the manufacturer became silent, and it seems ****** convinced the manufacturer to stay out of this. I told ****** that if he doesn't refund my money, I would go to the Better Business Bureau. ****** responded by taking the stance that he doesn't need to refund my money, since my water contains excessive amounts of iron bacteria. ****** is aware that a professional gave his opinion that chlorinating wouldn't work and that the others on my shared well have clear water resulting from their filters, and do not want to chlorinate. I have interviewed attorneys, obtained prices for a lawsuit, and will go through with suing if he's not willing to provide a refund through the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: I will return all filters and tanks for a refund of the money spent on those tanks and filters. For future sales, if ****** would like to insist that iron bacteria is a cause for no refund, he should ask for a water test result indicating iron bacteria levels, and have the manufacturer verify the filter can handle that prior to the sale. This test can be obtained easily (usually around $25), and is negligable compared to over $200 that was spent on the test we sent ****** prior to purchasing, for him to recommend the proper filters. We are not asking for a refund of the money spent on the test. I have interviewed the attorneys, received multiple quotes for the cost (which each said will likely be paid by ******, though one offers a contingency), and will follow through with this.

Business Response:

Please note, while we are very concerned about the issues that our customer has been dealing with - however we will not authorize a refund for the system.

 

Here is where we stand ...

  • Our customer's source water has issues of Iron Bacteria - which is above and beyond the scope of contaminants that is effectively dealt with our system.  The issue of Iron Bacteria was found out after the fact - after source water was sent to our manufacturer.
  • Since our customer's source water has serious issues of Iron Bacteria - it is NOT a matter of the unit does not work due to defect in workmanship or assembly.
  • Unfortunately, our customer's well is providing water with Iron Bacteria and the impact of this Iron Bacteria issue have prematurely fouled the media inside of the iron removal system and may well have damaged the salt free media. 
  • Our generous 90-Day guarantee has been surpassed - as of May 28, 2012 - our customer contacted us with concerns on June 27, 2012

However, we can certainly understand that our customer has had issues with Iron Bacteria that still need to be resolved. 

 

We and the manufacturer have been working with you to assist in resolving those issues ...

  • Aquacera, the manufacturer - whose management staff has over 70 years of combined water treatment experience - has consulted with our customer, over the course of several months, and has sent a variety of parts to assist our customer in a fix. 
  • The manufacturer has also supplied our customer specific details has how to best deal with the iron bacteria issue, which is an issue of our customer's water supply. 
  • The manufacturer has offered a generous upgrade - beyond the scope of what is required - with new system media for the (Iron filter) that you can use. 

Once again, we stress our customer must deal with the Iron Bacteria issue.

 

Iron Bacteria is a serious bacterial issue in source water that has specific issues unto itself - above and beyond - iron itself. For more on iron bacteria see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iron_bacteria

 

Please note, the end result in our world is to reach a solution in which your water is taken care of ...

 

But we must not overlook that Iron Bacteria must be addressed - and it is better to be truthful on what the source water has in it - that must be addressed. Otherwise we are using band-aids for gunshot wounds.

Many community wells have a Iron Bacteria prevention practice ... to deal with issues such as you are dealing with. And to have a community well and not deal with Iron Bacteria prevention - is a problem waiting to happen - and detrimental to the whole community.

 

Love,

****** ******** WaterMan

www.watercheck.biz

 

 

--

****

Relax ... See our new Zen Water Flix™ video series ...

  1. Zen Blue Heron ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8O49KIgkpg
  2. Zen Blue Wonderment ... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXAT97QbKJI
  3. Zen Blue Ducks ...  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2vP4Mv2-rk

****

 

Love,

****** ******l, WaterMan, CEO, H2OAmbassador

Phone - 1 (518) 325 9318
Toll Free - 1 (888) 222 0840
Fax - 1 (914) 662 0545

 

Website - www.WaterCheck.biz

Blog - www.WaterManBlog.com
Podcast - www.AndSoItFlows.com
Facebook - www.facebook.com/watercheck
Twitter - www.twitter.com/superwaterman
YouTube - www.youtube.com/ZenWaterFlix


PS WaterCheck.biz donates a portion of our revenues to H2O Sustainability Projects here and around the globe.

Join Our Splashy Social Network  Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  LinkedIn
Contact us: Skype waterman222

 

Consumer Response:

The filter sold is not performing, and is therefore to be refunded due to the salesman's promise of a 5 year performance guarantee.  The salesman's arguments for not refunding will be obviously invalid upon inspection by a Better Business Bureau employee.  The iron bacteria that the salesman mentions does not invalidate the performance guarantee.  A professional determined that nothing needs to be done regarding the bacteria in the water, and that a filtration system should be able to handle it.  Every other person on this shared well has filtration systems that are handling the water and feel that nothing needs to be done about this supposed issue.  I can provide the phone number of the well drilling and remediation company, if desired.


It is acknowledged by the salesman that the filter is not performing.  It is clearly advertised on his site that his system has a 5 year performance guarantee.  We have a professional unbiased opinion that a system should be able to handle filtration of our well water including the bacteria, as-is.  It will be clear to anyone at the Better Business Bureau, that the opinion of the salesman is biased.  He wants to keep a commission regardless of whether the customers needs were met and regardless of the fact that he has no valid reason for denying a promised refund.  Since everyone else's filtration system is working with this same well's water, it is clear that this system is deficient and is to be refunded according to the advertised 5 year performance guarantee.   

Regards,

* * 

 

Consumer Response:

Hello BBB,

     I wanted to give an update and was wondering when I can expect a response from my complaint against WaterCheck.biz (*)?  I have installed a new system from another company, and our water has been great ever since: further indicating that their system was not satisfactory and that the problem is not at the well (which is already clear from independant professional investigation as well as the others using this same shared well). 

     I was noticing that they were still showing as having "0" complaints, so I am hoping this will show up soon to warn future shoppers who trust the Better Business Bureau, as I did, for selecting the companies they shop from.  Something I haven't mentioned is that I am ok with keeping the pre-filter and the point of use filter I was sold, since it's the 3 salt free whole house filter tanks that don't work for my water.

Thank You,

* ###-###-#### 

Consumer Response:

Thank you ******* for looking into this.  It's a huge relief to know that there is someone who can help protect the customer or at least see that the next potential buyer has a warning.  You mentioned that ****** said that he offered to "upgrade" my system.  You also mentioned that if he didn't offer an upgrade, that he was lying to you.  I will show you from a copy of his email that I was not offered an upgrade.  In his email, he does use the word "upgrade", but is actually offering to replace the media that is already in my tank with the same type of media that I already have.  The honest word would be "replace", not "upgrade".  As you will see from the 3rd paragraph, offering this replacement media is one in a long line of stalling techniques in an attempt to not give the guarantee he offers. According to the vendor, replacing this will not address the problem, as they say the problem is that their system can't handle the bacteria.  You can read ****** redundantly stating this in the copied email.  I purchased their top of the line whole house salt free well water filtration system, so there is no "upgrade".  

 

You also mentioned ******'s claim that this system cannot handle iron bacteria and is not warrantied for that.  I have attached a brochure from his site, for this system, which catches him in this statement and shows he is deceptively trying to get out of honoring his warranty.  This brochure is a "smoking gun" that clearly shows bacteria on the list of contaminants he advertises that this filter handles.  The link itself says "DOWNLOAD ENTIRE LIST OF REMOVED CONTAMINANTS (PDF)".  I don't doubt that he may continue to try to get out of honoring his warranty, but at least you will clearly see that he is trying to get out of this by deceptive means, even though he's technically, morally, and legally obligated.

 

We had been working with him and the manufacturer for about 6 months trying numerous fixes and replacements.  We replaced the electronic apparatus with a new one they sent, cleaned out parts, sent in water samples, etc. In this time, my wife and I have had to either bathe elsewhere or get into rotten egg smelling cloudy brown/black water.  We would have black streaks on our skin in the times we were desperate enough to wash in it.  If you had seen it, you likely wouldn't have wanted to get in (we have pictures).  We were not able to wash our white clothes, and there is no laundry services in our small town.  Despite this, I kept trying to work with them, until it became clear that they had no valid solution, and ****** was simply trying to get out of honoring the 5 year guarantee he "offers".  The manufacturer I was working with, who's staff has over 70 years of combined water treatment experience, even verbally offered to refund their portion and I would have to settle with ****** for his portion.  ****** then asked if I had that in writing, and when I said no, he said I don't have anything if it's not in writing.  He then said he would "go to bat" for me.  It wasn't long after ****** said that, that the manufacturer emailed that I would have to work everything out through ****** and it would have to be his decision as the salesman.  I've copied the manufacturer's email below ******'s in this email. It was apparent that ****** didn't "go to bat" for me, but did the opposite. 

 

The final claim was that if our shared community well is not chlorinated, their system cannot work.  We hired a professional to give us a quote on chlorinating the well, and he said it didn't need chlorination and he recommended against it.  Everyone else on our shared well had water that was clear, did not smell, and could be used to wash their white clothes.  They did not want to chlorinate a well that a professional said did not need chlorinating, when their water was fine.  Last week we installed a system like those of my neighbors, and the water is great (just like our neighbors).  It's clear that ******'s system was deficient and should be refunded pursuant to his 5 year performance guarantee.     

 

Here's ******'s "upgrade" email.  Please note that he redundantly mentions the iron bacteria, as if saying the same thing multiple times constitutes multiple reasons.  It's already addressed in this email that the advertised guarantee still applies to bacteria.  A professional well mitigating company stated that the well didn't need chlorinating, also invalidating ******'s claim that the 5 year guarantee doesn't apply.  I am not claiming the 90 day guarantee ****** mentions, but the 5 year performance guarantee:

 

Hello *,

Please note, while we are very concerned about the issues that you have been dealing with - however we will not authorize a refund for your system.

Here is where we stand ...
Your source water has issues of iron bacteria - which is above and beyond the scope of contaminants that is effectively dealt with our system.  The issue of iron bacteria was found out after the fact.
Since your source water has issues of iron bacteria - it is not a matter of the unit doesn’t work due to defect in workmanship or assembly.
Unfortunately, your well is providing water with iron bacteria and the results of this bacteria issue have prematurely fouled the media inside of the iron removal system and may well have damaged the salt free media.
Our generous 90-Day guarantee has been surpassed - as of May 28, 2012 - you contacted us first with concerns on June 27, 2012
However, I can certainly understand that you have issues with your water that still need to be resolved.

We and the manufacturer have been working with you to assist in resolving those issues ...
Aquacera, the manufacturer - whose management staff has over 70 years of combined water treatment experience - has consulted with you and has sent you a variety of parts to assist you in a fix.
The manufacturer has also supplied specific details has how to best deal with the iron bacteria issue, which is an issue of your water supply.
The manufacturer has offered a generous upgrade - beyond the scope of what is required - with new system media for the (Iron filter) that you can use.
Once again, we stress you deal with the iron bacteria issue. Like I mentioned in a previous email last week ...

Iron Bacteria is a serious bacterial issue in source water that has specific issues unto itself - above and beyond - iron itself. For more on iron bacteria see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Iron_bacteria
Please note, the end result in my world is to reach a solution in which your water is taken care of ...

But we must not overlook that iron bacteria must be addressed - and it is better to be truthful on what the source water has in it - that must be addressed. Otherwise we are using band-aids for gunshot wounds.

Many community wells have a iron bacteria prevention practice ... to deal with issues such as you are dealing with. And to have a community well and not deal with iron bacteria prevention - is detrimental to the whole community.

Love,
****** *******, WaterMan
www.watercheck.biz

 

(end of ******'s email)

(Manufacturer's email from 9/28:)

 

*, I have not responded to you directly as I have been in contact with ****** ******* on this situation.   Since my company didn’t sell this to you directly, it would not be prudent for me to make decisions on behalf of my customer, WaterCheck.biz.  I can only assume that they are working with you directly on this matter.  I have offered two different proposals to my client and have left it in their capable hands to take care of you. Sincerely, * *

 

(end of the manufacturer's email)

Regards,

* ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Hi *

     

          I just wanted to follow up with you to see how things are going with this refund.  Please let me know that you've received their brochure, which assures any purchasers that their filter handles bacteria.  Please also let me know that you can see they've admitted that replacing the media will not solve the problem, and that it is not an "upgrade" but a "replacement" that they offered (one which they admitted would not work).  Ideally, he should just provide a refund and I would send back any materials (I can keep the pre-filter since the pre-filter worked as promised). 

          If he won't at least do that, then I have no choice but to pursue legal action and you can put on your site that they have one complaint which they failed to address.  It would have been nice for me to see that prior to purchasing from him, so I would've been more cautious, and could have asked him about the complaint prior to purchasing. 

 

Thank You,

*

home: ###-###-####

cell: ###-###-####

*@gmail.com